Mother Knows Best

Once again, in honor of Mother’s Day, here is just some of what I learned from my mother:

  • Family is important.  As is spending time together.  And not taking each other for granted.
  • Traditions are powerful, but they can change over time.
  • You are as young as you feel, act, dress, want to be.  Getting older can be redefined.
  • Be generous.  With your time, your self, your money.
  • Injuries will only slow you down as much as you let them.  Fix what you can, work with/around the rest.
  • Applesauce is best hot off the stove with big chunks of fruit and no added sugar but lots of love stirred in.
  • Great minds really do think alike:)
  • There’s nothing like a good book.
  • Do the borders of a jigsaw puzzle first.
  • Grandkids are one of parenting’s greatest rewards.
  • If you eat only half the cookie or brownie, don’t be surprised if the rest is missing when you go back for it.
  • Musicals are great entertainment for a few hours and some of the songs linger on and on and on.
  • It can be a good thing not to clean your plate.
  • It’s better to marry a man with potential and build a life together than to marry a rich man who has already gotten there alone.
  • Wear beige undergarments under white clothes.
  • The true value of family heirlooms.
  • Gray hair is not flattering on everyone.  Thinning hair is indeed hereditary.
  • Every mom will make parenting mistakes but they will be different than the her own mom made.
  • Working out with a trainer is lots of fun when you do it with a partner.
  • A spa vacation is true bliss.
  • Mother’s should not try to talk in teenager-speak.
  • Always write a thank you note.
  • If momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.
  • Use good manners, help clear the table, RSVP when asked.
  • Wear sunscreen.
  • You don’t have to do what all the other kids are doing or have what all the other kids are having.  If they jump off a cliff you don’t have to jump too.
  • If a food or household supply is running low or you use it up, put it on the shopping list or replace it.
  • Whatever it is… this too shall pass.
  • Not everyone passes their driver’s license exam on the first try.
  • Avoid booking the last flight of the day if possible.
  • Sometimes mother knows best.

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers, and most especially to mine:)  I love you Mom!

30 Comments

Filed under family, holidays/seasons/weather

30 responses to “Mother Knows Best

  1. Miz

    I love this and it makes me wonder, not for the first time, what my Girl’s post like this will read some day…

    • Karen

      I have to admit that there are times I’m sad not to have a daughter. I think there is something special about that relationship that just isn’t the same with sons.

  2. This is really beautiful! What a lovely tribute!

  3. Great post! Sounds like a wonderful mom!

  4. Jan

    Happy Mother’s Day, Karen – to you AND your Mom.

  5. sunnydaze

    What a nice post! Happy Mother’s Day! 🙂

  6. What a lovely tribute to your mother — she sounds great! Wish I could give you a long list of things my mother taught me, but I can only think of two: (1) wear clean underwear in case you get hit by a car, and (2) don’t do anything you wouldn’t want to see on the front page of the paper. Sigh

    • Karen

      Sign of the times that now we warn our kids not to put anything on the internet that they don’t want out there forever and potentially seen by who knows!

  7. Yeah for moms. That’s beautiful. Happy Mothers Day to you too.

  8. i love this what a great tribute

  9. Lovely. Happy Mothers’ Day to you and yours!

  10. Roz

    I love this post!!!! Thanks so much Karen. I’m sending it over to my Mom! She’ll love it. Happy Mothers day to you and your Mom!

  11. LOVE!!!!!!!!!!! And I am learning this for sure: Injuries will only slow you down as much as you let them. Fix what you can, work with/around the rest.

    Beautiful tribute Karen!

  12. Awesome post! I learned so many of the same things from my mom as well!

    Happy Mother’s Day to you Karen.

  13. Probably my most favorite post of yours, ever. 🙂

    Have a fantastic Mother’s Day! 😀

  14. Our mothers must have something in common if they both used the “jumping off a cliff” line on us! I love that type of exaggeration. It comes in handy with teenagers!

  15. Great words of wisdom. I bet you know that book “Love you Forever.” “I’ll love you forever, I will like you for always.” Happy Mother’s Day!

  16. dh

    Happy Mother’s Day to you my lovely wife and all of your blog friends.

  17. Stopping by from The Lady Bloggers Society… What a wonderful tribute to your Mom.

  18. If momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.
    Excellent.
    Popping in from Lady Blogger…Glad I did!

  19. Aw what a beautiful post 🙂 I love the picture!

  20. stopping by from LBS, great list! Have a wonderful weekend.

  21. What a beautiful post. Your own kids will have a list like this for their Mom – the wisest woman they’ll ever know 🙂

  22. “If you eat only half the cookie or brownie, don’t be surprised if the rest is missing when you go back for it.”

    Haha, so true…

  23. Happy Mother’s Day, Karen. Hope you have a great day with your boys and your mom.

  24. Miz

    this mothers day reminded me how FEW pics I have of me and my mom where Im not under the age of 10.

    I need to rectify that.

    soon.

  25. Your Mom was certainly wise. Great list!

    Stopping by from SITS.

  26. Stopping by from SITS.

    Your mother was right about a lot of things and I am sure she would be happy to know that you took it all in!

    And I totaly agree that there is nothing like a good book!

I love comments!

