Have Yourself a Merry Little Blog Award

I’ve been rather delinquent lately.  And the reason for that is ironic considering the topic of this post…  I was given the Versatile Blogger award.  Twice.  And when I read the definition I laughed – because I am soooo not good at turning from one task to another.  Thus my need to apologize to the two lovely bloggers who gave me this award, for taking so long to write about it.

~~~
Versatile:  ver-sa-tile [vursuh-tl] or, especially British, [vursuh-tahyl]:  capable of, or adapted for, turning easily from one to another various tasks, fields of endeavor, etc.:  a versatile writer.
Word information source:  www.dictionary.com
~~~
Here’s how the award works:
1.  You thank the person who presented you with the award.
2.  You tell 7 things about yourself.
3.  You award 15 other newly discovered bloggers.
~~~
So, first things first.  Thank you, KLA and Fat in Suburbia!
~~~
And as for the seven things, I’ve done this before and told you so much about myself already that I thought today I’d go with a holiday theme.  ‘Tis the season, after all.
~~~
1.   We have an interfaith household and over the years have adapted relatively easily, IMO, to melding the December holidays.  It probably helps that none of us are particularly religious so things are pretty secular around here.
~~~
2.  My first Christmas tree was one I made out of poster-board and mounted to the wall in my grad school apartment for my husband on our first Christmas together.  When our boys were small, we bought “live” trees and planted them in our backyard; today there are three huge evergreens out there.  Now our tree is artificial; I spray the air with pine scent.
~~~
3.  I don’t remember what my first Christmas gift from my husband was, but his mom gave me a Sears hand mixer.  At the time I thought it was an interesting (and rather domestic) choice for the woman dating her son, but I still have (and use) it, 25 years later, so I think it was a darn good present.  But the best gift she gave me was the man himself:)
~~~
4.  Every ornament on our tree has meaning.  Some were collected on travels.  Many are from our annual tradition of giving an ornament as a stocking stuffer that commemorates something in our lives.  I even have one with my blog header on it that my husband designed but it won’t go on the tree since I’m kinda still anonymously blogging.
~~~
5.  Hands down my favorite thing about Hanukkah is potato pancakes – latkes.  I think my husband and sons would agree.  Okay, maybe my sons would rate gifts as tops and latkes as second.  Maybe.
~~~
6.  As I’ve shared before, I hate clutter.  So I’m not a big fan of holiday decorating.  Less is more, IMO.  And, as you might imagine, I like things taken down and put away SOON after the holidays.
~~~
7.  I am very hard to shop for, not intentionally, but there is just so little I want.  This year our new tablet is taking the place of all gifts for my husband and myself, other than stocking stuffers.  I had to turn up the volume on my thinking cap to come up with ideas for things my sons could give me.
~~~
Now for the hard part:  passing this on to newly discovered bloggers.  For the first time ever, as a blog award recipient, I’m going to crap out on this part.  And let me tell you I feel guilty just typing that!  But, I haven’t found many new blogs lately and honestly my memory is so bad that I can’t remember how long I’ve been following most of the ones I follow!  And  right now my mind is consumed with thoughts of gingerbread, rather than blog reading.  So, instead, I welcome your suggestions for blogs that I might like to add to my list.  If you aren’t comfortable singling them out in comments below, send me an email (at waistingtimeblog@gmail.com).  I’m thinking that a few new blogs to follow will be a perfect little holiday gift for myself:)
~~~
Blog suggestions?  The most memorable gift you ever received?  Fun holiday traditions?
~~~
And for all who celebrate anything this time of year – Happy Holidays!  Or as my kids used to say –

 

 

~

 

35 Comments

Filed under awards, holidays/seasons/weather

35 responses to “Have Yourself a Merry Little Blog Award

  1. Happy Holidays!

    Fun Holiday Tradition: I save all my Christmas cards. The next year, I go crazy with my scissors and use them as interesting and unique gift tags, gift bag decorations, etc…

    It’s always hard to throw away Christmas cards for me…this way…I am “re-using them”…so I don’t feel any Catholic guilt! 🙂

    P.S. You can follow my blog every now and then for some comic relief. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your well-deserved award. I think that the obligation to send the awards on (even though I wanted to) lead to quite a bit of blogging burn out for me because, um, not being really organized for me to be able to write a post, post a picture, then find the bloggers and their URLs – well, you get it. But a wonderful idea to have people give you their suggestions!

  3. Miz

    I love love love love your writing.
    your style
    your humor.

    the end.

  4. Congratulations on the blog award!!!

    And I do have gingerbread on the brain too! Gingerbread cookies with crystalized ginger in them… really, you can’t beat it for something that tastes like December… 🙂

  5. I’m with Michele – my favorite cookie is a ginger cookie with crystallized ginger, though I’m pretty sure there is crack in that ginger, because they are addictive, and not just to me!

