Summertime and the Blogging is Easy

Summer is not quite officially here but the temperatures and end of school say otherwise!  And, to the best of my faulty memory’s ability, I seem to recall that things slow down significantly in the blog world when they pick up in the real world with the warm weather.  I had a taste of it myself, when I was crazy busy recently with babysitting three young nephews followed by an out-of-town family reunion.  The result – not nearly as much time as I usually have to sit at my keyboard with my thinking cap on and the creative juices flowing; not nearly enough time to visit and comment on other people’s blogs.

So this summer I’m going to finally do what I keep saying I might do… blog less often.  And because I know some of you (myself included) like things to be predictable, my plan is to stick to a schedule and see how that goes.  For now, look for new posts on Mondays and Thursdays.  But you are hereby officially warned that I may exercise my woman’s prerogative to change my mind.

Somehow the weeks of summer always seem to fly by for me faster than any other time of year.  Is it the same for you?

Anyhoo, this summer I have nothing exciting going on for myself.  My teen… well that’s another story.  He had college orientation last week.  So now there is lots and lots of nagging and shopping and packing, which I will be involved in since I am still an over-controlling helicopter mom for a couple more months.  Then he is heading to Minnesota and Canada to camp in the Boundary Waters with friends.  (His over-controlling helicopter mom is trying to block out her vision of flying fishhooks.)  So mostly I’ll spend my summer preparing my nest for emptying in mid-August and dreading the long car ride that comes with it.

What about you?  Any summer plans?  And does summer bring a change to your blog reading or posting schedule?

Postscript:  It seems that old emails are once again being sent out from my blog.  Just wanted to say something in case you get one, or many, and are wondering.  You can read more about the last time this happened here.  If anyone has any ideas about how I can fix this PLEASE let me know! Apologies for any confusion, emails you didn’t get in the past, and inundated inboxes:)

67 Comments

Filed under blogging

67 responses to “Summertime and the Blogging is Easy

  1. Miz

    for me it is more WHAT summer it is.
    My girl starts kindergarten in the fall and is ALL ABOUT the mama right now 🙂
    Im highly aware this is fleeting (hello friends taking over!) so Im embracing it …and if that means less blogging it means more livinglessbloggingaboutlife 🙂

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      Anyhoo, I’ll admit it… I’m a mom who enjoyed the hours when my kids were in school. When my youngest started “full day” I called it “mommy freedom day.” Much as I loved having the little guys around, I loved having some peace and quiet and “me” time too:)

  2. LOL. My post today has the same theme!

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      Off to check out your post… and to enjoy a beautiful summer day:)

  3. Popped in to say thanks on my body image post at SITS. I hope your toe is better!

  4. Glad to know you’ll be posting at least twice per week… that’s quite reasonable.

    My summer plans — well, the plans that remain in place no matter what happens regarding my job situation include the following: 1. continue to work toward half marathon preparation (September 17th is fast-approaching); 2. attend a conference in Philadelphia in July; and 3. stay out of the heat as much as possible.

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      It always amazed me at how often you post with a full-time job! I’m sure I told you that before. When I started my blog I posted daily for a while and gradually have cut back over time. Eventually, what will be left to say? Keep cool, Michele.

  5. Karen, I was thinking the same thing as you wrote but did not blog about it.. how summer the reading slows down & I am already noticing it in the stats.. I am really going to try to blog less. I always say that & don’t but I think I must – not even sure if I will schedule days for posts or not…. First I have to stop blogging so much!;-)

    So, where is the kid headed to college? Exciting times!

    We have family visiting in mid July s I know for me, that might be a time I take some days off. Looking forward to it since we have not had $$ to visit them or go on vacation for quite awhile…

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:( I’m on hold with godaddy again even as I type. Might be time to change. Ugh.

      I have had several readers tell me they like knowing what days to expect posts. I guess it will be easier for me too knowing “tomorrow” is the day to publish? He is going to be out your way: USC.

  6. It seems I always end up being the radical, but summer is my LEAST favorite season. I will have MORE time and am looking forward to doing some things with my blog that I’ve put aside during prime hiking season and then our travel. I try to get outdoors EARLY to get my exercise done and then head back in for reading, writing and other stuff.

