Honestly, I Heart This

Thank you to Michele for giving me this latest award.  If you have never read her blog, check it out.  Michele continually inspires me with how she is living a healthy lifestyle.  She has seemingly easily incorporated exercise and healthy eating in a way that is so sane and doable.  And she is a great supporter.  And I love that she “ruminates” – a woman after my own heart.  Michele rocks:)

Now my job is to post 10 honest things about myself and then give this award to 4 other bloggers who have shown tremendous honesty through their blogs.

1.  Here’s the thing about blog awards… some people like them, some people don’t.  I do:)  Each time I am graced with one I feel all warm and fuzzy.  When I read them on other blogs, I get a new insight into bloggers as they reveal little tidbits about themselves.  Fun.  And then I get to pass them on and, hopefully, share the warm fuzzies with someone else.  But, to be honest here, I struggle every time passing them on, getting caught up in who I think will appreciate receiving one and who has already gotten it and not leaving someone out and…

2.  Which leads me to this truth about myself:  I care way too much what others think.  A little is a good thing, but sometimes I get caught up and strangled by it.

3.  I am a perfectionist.  Which can also be a good thing sometimes and a bad thing other times.  I actually have to consciously tell myself to let things go and that they don’t have to be perfect.  If I didn’t, I’d never publish a blog post!

4.  And maybe being a perfectionist is what led to me being (just an eensy teensy bit of) a control freak.  Yes, I admit it.  I am.  Ironic how I can’t control my eating though.

5.  I don’t know why I struggle with eating.  I don’t know if it even matters.  I have thought about it a lot this past year.  Posted about it.  Maybe this will remain one of life’s great mysteries.

6.  I am content.  But maybe that’s not the same thing as being happy.  I wonder if Oprah is right and I need to find the passion in my life.  I have no idea what it would be.  I also have wondered if that missing passion is what I am looking for when I eat.  Hmm.

7.  Pragmatic could be my middle name.  I tend to be very practical, very sequential in my thinking, an uber-organized over-planner.  I would love to be more flexible and laid-back.  Just a bit, though.  Wouldn’t want to feel out of control:)

8.  I don’t have a lot of weight to lose.  I read blogs of amazing and determined people who have a long road ahead of or behind them and I am in awe of them and I find them inspiring.  And then I think about how much I have struggled, over and over, with my little bit to lose, time and time again, lost and regained.  And I am a bit embarrassed, truth be told.

9.  When I write my “thumbs” posts I am very careful to balance the ups with the downs.  Sometimes it’s easy; there are lots of ups.  Sometimes there are so many downs that I edit them out, not because I don’t want to be honest, but because I really am trying to be more positive and glass half full.  Or in this case, glass half thumbs up.

10.  I don’t have a bucket list.  I want to travel.  I would love to go to the Oprah show before she is off the air.  But beyond that, no ideas.  Maybe this is tied in to my missing passion that I wrote about above.

Now to pass this on.  There are a few bloggers who immediately came to my mind when I thought about honesty in their blogs.  These woman have shared so much of themselves.  And, they have also shared so much with me here as they supported me in my own honesty.  I feel a true connection with each of them.

Leslie @ Something Brilliant is Brewing

Marsial @ Eyes of the Sun: Musing and Losing

Sharon @ Gains and Losses:  Life through Sharon’s Eyes

And, because she is so honest in her continual support, I also give this to Jody @ Truth 2 Being Fit.  I have told her before, and I suspect I will tell her again, I appreciate her “tough love,” as she has come to call it.  Keep on kicking my butt when it’s warranted, Jody:)

(P.S. Remember #1 above?  Today I didn’t struggle, didn’t worry these gals had already gotten this award, didn’t think about the rules… just went with my heart.)

And that’s enough honesty for one day.

41 Comments

Filed under awards

41 responses to “Honestly, I Heart This

  1. Love Michelle… even though she just said some kind words about the Packers!

    Oh Karen, do get a bucket list, I have fun and if nothing else it is eye opening to go through the exercise of creating one.

  2. Karen, thank you so much for including me! I LOVED YOUR LIST!!! And like you, I worry too much about what others think & so I don’t usually pass the awards on… just because of that. I do what it says & then leave it at that:-) I like getting awards though.. love it but not sure if those that give it to me are happy when I don’t pass it on. Thank goodness others get it too & can pass it on!

    I am similar to you in many ways but may leave that for my list!

