The Sprats Got Nothing On Us

My dear husband has adopted a new eating philosophy for himself and he and I are now pretty much eating nothing in common!  Well, not the key stuff anyway.

It all started on Facebook.  (Darn that social media for influencing our lives!) Hubby was stalking catching up on an old friend; the friend posted about a book he had read:  The China Study.  So hubby read the book.  Or scanned the key parts, anyway.  And was intrigued at its premise that one could lower risk for all sorts of disease by eliminating animal products from one’s diet.  Coincidentally, he was due for a cholesterol check and had been wanting to drop a few pounds, so… he was off and running.  His primary goal:  to improve his overall health.

The basics of the plan, to summarize in MY words, are that you cut out all animal products including dairy and eggs.  Eat veggies and fruit and carbs and other protein sources.  And, oh yeah, white potatoes.

Which I single out to mention because MY “plan” is pretty much about lean protein (including animal sources and encouraging dairy and eggs) and less refined carbs and NO white potatoes.  Actually, no white anything, like bread or flour or rice.  My typical daily diet almost always includes animal protein and is often devoid of grains and starches.  The latter being more a personal choice because they are foods I seem inclined to overeat.  Meanwhile, Hubby is filling his plate with grains and starches and nary an animal protein in sight!  I’m not eating junk food.  (Okay, let me clarify – I am INTENDING to not eat junk food.)  In the last week my husband has ingested candy and cookies and “whole grain” chips, things I’m pretty sure are to be “minimized” when officially following his “plan,” but I suppose one must acquiesce that they are not animal products.  (Now about that tub of frozen yogurt…)

He likes that he no longer craves meat.  I NEVER crave meat!  (Mind out of the gutter, Munchberry.)  I have to make a very conscious choice, every day, to eat protein instead of my beloved carbs.  I can only imagine what would happen if I switched to a plan that cut out my go-to snacks of fat-free cheese and jerky. That didn’t let me eat my new-found love:  Greek yogurt.   That encouraged me to eat white potatoes instead of sweet potatoes.  And… wait for it… bread and cereal and pasta, oh my!

So… what this means is that in the Waisting Time household, there are few “family” meals happening, as we each prep and cook and even sometimes shop for ourselves.  And finding a restaurant for Valentine’s Day where we could both stay deliciously on plan was a challenge and a half!

And, frustration of frustrations, hubby is losing weight with his potatoes and oatmeal raisin cookies (and no regard for “all things in moderation”).  I, on the other hand, am not.  (Although I must give credit to him for burning a huge number of calories on the treadmill each day while I am still unable to burn any doing cardio, thanks to my darn calf.)

I am all for the philosophy of “to each his own.”  And I totally believe that with eating (and dieting and clothing) one size does NOT fit all.  We each need to find what works for us.  What gets us to whatever goal we have set, be it lower cholesterol or looser pants.  That we each need to figure out how we can comfortably eat for the long-term.  “Lifestyle, not a diet,” yada, yada, yada.

But I am also very frustrated of late that the “experts” all seem to disagree as to what works best for our bodies from a medical standpoint.  But, that’s a post topic for another day.

For now…  I’m off to put my favorite healthy Mexican chicken casserole into the crock-pot.  I’ll be eating it alone tonight.  And tomorrow.  And the day after.

What about you?  Animal products?  White potatoes?  Grains?  Oatmeal raisin cookies?

Photo credit [Madigan308]

Note regarding Google Friends Connect:  As of March 1,  Google Friends Connect will be discontinued for any non-Blogger blogs, which includes mine.  What does this means for YOU?  If you “follow” my blog using that feature, you will no longer be able to do so.  I encourage you to subscribe either with RSS feed or via email.  You can find both options near the top of the sidebar.  (Click on the orange icon for RSS feed or the green envelope icon for email subscriptions.)  Alternately, you can subscribe to the feed by clicking on “Entries RSS” under “Administrative Stuff” further down the sidebar.  Please email me if you have questions or need help!  And apologies for accidentally deleted the widget from my sidebar already.

66 Comments

Filed under dieting, family, influence of others

66 responses to “The Sprats Got Nothing On Us

  1. Hi Karen! Clint and I eat practically the same foods — just about anything except foods with a lot of sugar or empty calories. Our problem is returning to moderation. Each time either of us sees our weight go up a couple (or…in my case…several pounds) it is due the quantity of food we eat rather that what we eat. We are both eating many more fish meals weekly than we used to, and have gone from having beef meals 3 or 4 times weekly to only once or twice/month. We both love potatoes, but only have them once or twice a month. My mantra this week is Must…return…to…moderation.

