Captain Crunches

I am happy dancing all over the place!  Because… I can!  I can dance; I can lunge; I can do crunches; I can do cartwheels.  Okay, I probably can’t actually DO a cartwheel, but you get my point:)

Today is six weeks post-hernia surgery which means I have the all clear to do any kind of exercise.  I’m not sure I’ve ever been so excited to workout!  To do a plank.  Or a squat.  Or a single-leg dead-lift.  Or a push up.  Ugh, pushups.  I mean – yahoo, pushups.

I’ll be honest – I don’t really like to exercise.  Not while I’m doing it.  But I love it when it’s over.  When I’ve DONE it.  I love that I exercise but not so much the exercise itself, if that makes sense.  And I love that this girl who was always chosen last in gym class has become a late bloomer who works out every day.  Yep, every day.

For the past four weeks those workouts have been light cardio.  Starting back two weeks after surgery with a leisurely 30 minute stroll on the treadmill.  And working up to at least 90 minutes a day for the past two weeks.  Still nothing too strenuous, just slow walking or ellipticalling.  But I am getting it done.  Consistently.  Day in and day out.

And now the weeks have seemingly flown by and the time has come to put down my tentative foray back to cardio and pick up some weights.  Starting today with my weekly workout with my mom and our trainer.  I’m mostly looking forward to it.  But I’m not so much looking forward to the soreness I expect may come from my first time back in a month and a half.  And it has been over two months since I could do any ab work; since mid-December.  That’s a long time to go without so much as a sit up.  My core is almost screaming in anticipation.  And not in a good way.

So I’m off and running.  (Which is just a figure of speech, but I can do that too now if I want!)  Crunches – here I come!

60 Comments

Filed under exercise

60 responses to “Captain Crunches

  1. Excellent news, get back into it, but go carefully.

  2. Boy, six weeks does fly by. You probably will be a little sore the first few days back at it. I’m very intermittent with my strength training. While I consistently do hard cardio about four times per week, I’m not consistent with strength. Consequently, every time I go back to it, I have some soreness. It’s kind of a good sore in a way though… I know it’s good for me. Wishing you more consistency.

    • Karen

      I know what you mean – the good sore:) I used to be very consistent when I belonged to a gym. I am not so good about doing it on my own and like the classes. Or the workouts with my mom.

  3. Great news! I know you are ready to get back to it! Love the graphic in today’s post. It really made me smile.

    • Karen

      I know I break several “rules” of blogging, one of which is not having images in all my posts. Too hard to find ones I like that are free to use and I found I wasted a lot of time on it. But I’m trying to add more here and there:)

  4. Take it slow and enjoy 🙂 glad you’re on the mend and have the ok to get moving. I see a cartwheel on your to do list

  5. I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  6. I want to be like you. I want to love it! Way to go with your intense enthusiasm! : )

  7. Woo hoo!!! Start easy…don’t want to injure yourself! But, have fun!!!

    🙂
    J

  8. lol we always want to do what we can’t do- so apparently not being allowed to work out made you want to work out. Reverse psychology? lol 😉

    Have a good one- don’t hurt yourself!

  9. Hollah! I love that you are able to move!

  10. Woohoo!!! 🙂 How exciting! Congratulations! 🙂

  11. Yeah, Karen, you made it through the 6 weeks. You must be so happy, Ms Captain Crunch. Have a great weekend.

  12. Jan

    Wow, those 6 weeks have flown by! Grats on putting up with being sedentary, um, less active 😉 and now being back on the run. Crunch on!

    • Karen

      Funny that they really did fly by. Makes me kinda regret that I wasn’t more stringent with my eating during that time to have more to show for it. So to speak.

  13. sunnydaze

    Great news! You go girl! Love the pic:) Have a glorious weekend!

  14. Awesome news! Congrats! Hey, re not liking doing it….are you listening to your favorite dance tunes while you work out? Might want to consider that, if you aren’t. It makes all the difference in the world for me during my work-outs. 😉

  15. Nicole

    I’m so excited for you!! The only reason I exercise is because it makes me feel good afterwards, (not to lose weight, that would be a bonus)!! I love your artwork, so cute!! Good luck today with your workout!!
    Stay strong. 🙂 Have a beautiful weekend.

    • Karen

      In one of my very early posts I posed the question of what I and readers would do if we were naturally thin. I think I would still be working out.

  16. Yay!! There’s nothing like not being allowed to do something that makes us want to do it! I am almost at the point where I’ll be able to swing and snatch my kettlebells again and I am really excited!!

    • Karen

      I’d like to try those someday. The first time I ever heard of them was last June when I was at the spa and I couldn’t take the class because of my shoulder injury. Now I hear about them all the time.

  17. Yeah! A great milestone for you!! I am doing a happy dance for you!!!! Have a great weekend and don’t overdue!

  18. It’s great that you can get back at it! Enjoy your workout!

  19. Karen, how exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am sort of like you – the cardio, don’t like it so much but I do it but I LOVE THE WEIGHTS! I would do them non stop if there were no overtraining. 😉 And I am weird, I like the feeling of soreness after showing I worked hard – clarify, sore enough for DOMS but not the kind where you have really gone beyond DOMS!

