Isn't It Ironic

Thank you to Lori for the Stylish Blogger Award.  I got a little chuckle out of this one because I am one of the most unstylish people I know.  Oprah might call me a frumpadump.  (Which would be okay not only because it’s true but because I’d be thrilled to have Oprah call me anything!)  So, for the seven things I am supposed to share about myself, I thought I’d go with a theme…

Karen’s Styling Life or Lack Thereof:

1. My favorite colors to wear for shirts are just about any shade of purple and something that would probably be described as turquoise.  But on the bottom… black, baby!  Yep, I think it’s slimming.  Not to mention it goes with just about anything on top.  And my limited shoe collection always has at least one pair of seasonal black to match.  Wait!  I just noticed that in my header I’m dressed in… purple and black:)  Nope, I don’t have a clock belt.

2.  I am the queen of the baggy knit pants.  I’ve shared before how this penchant for comfort-over-style probably helped contribute to my many weight regains.  Some of said baggy pants are so worn out that you can see the elastic peeking through the waistband.  Shameful, really.  I think the time has come for a ritual burning or tossing of the droopy drawers.

3. I rarely bother to “accessorize” and sometimes wonder if I’ve gone so long without earrings that the holes in my ears will close up.  I have quite a range of jewelry that rarely gets worn and runs the gamut from the cheap beaded stuff I made myself to diamonds, a girl’s best friend.  And speaking of diamonds, I take off my wedding ring before I wash my face at night and don’t put it back on until after I’ve exercised and showered the next day.

4.  My husband thinks I look best without makeup – but he’s wrong.  There is no doubt in my mind that a little eye liner and mascara goes a long way on a redhead with pale eyelashes.  But, being the frumpadump that I am, I only put it on for special events or photo ops.  Back in the days when I was a working woman, I even wore eye shadow!  Lipstick – never.

5.  I rarely shop for clothes unless I need something.  Sometimes it’s because I don’t want to buy stuff in the size I’d wear; often it’s because I’m cheap.  When I go on vacation (every second or third year) with my close girlfriend, I do love some recreational shopping.  I’m very out of touch with fashion trends.  Big shoulder pads, anyone?

6.  What I wear under my clothes is just as uninspired as what I wear that shows.  For example, unless I’m wearing a clingy T-shirt, I’m probably going braless that day.  And thanks to the wisdom of my mom, I have a pretty boring, mostly beige panty collection.  Sadly, my favorite style is no longer being made and I noticed my old pairs all seem to be ready for the trash at the same time.  Men may not get this, but there’s not much worse than uncomfortable underwear!  Excuse me while I tug mine down on my butt cheeks.

7.  As you might have guessed, I’m even frumpy when it comes to what I wear to bed.  Right now I have two old, and I mean OLD, T-shirts that I rotate.  How old?  Old enough to have multiple holes at the seams.  But since I rarely shop and like to be comfy, I have yet to replace them.  When I get up in the morning I throw on a pair of equally old but not-yet-holey fleece pajama bottoms and if it’s cold, top it with an even older plaid flannel shirt of my husband’s that predates our marriage.  And, I admit that I have actually gone on an early morning grocery run in this ratty outfit!

So there you have it.  More than you could ever want to know about my unstylish self.  So… what about you? Stylish or frumpadump?  Any style confessions of your own that you’ll admit?

Now, for the hard part:  to pass this on.  I’m supposed to pick 15 bloggers but I’m just going to go with a quick list of some who are relatively new blog acquaintances.

Amy and Rae @ Weight a Second

Dawn @ A New Dawn for Me

Denise @ YAPS about Weight Loss

Lisa @ Challenge Accepted

Mo @ We’re Losing It

Munchberry @ I’m Just Puffy

Roz @ Weighting for 50

Sable @ Squat Like A Lady

Safire @ Healthy Dreaming

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

52 Comments

Filed under appearance, awards, clothing

52 responses to “Isn't It Ironic

  1. Oh, this is too funny and so ME! I don’t need to say anything else because you’ve said it all. Fits me to a tee!!

    Seeing anyone special today?????

  2. Karen once again we are so alike! I cracked up at this. I have applied to What Not to Wear more time than I can count. I am so fashion clueless!!! I don’t shop at all now due to money but even before I could not get it right. My feet, well, they only fit in sneakers. Due to width & bunions, nothing cue fits my feet!

    • Karen

      The thought of being ambushed by that show horrified me! They make you trash all your dumpy, comfy clothes! Not sure I could happily wear stylish stuff:)

  3. Karen, you are just too funny. I think we all have our days when we just don’t give a rat’s behind as to what we wear. I work in a one-on-one situation at work and have done that for many years. It’s hard to justify dressing up when I know I’m not going to be seeing very many people. Most of my clothes are yoga-styled clothing (and I don’t even do yoga) but they are SO comfy. Oh, and I only own 2 nice dresses – one happens to be my wedding dress.

    • Karen

      I’m going to say it is a good thing to not care so much about how I look. Okay, maybe caring a bit is good too… but I’m glad I can just head out in public and wear what I’m wearing. Of course, when I run into someone I know I have to stop and think “what do I have on and is my hair sticking up?”