    Sorry to hear that you are still having such trouble with your calf. I was in sciatia pain for nearly a year, and it took a big toll on my weight due to difficulty in exercising. Hope you heal soon.

    • We used to eat more of the same thing, especially when we were trying to please our teen’s picky palate. And maybe due in part to the fact that I did the meal planning and cooking and my husband was never very picky. (Lucky for us both since I’m not the greatest cook!) Now we have each evolved from there and in our different directions. Sigh. Wonder what we’ll eat when our teen is home for break – he’s a carnivore.

  2. Well, according to those darn scientists, the kind of diet does not matter (statistically speaking), as long as you eat less calories than you burn. I tried low-carb (three times!), and it did nothing for me, so I switched to, “Eat everything, and in moderation”. I have to say, I did not even really like eating that much animal protein, and am looking forward to having vegetarian meals several times a week. (The BF, on the other hand, will miss his meat. He is a guy. “I eat meat, with a side of meat, and meat for dessert.”) On the other hand, I would never go vegan because the human body is not even built for a purely vegan diet (set of teeth, length of intestines).

    I think you are right, everybody needs to find out what works for him/her. And as long as the results are okay…

    (Luckily it has not dawned on the BF yet that he could make his own meals. He simply eats what I put on the table without much complaining, and thus has transitioned from ready-bought meals 7x/week to 99% homemade healthy food. He is still packing on pounds, but that is most likely due to the amount of chocolate and snacks he continues to ingest…)

    • There are really two different dietary issues, I think. “Dieting” for weight loss, and “dieting” for improved health. The theories for the latter are very much in conflict with each other. For example, I just read Wheat Belly which pretty much says the opposite of The China Study and is done by a “medical” expert with, in theory, much supporting research. As for weight loss, I think there are two main camps: quantity matters more than what you eat vs. not all calories are created equal. I think this is where an individual really has to figure out what they can live with and how their own body responds.

  3. Barbara

    “But I am also very frustrated of late that the “experts” all seem to disagree as to what works best for our bodies from a medical standpoint.”

    Karen, I could not agree more! I tried the Engine 2 Diet (which is vegan) and I gained weight because it’s so carb heavy. While a lot of other people who have done it have lost weight.

    I have thought about doing a short juice fast because I’ve heard wonderful things about the benefits of it. But then I’ve also seen just as many articles that say it’s dangerous and unhealthy.

    People say to drink skim milk. Then other people say that whole milk is more healthy and it’s okay that it’s more calories. And others say that milk in general is not meant for human consumption after breastfeeding.

    It’s all so confusing!!!

    I look forward to your post on this topic.

    • And not long ago Dr. Oz did a post that some people can’t lose weight because they are actually allergic or intolerant to milk products and don’t even know it! Other experts say dairy helps one lose. Sigh.

      One big question has always been: are all calories created equal? If so, in theory one could eat the same number of calories made up of candy and pasta vs. lean protein and veggies and weigh the same, feel the same, have the same medical numbers. I’m thinking not.

  4. Ewa

    I am mostly paleo: virtually no grains but veggies and animal products. No processed food, move a lot (or I will go nuts) My husband: eat it all, cookies and other junk, move little… it shows.
    Unfortunately there are things he eats that I crave. By now my will ought to be very, very strong :).
    Anyway, I think humans have adapted to survive and even thrive on variety of diets. Just look at how varied diets are in different cultures. We, in the western world just eat too much and move WAY too little. So why am I subscribing to a specific type of diet? This is the only way of eating that keeps me from pigging out. Grain carbs make me crave more and those cravings don’t stop for days.

  5. My husband and I eat all the same foods. He’s looking to lose weight too, but fortunately he feels that my diet is appropriate for him too. It sounds a bit sad not sharing meals, that’s one of my favourite things to do together.

    • Yes, it does sound a bit sad. Although, keep in mind that neither of us work outside the house so we are pretty much together all the time! On plus – we each can eat when we are hungry:)

  6. Oh no, what will he do when we travel through your area again and want some more of that famous food for which your state is famous……guess he’ll have to stay home! LOL!

    As you know, spouse and I are on totally different wave lengths. His diet consists mainly of fast food, sugar, lots of junk. His idea of a vegetable is a loaded baked potato or french fries. If I ever mention anything to him about his way of eating, his response is, “my numbers are better than yours!” He’s never had a weight problem and oh yeah, he’s right about the numbers.