    When our kids were growing up, we always all slept in the living room with a fire going all night (tended by the Mr.), on the floor around the tree — on Christmas Eve Eve, so that would be tomorrow night. Would you believe my daughter wants to do it this year? Dibs on the couch!

    I didn’t realize you were an interfaith household – love that. I’m probably the least religious one in the family, though spirituality is of the utmost importance to me.

    Blessings to you throughout the coming days, no matter what you’re celebrating. You’re a wonderful blog friend, writer, and support. I’ll be leaning on you after January starts!

  6. Mixed household here too. And as you know, not super religious so it works out fine. It is hard with the grandkids & 2 oldest out of state, parents gone & so forth but we celebrate those that are with us now & remember those gone…

    I LOVE YOUR LIST! Heck, I can’t even remember yesterday! 😉

  7. I said the same thing on my blog! Merry Christmahanukwanzaakah to you too 😉

    My husband says I’m hard to shop for but I think NOT. I like things I can USE- like gift cards, lotions, bath items, calendars, movie tickets, etc 🙂

  8. I’m not much of a holiday decorator either…we have a tree with ornaments with lots of memories and it goes up a few days before Christmas and comes down, sometimes, the day after! And I don’t do anything for any other holiday in terms of decorating. Not religious here either…I love the philosophy of Kwanzaa though!

    • I was finally putting ornaments on the tree yesterday and thinking how very much work it is for a few days of decoration! It would be different, I think, if it was something we did as a family. But my boys couldn’t be bothered. So, I do it for my husband:)

  9. Mo

    Merry – Merry – Happy – Happy to you.

    We have many traditions I love…the oyster stew, not so much!! Santa Elves bring us PJ’s the night before that almost always matched (if they didn’t come, then no Santa – oh, no). Then my dad made this wonderful advent tree years ago – we add a half red metal bucket to the bottom, that has 25 envelopes..wooden ornaments come out each day that were painted by the kids. I always love the Church on the 25th day…but you just never know if it might be the Jack-in-the-box!! This item is over 45 years old. I will never give it up!! (since my parents have been gone more then 14 years it is so important for me to remember this, especially keeping the envelopes with my Mom’s handwritten numbers on them).

    Enjoy your holidays!!!! Much Happiness and Peace to you and your family!!!

  10. Hi Karen

    Congratulations on your award… I loved the 7 things. I could particularly relate to your dislike of clutter – it’s the one thing I find challenging about decorating at Christmas. In fact I’m a bit anal about what decorations I put up for that reason – tasteful and matching and minimalist!

    Enjoy the holiday season!

    Deb

  11. Merry Christmahanukwanzaakah to you too! Love, love, love your blog! Wishing you a peaceful holiday season.

  12. Congrats on your award. My favorite tradition is baking and singing Christmas songs with the kids. I don’t sing well but I love, love, love Christmas music.

    • I like some of the music. Some – not so much. Years ago we’d play it but now I’m into a “quiet” phase of my life and just don’t play music at all.

  13. And happy holidays to you!

    No remarkable traditions here, unless you count eating too much. 🙂

  14. A tradition that my grandmother did when she was alive was to send holiday napkins instead of christmas cards. That way we could use them at the dinner table. I miss that because it isn’t the same when someone else does it.

    Merry Christmas!

  15. I think you are doing well to get a long post up this week!

    Congrats on the award and I don’t blame you for ditching the part where you have to name a bunch of new bloggers. I thought the blog awards were fun when I first started blogging but then I soon realized that they were more of a “chore” for me.

    Sounds like you found a balance to the interfaith marriage. It’s interesting how opinonated people are on such things!

    I love Lori’s Grandmother’s tradtition of sending holiday napkins instead of cards. Wish I had thought of that years ago!

    We usually attend Christmas Eve service, have a two favorite soups with good bread that night. Christmas morning we have a big breakfast that I make which includes Danish pancakes called aebilskivers.We end our monring meal by opening up Christmas Crackers – I wrote about those on my blog post.
    From there we move on to the living room to open presents and look in our Christmas stockings to see what treasures they hold. We have a late Christmas dinner and play games or watch a movie. It’s really about being with family and enjoying each other as we celebrate the birth of Jesus.

    Happy Holidays!

  16. Merry Christmas Karen! I hope that your kids could come home from school. My two college daughters are home. We are having a great time with the 4 kids squabbling affectionately. 😀 Marion

  17. love the happy christmahanukwanzakah!!!

    We just do the happy Christmakah 🙂

    Happy New Year!!

I love comments!