  4. Oh my goodness!!! Number 6! Not me — I even sleep in a bra. But regarding earrings, I’ve had that same concern about the holes closing. But they don’t. I’m allergic to cheap jewelry (physically allergic, not snobbishly allergic) and can’t wear anything that’s not real gold. This means it’s too expensive to have many pairs anyway, and I recently lost the ones I wore most often. Time to rethink this I think.

    • Karen

      I got mine pierced (ears not boobs) at 10 and my mom only let me wear real metal for years, gold or silver. Not sure why. So for much of my life I just kept that up and was a bit of a jewelry snob, I think. Not sure when I crossed over to the darkside and started with cheap stuff. But some of that is my favorite stuff now:)

  5. Sable@SquatLikeALady

    HAHA nooooo I am the WRONG person for this award!!! haha. I wear makeup….maybe once every 8 weeks. MAYBE. That’s pushing it. Thanks to my job and my school I wear sweatpants and scrubs 98% of the time (I wore a skirt once in the past month).

    I appreciate it though 😀 I guess I have my own kind of style. Now how to describe it O_O

    • Karen

      Well, it really in theory applies to your blog, I think:) So feel free to write anything about yourself. I just took this in a different direction. I sometimes consider going back to work but could so not do it in a job like my old one where I’d have to dress up, wear heels and makeup!

  6. Thanks so much for nominating me 🙂 I do try to stay stylish but I’m frumpy when I’m indoors in the comfort of my home lol!

  7. I’m a total frump. Comfort the whole way!!!!

  8. Unstylish here, too! And re: #3, my earring holes did close up. Or it may be scar tissue in there, since I had a problem with keloids at one time. I keep trying, though. I have too many pairs of earrings not to! 🙂

  9. I have fashion sense, I just don’t have the budget to use it!!! 🙂

    I too am generally in a t-shirt and yoga pants or some such ensemble. I wear old t-shirts and boyshorts or boxers to bed and yep…I rarely wear makeup (church and special functions only) because my man thinks I look better without it!

    It’s okay to be an unstylish person but stylish blogger!!! I think you’re an awesome blogger!!

    http://www.wishyoucouldblog.blogspot.com

    • Karen

      Thanks:) And I have often imagine shopping and dressing if I won the lottery. Oh that might be fun. Imagine going into any store and not even looking at price tags!

  10. JourneyBeyondSurvival

    Lately I’m a frumpadump more than anything else! But, I’m working on it.

  11. Biz

    Ha – I had to laugh because I thought I was the only one who wore ratty pajamas to the grocery store – but I may have one up on you – they are usually stained too! 😀

  12. Haw. Let’s just say I could copy and paste your list and make it my own stylish entry. Right down to the love for purple tops (seriously – people make fun of me) to the neuroma in the foot to the fleece to the store. I wear my jammies to the store and sometimes a teeshirt that is covered with morning and lunch meal dribbles. I wear Just My Size underwear. Serious man repellant.

    But I do have extraordinary flair when I imagine myself. An alternate me. She wears lipstick, has a signature perfume, unsnagged hose and knows 50 ways to tie a scarf. She even knows just the perfect style for her hair and it always looks fabulous. I love Altermunchy.

    Congratulations on your award. Maybe it is a sign of perfectly sitting trousers and a lovely handbag of your future. A small handbag – because you do not need to hide behind it or have it make you look smaller in comparison – you are that good!

    • Karen

      Oh – I forgot about perfume! I actually own two bottles but they are so many years old I shudder to think what they smell like now:( Hose. Ugh. Hate them.

  13. Thank you for the nomination! I have been thinking about what I am going to write ever since I first saw this. My first blog award. *grins* I am trying to be less frumpy but hard when you need new clothes.

    • Karen

      Don’t feel you need to go in the direction I did! Your first award – I remember how excited I was when I got mine. Have fun with it. Write what you want:)

  14. I like to think of myself as stylish but as I get older, comfort sometimes wins out…but then again, I think style AND comfort are possible!!

    And then there’s what I like to sleep in…a pair of ratty old shorts that are literally falling apart at the seams.

    • Karen

      I think my mom would agree with you about style and comfort. I am sure she shakes her head in wonder that her daughter dresses nothing like she does:)

  15. LMAO ditto-ditto-ditto (minus the knit pants)
    I’m soooo not a shopper or accessorizor – sigh…
    I got this award last year and my sis FORCED me to shop – I went all out baby – banana republic – and I gotta say – it felt kind of nice to have non-jeans-non-tank-non-tee kind of clothes!
    But I haven’t been back 🙂

  16. Too funny! You remind me of my mom with your wardrobe style!

    Me? I love make-up, adore new clothes, shoes and purses and being a red head myself-I rarely go with out make up! Love to fix my hair differently through out the week, sometimes curly, sometimes straight or in an up do!

    I made my mind up when I became a stay at home mom that I wasn’t going to give up looking nice each and every day.