    With our current trip approaching an end, we will plan something for the 2 1/2 weeks in August between Mr. B’s summer class and the start of fall semester. In the meantime, we’ll be looking for any weekend escapes to the high country to get away from East TN heat and humidity!

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      I think we can give you are run for the heat and humidity money! If my husband and I EVER get back on our bikes it will be early:( Looking forward to seeing what you have in store for your blog.

  7. Soooooo love this – and I would never hold it against you! Warm weather, good friends, and adventures! THAT is how we all should spend our summer vacation.
    Me? Gosh… I dunno! Summer has never really been any diff than other times – did I miss something?

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      Well, I did preface that with my faulty memory… but I’m pretty sure things slow down. Same with holiday season. Adventures – that sounds like fun. Need to have me some:)

  8. Ewa

    Whenever I tell myself that I will blog only on certain days, I end up blogging all the time. It is like with unsatisfied cravings, I guess. I envy people with more self control.
    My summer plans? Big hike so if all goes as planned – no blogging for weeks. I can already feel the major withdrawal syndromes. 🙂

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      Ah, I predict you won’t miss it when you are on your hike:) I envy you loving that and having such great places to go and such beautiful scenery.

  9. Our big summer plans are to go to the Puget Sound for our son’s wedding in late July. We are traveling with another son and wife and their three kids so should be fun. We plan to hike and bike in Olympic National Park. In late August we are off to Exeter, UK where I am delivering two papers. There are two national parks there, too, with great opps for biking and hiking.

    I am just trying to find a balance with blogging and committing myself to only so much time per day. Now that I am in three different challenges, I will probably not taper off too much, except when traveling.

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      Now that sounds fabulous! And congrats to you and your son:) My philosophy is we should enjoy blogging and get something out of it, whatever that something is for each of us.

  10. Haha. In order to blog twice a week, I have to make a goal of blogging every weekday. Yeah, I suck that much! 🙂

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      I think you should blog when you “want” to or “need” to. I’m all about blogging because we get something from it, whatever that something is for us each.

  11. whew! good luck on the cutting back…i like to blog about EVERYTHING so if i take time off then i get mega behind (my newest pregnancy has me currently a month behind) so my goal is the opposite of yours..I need to blog MORE to get back on track haha 😉 enjoy your break! i’m your newest follower!

    • Karen

      I can only imagine what it would have been like to have blogging when I was pregnant and/or a mom with young kids. Or having the internet even! What a great way to reach out and find connections and community and to record life.

  12. Jan

    Being an old fart, summer is just like the rest of the year – except living in Tucson I get to complain extra about the heat. We don’t vacation in the summers because everyone else does. This gives us 2 benefits: my love is seen as a generous person for letting her business partners take time off to be with their kids so she gets her choice of time off later; we get to be in glorious locations when kids are in school.

    My exciting summers plans are to just heal up and hopefully get to the point where I can do some exercise besides walk around the block!

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      That’s a great summer plan! Hope all went smoothly with the latest procedure. I admit it, I avoid vacationing in your part of the world in the summer!

  13. Sable@SquatLikeALady

    Oh I definitely have summer fever too 😀 I have billions of blog posts I want to write but I have been bitten by the lazy bug! I’d rather sit outside in the sunshine 😀

  14. Summer is a busy time for most, including myself, so I understand the need to slow down. Strangely, I’ve started blogging more, despite my increasingly hectic schedule. Enjoy your summer!

  15. Ack. Over FIFTY messages in my gmail so far today. I just marked messages from your site to be filtererd and automatically deltetd.

    I’m going to unfollow you til this is fixed. Since I was hacked not to long ago, I’m kind of nervous about this stuff right now.

    Sorry, karen. I love your blog. :{

    Deb

  16. JourneyBeyondSurvival

    Ha! I got two from you. I suspect that it has something to do with your plug-in not being updated, and then your upgrade on the host bringing both into sync again.

    Or some such shenanigans.

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated beyond those two.

      I’ve spent a lot of time on the phone with godaddy and they are so nice but soooo can’t come up with a resolution for this. They are now blaming plug ins but admit mine are all up-to-date. I’ll be curious to hear if you ever have similar issues… not getting all the emails from your blog or having them go out to whomever. I will send you an email with some questions…

  17. Glad to see that you are taking more time for yourself. I agree that summer comes and goes before we even have time to settle in. VERY glad that you will still be around a couple of times per week just to say hi, though (yes, I’m that selfish!)

