The Quick Brown Fox Types Without Looking

If you’re younger than I am, you may never have experienced typing class.  Back in my day, it was something almost every high school student took at least once.  Like Home Economics.  And, despite the pink ghetto and sexism of the time, it was boys as well as girls, although maybe not quite as many.

I still remember sitting at the manual typewriter in ninth grade.  The teacher was the same one I had for Latin class (another subject you don’t hear much about anymore); she was very strict and a little scary.  We sat and typed the same letter over and over and over again.  With the proper fingers on the QWERTY keyboard.  A a a a a a.  S s s s s s.  And so it went.  Then came the timed drills.  I can almost feel the stress just writing about it!  Glutton for punishment that I was, I took, a second year of typing.  Not sure why.  Not sure what it covered that we didn’t learn the first go round.  I think maybe formal letter formats, another dying art since we mostly use email now.  (A salutation?  What’s that?)

For high school graduation my maternal grandmother gave me an electric typewriter to take to college.  Back then it was quite high-tech and quite a luxury.  Mine even had correction tape.  Loved that!  Fast forward thirty years:  for his graduation my son’s maternal grandmother gave him a laptop.  No correction tape needed:)

My boys never took typing class.  I believe they were introduced to something called “keyboarding” at some point during a required computer class, maybe even as far back as elementary school.  But I know for a fact that neither son puts his hands on the keyboard the way I do, with my pointer fingers on the F and J keys, using the little raised bumps as a guide.  (Oh – so that’s why there are bumps there!)  Instead, they hunt and peck and use a variety of fingers on a variety of keys.  But having grown up with computers and the internet and all that jazz, they are as fast or faster than I am!

But I have a huge advantage:  I can type even though the letters on my keyboard have mostly worn off.  (A sign of too much time spent on the PC?)  My younger brother was helping me one day with an advanced email problem and had to turn over the keyboard to me because he couldn’t find the right letters.  He’s just enough younger to be more like my sons than their “touch typing” trained mother.  Generations X and Y vs. the Baby Boomers.  But the “hunt and peck” generation have one huge advantage over me:  thumbing.  (Not to be confused with hitchhiking which is just one more example of something we don’t see anymore.)  So handy for text messaging and tablet use.  Those thumbs can fly in a way mine never will.  (And when I tried to type a text on my brother’s iPhone, I couldn’t hit the right keys for the life of me!)

I’d like to think that my years of muscle memory will serve me well.  That my fingers will fly, thanks to my typing teacher and her repetition.  But I recently read that apparently my years of typing conditioning are now outdated.  Because, of all things, I use two spaces at the end of a sentence.  As I was trained.  Over and over.  But now, it seems that current protocol is to use only one.  Something to do with the spacing on a computer versus that of a typewriter.  That’s going to be a tough habit to break.  Not sure I’ll even try.

I’ll just keep clacking away.  Speedily, if I say so myself.  But don’t take my word for it – this post was actually inspired by a link I saw for an online typing test.  Just for grins, I gave it a try.  I expected to maybe score 45-50 words per minute.  Sixty-nine.  Yep, 69 wpm!  Clackety, clack.

Times… they are a’changing.

Touch Typing Trivia (from Nimble Fingers):

The sentence: “The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog” uses every letter of the alphabet.

“Stewardesses” is the longest word typed with only the left hand and “lollipop” with your right.

The average person’s left hand does 56% of the typing.

TYPEWRITER is the longest word that can be made using the letters only on one row of the keyboard.

Do you type by touch?  Do you write in cursive?  What things did you learn growing up that are now obsolete?

Photo:  M-m-m-my Corona:)  Formerly my grandparents’.

 

 

84 Comments

Filed under trends and/or technology

84 responses to “The Quick Brown Fox Types Without Looking

  1. Jan

    Yep, like all college-bound gals my age, I took 2 semesters of typing. My record speed without errors was 120-words per minute on a timed event using an IBM Selectric. My teacher exclaimed that I would make a fine secretary!

    I write in a combo print/cursive font (?) borne of rapid note taking in medical school.

    I learned a lot of religious dogma that is waaaay beyond obsolete.

    (Luv the last line of your post. Now I cannot get the damn song out of my head. Thanks.)

    • Wow, that’s fast! I learned on a manual one. I guess my school was cheap:) I have horrible handwriting with letters that sort of drag together. Often I can’t read it myself! The other day I was stumped at the store until I finally deciphered one item only by going through the recipe in my mind. Sigh. I type much faster than I write! I HATE writing things out.

