Going, Going, Gone… Gray

Today I almost plucked a gray hair.  Then I noticed it was not alone.  Plucking one was fine, but plucking several seemed silly and on the way to a losing battle.

And really, who would notice?  Because the gray hairs were not on my head.  They were… ahem… south of the equator, if you know what I mean.

There I was.  Forty-eight years old.  Having covered up the gray on my head for longer than I can remember.  Suddenly faced with a new sign of aging.  A surprise.  Really.  Both that it was happening to me and that it was happening at all.  I mean, other than me here, no one talks about… well… you know.

Sure, sure.  Movies joke about Brazilian wax jobs.  But no one talks about dye jobs!  Or going gray gracefully down there!

And I suspect you are sitting reading, if you are still reading, and shaking your head in wonder that I would even post about such a thing.  But after so many posts about eating and weight and learning from my mistakes, and yada, yada, yada, a little lightness about my recent discovery seemed just the thing to take my mind off other parts of my body.  And food.  Who wants to think about food and “you know what” at the same time.

Now if this didn’t help curb your appetite I don’t know what will!

So now I have one more thing to add to my ever-growing list that I am showing signs of aging.  Right up there with wrinkles and sagging jowls and bad feet and worsening memory.  Maybe I wouldn’t mind so much if I didn’t have both gray hair and zits at the same time!  Ah, the indignity of it all.  But as the expression goes, it beats the alternative.

79 Comments

Filed under aging

79 responses to “Going, Going, Gone… Gray

  1. please to have a seat.
    I will never have a clue if im aging down there (well, unless we move :)) as it is so so flipping hot here I shaved it alll off as soon as I unpacked.

    12 years ago.
    and havent looked back.

    how you like them apples? 🙂

    • Karen

      Oh you crack me up! And it took me (and my spam filter) a while to figure out the name you used. Funny Miz. BTW – sounds itchy!

  2. At least it is easier to colour the greys on our heads! I think I will feel the same surprise as you did when I find the first one. It seems like yesterday that I remember feeling excited just to grow hair down there. This life business is going way to fast for my liking!

    • Karen

      You know another TMI aging shocker? When your KIDS start growing hair in places other than their heads! Yikes.

  3. OH my goodness!!! What a way to start the day! I’m so amused! You win the fearless blogger award today — or perhaps the T.M.I. Award. 🙂

    At the same time, I think this would surprise and freak me out a little too.

    • Karen

      Ah, if only you knew. Not fearless at all. Truth is I wrote this a while back and only now finally decided “what the heck” and hit publish, still second guessing myself.

  4. Holy Crap! I just turned 40 in April and have suddenly become obsessed with the wrinkles popping up on my forehead and while I know I have some gray on my head, I’ve kept color on it for so long that those aren’t worries but Dear Lord! I had not even thought about grays popping up down there! One more thing to look forward to!

    I too still deal with zits on occasion. Zits and wrinkles at the same time is a cruel, cruel joke!

    • Karen

      When I had skin cancer surgery on my forehead a few years back I joked to my doctor about tightening things up. His reply is that the scar would just look like another wrinkle. Men!

  5. Can’t say I’ve seen any grays down there, although I have plenty (that I dye) on my head.

    That said? I have zits for sure! Zits and wrinkles and saggy neck skin (a rather new development)

    • Karen

      The other day at the gym I was looking in the mirror as I lifted weights and suddenly realized that the deepening lines on the sides of my mouth are like a marionette! Ugh.

  6. I’ve got to confess, I never expected that post from you. You had me laughing. I’ve got you beat there, but then I am a year older than you are. I keep everything trimmed so short so it isn’t very noticeable though. But I still don’t color my grey hair. I don’t have much, just a few tufts by one ear. I used to dye my hair for fun when I was younger and don’t know if I will in the future or not. I got carded recently and I was a little freaked out by it. I know I look younger than my years, but not that much younger. I think I’m ready to look a little more my age at this point. Well as long as I can still look sexy when I want to. And no one but my husband sees me down there and let me tell you, he is a lot greyer than I am. Did you know he cut his mustache off because because it was going grey too fast? That was years ago of course and his hair is totally grey at this point.