    Take it carefully but so happy for you… and loved your pic above! CUTE!

  20. Just be careful. I’m glad you’re glad and ready to rock and roll.
    I just read your post on your sons birthday. 21, WOW!!! Mine is 19 next Wednesday. It’s so hard to imagine them this old.
    Take care and just be careful. Have a blessed weekend.

  21. Drop it like it’s hot, sister! I mean – congratulations! Although I enjoy exercise (because I’m a freak like that) I refused to move without music. The minute the iPod batteries (and 10 years ago the ‘Walkman’) go dead, it’s game over. Once I went to the desk at the gym and made them give me the TV remote batteries so I could finish my elliptical workout. “C’mon, man 20 minutes – then I gotta go to work & I’ll give’em back. I’ll bring you new ones tomorrow. Call it interest.” I was like a junky mid-cardio trip that needed a fix. OK – the point – music makes it all a dance and that cardio time flies. Don’t worry about the stares – everyone’s just jealous because they can’t get in touch with their inner funkalicious.

    • Karen

      I am laughing as I picture this! I do cardio at home and watch TV to make the time pass. Usually my husband and I are working out side by side. I used to give up the minute a show ended but now we watch TWO shows:)

  22. Hi Karen. That’s awesome news! Have a wonderful time at the gym. 🙂

  23. Biz

    I am with you – I am happiest when I am done with the exercise!!

    Hope you have a great weekend and happy belated birthday to your son – my daughter turns 19 next weekend – where did the time go?!

  24. Excellent, late bloomer! I had been wondering if you were fully recovered and back to crunching… now I know!

  25. yay glad to hear everything has healed nicely and i to got back to exercising last week i’m back to ridinf three miles and it paid off this week down 2.6lbs woohoo

  26. Oh yaaaay! I’m so happy for you!

    I mostly like exercise, but on the days I don’t feel like it, I still like the feeling I have *after* I’ve exercised. It’s enough to get me to the gym or the walking trail. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  27. Yippee! So happy for you. You are off and running! Okay maybe not running, but biking, walking and working out.

  28. Awesome! So glad to hear this! 🙂

    ps – Your title made me want Captain Crunch cereal!

  29. Hooray! That is GREAT news!! Speaking of crunches I need to do them. I mean I don’t do any kind of core activity. I used to…but haven’t in months. I will commit to you today to begin doing my very own “Captain Crunches” beginning Monday!!!

    You are great! Have a fun weekend, Karen:)

    Leslie

    • Karen

      You so should! Just think about summer coming. As for me, I need to commit to doing core work more times during the week and not just the few days I do strength training.

  30. Good for you! I really need to get on a better plan than just chasing my toddler around. I’m definitely better when I’m outside and this harsh winter has been a killer for me. I’m so ready to get the jogging stroller back out …. but I should get back to some core work as well. This post has inspired me – I’m doing at least 100 crunches TODAY! Happy Saturday.

  31. Such a happy day to be able to work out again!

  32. Lyn

    I feel the same way about exercise: hate it, til it’s over. Then love it! I’m glad you’re on the mend. We don’t appreciate being able to move freely until we can’t.

    • Karen

      Some people talk about finding an exercise they love… I guess I’m still looking. Or have given up looking. Thanks for your comment, Lyn.

  33. Toni

    Yay! This is great news! 🙂

  34. Woo Hooo! I remember getting the green light after I had ankle surgery. It is a good feeling – you’re right not the actual activity, but the results.

    Enjoy and be careful!

  35. Yay for you. Bring it on. I had a hernia repair about 10 years ago and remember the feeling of finally being able to “do” things after what seemed an interminable recuperation. I like your graphic, too. I’ll bet you could do a cartwheel if you tried.

  36. I can’t agree with you more! I love how I feel afterwards! Right now I am so tired and wishing to not have to run today, but I know I’ll be happy I did it.

    Glad your able to get back to your routine now!

  37. I’m the same way. I still would rather not work out if given the option, but I love how I feel AFTER.

  38. Congrats! Glad to hear your surgery went so well, and your recovery too. Heartening to hear, now that I’m going under the knife. Thanks for visiting my blog with your words of encouragement; really appreciate it.

  39. So happy for you that you are better! I love that you are really relishing what your body is able to do after being unable to for so many weeks–reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from John Bingham: “I started asking myself not what I wanted my body to like like, but what I wanted my body to be able to do.”

  40. Congrats on getting to this point!

  41. I am in awe of you. Seriously. I struggle daily to exercise and make excuses as to why I just “can’t” do it each day. I forced myself to get on the treadmill today and do some light weight and core work after and I feel so happy now. I’m not sure what the big deal is and why I can’t get this done everyday. So frustrating. I really admire your consistency.

    • Karen

      The truth is it took me years to reach this place. And even now, many days I struggle with the motivation. It helps a lot that I now workout with my husband; usually at least one of us will get the other going when we are dragging. I often comment to him after we are done that I am always glad when I have done it so why don’t I want to get started!?

I love comments!