    Love pretty underclothes and lovely nighties! Do yourself a little favor and buy yourself some pretty undies-they make you feel awesome!

    • Karen

      My mom is much more like you! Funny how that happens. I wonder if I had been married to a man who cared about this stuff more if I’d have fallen less deeply into laziness about it all. Well… I do need new undies. Hmm.

  17. That is so funny! I just don’t imagine you frumpy at all. Your wit and writing doesn’t feel that way. Whatever that means.
    Plus, I guess your little drawing is wearing lipstick…
    Comfortable is good. And isn’t your husband sweet?! I remember when I did actually look better without makeup. I forgot to update that when i stopped being rosy cheeked and smooth skinned from youth.
    I’m trying to wear a little now. Of course, I’m hopping for some sun kissed cheeks soon.

    • Karen

      Huh – she is! AND earrings! So… I didn’t “accessorize” her either, my blog designer did. I DID however suggest the style and color top to be like me and the belt idea was mine.

  18. I hope I just stop short of frumpy with my comfort. I don’t wear elastic waist pants any more, except after my shower in the evening, and none of my clothing currently has holes. 🙂

  19. Congratulations on your award! My husband thinks the same thing so I never wear any. I am use to going without makeup now after 20 years without it. 🙂

    I have decided to blog again, I just can’t stay away!

  20. Hey. Well, I’m trying this again. 🙂

    I stopped over here to re-follow and in the process read your post explaining the problem. I sure hope your fix worked! I got about 75 emails before my unfollow took effect. 😮

    About the style, yeah, me too. I manage to wear earrings most of the time when I go to church. That’s my big accessory event. And so it goes…

    Deb

    • Karen

      I’m not going to send you an email reply! Right now I am doing some of those manually and NONE automatically. So, if nothing else, at least I know that you won’t get slammed again. But eventually I may reinstall that feature. Just warning you:)

  21. I “can” look fashionable, but I do have to make myself as I just don’t really care! I would so love to be on What Not to Wear!

  22. I am somewhat frumpy, although my clothes tend to be a little more form fitting now that I have a shape other than round!

    I will wear mascara most days, but that is really the only makeup I wear anymore. And I used to sell Mary Kay and did the whole shebang!

  23. I am not a make-uppy kind of girl either. I am not much of a shopper, but do like finding good buys or shopping at garage or rummage sales, where I rarely find anything for me, but do for the grandbabies.

    I have finally weeded out most of my shabby clothes, comfy or not they are gone!

  24. I guess I am fashionable in that I do wear makeup (mascara and lipstick) I do buy clothes fairly often and I would never go out to the store in my jammies or without mascara. I do go in my workout clothes – that is as “undressed” as I go in public. I have always loved clothes – but at my current size – fashion is not really possible. I am happy to be presentable.

    I do have trouble finding comfortable undies so mine are terribly worn out and need to be replaced. I wear cotton knit nighties and a couple of them need replacing but they are soooo soft – I can relate to your tee shirts!

    I also take my wedding ring off at night and put it on after I am dressed for the day – I think we are unusual in that.

  25. Oh goodness I did enjoy reading these seven points… pretty much the same for me, except that I do wear earrings nearly every day and sometimes even a bracelet. I’ll add one more to your list.

    8. I never use hair products of any sort. (What about you?)

    We’re good this way… good, natural, honest and OK!

    • Karen

      Nope:) And it drives my hairdresser crazy because she always wants to put something on at the end. Once when my hair was longer I used stuff… either to help me dry it straighter or to keep it curlier. In between was killing me.

  26. Yep, sounds so like me. If it’s comfortable I don’t care what it looks like. I hate being uncomfortable. I hate pulling undies from my butt but I found Hanes fat butt underwear (it’s really called never creep or something like that) and it’s so nice, no pulling, pinching and creeping and since I’m on the go all the time it’s so nice to be comfy there.
    Thanks for stopping by. Take care and have a blessed day!!

  27. Very funny. It’s amazing how fashion really affects the way we feel about ourselves, no? Sometimes I just want to wear my pajamas to the store, no make-up, and revel in my frumpiness…and sometimes I want to get all dressed up and look my best just for me!

    • Karen

      Funny thing is I rarely, if ever, WANT to get dressed up but them when I am, or at least my version of dressy, I feel good:)

  28. That is so funny that your husband thinks you look best without makeup – mine does too, and he’s also wrong!!! People at work ask me if I’m sick when I don’t wear makeup… 🙂

  29. Shira

    Karen,stylish is a state of mind, which i’m sure is what drove that award! I am passionate about things purple myself (must be a redhead thing) and when I think no one is looking, try to run around in yoga clothes as much as possible. 🙂

  30. I loved this post, and I identify with much of the “frumpy stuff.” I often feel guilty about my comfort clothes, etc., and then I have good intentions about sprucing up a bit, but it doesn’t usually last very long. Growing up with TV moms wearing high heels around the kitchen made me a believer in “comfort first.” I think we all have our own style, and we don’t have to be fashion mavens to look attractive. You’re great!

I love comments!