    • Karen

      My lovely mother reminds me that gray does not go well with red. She’s right, of course. The bad thing is that the gray on my head is all smack dab on top and in front! I tried letting it go a few summers back when my hairdresser took the summer off and pretended it was highlights. Looked pretty bad:(

  7. LOL I love this post!!! Hubby just sprouted his first few gray HEAD hairs (very early — he’s in the military and has had a lot of stress) and I think I shall reassure him by reading him your post. Haha!

    • Karen

      But there is such a double standard! Men going gray are considered distinguished. Same with some wrinkles. And they don’t have the hormones that seem to bring on all the pimples!

  8. js

    The Blog title didn’t prepare me for what the subject matter was….

    I’m an old guy still with a full head of black hair (On my Head). As for lower, still all dark I guess. I never thought much about it.

    As for the black hair on my head. If I let it grow too long, I look like one of those pathetic old guys wearing a cheap phony “Hair Helmet.”

  9. Love this post. But, also helps me to see you as a little bit of a risk taker. Lovely. Yep, I know all about what you discovered “down there.”

    I would add to your aging list:
    creaking joints and bones and hot flashes!

    • Karen

      Ah if only you knew. Took me ages to get up the nerve to publish this! And even then I was second guessing. I have not experienced the joy of hot flashes yet:)

  10. Oh my – you are too funny. With so many things about my body that I don’t like and have trouble finding reasons to affirm, this is one that I’ll shout from the rooftops. At almost 56, I have never put one thing on my hair (or anywhere else) and still to this day, have only a few pretty much invisible gray hairs. It’s the one thing I can hold over my younger sister who is tall, skinny and has big boobs. But she’s been dying her gray hair for YEARS!! I frequently have this nightmare that one day I’ll wake up and be completely gray-headed. Kind of like the showing up at school naked dream we’ve all had!!

    • Karen

      Oh that’s a funny dream. My biggest complaint with the hair on my head is not that is is going gray, but the rate at which it is falling out!

  11. I don’t know if it’s TMI or not, but this post sang to me this morning! I’ve been going gray since I was a late teenager, and have colored the hair on my head for so long, my husband’s never even seen my natural color. (Mousy brown with lots of gray…sexy!)

    It has never occurred to me that the same thing is going to happen to me…down…there.

    I was diagnosed with hip bursitis and arthritis in one knuckle last year (at age 36!) and I thought it was the end of the world. (It’s not.) But gray coochie hairs? That might send me over the edge~!

  12. So…
    Do they behave like those unruly hairs North of the Equator?

    Because if so, I may have to start doing what TMI McGEE did 12 years ago. Cause just thinking about it makes me itch.

    Now who’s not hungry?

    😀

  13. All I can say is LOL!!
    Dawn

  14. Hee-hee! I once dedicated a Makeover Monday to the topic of “the hair down there” (including options for coloring). It’s the only post for which I ever received hate mail. 🙂 Hey, it’s just a fact of life and I’m a firm believer in the sharing of information. Without it we might never know that we are not alone. And trust me, you are NOT alone. 🙂

    • Karen

      Hate mail! I will admit that after the fact it dawned on my that I might spark lots of spam with this. But then again, I get all sorts of very strange spam already:(

  15. Had me laughing right out loud, girl. Such indignities, indeed!

  16. I’ve dyed the hair on my head since I was in my mid 20’s. I don’t like my natural hair color. I’ve lived in blissful ignorance as to the amount if any gray up top. Although I have promised myself that once I go fully gray, I’ll get my hair cut short and sassy. Until today, I didn’t know how I’d know. I’ll start checking down south every now & then!