  2. I took typing in high school on a computer and I am so glad I did. I can type pretty fast and this is after years of not touching a key. You’re right, muscle memory just brings it all back.

    I bought a computer typing program for my daughter because the teachers want their work typed up and I am sick of doing all her typing.

  3. Mrs. Gober, 9th grade. The most useful class I took in high school. And yes, 2 spaces after the period. I’ve tried to break the habit, but it’s hard. I also have the extinct wisdom of how to center titles, and do perfect erasures with a pink pearl eraser. I can also type the numbers and the diacritical marks without looking. qwerty all the way. I took that test once and got in the 70s.

    • You have a good memory! I was trying to remember my teacher’s name. I can picture her exactly. I’m not so great with numbers. My husband tells me that there was a movement to change the keyboard to one that is more efficient, now that we don’t need qwerty to keep the typewriter keys from hitting each other. I’ve said “qwerty” to people before and they had no idea what I meant!

  4. Karen, I touch type… I also learned in Yr9 at school (here in Australia). I recall that we also had to wear bibs so we couldn’t see the keyboard. I wasn’t actually that great at the time (recall I got in trouble from talking a lot!) but it sure does help now as I’m quite a fast typist.

    Funnily enough, my slightly older brother wasn’t ‘allowed’ to do typing at school – only the girls could do it. He had to do some boylike thing (Manual Arts or similar), so my parents enrolled him in a night course. Very bizarre (and inadvertently forward-thinking of them given it would have been the late 1970s!). He also touch types now – strange for an engineer!

    I’m also not great with my thumbs on the iPhone but I think it’s cos they’re too fat as I used to use them on my old phone! (How DOES one tone up their thumbs?!)

    I’ll have to ponder more on what I learned that I no longer need. Perhaps early computer programming….

    IF A = 7 THEN GOTO x
    IFA >10 THEN STOP

    or something. Yeah, sure… that was useful. NOT!!!!

    • My fingers are smaller than my husbands so why can he hit the keys on his android but I can’t!? He says it is that I don’t “touch” properly. Hmmm. I use my nails on my little button keyboard.

  5. Hi Karen! I struggled through typing class in 1984. (Thanks for helping me relive that nightmare in my mind! :D) However, all of my children could type at least 65 words per minute by sixth grade. How and why: The oldest two learned how to type fast by playing Ink Link, the internet game.

    The youngest two actually learned to type well in 4th and 5th grade. I bought the Sponge Bob Square Pants typing game. I really feel that if young kids can’t type efficiently these days, they are held back from doing well in school. The Sponge Bob typing game actually worked great.

    now, they all type faster than me, and I type at your speed.

    🙂 Marion

  6. Miz

    I cheated through typing class (GO ME!) and look at that.
    the teacher was correct 🙂 I WAS only hurting myself…

  7. I didn’t know that was what the bumps were for! Thanks! I also didn’t know about the single space at the end of a sentence. I will never be able to break that habit! My daughter (11) takes keyboarding now. I was just watching her type yesterday and was in awe of her speed. She was going to fast for me to know if she was even typing “properly”.
    Something I learned to use that my daughter has NEVER seen let alone use is a payphone! Also- she wouldn’t know how to call anyone on a rotary phone!

    • Oh yes – rotary phones! I forgot about those. I remember the days of having to find a pay phone to call my mom and tell her I’d be late when I was out with friends and she never accepted the excuse that “I couldn’t find a phone.” Times have certainly changed with that one!

  8. I still use the bumps. I have never used a quadratic equation, however, and it makes me sad that I had to spend so much time on them. Ditto diagramming sentences. 🙂

    • I actually use basic algebra sometimes. I think. And I do use some of the grammar stuff. I even tried to teach my kids, who love run on sentences, what I was taught about commas – “When it doubt, leave it out.”

  9. Oh, I remember typing. The teacher saying, “A S D F G H J K L ; Return” over and over again. I was actually quite fast at 90+ wpm and use those bumps as landing keys!

  10. Barbara

    I took keyboarding in either 6th or 7th grade. But I never took it very seriously, and never really got comfortable with keeping my fingers on the “home row.” I don’t know what my style of typing would be called. I use different fingers on different letters depending on what word I’m typing. For example, sometimes I use my right pointer finger to type H and sometimes I use my left pointer finger. It just depends on where the other letters in the word are on the keyboard. I type quickly with frequent mistakes. But I can also correct the mistakes very quickly. I find that I look down at the keyboard about every 30 seconds or so. Not really sure why. Because I have tested myself to see if I can type without ever looking down and I can. I think looking down every once in a while is just a habit from when I wasn’t as familiar with the keyboard. Who knows?