    I have no defense except how I feel after three months of high protein, very low carb, lots of veggies, little dairy and no “whites” or sugar. High energy, clear thinking and no cravings.

    • Funny you mention that – we unexpectedly had a relative come to town and our first thought was to take him to BBQ, regardless of each of our own eating desires. But, the guest actually liked one of our other options and I ate a quinoa dish with veggies in it while hubby had a fabulous looking mac & cheese. (Not vegan, or course, but no meat.)

      I think I also feel better when I eat better. So, then that begs the question of what exactly that is for me. One of my very earliest blog posts questioned what I (and readers) would eat if weight was not an issue. I don’t know if I’d eat any and everything regardless of nutritional value or not. Years ago my boys had a babysitter who brought them donuts and ate them herself. Her cholesterol was sooo much better than mine! We used to get a laugh out of that.

  7. My husband is very lean and can (and does) eat almost anything, so I can always give him the white potatoes or rice to add to what I’ve fixed. But darn those men! They always seem to lose weight faster and better that we do! It’s not fair…

    The healthy Mexican chicken recipe sounds intriguing. Can you share it? I’m all about the crock pot these days.

    • I’ll email it:) When we did family meals while the teen was still home, I’d do a protein which we’d all eat, a veggie which usually only I ate, and usually white rice because the teen would eat that and hubby might as well, and bread for the two of them.

  8. I am much more in your camp than your hubby’s. In my house, 65MD eats just about anything he wants. He is, however, ‘trying to cut down.’ He is losing weight. MEN!?!?!
    Lori

  9. Somehow I think the Chinese from the study aren’t eating oatmeal raisin cookies and potatoes. They sure as heck eat a lot vegetables. But we’ve known for years that eating animal products (especially our modern ones that are bread to be higher in fat, and milk products that have been pasteurized, chicken eggs from chickens that aren’t fed a good diet of greens) except fish are bad for you. People on a vegan diet live longer. The Mediterranean diet is similar, but it is veggies, fruit, whole grains, olive oil and fish. That one makes us live longer too. Cows are bad for your health and bad for the environment. Sadly. The Angus beef from the restaurant last night was so good. I really shouldn’t have eaten it. And no way am I giving up cheese.

    I try to eat a diet rich in whole foods with not too much meat but I’m not always successful. Sugar beckons. As does that Angus beef.

    • I’ve never been one to eat much beef except that the guys all liked having it. Rarely I would actually crave a hamburger or something. But I do make a lot of chicken. I’d like to do more fish but except for one salmon dish, no one else here was on board. For a while I was eating salmon burgers from Costco almost daily, keeping my cholesterol in mind. I should go back to that.

  10. How hard that must be! So far my SO has been wonderful in agreeing to go along with whatever I’ve tried: January was vegetarian month, Spring sees Passover with the eating restrictions.

    I’m also fortunate that he agrees with me that you can’t eat junk food if you never buy it. For both of us, if it’s around, we will eat it.

    Good for you for sticking to what works with you even when surrounded by “not your diet” foods.

    • I so agree with not having the stuff in the house. But, unfortunately, we don’t agree on this one. My husband has been great over the years with trying to hide some of the stuff that would most tempt me. He loves to tell a story about eating Dove bars in the car so as not to bring them home. Sometimes I have all the willpower in the world and it doesn’t matter. Other times, not so much.

  11. I’d be okay as long as he bought and prepped his own food. Mac eats what I prepare, but also adds chips, cookies, potatoes, tortillas, etc (and has never had a numbers or weight problem). Whatever. I have enough trouble keeping myself in line.

  12. 1200 calorie South Beach is my plan. He has no diet plan. He’s 16 years younger, a guy, and he runs. :: varf ::

    Where’s the Mexican Chicken in the crockpot casserole recipe, woman? 😛

  13. KarenJ

    Hubby and I (both in our mid-fifties) are interested in staying healthy. In November, 2010, I went gluten free, so no bread, crackers or pasta for me. I eat grass fed beef, chicken, fish, beans, nuts, vegetables and fruits, very little dairy. Also, I eat low glycemic and only allow myself one sweet treat a week (usually on Saturdays). Right now I am eating a salad with leftover chicken, walnuts and dried cranberries for lunch. Fortunately, my husband eats what I eat, although he still takes a sandwich on spelt bread for lunch. I, too am frustrated with all the conflicting information on healthy diet. Probably the biggest frustration is when you eat healthy and do not lose weight. I try not to focus on the weight loss, but it is hard. Last week I went to happy hour with friends and my skinny bff’s are eating fried calamari, beef sliders, etc, while I nibbled on two french fries. Grrrrr….