    BTW, I thought of you yesterday when I heard a news report about yo yo dieting. The newest thinking is that it is better than staying fat. It was on the radio and I haven’t taken the time to google it. I thought you’d appreciate knowing.
    Lori

  17. I’ve been going gray (On my head LOL) since I was like 18. My mom went gray young too. So I’ve been dying my hair for over 12 years now. I am not looking forward to the day when the other hair is gray. Haha. I’ll just shave it. 😉

  18. Oh no! I’ve heard of this happening, though. Take it in stride. It’ll be okay. And don’t worry about curbing my appetite. I can watch Bones, Grey’s Anatomy, and Criminal Minds while pouring over a hamburger and fries or pizza. Stopping by from LBS! 🙂

    • Karen

      Oh I can EAT watching shows like that. Okay, I can eat pretty much anytime. But I do look away when they stick the scalpel in:)

  19. MO

    Is that like when Samantha in “Sex in the City” went and colored her “ahem” and well, it turned clown red.

    I have been lucky. I used to color my hair to add a blond zip. I recently stopped to grow it out to donate to Locks of Love and well, at the age of 43 I have many a friend very jealous that I do not have a single gray piece – hoping it stays that way for a very long time!

    I liked that you were brave to share and had fun with this post.

    Staying MOtivated MO

    • Karen

      What a coincidence! Last night, home alone, I finally watched the second Sex in the City movie. I have a bad memory so didn’t remember that from the show.

  20. LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE this post & at 53, well, you know that I know exactly what you are talking about! I have been coloring my hair before it even needed it & now I can’t keep up with the gray coming in!!! I need to win the lotto! As for down there, man, I don’t want to look! Heck, more issues than that come with age down there. :-O I guess I am lucky I can see down there! 😉

  21. I really was jealous of you just now getting gray hair (I started going gray at 23) until I saw it wasn’t on your head. You made me LOL! I love that you were willing to admit that and even blog about it. Now, I’m 30 and have one down there too, so you can’t feel too bad about it. Our bodies are so mean to us! 😉

  22. LOL! I so didn’t expect to read this kind of post from you Karen!

    I have never colored my hair but I do have some “white” hairs popping up among my head of auburn colored hair. I am putting off coloring for as longs as I can without looking shabby!

  23. Jan

    Brava for having the guts to post about gray pubes!

    • Karen

      Truth, Jan? I wrote this a long time ago and only just now got up the never for some reason. And even with that I was thinking “oh I should not have hit publish.”

  24. Totally cracked me UP! Still laughing in fact. My mom and sister drive me CRAZY talking about their pubic hair… or lack thereof. Ahem. Believe me when I tell you that grey trumps bald. The complaint department has been making crazy money from my mom since she went Cueball. And let me tell you that when I try to tell her people pay big money to get it ripped out or that some pervy dudes like it that way she is not consoled in the least!

    One major beni of having a FUPA is that you have to make a semi effort to get a good look at what is going on down there. It may require a mirror and – sigh – donning bifocals.

    Terrifico post!

    • Karen

      Oh yes, you and the FUPA. You are one reader I did not worry that I’d offend when I posted this:) But balding down there! Yikes. What I hear from MY mom is how great it is to have less hair on her LEGS as she ages. Hmm.

  25. Oh I should mention that I told my sister that she should color individual hairs with a mascara wand and hair color and she did and she said it worked really well. Me? I think I will leave them be and nickname myself the undercover silver fox.

  26. They do make products to color the hair down there. Just saying…

  27. I’m with Sunny and going to let the hair on the top of my head go natural this year. However, my southern hair is still quite brown. Sparse but brown. :X

  28. Oh, dear! Thanks for the warning. I’ve got a grey streak in my bangs (yes, I have bangs) and have started to consider coloring that, but I am so bad at things that require regular upkeep.

  29. My son is only three and has a scattering of grey hairs.

    I am concerned that there is something wrong with him or is he lacking in some vitamin? He is far too young for this.

    I keep pulling them out.

