Blogging My Heart Out for a Great Cause

I’m at risk for heart disease.

What you may not realize is that if you are a woman, you are also at risk.

The bad news:

  • Heart disease is then number one cause of death of women over age 20, killing about one per minute.
  • More women die of heart disease than the next four causes combined, including all forms of cancer.
  • 90% of women have one or more risk factors for developing heart disease.

The good news:  Heart disease is preventable with simple lifestyle changes.

My dad died of heart disease, unexpectedly, in his early 50s.  That puts me at higher risk.  I have familial high cholesterol which would also increase my risk if I did not lower it with medication.  My blood pressure at my last check up was a bit higher than it should be (although I think my internist’s office stresses me out), so I’m working on that risk factor with meditation (when I remember) and reducing sodium in my diet.  Because of inflammation (diagnosed by my c-reactive protein level), I have been taking aspirin for years on my doctor’s advice.  I exercise.  I try my darn best to eat well, most of the time.  I am trying to lower my risk of following in my father’s footsteps.

February is American Heart Month.  Ask yourself what you can be doing to lower your own risk.

Bulleted facts came from The American Heart Association.  Visit their site to calculate your own heart attack risk and for a list of warning signs.; women rarely get chest pain during a heart attack and often fail to recognize the symptoms.

And this post is one more reason to heart Jody:  thanks for spreading the word:)

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Blogging My Heart Out for a Great Cause

  1. anne h

    ♡♡♡
    Love it!

  2. Jan

    Thanks for doing this, Karen. We tend to get so focused on breast cancer (a horrid disease) that we often forget about heart disease being the #1 killer of adult women. (Believe me, doctors forget and misdiagnose the symptoms frequently.)

    I’ll throw my 2¢ here and state the most preventable cause of heart disease is cigarette smoking. We can’t change our genetics, but for the > 20% of American women who smoke, that can be changed. http://women.smokefree.gov/ has excellent resources for women you know who still smoke, even those not quite ready to quit.

    ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

  3. Twins! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your story, Karen. Thanks even more for taking care of business so that you’ll be around for us to visit for a long, long time to come!

  4. thank you for the information

  5. One more reason to take good care of our bodies!

  6. Great building awareness post. I am on a Marion Nestle kick today because I haven’t read her blog in a while. She weighs in on a different kind of partnership with Diet Coke and the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) of the National Institutes of Health regarding building heart awareness. Have a great weekend! Michele

    here is the link: http://www.foodpolitics.com/2010/02/should-the-national-heart-agency-partner-with-coca-cola/

  7. Great cause! Appreciate this information and will share this blog post on Twitter. 🙂

  8. Karen, thx for this & I am blogging too! It is not in my family but so important for all to know & especially women! Thank you for sharing too & keep up the good work & yes, stick around for a long time! 🙂 HUGS!

  9. not even on my radar usually. thanks for the reminder.

  10. I’m with ya sista. Thanks for sharing.

  11. I lost my father young as well due to heart disease and diabetes. Two more reasons to appreciate what I’m doing to prevent the cycle. Thanks for spreading the word on this important, life-saving topic.

  12. Good links and info… Thanks, Karen!

  13. Enjoy your night out tonight!! I was happily surprised when I stepped on the scale this morning…I had been beating myself all day yesterday, too. You just never know. My resolve is even stronger today!!!

    I am at risk for heart disease, too. I already a doctor tell me that…because of my family history.

    Enjoy your weekend, Karen!!!! Thinking of you:)

  14. Thanks for spreading awareness! My Dad had a stroke a few years ago, I have diabetes and my cholesterol is still a little high and this just reminds me how important it is to keep myself healthy to avoid heart disease. Right now, I need to include more healthy fats in my diet and up the fruit and vegetable intake. I didn’t realize it until this week, but they’ve dropped to only 2-4 servings a day and I’d like to get more like 6-8 a day!

  15. This was great information and so important.

  16. Thanks for reminding us all to take good care of our hearts. As I posted long ago, my much-loved brother died from a heart attack at only 59 — he was a heavy smoker, and ate lots of fatty and deep-fried foods. His death was entirely preventable which makes it a real tragedy.

    Although there is no history of heart disease in our family, I do have a heart murmur. Although I’m always told that it is not the kind to be concerned about, occasionally (not even once a year) my heart justs stops a little too long between beats, then kicks in with such force that it feels like I have been jolted with a defibrillator. I’m very grateful that I can exercise every day to strengthen my heart so that it will always kick in when I need that charge.

  17. I’ve been meaning to blog about this. Thanks. lol. I don’t have any heart disease in my family but African Americans as a whole have high rates of heart disease so it’s an important cause to me.

    I’m glad your taking measures to do what you can to reduce the risks. It’s scary when you see family dying from a certain disease. My family disease is diabetes and Alzheimers. I try not to stress about it but how can you not?

I love comments!