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      I struggled with the whole idea, Ellen. And then with timing. But I do know that some of my readers like knowing what day they’ll find a new post so a schedule seemed smarter than just going with the flow of creativity and life.

  18. Good for you Karen! You should take a break and enjoy your summer.

    Oh I have gotten several old messages from you in my email today! I wondered what was going on! LOL!

    I have found that posting 3 days a week on average is good for me. It takes a lot of pressure off since I have more time to work on recipes, posts and so forth.
    My readership has continued to grow since I cut back on how frequent I post. For me this is a fun hobby not a job. I need to keep my time on the computer to a limit so I can be sure to have time to enjoy being active!

    I wish I had more time to visit other blogs and comment but I just can’t spend more time on the computer it was starting to interfere with all the other things I enjoy. It is yet another area of life that I have to work at to find the right balance.

    Summer plans? Hubby and I plan to take a week in July off and go somewhere up the coast for a few days. In August we will travel to Nebraska to visit my parents and his mother, just over a long weekend. In September it will be back to San Francisco for a few days of shopping for me and work for him!

    Enjoy your summer!

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      BTW – I hardly ever remember to check that little box on your comment form to get a follow-up!

      Your summer plans sound wonderful. As does your sane approach to balance and blogging.

  19. Hey Gimpy. How’s the toe? Is it… swell? : )

    No really, are you still hobbled?

    • Karen

      Oh you are funny! I do enjoy reading your posts because of your great sense of humor:)

      Toe is much better. My personal diagnosis is that it must not have been broken, just badly jammed or bruised. Still haven’t tried to put on sandals and no treadmill yet.

      • What? I do not get a test mail? I see. Duly noted.

        I know this is going to sound counter intuitive or maybe counter intellectual (and I do so love to reflect both of those things all too often), but I think that sometimes (with the toes) jams and maybe bruises – they may be worse than a break. I have broken toes more often than I can recount (you can thank me later for the not recounting) and I have jammed and bruised them and it seems to me the latter group took forever (no, that is not an exaggeration. Mine still hurt.) to get right again. I guess depending how hard you shoved your foot into the item. I am a full throttle kicker.

        Anyhoo. If you get someone to suck on them I hope you will see fit to post on it for your reader’s entertainment. I am looking for non food sources of fun and that would surely fit the bill. If you opt instead for ice, well you can just keep that to yourself.

        Hope you are able to jump for pain free joy soon! Why can’t you wear sandals?

        • Karen

          OMG LOL! I hope my husband reads this because, honestly, I could go for a little toe sucking:) As for sandals, I guess they are not as supportive around the tootsies or the angle, since they have a slightly raised heel, put pressure on the toe.

  20. I’m actually a little worried about my summer blogging because I will be moving in a few weeks. Then I am sure everything will be very hectic with getting settled and unpacking and all that, so hopefully I can still make time to blog throughout all that. And of course still focus on my weight loss!

    • Karen

      Oh that would make it hard! And then there is the whole computer and internet set up stuff that I always need help with. Hope the move goes smoothly.

  21. No great big summer plans here. I’m just going to roll with it and see where I land. 🙂

    • Karen

      So this is a test… If you get this email would you please reply and let me know. I’m still having blog issues and will likely remove this “response” feature since email from my blog doesn’t seem to work properly. Sorry if you got inundated recently:(

      Rolling with it sounds good. I’ll roll too.

  22. I’ve been hearing that blogging and blog reading slow down over the summer, but not all that much changes for me. I have no kids yet, so I guess the summer doesn’t mean as much change for me. I do have one “vacation” (for a week, directing a summer camp for 120 girls) where I’ll take time off or put up some scheduled posts. Other than that, not much change for me.

    • Karen

      Yes, the biggest change for me typically revolves around my kids since I don’t work. That sounds like quite a “vacation”! Seems when I am away from my blog on vacation or something, I always have ideas for posts!

  23. Roz

    I only started blogging late last summer, so good to know the blog world slows down a bit when the weather gets warmer! Enjoy your blog free days, and I’ll look forward to reading your posts when they appear. Have a great day Karen!

