Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner

I am not known for my culinary expertise.  Okay, I’ll admit it, I’m not known for any domestic skills at all!  Martha Stewart I am not.  But I do have a few recipes that are, well, maybe not foolproof, but let’s say if I can make them with a thumbs up, then anyone can:)

This post came about because several readers requested my Mexican Chicken Crock Pot Casserole recipe after I mentioned it in my Sprat post.  I’ve gotten good feedback from those who tried it and since I made it again just the other night, I thought “why not whip out my camera and take a photo for the blog?”  Really.  That’s what I thought:)

So, for your eating pleasure, this and a few other recipes I’ve been making lately… (And apologies – I am also not known for my photography skills!)

Mexican Crock Pot Chicken 

I found this on my “diet forum” where it’s included as a South Beach Diet friendly meal.  My modifications are in italics.

5 chicken breasts (I use less now that DH isn’t sharing) 
1 (15 1/2 ounce) can black beans, drained (I double this)
1 cup frozen corn
6 ounces sliced black olives, drained (I’ve never added this since DH is not a fan)
1/2 onion, chopped (I double this)
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped (I at least double this, maybe more, and add halfway thru cooking so they get less soft)
1 (15 ounce) jar salsa, medium
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese (I use half this amount and fat free)
1-2 tablespoon taco seasoning (I’ve always used 2)

1.  Add all ingredients to crock pot EXCEPT cream cheese (and not peppers if you plan to add them later).
2.  Cook on high for 4-6 hours or low for 8 hours. (4 on high has always been long enough when I make it)
3.  Add the cream cheese to top of cooking chicken mixture for last 30 minute of cooking.  Stir in before serving.

I like mine with a bit of fat-free sour cream on top.  It’s also nice garnished with some shredded cheese.  I eat it as is but you could add tortillas or something similar.

Hungry Girl Sloppy Joe Stir-Fry Slaw

You can find the original recipe here.  My notes follow the recipe below. 

8 ounces raw lean ground turkey
one 12-oz bag (about 4 cups) broccoli slaw
1 cup Hunt’s Manwich Original Sloppy Joe Sauce

1.  Bring a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat on stove.  Add turkey, cook and crumble until browned and full cooked.
2.  Add slaw and sauce to skillet; stir to mix.  Continue to cook for about 6 minutes, stirring occasionally, until sauce is hot and slaw has just softened.

Per Hungry Girl, this makes 4 servings, but I divide it into only three.  The ground turkey at my store comes in 20 ounce packages so I use half of that and freeze the rest for next time. 

Karen’s Low-Cal, Low-Carb, Protein-Packed, Heart Healthy PanFakes

This recipe is actually my own creation, adapted from several others I’ve seen over the years.  Lately it has been my daily breakfast.  I like mine with some sugar-free maple syrup.  It would be great with berries and could be used like a crepe.  Full disclosure:  this makes a pretty light meal, despite being the size of a dinner plate!

1/3 cup egg substitute
2 tablespoons ricotta cheese; I use fat-free
1 tablespoon ground flax
1/2 packet artificial sweetener
dash of vanilla
cinnamon to taste
optional:  chia seeds

Mix all the ingredients well.  Heat a non-stick pan with the “non-stick aid” of your choice.  (I prefer Smart Balance Spread since it is good for my cholesterol, adds a bit of a buttery taste and works well.  I’ve also misted with olive oil which doesn’t work as well.)  Pour in batter and cook as you would a pancake.

Chocolate “Ice cream free” Milkshake

This recipe also comes from my diet forum but I have no idea where it originated. 

1/2 cup part-skim or low fat ricotta cheese (I use fat free)
1/2 to 2/3 cup skim milk (I use 1/2 and lately it’s been unsweetened almond milk)
2 teaspoons cocoa powder
3 packets Splenda (I’m using a stevia product)
1/2 teaspoon caffeine-free instant coffee
Splash of vanilla
Ice (as much as it takes to make a nice thick icy shake; I use about a cup)
Optional:  I add a dash of Davinci sugar-free syrup, any flavor works
Optional:  I sometimes add chia

Put all ingredients in a blender and blend until thoroughly mixed.

And there you have it!  Enjoy:)

Do you have any “fake” recipes of your own?  Do you like to cook?  Can you throw things together without a recipe?

39 Comments

Filed under food

39 responses to “Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner

  1. I am such an unhealthy sod, I will have to google things like ‘flax’, and I assume broccoli slaw is coleslaw?

    The panfakes and mexican chicken both appeal to me though! (And the look good!)

    Deb

    • Broccoli slaw is similar to the shredded cabbage mix you’d use for coleslaw but with broccoli instead of cabbage. I think the one I get has some shredded carrots in it too. I wonder if you can get it over there. I tend to cook a lot of the same things too. More so now that my nest is empty and I don’t have to worry about feeding my boys. But I’m not one to go without a recipe! That takes more culinary skill than I have.

  2. PS. I hit reply before I meant to.

    I make fake pizzas – using pounded chicken breasts (or thin schnitzels) as the base with top with tomato paste and toppings.

    I must confess I cook the same things all of the time so rarely use recipes and add bits and pieces to my own taste!!!

    Deb (again!)

  3. Jan

    Thanks for the recipes. I will definitely try the chicken one – Mexican food variants, yumm!

    I hate to cook. It seems to spring from my lack of creativity in most other areas of my life.

    • See – I totally get that! Years ago I worked closely with a woman who was very creative. I, on the other hand, am very organized and anal. We were a great balance. Anyhow, she was a great cook and could throw things together and she could also mix and match clothes and accessories. I realized how connected that all is. Oddly though I have certainly become more creative over time, or at least discovered areas where I can be creative, like with scrapbooking. Not cooking though.

