Who Needs a Golden Globe?!

This year, the award goes to ME!

And, as we always hear on those shows, the most gratifying recognition comes from our peers.  So, much thanks to Michele, Kim, Polar’s Mom, and Stephanie for giving me a blog award recently.  Makes me all warm and fuzzy:)

The Terms of Acceptance of the Award:

1.  Post and link back to the person who awarded you this award;
2.  Share 7 things about yourself;
3.  Award 15 recently discovered great bloggers (or as many as you can); and
4.  Contact these bloggers and tell them they’ve won!

So, here goes.  Seven things about myself.  Think, think.  What could I possibly share that I have not already told you?

  • I’m a morning person.  I especially love the quiet before anyone else gets up.
  • I can touch my tongue to my nose.  And wiggle each eyebrow independently.
  • I failed my driver’s license test the first time.  One of the hardest things I have done as a parent is ride in the car as a passenger when my boys were learning to drive.
  • In first grade I won an award for the most books read.  I used to be a voracious reader but read way fewer books now since I spend so much time reading blogs!
  • I am horrible at geography and history.  Pick those categories if you want to stump me in a board game.
  • I got my first real job at 14 but haven’t worked, by choice, in over a decade.  I’m eagerly awaiting my 18 year old son getting his first job.
  • I have a hard time asking for help.  Not so good when one is recovering from surgery:(

And now, to pass this along.  Here is a list of great blogs that are more recent finds for me.  I see that some of you have received this already in the time it has taken me to get this post up, so just consider this a little extra bloggy love:)

Anne at Carb Tripper

Darla at My Winning Year

Ellen at Fat Girl Wearing Thin

Heather at Fatosity

Karen at Before & After: A Real-Life Story

Kris at The Heart & Humor of Being Human

Leslie at Skinny Me

Nan at LBD Diaries

Roxie at Gravel and Rust

Sheri at Motivational for Health and Fitness

Tammy at A Newer Tammy

Surgery update:  My hernia surgery went well.  But to borrow from Lady MacBeth:  ouch, ouch, damn spot:(

39 Comments

Filed under awards

39 responses to “Who Needs a Golden Globe?!

  1. I’m a morning person too… very much so.

    Congrats on being named so many times. Yes, peer recognition is the best kind. 🙂

  2. Glad to hear the surgery went well, sorry about the pain. It will ease, hang in there.

    I can be your opposite, I am an ace at geography and history. That and 25 cents will buy me a gum ball, but someone has to know the dates of obsure facts such as today being the anniversary of the breaking news of the Bill Clinton & Monica Lewinsky affair (1998).

  3. Congratulations on your award. I’m a morning person too. The house is “still” when I wake up which makes getting things done so much easier.

  4. Congrats on the award & surviving the surgery!!!

    I am a morn person too & also stink at geography & history! Also have a hard time asking for help.. we are alike!

    Feel better!

  5. Kim

    I have a hard time asking for help too! Hope you are healing up well and GETTING lots of help without having to ask! 🙂

  6. Thank you Karen for thinking of me and my blog with this award. It means a lot and I am going to assume that you knew what you were doing when giving it to me instead of blaming it on the pain meds. lol
    So glad your surgery is OVER. Now, get well quickly because I really miss my hooping buddy 😦

    • Karen

      So how funny… because this morning when I did my last reading of this before I pressed “publish” I realized I was indeed a bit loopy from last nights meds! But, my dear blogger, I had typed your name on this list even before my surgery last week so you can rest assured that I did indeed want to give you kudos:)

  7. I’m glad your surgery is over and wish you a rapid and painfree recovery. Thank you so much for the shout-out. I do appreciate it.

  8. This is always a great way to find some new blogs!

    As you know, I am a huge morning person and love opening the blinds in my den to watch for daylight. I love finding kindred spirits – most people around here think I’m NUTS for being up before dawn!

  9. Another morning person here!

    Glad your surgery went well and that you are on the road to recovery!

  10. So glad you came through your surgery so well, Karen. You’ll be back to your workout routine in no time.

    Thanks for posting all of the links to new blogs — I found a couple that suited me. Here’s another very new one i just came across — two gals writing it — very funny!

    http://thenot-so-secretdiaryoftwofatgirls.blogspot.com/

  11. Sorry your “spot” is sort. Hoping for a speedy recovery. Congrats on the award. Someone gave it to me and I haven’t “dealt” with it yet. Maybe I’ll get to it.

