The Real Deal

Sometimes what you see is what you get.  I hope that holds true for me.

Last fall, when I was really, really (did I mention “really”) struggling, I found myself at times feeling a bit like a blogger fraud.  I had things I wasn’t saying, for many reasons.  So I did what all wise bloggers know they should do when the thoughts are rattling around in their brain – I wrote a post about it.  And I explained how I was torn between a desire to blog with optimism and my need to blog with honesty and authenticity.  Because sometimes they were very much at odds with each other.  And the response I got was overwhelming in its support; you wrapped me in your arms and accepted me for who I am.

Sometimes I am a slow learner.  About my journey.  About blogging.  About lots of things.  I’d like to think I always learn from my mistakes and never repeat them but that’s just one of many pipe dreams.  What I have learned though, is that my writing has to come from the authentic me and I hope as you read you sense that and connect with the person behind the words.

And this all leads to why I felt very honored to receive a recent blog award from Lori.  She shares the ups and downs, the good and bad; she shares herself.  And today she has shared the Honest & Real Blogger Award with me.  Thank you, Lori!  This award is intended for a blogger who has left an impact on you by being vulnerable and sharing not only their triumphs but also their struggles.  By sharing the ups and downs of the journey and not being afraid to admit that they sometimes don’t have all the answers or always do the right thing.  But they are working to learn from their mistakes.


There are many wonderful bloggers I follow who are worthy of this award.  But today, one in particular stands out in my mind.  Ellen has shared many aspects of her life and herself in her writing.  Her authenticity shines through.  Because of her honesty, I have often sat reading a post, nodding my head in agreement, as I identified with what she was saying.  And coincidentally, just the other day I was thinking about myself and where I am on my journey and what the future holds and immediately I thought about Ellen’s blog title, “Fat Girl Wearing Thin,” and what it means and how I can identify with that too!

Today I applaud all the bloggers out there who are sharing and caring and keeping it real.  I don’t know where I’d be without you.

27 Comments

Filed under awards, blogging

27 responses to “The Real Deal

  1. Congratulations on your award! Very well-deserved, and you passed it on to someone who’s equally deserving! 🙂

  2. Vanessa

    Congratulations on your award. Thanks for keeping it real 🙂

  3. I think if we all learned quick and didn’t make mistakes, the world would be perfect. Far from it. Eventually we learn. Being honest is the greatest thing you can be. 🙂

  4. AND a well deserved award. It is often hard to do the honest thing when so much of what we learn is to hide the pain and hurt.

    THANK you for being an honest and real blogger!

  5. Funny, how I had Ellen in mind as well. Guess I’ll find someone else to pass my award along to. Won’t be hard to do – in fact, I already know who it will be!!

  6. I struggled with posting yesterday because I’m finding the balance between staying upbeat and stay honest and authentic.

    Thanks for this post and you totally deserve the award!

  7. hi from SITS. CONGRATULATIONS on your award. It’s very hard to be up front about everything… you’re right. And, sometimes it’s even hard to be honest with ourselves, let alone everyone else out there. Keep up the good work. And keep your eyes on the prize with your goals!!

  8. GREAT post!! I love reading about people’s true thoughts, struggles, problems, obstacles, etc. because some bloggers can really make it seem like everything’s a field of daisies and a walk in the park when really…that’s not life. Thanks for being real!

    • Karen

      But it seems like such a balancing act for someone like me who falls off the wagon… wait… FELL off the wagon, so often. How many times do people really want to read “oops I did it again.” Sigh. Just the other day I was wondering what I would write about when I am happily maintaining:) Can’t wait to find out!

  9. You so deserve this award Karen because you do let us all in to the ups & the downs & all the struggles! I love reading what you have to say.

    I struggle with that – I sometimes let people in but I do admit, I keep stuff back just because I want to motivate & I also don’t want people to say that it is OK for them to do something because I had done it, meaning something not too healthy. It is a tricky balance for me.

    Congrats!

    • Karen

      I can see that since your blog’s voice is very different from mine. And you really do motivate and inform:) But hopefully you also feel you could say anything if you wanted to and have readers support you. You know I would:)

  10. Awesome! I’m proud of you!
    Dawn

  11. Hello Karen, Thank you so much for coming by on my SITS day and congrats to you on your award.

    Lisa @ Lesapea Musings xxx

  12. Congratulations to you on this award. And of course to Ellen too since you’ve awarded it to her. Both are well-deserved!!!

  13. Congrats!! I will check out ellen’s blog!

  14. I love this award for you and I love your authentic self…

    Thanks for introducing me to Ellen’s blog. I love it and her.

  15. rebecca bryant

    congrats on your award you totally deserve it

  16. Congratulations on the award! You are very deserving of it Kare. Keep on keeping it real!

  17. I think you put a lot of yourself out there in your posts, and we all need to have a venting session here or there. Some of us [you] are just much better than others [me] at attaching words to your struggles and making it a cohesive post that’s easy to follow. I applaud you, my friend.

  18. I feel exactly the same way about being authentic as I blog. It’s a struggle sometimes, but it’s the only way that blogging can work for me.

    Great post! 😀 And lovely award.

    Deb

  19. Congratulations on your award 🙂 I agree what’s the point of blogging if you aren’t going to be honest? I can sit there and pretend to lose 1-2 lbs a week on my blog but how does that benefit me?

  20. Congrats on the well-deserved award, Karen. And what a great choice you made to pass it on to Ellen. You’re two of my favorite bloggers.

  21. You DESERVE this award!!!!!!!
    Thank you for keeping it real!
    Have a pretty day!
    Kristin

  22. One of the many things I admire about you is your honesty. Congrats on the award!

I love comments!