  30. LOL again…
    Re your comment on my blog, I have also learned to let go on many things, one also being my blog posts. It’s not about perfection, right? (my mantra LOL) It really is a prison sometimes – but I guess as we age, we learn? (hopefully!) I know some become worse…but I don’t want to be that way!
    Dawn

    • Karen

      Well on THIS journey I have many times been reminded that it is “progress, not perfection.” How ironic that once upon a time many years ago when I was interviewing for jobs I used to fall back on “perfectionism is my greatest weakness.”

  31. Oh Karen. You have me laughing uncontrollably here and that is a wonderful thing. Too funny. All I can say is Welcome to my World and thank you for being out there.

    Also, thank you for visiting my blog via SITS last Tuesday. I appreciate you taking the time to comment and am so glad to have made this connection. Great Blog.

    Unfortunately I don’t have that cool “friend” button on my WordPress blog so the only option for people is to “subscribe” .. A lot of people don’t want to do that, and I understand. Just don’t forget to come around every so often and say hi. Take good care and thanks again, Keri

    • Karen

      Honestly, I don’t “get” the google friend thing but put it on there because I know others find it a useful thing. BTW – mine is WP and you CAN have one if you want it. I LOVE subscribing to blogs once I discover one I want to read often. Makes it soooo easy. Thanks for visiting.

  32. Ha,ha – this is awesome! Can you ehar me laughing out loud from Atlanta? t no sympaReminds me of the Sex & The City episode called The One where Samantha pretty much discovers the same thing.

    • Karen

      I thought of you today! Looks like I will NOT be meeting you at CR this fall:( Our trip seems to be happening in November now.

  33. haha this post totally made me smile

    • Karen

      Thank you! Not sure if my comment on your blog got to you or not since it didn’t show up right away. I am quite behind on another blog award so will work in mention of this one in a later post.

  34. If only you could have been witness to my mouth as it slowly hung wide open as I kept reading – then, laughter that I couldn’t bring myself to try and explain to my husband (he ‘knows’ you as one of my circle-girls and I just couldn’t do that to you). Someone needs to create a very, very special award to give when posts like these show up; hmm….Balls of Steel Award? lol
    I’ve been dying my hair since I was in my early twenties. My mother was completely gray by her thirties and this is the one area where I will never give in. I’ll be dyeing my hair until I’m in a coma.

    • Karen

      Clearly I have become entirely too predictable! Glad that I could surprise you today and give you a laugh:)

  35. oh boy! Now imagine all this aging and just starting to raise your kids? I’m 46 and my daughter is 4. I just colored my hair because I just can’t be looking like a gray haired granny with my little girl.
    Do people really dye hair in their nether lands?
    Yikes.

    • Karen

      I actually thought of you when I published this since I had it all ready to go when you posted those photos of you and your hair:) Just wait until you daughter starts growing it in places that she doesn’t have it yet! Boy does that make a mom feel old.

  36. omg… I am DYING at this post! You crack me up! I already have the gray hairs up top… I’ll probably die (or dye?) when I find one south of the border.

  37. Well – you are definitely honest and not afraid to talk about things. Me – depends on the topic. I’ve been fighting gray hair since my late 20’s. Very annoying!

  38. ah!!!! I never even thought about that happening, but yes, that seems about right now that I think of it!

    haha, thanks for this post…

  39. Giggle, great post….Hopping over from SITS. Hugs!

  40. Hilarious post, Karen — glad I didn’t miss it. Since I am the elder stateswoman (gag) among bloggers, I can tell you that not only will you go gray — down there — but there will be a lot less to go gray. Also, I only have to shave under my arms about twice a year now. This less hair thing on those body parts may be one of the few advantages of aging. I’m so glad you were brave enough to publish this — it’s very funny, and everyone loved it!

    • Karen

      Glad you liked it. My mom has shared that less shaving is indeed an advantage, but funny how she never mentioned the nether regions:) She also warned me that I’d have middle-aged spread and that is already happening. Sigh.

I love comments!