    You are such a sweetie!

  3. Karen, when I got up this morning, I was telling Clint how much I enjoyed reading the very open and honest things that my blogger friends write about themselves. Then I logged on and saw that you received an award and continued to share more personal things about yourself — love you for that. Oh, no. Then you passed the award on to me and challenged me to be reveal more about myself. EEEK! Thank you so much for honoring me. It may take me a day or two to post my response on my blog, but I definitely will.

    Hope you are feeling better.

    Marsial

  4. First thank you so much – this is the second one of these I’ve received this week so I will post about it in the next day or so. When I first started blogging almost 2 years ago, I got it and posted those 10 things – so I’ll have to go back so as not to repeat myself! Maybe I’ll make up a whole new person to be honest about! hahaha

    Not surprisingly, we have a lot in common. Caring too much what others think of the royal MOI, people pleasing, controlling (who me? ask my family…), desire to travel, occasional references to and desire to see Oprah…lots of stuff. Unfortunately the thing not in common is that I have 40 pounds to lose (actually more if I want to scrap honestly). When you posted your picture, I saw that you weren’t too off your mark in the weight category – to me you looked great. But it’s all about how we feel about ourselves – inside and out.

    Have a great day, Karen.

  5. Well, number 6 just hit me upside the head, Karen. I am still searching for my ‘passion’ as well and maybe I need to consider this a bit more regarding my relationship with food. Definitely need to think about that one.
    Congrats on your MUCH deserved award! 🙂

    • Karen

      It’s the only thing I can think of when I ask “why” and consider the notion that we eat to fill something that is not otherwise being filled in our lives. I don’t consciously feel this daily missing of something, but I do know I don’t have this piece and others do. So maybe. BUT, and this is a big but, I have no idea what it would be! My passion.

  6. You made my Monday morning and I’m almost afraid to say it since I’ve been sick for over a week, but I sort of feel HUMAN today. In fact, I might even take a walk!

    I just (belated) accepted a different award in yesterday’s post that required telling seven things about myself, so I could cheat and repeat, but nah, I’ll come up with ten more.

    Thanks again!

  7. Congrats on the award. I don’t have too much to lose also and I am in awe of other peoples dedication and success

  8. congrats and loved learning more about you. i have a bucket list but not sure i will ever complete it

  9. I love these kinds of posts!! And congrats on the award. It suits you!

    You know what Karen? Answering Oprah’s question, “what are you really hungry for?” was a life changer for me. In fact, back in late 2008/early 2009, when I decided to start blogging, is when I answered it.

    I don’t have a bucket list either…and I’ve never been one to have hobbies or interests.

    • Karen

      The funny thing is when she first started talking about it I am pretty sure I didn’t pay much attention. Enough, obviously, that I remembered it. But in the last year or so that is what comes to mind when I try to figure out if there really is something that I am trying to fill with my eating.

  10. Congrats on the award! I can relate to SO MANY things on your list! I also am a perfectionist, and can be an uber-planner. Don’t have a bucket list, either…although now you’ve got me thinking of doing one!

  11. Thanks, Karen for all the positive comments about my blog. I did not expect accolades of any kind, so your kind words were really touching. I do think you are an honest blogger and am glad you “heart” it!

    Have you ever read Thomas Friedman’s book “The World Is Flat?” Chapter 7 is one of the most brilliant chapters ever written about the right stuff needed in a flat world, but to me they are the hallmarks of well executed life. One of the 4 characteristics is the passion and curiosity quotient. Your writing about passion is very revealing. I think you are on to something with your musings about maybe food is your passion. Good food. Gastronomic delicacies. Think Julia Child. You are on to something my friend. Go with it.

    • Karen

      No, I will have to check that out. I remember when I started blogging I thought, “Could this be my passion?” Much as I love it, I don’t think it counts.

  12. D

    Love your list – and I am a “recovering perfectionist”. Not sure if I will ever totally recover and I have no plans to become a slob, but I too would like to relax a bit. Perfectionism is a jail.
    D

    • Karen

      I like how you put that! Because we all know that we really can’t be perfect as much as we would like to be. Clearly I have several character traits that are all sort of inter-related.

  13. Jan

    Thanks for continuing to share yourself with us.

  14. A lot of public honesty for one day. I identify with many of these things, specifically two and three. It’s a constant balancing act to put into practice that adequacy really is good enough. That’s not to say we shouldn’t strive for excellence, but there’s a big difference between striving for excellence and striving for perfection.

