Ode to Cardio

How do I love thee?  Let me count the ways.

I love that you burn calories.

I love that you make me feel sweaty and tired in a good way.

I love that you dampen my appetite.

I love that you keep me busy so that I’m not snacking.

I love that you are something I do with my husband.

I love that you remind me that I’m actually kinda strong and have some muscles.

I love that you give me energy.

I love that with you in my day, I don’t feel the need for an afternoon nap.

I love that you reduce my stress and lift my mood.

I love that you give me endorphins.

I love that when I’m not injured, you are a habit and part of my daily routine.

I love that you are the perfect forum for watching Glee and Desperate Housewives.

I love that you have a positive impact on my cholesterol.

I love that absence makes the heart grow fonder and I MISS you!

What do YOU love (or at least like) about cardio or any form of exercise?

56 Comments

Filed under exercise

56 responses to “Ode to Cardio

  1. One day my knee will get better and perhaps then I will be able to enjoy cardio just as much! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by on my SITS day! 🙂

  2. Mostly I LOVE the way I feel after I’ve done cardio – both physically and mentally. But I also love the way that regular cardio makes other things easier (climbing stairs, walking about etc).

    The only thing I don’t like about cardio is when it’s TOO hard. And I don’t just mean you are huffing and puffing or struggling – I mean ‘projectile vomit’ hard! That puts me off and my avoidance gene kicks in.

    Deb

  3. I used to love that I could eat more because of it- BUT now that I am new and improved…. basically I love all the things on your list!!! I feel so less guilty watching Desperate Housewives when I am on the treadmill!!! 🙂

  4. **tiptoes away till she finds her love :-)**

  5. I love moving. Plain and simple. ^^

  6. Love the afterglow. And that I can have more calories. 🙂

  7. Ewa

    I am so with you on all of those.
    Gotta go for my run now. 🙂

  8. Running and other cardio has been the foundation of my fitness for 30 years! I’m a believer 🙂

  9. You have a great list here. I guess I would have to say that what I love about Cardio is that gives a feeling of empowerment, no matter how far you have to go. When I do cardio I feel like a completely different person, and I like that person a lot.

    By the way – I tagged you in my post today!

  10. Too funny! I am not a fan BUT I do love how it feels AFTER. When my feet were bad, I really realized how much I missed my running & yes being able to do it. Still not my fave thing but Oh how I appreciate being able to do it! Weights – LOVE! 🙂

    • Me – weights… not so much. I do enjoy the camaraderie when I workout with someone else though, either my mom (with our trainer) or a group fitness class. Okay, I love when I feel strong. But doing it – let’s say I’m glad when I’ve DONE it.

  11. Hiking is my cardio and I just love how much I love doing it. I plan the perfect trail and enjoy the history and hiker’s “high” that starts the minute you lace up the boots and doesn’t end until half way home. The physical benefits are all secondary but thankfully, they are all very much a factor!

  12. I’m always proud of myself after long walks or intense elliptical sessions.

    I also like how it really does give me some extra endorphins. I’m much more pleasant and better able to tend to the rest of my life when I’m exercising routinely and intensely. It’s like it clears the airwaves sort of.

  13. I love that I can do it while wearing hunting blaze orange and get noticed by everyone I pass, even those who normally wouldnt give me the time of day.

  14. Your list is pretty complete. I love how accomplished working out makes me feel, like I can now tackle anything and everything on my to-do list.

  15. I love best knowing I’ve done a good thing after it’s over! I like least that knowing what I love best, I still have to force myself to do it many days!

    • Honestly, I have to really gear up to be motivated to get started some days. My husband and I comment on that a lot since we are similar. Fortunately, before the latest calf thing, it was just pretty much routine for me, kinda like brushing my teeth. Except if it was something different, like getting outside to ride my bike, or getting back to a class at the gym I’d been away from.

  16. I couldn’t have said it better.. I love ALL of those things about cardio! And I love that I feel so accomplished after a great running session!

