Blow Out The Candles and Make a Wish

Ah, birthdays.  Filled with emotion.  And self-reflection.  And food.

This year mine is filled with optimism.  Okay, maybe “filled” is too strong a word.  Maybe optimism is too strong a word!  If you’ve been reading long, you know that optimism is NOT my middle name.  That dubious honor belongs to “whacked-out crazy yo-yo dieter.”  And I have the history to prove it.

Last year on my birthday I was at my goal weight.  The year before on my birthday I was at my goal weight.  This year on my birthday I am pretty much at my goal weight.  (I know you wouldn’t want me to split hairs about a pound or two left to lose.)  But, and this is a big but from a woman with a big butt, during each of the past years I have once again gotten caught up on the crazy roller-coaster ride of weight regain.  Yes, last year.  And the year before.  And the year before that.  Given my faulty memory that’s as far back as I can attest for sure but, trust me, the roller-coaster ride has been part of my life for a very long time now.  I’ve been screaming with fright, trying to get off.

No more.  That’s the wish I’ll make when I close my eyes and blow out the candles.

Not a wish really.  Because wishes are something you throw out at the universe and then sit back and hope come to fruition.  So I guess when I metaphorically blow out the candles I’ll be making a commitment.  A pledge.  A promise.  To myself.  This is my year.  Forty-eight.  Rhymes with “great.”  And “what I ATE.”  And William and Kate.  (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)  And I can’t WAIT.  And “better LATE than never.”  Which rhymes with “forever.”  As in how long I plan to give up the yo-yo on my way to being normal.  Starting now, with my 48th year.

So here’s to a birthday wish becoming a self-fulfilling prophecy.  Best birthday gift ever.

P.S.  I will not be having broccoli for my birthday dessert!

 

 

57 Comments

Filed under aging, goals, history (my past), optimism

57 responses to “Blow Out The Candles and Make a Wish

  1. JourneyBeyondSurvival

    I don’t think that such consistency is actually normal. You are excelling my friend.

    Happy birthday!!

  2. Happy Birthday, Karen!

  3. Happy Birthday!!!

    May babies are the best!!! 😉

  4. Happy Birthday, Karen. Enjoy your day! May is the VERY best month for birthdays! michele

  5. Happy Birthday, Karen! Oh, you look like such a little thing to me in all of your photos — and yet, you still seem obsessed by weight. Why? Why? Why?

    • Karen

      The “why” is not about obsessing with weight but the fact that my weight goes up and down and up and down and I clearly have some issue with food and eating. Yep – “why?” Just goes to show you that the emotions and issues and challenges and all that jazz can be so universal regardless of how the number on the scale.

      And I didn’t start putting pictures on here until I was pretty close to my goal weight. Vanity.

  6. Happy birthday!! I love the determination and spirit in this post. You know how to do it, you know you can do it, and you WILL 🙂

  7. Vanessa

    Many happy returns on your birthday Karen. I hope one day to be consistent with my weight. Enjoy whatever birthday treat you have.

  8. Happy Birthday, Karen! Cute photo and I’m glad to hear that you aren’t actually eating that broccoli for your b-day treat. 🙂

  9. Happy birthday! You’re a young’un, woman. Your musing reminds me of determining that by the time I hit 40, I was going to lose my weight (baby weight?) “once and for all”. I weighed about 160 then (at 5’8 1/2″)! Now that’s my goal weight! Hmmm, 17 years later I’m still working to make that determination manifest.

    • Karen

      Ah yes, my goal weight has changed over the years too. It is hard to look back sometimes and realize that I used to weight below my current goal but just wanted to lose a few more pounds. I suspect that all contributed to the craziness I have built up for myself with eating. I think my current goal weight is realistic for me and my aging self. Fingers crossed.

  10. Just came across your blog. The name is what intrigued me because I have been a yo-yo dieter too for years. For now, I am over it. Happy belated birthday.

  11. Jan

    Happy Birthday, Karen! Dang you are young. 🙂

  12. Big day, isn’t it??? Happy Birthday, my friend! Enjoy every minute of this day.

  13. lol LOVE the bday picture! Happy bday girl I hope you have a wonderful day (and weekend).

  14. Happiest birthday to you! I wish you a fulfilling year!

  15. Happiest of birthdays, my friend! 😀

    Weight is such a damned thing. If we worry about it too much, it’s unhealthy. If we don’t worry about it, we gain it back. Where’s the happy middle ground? Wherever it is, I’m on the trek right along side you, sistah. And I’m a late 59!

    Have a GREAT year, you skinny young thang, you! 😀

  16. Ann

    Have a great birthday! This is your year AND mine!

  17. Congratulations and Happy Birthday! It’s hard to celebrate birthdays and big events when food is an issue. It’s definitely hard for me, but sometimes you have to just make a birthday a “pass” day and enjoy the cake and nice dinner without thinking of calories.

    • Karen

      I’d like to do that… someday. Eat well and “normally” most of the time day in and day out so that special occasions can be “special.”

