I Said I'd Never Do This Again

But here I am, joining a challenge.

I am challenge challenged.  The two blog challenges I joined last year did not go well for me.  Or, should I say, I did not go well for them!  I loved the camaraderie.  But somehow I didn’t meet my goals, week after frustrating week.  I don’t know what it was – something mental that had to do with the challenge part or just my mental state at the time, period.  Regardless, I said I was not going to participate in any more.

Until today.

Because this one has a prize that I want to win!

So either bear with me or root me on or join in.  ‘Cause here I go again.  And I’ll be sharing how I do because part of the requirements are posting about my weekly goal and my progress working towards it.  One thing I love about this challenge:  goals can be anything but weight related.  They have to be behavioral.  And I am all about focusing on what I can control instead of the darn scale.

So this week, my goal is about staying strictly on plan.  I am heading out of town soon and know that eating will be a challenge (no pun intended) given my itinerary so am focusing on getting this week solidly under my belt before I go.  So my belt isn’t so tight while I’m gone:)

To be more specific so that I can measure my success this week – no junk food or refined sugars, no white or refined carbs, no eating when I am not hungry.  That last one is a lofty goal for me, but I’m feeling up to it.  The challenge weeks run Monday through Sunday so by the time you are reading this I am several days in and am cruising along.

Third times the charm:)

Anything you said you’d never do again?  Did you change your mind?

Note:  You can read about the challenge here or by clicking the image on my sidebar.

36 Comments

Filed under goals

36 responses to “I Said I'd Never Do This Again

  1. Good luck with this! I’ve been meaning to become acquainted with FitBlogger’s site since the last time you mentioned it, so I’ll check it out! So many great tools out there to help us, so little time!!

  2. So, no links so we go to Fitblogger to see the challenge. I want to know what you want to win for the prize!!!

    I love this challenge & for you, a great one! You are doing so well with your food & mind focus. YOU CAN DO IT!!! 🙂

  3. Good luck, girlfriend. Maybe this is the time it will actually click for you.
    Lori

    • Karen

      Your comment makes me realize that what is very different this time is that I am already on track and joining the challenge to win a prize. In the past I joined the challenges looking for motivation with no interest in a prize. So now the motivation is coming from me:)

  4. Karen I think you are on a healthy roll here! I am cheering you on and I hope you win the prize! Of course just achieving your goal is a win but the prize would be a bonus!

  5. I like that this challenge isn’t weight related…sometimes I feel that those ones can encourage people into a “do what ever it takes to win” mentality. So, they may drop the weight by extreme dieting but they don’t learn anything from the experience.

    Wishing you luck…I might check into the rules and join you but I have an issue with being a challenge-o-holic and joining every single one I come across!!

    • Karen

      Yep, I can relate. I felt that rush about joining in. Until I realized that maybe the challenges were not doing me any favors:)

  6. Good luck. I don’t do very well with challenges either.

  7. Good luck with the challenge! I can’t wait to hear how you do each week!

  8. sunnydaze

    Cool prize! Good luck!

  9. Biz

    I am on a pounds for pound challenge on facebook with a small group of women – it does help me stay motivated knowing I have to “check in” with them every week! Good luck!

  10. Jan

    What a great challenge to focus on behavior because if one does the behavioral stuff, results are guaranteed to happen. Great idea, whoever came up with this!

  11. I never say never, but I am also having to do something about my diet. I’ve gained a few pounds and I don’t like that my clothes are all getting too tight. So I’m using MyFitnessPal to log all my calories…that seems to be the only way to keep me honest. I have to track every single calorie!

    • Karen

      I’ve tried the logging thing recently. MyFitnessPal and others. Very interesting to see it all in black and white like that. Lots of work though.

  12. D

    I don’t do well with weight challenges either – but other things, hmmm, good idea!
    D

  13. The only challenge I’m up to taking on is my personal challenge to avoid challenges like the plague! Like you, my last 2 (or 3?) results in no results other than not meeting the challenge. But it’s great that you’re feeling up to the challenge! =) You have been on a good steady roll. I hope you WIN the prize, whatever it is. I’ll have to check it out later. But if you hear me say I’m thinking of signing me up, take an axe to my keyboarding fingers immediately.

    • Karen

      I think my mindset about this challenge is totally different than in the past. Back then I was looking to the challenge to motivate me; now I am motivated myself (for some unknown reason but for which I am very grateful and happy) and am looking towards the challenge to win a prize. I’m sure that’s not what they intended! And I’ll keep my axe handy for you.

  14. Good luck with your challenge!

  15. It’s so nice to hear people like the non-weight related part, I’ve gotten a lot of upset email about that. But I agree with everyone, behaviours are the main thing, and if they are supporting us well, the weight will come.

    • Karen

      I think this is tough for people because it is a huge paradigm shift for so many. Society and our past seem to have conditioned us to think about the weight and the numbers on the scale and “dieting” but I think there is a change happening. I know it was a slow realization and gradual awakening for me:)

  16. Roz

    Good luck Karen!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Karen, I’m a big believer in the third time being the charm! Sounds like you’ve got the right attitude and plenty of support – good luck! 🙂

  18. That does look like a good one. I think it’ll be good.
    I’m tempted but am holding fast.
    maybe I’ll try another challenge someday, but not yet.

  19. As a general practice, I try never to say never. Even if there ARE things I’m 99.9% certain I’ll never do. Still, I never thought I’d jump off a pier and pet an alligator, so I may have to tinker with my percentages a bit. 🙂

    Good luck on your chall–I mean, winning your prize!

  20. Not my thing at all, but best of luck!

  21. Thanks for the heads up on this challenge. I’ve decided to join in because I need a kick in the franny to get me moving again.

  22. Good luck on the challenge! I’m rooting for you 🙂

  23. good luck and i’ll be cheering you on all the way

  24. Good luck! That’s a great goal!

  25. I think it sounds like you are in a much better place for this challenge … good luck. Hope you win!

  26. LOL, “challenge challenged!” You are so funny! I wish you much luck with this one and have a good feeling about it since it is not about losing weight but changing behaviors. I hope you win!

  27. I actually just created a challenge for myself so I could get back on track with moving my body. A couple of my friends are doing it with me. 100 solid days of activity. It could be anything with no rules except for the one. Move your butt for 100 days straight…Any which way would like.

  28. Good luck Karen!!! I never do good at challenges, but I hope it helps you.

I love comments!