  11. Wow you learned to touch type but neither of your brothers did (older or younger). My mom made both my brother and me learn to touch type. I made my kids do it too. Being able to touch type is very useful even today. And I too have keys that have worn off. But it doesn’t matter to me. I know what they are. I can’t look at the keyboard and tell you, but I can type and have it all come out right.

    • Same with me! If I look for the key I might not find it. I have to just put my hands down and… ta da! I guess it was even more sexist than I remember. I’m sure they had classes that they were more interested in. Like, hmm, the archaic class that passed for programming:)

  12. One of my very few claims to fame is that I broke the school record for fastest typing with zero errors when tested at the end of my ninth grade typing class. I can’t remember what the numbers were, but it was fast. Hmmm….wonder if that record still stands????

  13. I took typing I believe between 3rd-5th grade. Because of that I can type without looking most of the time but I have gravitated away from keeping my hands on the home keys. It just always seemed odd to hold my hands that way.

    Even though I am younger than you (I’m 28) I also had a type writer that belonged to my grandmother and I was a weird kid (and an only child) so I remember practicing on the typewriter writing stories.

    I also vividly remember learning cursive and being REQUIRED to write in cursive. I mostly write in a weird hybrid print/cursive script. I love cursive writing and think it’s horrible that my son (12) only took cursive for 1 year.

    I also went to what is called an exam school in Boston. Called Boston Latin Academy (6th-12th grade) and we were required to take Latin for 5 years.

    • I grew up outside Boston! I remember learning cursive. We had a teacher who visited our elementary school classes for that. My boys learned it at some point but never used it and struggle to read the cursive letters they get from my MIL.

  14. I took typing class in middle school…and it was very similar to your description (without the scary teacher, though). Additionally, we used computers instead of typewriters…although they were the big off-grey models that probably weighed about as much as I did back then. LOL

    I also keep my fingers in “ready to go placement” with my index fingers on F and J at all times. Some of my keys are worn away (a, s, e, v, n, m, l, and o especially) from use, too.

    Since my older daughter attends an online charter from home, I have been teaching her the “proper” (as far as I’m concerned) way to type on a keyboard. She is getting better…and faster. I am also teaching her to write (and read) in cursive – a dying art (as you mentioned). The public district we are located in does not even teach cursive any longer. That, I think, is a shame.

    -Erica

    • I think schools at least need to teach cursive because some people do still use it and my boys, who did learn it in elementary school, struggle to read it!

  15. You wrote “(A sign of too much time spent on the PC?)” and I’m thinking no – it’s probably a sign of a computer that needs to be upgraded! 🙂

    • This PC is 2 years old and I’m on my third keyboard! The one that came with it, and two old ones we had around. I guess they just aren’t making them to stand up to lots of typing:)

  16. I learned typing in the 7th grade on a manual typewriter. It is the skill that has earned me more money than any other.

    The good paying administrative jobs all require 65+ wpm, and I can comfortably do 70 … flirting with but never touching 80 if I practice speed drills just before the test.

    • That reminds me that when I used to work in recruiting, about two decades ago, we gave some applicants typing tests. They used an electric typewriter and we graded them by hand. I’m sure now it’s all done on PC.

  17. You took me back to freshman year in highschool and my Personal Typing class… a-s-d-f-j-k-l-; …over and over! I definitely touch type, but I have an iphone, and it’s a major PITA to text with, because you have to be so precise with finger placement!

    I was a newsletter editor for several years before computers became mainstream – I don’t know how I did it, with carbon paper and such! Progress ain’t all bad!

    For some reason, I also remember typing “now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their country” over and over too. I think for speed? Whatever!

    Finally, I loved your commentary on the benefits of thumbs…and wonder if that’s the teaser for another thumb post soon…?

    • I did an internet search and that phrase exactly filled a line! I remember that too. Nope… hadn’t thought of that thumb connection:) But I’m sure I’ll have another in a week or so. I’m pretty sure that when my “dumb” phone dies, I will go with an android so I can have a keyboard still!