  15. I love Michele too! I like these awards because I get to find out about new Blogs. Karen, we are so alike. I had to point this out – I don’t know why I struggle with eating. I don’t know if it even matters. I have thought about it a lot this past year. Posted about it. Maybe this will remain one of life’s great mysteries.

    I feel the same way…and maybe it will remain one of life’s mysteries and does it really matter? Instead of trying to figure out why (which I spent far too much time doing) I’ve moved to the What can I do stage. I wish we were alike like #8 though – lol.

    • Karen

      So I used to think the same. That it didn’t matter. Probably. Because, after all, I had lost weight many times successfully. But then as I reflected on the fact that I NEVER managed to maintain that loss, I started to wonder if Oprah and other bloggers were right. That the food was a symptom and that if I didn’t know what was driving me I’d never get to where I wanted to be with my eating. The jury is still out for me on this. I do think there is a lot to habit and lifestyle.

  16. Congratulations on your award – as you’ve motivated someone! I will check out your recommended blogs. Like you, while awards are nice, I’m tentative about passing them on because many people have not the time or inclination for things, but what a great way to get to know other bloggers.

  17. lol speaking of Oprah I wonder what the big secret is! Damn that woman is gonna make me tune in today lol. 😉

    I love blog awards also- it’s fun to learn new things about the people you read about on a regular basis 🙂

    • Karen

      Oh – you probably know by now! I record her show and may not watch for days so I probably will hear on the news or see it on the internet. Maybe I’ll go watch.

  18. I enjoyed learning a little more about you Karen. I do think that perfectionism plays a huge role in not being able to achieve your weight loss goals.

    As one perfectionist to another I can tell you that trying to be perfect with my food plan is what derailed me most of my adult life. I had no middle ground to stand on and if I strayed even a little from my food plan I would feel like a failure and justify an all out food binge!

    I finally let go of that pattern and I now strive to eat healthy 80-90% of the time. I have room within this range to eat not so healthy foods and be okay with it. It works for me.

    I also think that sometimes when we have just a little weight to lose we are not as motivated as we would be if there was a lot of weight to lose. With just a few extra pounds we don’t look too bad, it is less of a health concern and so on.

    I am still looking for a passion beyond my love of cooking. I would love to find something that takes me out of the kitchen. Blogging is great but not my passion! I would like something that isn’t done sitting down!

    • Karen

      I think you raise a great point. It clearly fits in with what I have considered my black and white, all or nothing mentality with my eating.

  19. Karen, I think we are kindred spirits. Your lits sounds exactly like something I would say – down to caring what other people think WAY too much! You are truly awesome. 🙂

  20. Congrats on the award – you deserve it. I’m a bit of a perfectionist too. For me, it’s all or nothing. I have to win, or next time I won’t start anything. Cheers, Rick

  21. Mon

    A very touching post, Karen! I think you do have a passion you know – it’s people! I know we are all supposed to find one (a passion) but sometimes it just comes down to what excites or resonates with you the most and from reading your blog I’d say your passion is people and friendships. And what a great passion to have!
    I always enjoy your posts!

    Congrats on the award and thanks for sharing more about you.
    Mon

  22. I wish I could be a perfectionist. Most the time I am more like meh.

  23. Congrats!!! I may not dig Oprah, but I sure do dig your blog!!

    Polar’s Mom
    http://www.polarspage.blogspot.com

  24. What a fantastic exercise — whether you win an award or not. Oh, and congratulations!

    I can so relate to your #s 5 & 6. I always wonder why and wish I could fix things, but maybe this is the way life is to fall.

    I’m going to do this exercise for myself. I think it’s important to dive into the bad along with the good.

    Cheers!

    Janet

  25. Congrats on a well-deserved award!

    The problem with perfectionism is that it’s kind of like the dog chasing his tail. It’s just not possible.

    At least that’s what I tell myself in consolation. 🙂

  26. Congrats on another award! I love awards, too:)

    Also love your honesty here. We are so similar with our journeys. I am working on learning why I overeat…darn if I know. I mean I think about it constantly. Gracious!

    I am having a great week so far…hope you are, too, Karen:)

  27. An award that you are of so deserving. Love you answers, thank you for sharing. I so love stopping and see what’s happening with you. Take care and have a blessed evening.

  28. I always love reading these — thanks for sharing.

I love comments!