  4. I LOVE TO COOK!

    I don’t know what you mean by “fake” recipes but one of my favorites is picking up a rotisserie chicken and then dressing it up in salads or stir-fries on the fly 🙂

    It’s great for leftover sandwiches too.

    These recipes look amazing. I’m simmering chinese stewed beef with daikon and carrots as we speak for my brother’s lunch box!

    • Daikon! I’ve only heard of it and wouldn’t know one if I saw it. I love using rotisserie chicken when a recipe calls for it already cooked, especially when I make something like chicken salad. Easy.

  5. I love trying new recipes, and most of them are a success. But some days I also like to simply use whatever we have got in the kitchen and make some kind of stew. This week we had some rice with lentils, kidney beans, zucchini and paprika, and it tasted really great (of course there were other things, such as broth, herbs, salt, pepper). With salads I follow the same pattern – take whatever hasn’t sprouted legs, dice it and add dressing. The dressings are homemade as well, and most are a success. ^^

  6. Sounds lovely and delicious. I am in need of some new recipes Karen. I would never win a prize but I do know how to cook in bulk!!

    • Oh, I bet! Now that my boys are gone and my husband doesn’t eat a lot of what I make (with his almost vegan kick), I get to eat (and often freeze) a lot of leftovers. But I like that.

  7. I also do the pizza chicken Deb described in her comment.

    And your post reminded me that I have a DIY sloppy joe sauce bookmarked somewhere that I’ve been meaning to try with turkey. I’ll put my slaw on top, where it can remain cold, thankyouverymuch!

    Thanks for the recipes!

  8. I love to cook! Now, but for years thought it was a chore. I have a great recipe for corn green chili chowder that I adapted. I will post sometime on my blog. I do a lot of substitutions now when I make any sweets. I bake with applesauce often. Although I so far only use sugar and not sweeteners. I am trying to train myself that those yummy scones are treats. I usually can have just one and I am good. That is way better than I used to be, banquet is in the first bite! Have a great weekend Karen!,

    • I can follow a recipe with baking, too, most of the time. I haven’t done much experimenting with healthier versions of baked goods, mostly because to me it would still be a tempting food to have around that I would likely overeat.

  9. Thank you thank you for these recipes! I can’t wait to try the Mexican Chicken. Molly and I will be eating it this weekend!!!

  10. YUMMY! I am reading this stuffed to the gills after breakfast with my mom (who is in town for a whole month!), and yet my mouth is still watering!

    I can’t wait to try these!!!!!!

    • My mom is a great cook! But she is the kind who adds stuff with no measurement so her recipes, when she has them, are little help to me. She did teach me how to make great applesauce, though.

  11. I made a Mexican crockpot chicken once and it was FANTASTIC! In fact, you reminded me that I wanted to make it again. 🙂

  12. OMG – LOVE!!!! I like the pancake one since I am not a fan of cottage cheese which is in a lot of pancake recipes. Pinning these all!!!!

  13. I love this dish and have made it twice since you shared the recipe. My very favorite healthy recipe is also the easiest thing i make. We go to Costco and buy a large packet of fresh salmon and their mango peach salsa. I cut the salmon down into about 4 oz portions, mix with the salsa and then bake for 20 minutes on 400 degrees. Serve it with brown rice and steamed broccoli and you’ve got a healthy, delicious dish that leaves tasty leftovers. 🙂

    • Glad you liked it:) I miss salmon. I have a great teriyaki recipe that my boys both like but now that they are gone and my husband is not eating fish, I haven’t made it in ages. That salsa sounds yummy.

  14. I can honestly say I’ve learned to enjoy cooking, but just can’t seem to find the time. Spouse doesn’t care as long as it’s meat+2, so I have to find the motivation from within. I’ll get back on a roll one of these days and hopefully, try these recipes.

    • My spouse used to be pretty easy about meals, eating pretty much whatever I made. Of course that has now changed and we are rarely eating the same thing. I’m trying hard to find some recipes that will fit both our eating plans. Found a few great ones so far.

  15. Great post,Karen! I tend to cook without recipes, for everyday meals, but I look up recipes sometimes when I want to make something different. Variety is the spice of life! 🙂

  16. Look at you … next thing we’ll be calling you Martha. 🙂

    I like to cook and all the prep that goes with it. (My favorite birthday gift last year was a Rachel Ray garbage bowl … that’s how far gone I am.)

  17. Yum! Now that summer’s coming up and it’s going to be too hot to cook, crock pot recipes are my go to! 🙂

  18. Rarely do I EVER turn down the opportunity to try a crock pot meal, and this one looks awesome – stuffed into one of my Flat Out’s and that would be a really filling meal. Grocery list is already made out for this one. Thanks, Karen 🙂

    • I’m a crock pot fan. Many reasons, not the least of which is I’m a morning person so I’d rather get dinner done then too and then just enjoy it later.

  19. Mmmm, I’m down for ANYTHING mexican 😀

  20. You are my hero!!!!
    I’m desperate for dinner ideas and I just fell in love with our crock pot.
    thank you thank you!!!!!!!! I will try all these and report back.

  21. Mmm, the Mexican chicken sounds good…and the milkshake too! I saw an idea on Pinterest for pancake apples (sort of a fake recipe, I guess) where you dip apple rings into pancake batter and cook them–that’s something I really want to try!

  22. Pingback: Blog Block | Fat Girl Wearing Thin

I love comments!