  17. I also love when it is over for the day!

  18. Roz

    Hi Karen. I LOVE this list. Yay for cardio, and yay for doing it often enough that you miss it if you can’t do it. Have a wonderful Monday.

  19. Cardio surely increases my fitness-funk ratio. I can’t help that I get real sweaty & stinky, but it’s also a family repellent. Which now has me thinking that prolonged fitness-funk is a way for me to finally be left alone and have some peace & quiet.

  20. Sunnydaze

    I love the way I feel physically and mentally. I love that it helps me organize my thoughts and clears my mind.

  21. No cardio in a long time. But almost all of the things you mentioned are things I miss about it.It just plain made me happy and gave me such a “Wonder Woman” powerful feeling. I’m still hoping all of that will come my way again.

    • Fingers crossed for you, Marsial. And maybe you can find other ways to get the same feeling. Last week I went back to yoga for the first time in years, for example. I’ll be posting about it soon.

  22. What a fantastic list! Such a positive outlook on what can be so, so hard! This was very motivational for me!

  23. What a great list! I love, love, love my biking and that I can do it with my husband, we can go *to* places on our bikes and burn calories at the same time – not to mention some of the beautiful areas we bike in (ignoring the traffic areas…).

  24. I just love the fact that my body is moving for the sheer pleasure of it, and NOT for cooking, doing laundry, dusting, vacuuming, etc. Housework may be exercise, but it’s very overrated.

  25. Hey Karen! I love cardio for heart health. It is the most important exercise. But I really don’t like doing it, because I would rather spend time doing weight lifting or yoga, or even push-ups! Or even ab exercises! I guess it’s just boring to me, but I still do it for my heart.

    🙂 Marion

  26. KLA

    Great list.

    The only thing that I don’t like about cardio is that it takes so much time when you include the warm-up, cool down, stretching, getting ready before, having a shower after, travel time. For a thirty minute workout, I need to dedicate at least an hour of time.

    • Ah, true. I don’t work or have young kids so the time hasn’t been much of a burden on me. As a matter of fact, watching Biggest Loser led my husband and me to work out longer because we figured if they can do hours and hours, we had no excuse to kick it up a notch.

  27. I love cardio for the exercise high I always feel in the shower after a really hard workout. I also love the way my body feel slightly sore the day after a strength training workout-I like having that assurance that the work I’m doing is making a difference.

  28. Oh, I love cardio too, as you know.
    and for every one of hte reasons you stated.
    It also relieves my anxiety hugely. It’s a miracle for that.

  29. I love that you wake me up more than any amount of coffee can.

    I love that you reward me with endorphins!

  30. I am so freaking jealous of that list- especially the missing it part. I do it with a Grinch expression on my face.

    I like that you sort of balance out the empty calories of Real Housewives with the cardio.

    I have been wondering about your cholesterol. Yes. I do that. Sigh. Part of my genetic code.

    • That’s what I mean by absence making the heart grow fonder! When I was doing cardio every day, sometimes twice a day, I got it done, but I never looked forward to it. I never really wanted to get started. But I was always glad I’d done it when it was over:) Now that I can’t even start – LOVING it:) So do some extra for me today!

  31. I ode to cardio right along with you. If only I could feel the same affection for those dumbbells. Maybe some day!

    • I know. Jody loves them! What makes them more enjoyable (or at least less of a chore) for me is doing strength training with a partner. Or in a class. Just not alone.

  32. Walking is my cardio choice most of the time, and besides all the stuff you mention it’s also a real creative booster for me. Maybe because it helps me clear my head, get the oxygen flowing again.

  33. Clever post! I love its ability to wake me up in the morning and make each day better, the chance it gives me to “dance” to new music, albeit on a treadmill or elliptical machine, and of course the endorphin rush. But now, cardio has to share equal time with strength training for me and I’m quickly learning to love that just as much too. 🙂

  34. I love how cardio makes me feel and helps me sleep!

I love comments!