    • My husband tried going gluten free for two weeks to see if it would impact some symptoms he has. That was actually much more in line with how I eat, except I don’t worry about the gluten hidden in foods. But, he decided it didn’t do what he had hoped so that was the end of that. I love dried cranberries in salad!!!

  14. Men suck! 😉 Karen, I hear you on this & quite honestly, women with age, well, it gets even harder so you know I eat like you. I am really not a fan of “diets” that cut out whole food groups but as I say, to each their own & whatever works for you AND it is healthy!

    I eat different from hubby too but my hubby likes more meat & stuff & not those beloved carbs that you & i don’t want to see in front of us!

    You just keep doing what is right for you! 🙂 AND – HUGS while you watch that man do this! 😉

    • I’m thinking if he sticks with this long term, we might need to figure out a compromise so that we can at least eat a few meals together now and then:) I did show him a lentil soup recipe that looks interesting to us both.

  15. Why… my mind rarely goes to the gutter my lovely red headed friend.

    Before hubby gets too enamored with that diet, he might entertain looking at the piles of papers written about the faulty research behind the diet. UNLESS he enjoys it and feels the benefit and it works for him – then pffft to what anyone sez. Can’t argue with success.

    Sometimes you just have to eat different things. Hubby generally eats what I eat because he is lazy. But Lunch – he is on his own. He often eats 4 giant pancakes globbed with a half jar of peanut butter and a cup of syrup. I am pretty sure that would send me into shock. I graze all day, he eats one gigantic meal never to think of food again until he smells it cooking at night. Freak.

    I am with you on the white stuff and general blah feeling on protein- except for eggs and lofat sausage. I could live on them. Not well, but I COULD.

    And for the record I officially am irked at his carb enjoyment and losing weight on them – and the cookies. MEN! HARUMPH!

    • I recently read Wheat Belly, which pretty much espouses the opposite of hubby’s plan, and even talked about it in particular and the faulty research. If I burned as many calories as my husband, I guess I could eat some cookies too. But, then again, I’d eat the whole box and then move on to something else, if I got started. And, unlike hubby, I’d never manage to burn that many calories!

  16. I’m like you, I don’t crave meat, and I love carbs. Although I’ve noticed that I am starting to crave fruits and veggies more now.

    It seems that men can lose weight so much easier than women. Must be the testosterone. I agree with Munchberry, how fair is it that he is losing weight by eating all those carbs???It’ll be interesting to see if your hubby can stay on this diet for the long term.

    • Yes, the testosterone leads to more muscle mass and that burns more calories, is my understanding. I think my husband is going to evolve from the vegan plan to one that allows more dairy and eggs. We’ll see.

  17. For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert…so in the end? It’s hit or miss, trial and error, until you’re at a place where it feels good to and on your body. For a long while I was on the meat/veggie bandwagon and in the summer I do prefer that kind of eating, but in the winter, my body is more about complex carbs and fat. Since I gave up wheat, I’ve been experimenting with a variety of whole grains that have a lot of protein (relatively) and things like avocado and flax. And a lot of fruit (check THIS out: http://wholehealthsource.blogspot.com/2012/02/is-sugar-fattening.html?spref=fb).

    And since I’ve discovered this lactose intolerance, cheese it out and for some reason eggs have no appeal to me. Greek yogurt is still okay. Anyway, all of this feels and looks good…

    • “For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert…” – LOVE that! Might need to borrow it. We are fans of quinoa. Although I still wouldn’t have it every day. And I suggested that my husband try tofu to get more protein than he is currently. I’m going to check out that link, thanks.

  18. Your hubby may want to check out Denise Minger’s blog. She basically went over all the data used for the China Study and came up with completely different correlations and much of the data he uses is used incorrectly. I think her blog is RawFoodSOS or something like that. It’s shocking.

    • I have read lots of information that conflicts with the study. But then again, I suppose you can find someone to debate any eating plan:( My husband usually reads blog comments to I’ll see if he checks out that site. Like most men, to stereotype, I think once he sets his mind on something…

  19. Oh…. that must be hard Karen. But isn’t it typical, that men can lose weight a lot easier than women much of the time!