  18. KarenJ

    I took Stenography (Steno) – remember that? Most girls took steno just in case they couldn’t get a job after college. Then you had your secretarial skills to fall back on. You know I think that if I started out as a secretary back in the early 80’s, I might have been a CEO by now (lol)! The job counselors used to say to me, “It’s not your college degree that will get you a job, but your secretarial skills!” Imagine saying that to a young woman today!

    • I remember that! Dictation. I’m not sure if that was offered in my school or not. We also had a class that taught things like balancing a checkbook. Another thing that isn’t done much anymore.

  19. Roz@weightingfor50

    Oh Karen, we think alike. When I first saw the photo, I thought to myself “m, m, my Corona!”. Hilarious. I took typing in high school…at the time I thought “how lame” but wow…am I ever glad I took it. I’ve used that skill a whole lot more than most I’ve learned!!! Have a great Monday.

  20. Too funny! Yes, I took typing class in high school but you know what? I was rebellious and didn’t learn the “proper” way because I didn’t want to be a secretary…really and truly, I didn’t want to be a fast typist for that reason. In fact, the very first job I had out of college was at a PR firm in NYC. I started as an assistant. There was another woman who had started about six months prior to me and she was so good at the secretarial skills (she’d gone to the same college I did, but also went to Katherine Gibbs) that they kept in her that position while I got promoted.

    All of this being said, I can type pretty darned quickly, without looking, although I don’t know my wpm and I don’t really care 😉

  21. MO

    I was watching my favorite show yesterday – CBS Sunday Morning – and they featured a guy in Arizona that still repairs typewriters, and has been for over 30 years. I love my work typewriter and just shiver when I hear them asking me to go full computer wise on all documents. My son just started to learn how to type (he is only in the 5th grade), so I am hoping he will be just as fast as me, at about a speed of 80 wpm.

    MO

  22. I had two years of typing and two years of shorthand which I despised. I purchased a typing program for my oldest daughter, who is now getting close to 32. She learned so quickly that I was amazed. We actually devoted two school years to what she managed in a few weeks. My youngest daughter is self taught and can type as fast as me. I don’t pay any attention to how she does or where she places her fingers.

  23. Karen, I took typing Freshman year and can type and use the keypad without looking. I doubt very seriously that I will be able to break the habit of using two spaces at the end of a sentence. I’ve tried, but the darn thumb just wants to hit the space bar twice. I have a male co-worker at work that is older than me, maybe low 50s. He types using his two index fingers. He is pretty darn quick though and he seems to pound the keys so he is also quite noisy.

    I know how to write in cursive, but I’ve always done a half print/have cursive combination.

  24. Ann

    I took latin in high school and college. I love it and I think it did wonders for my vocabulary and medical terminology. My son has planned 4 years in high school starting, gulp, next year. He has not had a typing or keyboarding class and I sure wish he had one. Also, He doesn’t write in cursive! They don’t teach it anymore! Handwriting is a lost art, my friend.

    • My boys had a small amount of cursive in grade school but they struggle to read letters that my MIL writes. Sad. I took two years of Latin too. I think it helped with my SAT scores:)

  25. How much time do you have for all the things from when I was young! 😉 Unlike you, I was terrible at typing & all things girly like Home Ec with sewing & cooking when I was in junior high. I never was good at typing & always used 1 finger pretty close to me now but a bit better now. The teacher let us grade ourselves & a good thing cause I would have failed! 🙂

    I remember when work & all the other craziness could not find you everywhere you go! 😉

    • Ah, home ec. I never did well in that. I remember sewing and that is something I could use now and then to do a hem. We had a neighbor come over to show us how to thread the bobbin on an old machine we have. I liked the cooking classes though because we got to eat what we made:)

  26. Do you type by touch? Yes, and I took a typing/keyboarding class in 9th grade. I think we might have been the last class to have it in that capacity. Our final was to type our test with a cloth over our hands so we couldn’t look at the letters.

    I’m definitely a Generation X person — graduated high school in 1992. The Gen Y and Millennial folks are quiet different from us overachieving Gen Xers. We tend to have a lot more in common with the Baby Boomers.

    Do you write in cursive? Yes.

    What things did you learn growing up that are now obsolete? This is a difficult one. Oh, I have one. Young people now can barely fathom such a thing, but when I was young and visiting my grandmother’s house, I was fascinated by her party line telephone. So we’d have to wait if the neighbor was using the phone line. And of course, the rotary phone.