    Like you and others – I’m a totally morning person and always have been. When my teenaged friends were sleeping til noon and beyond, I was hoping for a second wind to join them when they finally woke up.

  12. So glad you surgery went well and that you’re up and about. Thanks so much for the award!! 🙂

  13. sunnydaze

    I’m glad to hear that your surgery went well and that you are feeling well enough to get on thte computer – that’s a good sign. Take it easy! 🙂

  14. Hey There!!!
    As always, I appreciate your comment and your honestly. To be honest, I don’t think it’s my drive that’s the problem. I do think that consistency is part of the problem. The other part missing is discipline. I struggle staying on course regardless of what others around me do. If everyone were fitness minded, I would be to. Why? It’s easier that way. I struggle with saying no. Though all of you are on this journey with me, no one in “real life” is. The times that I have done well in the past have been times that I have been in a weight loss _____ with others. Huh…you’ve got me self reflecting…THANKS 🙂

  15. Cute – the MacBeth quote – funny! Thank you so much for the award! I won’t get to post again until later this week but I will and so appreciate you thinking of me. You ‘da bomb lady!

  16. We have several of these things in common. I too used to be a voracious reader (and got an award too!) but now almost exclusively listen to book at work and spend my free time reading blogs. I also have a hard time asking for help and am terrible at geography and history. But, I’m not a morning person. I would love to be, but I’m more of a morning monster. Glad your surgery went well–I was thinking of you! I hope the pain doesn’t last long!

  17. So glad to hear the surg went well! Speedy recovery!

    Polar’s Mom
    http://www.polarspage.blogspot.com

  18. It is definitely award season! Glad your recovery is going well. I have always loved your honesty in your blogging. I gave you an award today for just that. Check it out on my blog. Take care! Michele

  19. Really glad to hear that the surgery went well!

  20. Biz

    I never used to be a morning person, but have trained myself to be one and absolutely love it. Yesterday morning I was up at 7:30 and no one else got up until 10:30 – 3 whole hours of ME time! 😀

    • Karen

      I’d like to train myself to stay up later at night! I often resort to gum chewing just to keep awake until a reasonable bedtime:(

  21. So glad the surgery is behind you Karen. Wishing you well as you heal. Hopefully each day will be better and less pain.

    Congrats on the award and it was fun to learn a little more about you.

    Thanks for the links to all the new to me blogs. I will have fun checking them out. I don’t much time blog hopping these days so I am not finding new blogs on my own.

  22. Glad the surgery went well – here’s hoping healing progresses well.

    I can also touch my note with my tongue – great party trick, but not good for much else. 🙂

  23. anne h

    Awesome Karen – thanks! You and your blog are always top-notch!
    I appreciate the bloggin luv!
    And all back at ‘cha!

  24. I’m chuckling at the tongue touching the nose. I had no idea it was possible! Cheers, Rick

  25. Glad the surgery went well and you are recovering 🙂

  26. Well loved your blog specially the blog title .I reached to your blog through Lady Blogger Tea Party as your blog title caught my attention and one more thing I would like to congratulate you for the award.

  27. Miz

    you and me and our love of the mornings….

  28. Ah – a book award? But of course! That’s one I’ve never gotten LOL – but I can touch my tongue to my nose 😀 You are so sweet Karen – thank you so much! I’ll be returning the love now that my son drama is dying down. xoxoxo

  29. Thank you so much! I am off to post on Skinny Me and share the love!! So excited!

  30. And here is my Skinny Me address!!

  31. Oops…that didn’t work…oh, well…next time-LOL!

  32. Glad to hear the surgery was a success — that’s very good news. Wishing you a speedy, pain-free recovery! Liked your answers, especially the one where you said you can wiggle your eyebrows independently. Impressive!

  33. Very unusual to be able to move both eyebrows independently; also to touch your nose with your tongue… unique, like you! Congrats on your well-deserved award and thanks for sharing 7 things. I used to think we were sisters, but we have only one of the 7 things in common… having trouble asking for help. I understand about ouch! Been there too. Glad your surgery went well.

  34. I too haven’t worked by choice, in a punch the clock job since 2008. I work on the internet, but as my son gets older I find I have less and less to keep me occupied. I’m starting to think about going back to work part time. I really don’t want to go back to full time nursing, it’s too back breaking. My husband says I should go back to school for computers. I have so much going on in my head about what to do I can barely sleep at night.

I love comments!