    I too am a carbohydrate-lover! And white potatoes = my favourite thing!

    Deb

    • Fortunately white potatoes don’t do much for me. Except french fries but even that I’m fine with one or two if I have any at all. Now, sweet potatoes… yummmmm.

  20. We are twins! Our husbands are twins! I eat like you and wish I could eat cereal and bread! I eat protein, veggies, yogurt, eggs and fruit. I try and minimize grains. I gain or yo/yo my husband loses. UGH!!! BUT…. my blood work tells a different story than his. The number on the scale does not show the entire story!

    • I told him it would be interesting to try different plans and keep testing our cholesterol to see what impact they each really have. I think there are home tests now that are considered fairly accurate. I wonder how long we’d need to follow each plan to be sure we see accurate results from it. Hmmm.

  21. I would think 3 months maybe??? I would love to hear how it goes!!!

  22. I believe we are our own best experts. I come from a very different view in that my eating is based on my health but also includes my religious beliefs. We believe God made fruits, vegetables and grains for us to eat as the bulk of our diet and to eat meat sparingly.

    I am aware I could eat chicken all day and be a size 0, but I would not be happy or fulfilled and it goes against my beliefs.

  23. I value the China Study. I think you know I eat mostly vegan and have for quite a while. No eggs, no dairy. I do eat some seafood, as the only “meat”. Plenty of raw fruits and vegetables. I eat whole wheat mostly, but do have some occasionally white rice or potatoes, but not that often. You know the Japanese who are the longest living people in the world eat white rice. If you eat whole foods not processed sugars, I think it will work out all right for you. The problem is that we have to make our choices and see how it goes. If we make poor ones, we will pay for it, and when we do,, it will almost always be too late. I can’t make others eat as I do, but i sure have seen what not eating well does to people.

    If you read about Dean Ornish, I eat similar to him. I figured if eating that way reverses disease, than it should prevent disease. Be aware that the standard American diet is garbage, and if you spend to much time comparing to that, you are still not doing well. The China Study is a good guide.

    • Now you have me wondering what you think of Wheat Belly. Have you read that?

      • No I haven’t. I meant to say whole grain, not whole wheat, as I eat brown rice, popcorn, and other whole grains.

        I have a 29 inch waist with less than 10% body fat, so I imagine my belly is within normal limits (WNL) lol!

        By the way, so many people are lactose intolerant that I feel that alone makes an argument against dairy. As for infants, breast is best for as long as possible. I feel milk is liquid fat. That calcium argument is wrong. Plants are the best calcium source, and in addition, calcium loss is where we need to pay attention.

  24. First of all, its completely unfair that your sweet husband is losing weight while eating that way – but I bet he is also losing muscle tone in the process with the lack of protein. Sounds like the way you are eating will be much healthier in the long run. BTW, I’d love to get a copy of that Mexican casserole recipe if you’re ever up for sharing. 🙂

  25. My hubby has eaten healthy all his life, but even more so in the last 10 years after his first incident with his heart’s electricity. I am a recent convert, as you know. Now we both eat basically the same things: very little meat, tons of fresh fruit veggies and dairy. I cook healthy, too, so that also makes a difference for us.

    Now on to why medical experts do not agree. The answer is indeed quite simple and it rhymes with honey: money. There is big money to be made in any well researched “diet” and good health book, diet plan and in diet products. Money that is used to fund research also comes from various entities including the manufactures of diet foods, leaving this writer with considerable doubt as to the issues of bias, validity and reliability in the studies. I have no doubt that just like your hubby’s and Sharon’s and others out there that they all work for some and don’t for others. Most of the diet plans are about eating healthier and hopefully making lifestyle changes, too, that to me are what is important. There will never be consensus on what diet plan works best. For me it is still the adage I adopted from Marion Nestle: eat less, move more, eat lots of fruits and veggie and go easy on the junk food. Sensible and maintainable for life.

    • I admit that your theory makes sense but also makes me sad. I hate that money is the driver even with something like this:( Wish I liked veggies more, but for me I eat them because I know I should and not because I like them.

  26. WOW that would be difficult for me. My hubby had not gotten on board completely with me on the 17DD he is still having more carbs, his weekend giant bowl of popcorn and wine and cheese and he still managed to drop over 8 pounds to my just over 7 pounds!