  24. sounds good my mom and son have worked out a great schedule of local free activities this summer so will be busy as well but hope to take lots of photos so i have things to post about…

    Everyday Life

  25. Just stopping by to say thanks for the comment on my blog. I appreciate it. AND summer definitely is putting a cramp in my blog style. I’m not too great at regular blogging as it is so throw in much “real” life going on and it’s a recipe for disaster:)

  26. I think blogging twice a week is reasonable! I noticed visits to my blog went down last summer too. For now I am going to continue blogging as often as I can since it helps keep me on track!

  27. I personally love the slowing down. I love every one of your posts, but I can’t keep up with you. Twice a week sounds perfect.
    I plan on being part of summer this year and that means being outside lots more.
    That’s a great clip art, by the way. Perfect.

    • Karen

      Thanks for your kind words:) Honestly, I read a lot of blogs and I actually find it easier to get through them when the blogger isn’t posting too often, even if I love what they write. But I guess my philosophy is we should each blog however it fits our life or needs or how ever often it feels good.

  28. Just popped in to say “Hi”… For me the summer isn’t very different than any other time of year…. I’ve always just posted whenever I have something I want to say. For me, it’s not important if you blog on a schedule, because I use my feed to know when you do. For me, I’m just grateful for every time you post, because I always enjoy reading them.

    Thinking about “empty nesting”… I never had kids, so didn’t have to get through that phase. I shall be interested to hear your thumbs up and down about it…

    • Karen

      I love subscribing for that same reason! I actually rarely pay attention to anyone’s schedule… that is just too much to think about. When they post, up it pops. But I have heard from some readers that they like the predictability of knowing when a new post will be there, and maybe that will help motivate me to write some days:)

  29. Except for my recent hiatus, I try to blog the same. Honestly, I’ve been so pathetic, if I blogged less frequently, I don’t think I’d have a blog! Also, weird little detail, during the four months I took off to finish my book, my stats were pretty high! That’s a little strange isn’t it? I wasn’t even writing!

    Anyway, this summer we are supposed to go to Israel. If I know us, we’ll end up in Chicago! I don’t know. It’s a great expense to go overseas but I would like the kids to go there, but I’ve recently gotten in touch with so many people in Skokie because of my book I really want to go back! So we’ll see.

    • Karen

      That IS strange! I subscribe so never pay attention to schedules. When you (or anyone I follow) posts, up it pops. Love that. Have a great trip whatever your final destination.

  30. Jen

    Thanks for the recent post Karen! It so encourages me! Fewer posts work for me, because all of your posts are so meaningful! Hope you have the best summer!

  31. sunnydaze

    Karen,

    Hope you are doing well – I just wanted to share these beautiful articles with you that I just read. They sure hit home with me and made me think of you, as well.

    http://rockpapermusic.com/my-very-cool-roommate-is-moving-out/

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lorraine-devon-wilke/empty-next-syndrome_b_860906.html?ir=Women&icid=maing-grid7%7Cmain5%7Cdl11%7Csec3_lnk2%7C70739

  32. Hi Karen. Glad you are taking time off and relaxing more during the summer. Minnesota is gorgeous this time of year and I bet your son will have a wonderful experience. I did get a rerun of an earlier response from you, but have no idea on how to fix something like this and it’s really no bother. Sorry to miss you at CR, but November is an awesome time to go!

    • Karen

      Well, one more potential change in plans since I told you we had narrowed down dates. I’m sure you know how complicated it is with multiple schedules to work around:)

  33. I wish I had plans this summer. Just working. On the weekends I hope to get outside with my daughter and do some fun activities like the park, the zoo, etc.

  34. I’m blessed by lots of blogging time while I’m at work in the Spring and Summer. Autumn and Winter bring too much actual work and my blogging time takes a serious hit! As for summer plans and emptying nests … I may have you “beat.” My 21 y.o. college student son is going on a 5 month mission trip (leaving in July) to hike in the Himalayas! Yikes! 🙂

  35. I agree on the fact that summer seems to slow blogging. It means more light for more pictures for me, but I seem to blog less. There is just so much to do after work! Thanks for stopping by my blog for SITS day!

  36. I definitely like to take blogging slower in the summer and do more of the activities that I talk about on my blog. Funny thing, I tend to get more response and comments when I blog less.

    Have a great summer Karen!

I love comments!