  18. HAPPY BDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are doing great Karen & I know that you will be fine! Age does have its own set of probs but as long as you know that & stay aware & make changes as need be by listening to the bod, you can do it.

    For now, ENJOY THE BDAY!!!!!!!!

  19. anne h

    Yay to you!
    And Happy Happy Birthday!

  20. Congratulations and happy, happy birthday!

  21. Happy Happy Happy Birthday..yes forty eight will be great, she watched what she ate, this time next year, let’s make a date. We shall meet at Fitbloggin, oh I just can’t wait, so let’s hit the gate with a clean slate, we both will be in tip top and first Rate!

    Again…happy happy

  22. Happy birthday. Don’t worry, be happy!!

  23. Happy Birthday … and so relieved you have something else in mind than broccoli 🙂

    Visiting from SITS 🙂

  24. Happy birthday. It’s my sister’s birthday today too and my son’s is in two days. Happy times. Thanks for visiting my blog on my SITS day.

  25. Birthday Blessings to you Karen! Cute photo, you clever lady!

    I am so happy that you have found your groove!

    Gosh you are tiny! Having said that about you I do want to say that I know it doesn’t matter if our weight issue revolves around being 5 pounds, 25 pounds, 50 pounds or 100 pounds overweight.

    The things we tell ourselves about that extra weight, how it affects our self esteem and how we struggle with issues around food can be the same. We all have a different threshold for the extra pounds we allow ourselves to gain but the mental anguish seems to be the same.

    May your birthday be the starting point for a new year and a new chapter in your life. May your struggles with food be lessoned and your joys be bountiful!

    • Karen

      Exactly! I suspect people who just meet me in person and don’t read my blog would never guess what has gone on in the past years with me. Crazy. And for me, as I suspect for you, 5 more pounds is a full clothing size. Lots of stuff in my closet that doesn’t fit again, yet, and maybe never will.

  26. Happy Birthday Karen! Great job keeping the weight off, that is more important than the “number”. 🙂

  27. Enjoy your birthday! They only come around occasionally.

  28. Happy, Happy Birthday!!! I’m so glad you’re posting photos of yourself more. I love to see you.
    And love the brocolli “cake” and am so glad you’re not eating it for dessert!
    Have a great 48th year!

    • Karen

      I think there is something freeing in having finally put the real me out here. BUT, someone I know in real life found my blog and it was obvious it was me!! I like seeing other bloggers too, which is part of what prompted me to start doing it. It is nice to picture the person when you read the words, I think.

  29. Happy birthday! Love the photo! (That broccoli actually looks pretty tasty. I haven’t had broccoli in a while. :))

    Part of my tippy-toe ways includes accepting that I’ll probably always be on the roller coaster in some ways. I’m A-okay with that, but I’m taking all the steps I can to keep to kiddie-ride size, with just a few small inclines and dips. 🙂

  30. Happy birthday! I love the broccoli pic. 🙂

  31. Roz

    Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday dear Kar-en……
    (big breathe) Happy Birthday to YOU!!!!

    Have a great birthday weekend!!!!!

  32. Happy Birthday…and enjoy that birthday desert..you deserve it!

  33. MB

    Wishing you a very happy birthday. 48 will be great because that is the best gift you can give yourself. I’m hoping I’ll be at my goal weight by the time my birthday rolls around. Rock on!

  34. Happy Birthday!! I hope it’s a great one! I’m glad you’re not celebrating with broccoli!!

  35. What an amazing birthday present to give yourself! i want to do the same for my next birthday, and the next and so on. Thanks for giving me that to grasp on to and wish for. Happy Birthday!

  36. LOLs, love that pic of you! Too cute, but I’m glad you’re not really having broccoli for your birthday dessert! You know, I’ve been at a pretty good weight on most of my birthdays too and then after they pass is when I start regaining. Pretty funny. Not really funny, but interesting. I love that you put your intentions out there and made them solid–I think that is a great motivation to actually achieve a goal. You think about it more when everyone knows what you’re trying to achieve. Good for you.

  37. Happy birthday, dear Karen! Your pledge and all its rhymes is beautiful, straight-forward and achievable. I’m with you all the way!

  38. I adore that photo, Karen. Terribly clever! Happy Birthday to one of the coolest ladies around (which rhymes with pound…well then, so much for playing along.) lol

  39. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! May this year be a blessed one filled with enjoyment, wonder and so much more.
    Take care and God Bless!!

  40. Happy Birthday, Karen, and stop tracking your life in goal weights! Your life is more than what you weigh! 🙂

    • Karen

      Ah, but maybe therein lies the crux of the matter! Clearly too much of my life in the past has resolved around this whole thing in some fashion. But I plan to change that:)

  41. How did I miss this, May birthday buddy? 🙂 Happy (belated) birthday!!

  42. Happy Belated Birthday! Love the candle in the broccoli!

  43. Nicole

    Happy belated birthday Karen!! Hmm, I will be 49 in September, I must think of great words for my 49th birthday. I hope your year is filled with love, joy, happiness, health and good fortune!

I love comments!