    He does eat what I cook for dinner which is lean protein, tons of veggies, no carbs because I am not eating them after 2:00 pm. No white potatoes, no white rice, no bread for me right now.

    I agree with you that every other day it seems there is a new study that says “eat like this” for better health and its all so confusing. I am trying to eat in a manner that doesn’t lead me to want to overeat. It’s such a constant act of looking for the right balance and just when I think I have it figured out by body changes!

  27. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Karen, my husband and I eat the same dinners, but very different lunches and breakfasts and he can drop lbs in NO time…me…takes much longer. sigh. I laughed at you telling Munchberry to get her mind out of the gutter too. LOVE it…you are both hilarious. Have a great Friday.

    • I remember when my husband first lost his job and was home with me all day every day and a few people asked if we at lunch together. Hadn’t even occurred to me! One planned meal was enough:)

  28. Honestly it might work for him because it’s a big change, but the last time my doctor wanted me to lower my cholesterol (even more cuz it’s at around 182) she said cut out carbs…. If you don’t eat enough natural cholesterol apparently your body hoards it more? I don’t know…. Either way- let us know how his cholesterol level was! I’m curious (though I know in a heartbeat I’d blow up if I followed his diet cuz of my insulin resistance). I’m thinking right now part of his success is the exercise. My friend (a guy) did something similar and after losing 10 lbs he never lost another pound again, he had to go back to eating the lean proteins and veggies and cutting out carbs again cuz his body got wise to him lol 😉 I agree with the others for him to check out more research on that study.

    • I think your first comment makes sense – for him this was a big switch and more healthy, regardless of what the “plan.” And I think his body reacted to that. I read a lot about the insulin aspect of carbs on most of us.

  29. My husband and I eat the same things, primarily because he will eat anything I prepare. His mother was a very bad cook [by her own admission], so he was trained early on to “just eat what’s on the table.”

    I eat protein and some brown rice and oatmeal. I try not to eat oatmeal cookies, but my husband and I do split the occasional dessert in a restaurant (rarely). I have gotten used to having fruit (mostly watermelon)for dessert, so that is what I now crave after a meal.

    I know that weight can be lost on almost any diet, including an all starch plan. I think the key is to stay within your calorie range for weight loss CONSISTENTLY. That has always worked best for me-calories in and calories out!!

    • Mine in the past pretty much would eat anything I made, less because of how his mom cooked and more because he comes from the “no waste” mentality and you eat what is put in front of you before your siblings goggle it all.

  30. Barbara

    My husband’s boss follows a paleo diet (he eats a lot of meat) and his wife is vegan. They definitely do separate grocery trips, separate cooking, etc. That would make me so sad because my husband and I love cooking and eating together.

  31. Oh Karen, I hear you.

    Ray eats anything and everything he wants. If he starts seeing a bit too much ‘love’ in his ‘handles’ he goes for a 4 mile run…and it disappears.

    While I eat lean, smart choices, run and teach classes, and do everything in my power to be ‘healthy’ and my ‘love’ hangs on as if the fate of the free world depends on provide me cushioning…*sigh*

    It’s obnoxious. And I personally complain about it everyday. He thinks it’s funny. Ugh.

  32. I mostly ignore the experts. 🙂 I usually stick to mostly veggies and fruit, lean meats, and whole grains for the majority of my diet but there will be days. For me, 95% of it is mental.

  33. I have been eating vegan for the month of February, after watching the documentary “Forks Over Knives”. I pretty much came to the same conclusion your husband did: if I could reduce my risk of diabetes, heart disease, and certain cancers, what did I have to lose? I do feel really good, but I’m not sure yet what I’m going to do after my February challenge is over! Fortunately, my husband has been on-board with me this month. By the way, he feels a lot healthier but hasn’t lost a pound! He also hasn’t been consistently working out, though, either…

  34. Wow! That is a tough on.
    Still, even though your hubby is losing weight, he shouldn’t be eating junk. Yes, I can be so pushy. Empty calories and non nutritional food aren’t good for our bodies and his still has to process all that stuff.
    As to the other… bummer.
    I never really followed the eat right for your blook type thing, but have you checked yours and his. It can really be interesting.
    And instead of rice and pasta, how about introducing him to some grains? I’m so limited, but do a good mix of brown rice, quinoa and millet. You could eat it and I doubt you’d crave it like other starches.
    Just a thought.
    What a bummer. THat’s all I can say.
    Except if your hubby can be healthy, that’s always a good thing.

I love comments!