    • We had a party line at our first lake house. I remember that trying to call a friend who was on the same line was very complicated! I don’t miss rotary dial phones!

  27. I never had a typing class in HS. Not really sure why. But, boy, I wish I did. I am a hunt and pecker and am pretty good. But, I made mistakes that slow me down, even after all these years. Actually it is my right hand that flies over the KB, my left just hits 2-3 letters and that is about it. I doubt I could ever retrain my hands.

    Texting: no flying there for me either.

    • I’ve been told I’d adjust easily to texting on a touch pad or with “swipe,” but I don’t text very often so I’m pretty sure that it would take me a very, very, very long time.

  28. OK first – before I answer… “and all that jazz”? LOL. Perfect for the post on touch typing is not an inference to something dirty, where Corona is a typewriter and not a beer and thunbing needs to be clarified (because I most certainly would have thought you meant the “I need a ride to the beach” sort.

    I did not take a typing class. My dad would not let me. I type fast though, but do not contract words often because my pinky always finds the semicolon instead.

    I write in cursive. I have never texted (or even used a PDA) or typed onto a pad. I write on tablets not with a chisel, but a Bic. Pluto is no longer a planet. A fact that is now no longer a fact. I try to stress that to the youngins. I hold tight to the merit of Space Invaders! The past can keep the L’eggs (or if I typed normally – L;eggs)

    I am going to be one of those forever retro dames.

    • Oh funny! My boys got me into texting several years ago. We got a new phone plan and it was included. They were much more likely to text me something than call me. I can see the benefit in quick communication. But mostly I only text with them or my husband or mom. It always surprises me when I get one from someone else. Like my Dentist’s office confirming an appointment!

  29. This made me laugh! I’m Gen X, but learned to type on my very first Apple computer, not a typewriter. Inevitably, the labels wear off my computer keyboard, and I’m astonished at how many guests at our house are completely lost without them. Thanks for the link to the typing test – I clocked in at 86 WPM, which I think is pretty good for 5:30 in the morning after being awake since 3. And, I haven’t turned on lights in the kitchen, so I’m typing in the dark, purely by touch.

    I’ve done some work for a communications firm and picked up the one space only habit, but it took time. I’m never going to give up the Oxford comma, however, modern style conventions be damned!

    • Wowza! What’s the Oxford comma? Okay, I just googled it. I use that still too. My boys tell me it is now considered optional or not needed. I like it:)

      • As newsprint has become more expensive, I understand the choice to drop the comma after the penult in a series (a.k.a. the Oxford comma) and to save space by dropping from two to one after a period, but we are prioritizing economic interests over clarity.

        There’s a comic you can find if you google “oxford comma comic” that shows two options:

        With the comma:
        We invited the strippers, JFK, and Stalin.
        Without:
        We invited the strippers, JFK and Stalin.

        You can imagine the illustration.

        Comma usage is a lost art, and one that saves lives:

        Let’s eat Grandma!
        Let’s eat, Grandma!

        If you combine the collapse of proper punctuation with the shrinking ability to read cursive, you could set up some dangerous situations. 😉

  30. I had to take a typing class way back when, and I hated it! Now I type pretty well! Who knew??

  31. Ah…I was in the same kind of typing class back in school in Columbia, SC myself. But their drills didn’t work so well and I ended up memorizing the keys instead of learning the correct hand pattern. Hey, I think its the same lack of coordination that always caused me to be picked last for volleyball. So typing on keyboards for computers was a really a Godsend!

  32. Proud touch-typer here…I learned on an IBM Selectric with the keys whited-out. Seventh grade typing class. I’m still pretty fast, although I think my kids are faster – they learned via “keyboarding” class when they were in elementary school. Like you, I am not all thumbs when it comes to texting (lol) – the only benefit is that I figure our generation won’t have the arthritic thumbs that the kids will have, between texting and game controllers!

    P.S. When did the double space after a period disappear? Why oh why do they keep changing things??? Forget that – I’m too old to stop double-spacing. (::raises cane in air::)

    • Mine was an IBM Selectric! But in school we had manual typewriters. Isn’t there something known as Blackberry Thumb? I don’t know when that disappeared but my sons have never done two spaces. I thought they were wrong. Nope.

  33. I took typing in high school and it was one of my worst grades, I couldn’t stop looking at the keys, still can’t!.. A freind of the family told me NOT to learn how to type because companies would put me in the typing pool and not in a position to succeed in any other field (much as Karen said.)

    Who knew that we would all need to type? I had my own secretary in 1987 when I last worked before I had my kids – when I went back into the job pool, everyone needed to know how to type plus know all kinds of computer programs! I have been trying ot get out of the 2 space habit since I learned about the new preference. Anything to try to hide my age when job hunting!

    My husband and I both have old typewriters in storage – nostalia, I guess.

    • Smart! I hadn’t thought about that and job hunting! I left work to stay home with my boys in 1997. There are many computer programs that I didn’t use at that time and I’d need to learn before I could go back in a similar capacity. Sigh.

  34. LOL at this as I can relate to it all! My daughter recently was having a discussion with a teacher who she was student teaching with and he was instructing the students to leave two spaces in between sentences. Well she had never heard of this and after a little research it was revealed that this is “old school!”

    Yes, I do write in cursive and I know how to count back change without a computer telling me how much change is due!

    I can usually type pretty good but with this new lap top I am constantly on the wrong keys – the keyboard is so different from my old one. Yet another learning curve – which they say is good for my brain – just not my patience.

    • Oh, yes! Counting back change! Young kids have no idea:( And I’ve often handed a clerk an odd amount so I get less coins back and they look at it with no comprehension until they ring it in.

  35. What a fun post!

    I remember when I was young I loved typing and I taught myself. (when I took typing we fooled around too much to be able to learn anything!) When I started working as a secretary (as it used to be called) the dictaphone and short hand were pretty much on the way out, and I refused to do them! Lol! The fax was just coming in and it was the most amazing thing.

  36. js

    I (A guy) took typing in 7th grade back in ’67-’68. My Typing teacher was also the Journalism teacher so I ended up as a staff typist on the school paper for two years. Since it was 45 years ago I can’t remember ratio of boys to girls in my typing class. My teacher is still active as an assistant principal at a local high school.

    • That is so cool about your teacher! At least I THINK it is:) At my boys’ high school, the former typing teacher because the programming teacher and she was very unqualified for that job:(

  37. I took typing classes in high school (required we all take one semester if I remember correctly). I aced it, and I only type home-row, but then again, I also took classes in elementary, I can’t imagine typing any other way, I never look at the keyboard, if I start on the keyboard off by one letter I will be all messed up lol.

  38. I took keyboarding in school. Best skill to learn ever! Because of that I can type by touch too (even though I’m probably considered part of the hunt and peck generation).

    I can’t write cursive worth a damn. I think at this point 98% of my written communication is electronic, so what`s the pointÉ (LOL it looks like my keyboard got switched to International or something, so no question mark – I guess that`s a great example of the problems that come with typing! Now to remember how to change that setting…)

    • I much prefer to type over writing by hand! And I didn’t know the keyboard could change languages:) I DID learn that about Facebook because one of my boys once changed me to “Pirate” and I had no idea what was going on.

  39. Would you believe we used to have a typewriter like that? My sister would practice (at the time, she did like, 80 words per minute). I thought that was the coolest thing I’d ever seen. I’d BEG her to just type so I could watch her fingers fly!
    One of the reasons why I refuse to get an IPAD (not including the obvious – because I don’t NEED ONE) is because I can’t type on the darned thing. I need those tactile cues or else I’m completely lost.

    • When we got out pad (which is NOT and iPad), I had so much trouble even touching anything on there! It was a real learning curve. I still miss keys on it but at least I have figured out the motion and how hard to tap and all that.

  40. I took a typing class in Junior High. Something that’s obsolete that’s obsolete that I had growing up…a word processor. MY parent’s got if for me in high school so I could write my papers. LOL. I tried to explain what a word processor was to my kids but they just laughed and didn’t “get it.”

  41. Do you typeI’m 29. I type by touch far more often now than I used to because I was a hunt and pecker for a long time until I took an extra job as a dispatcher and had to actually type for a living. I also leave two spaces after a period, although I learned that from my mother who was a secretary and she took typing class in school. I write in cursive and in university was shocked to see that looking down the rows in lecture hall not one person in at least 50 surrounding me was writing in cursive. A few had laptops, but most were printing. As a teacher I teach cursive writing, but am still shocked by the number of grade 8 students that cannot read it. I quite enjoyed your posting – it made me think and remember some good times (including the old typewrite my family owned that I used to lug out as a child to type on for fun – I even turned in some elementary school assignments that were typed on it instead of our computer with the orange on screen text.

I love comments!

