“Weigh What You Want” Giveaway

Just in time for all those New Year resolutions!  Choose your scale:)

First, a product review.  And the disclaimer.  The kind folks at Eat Smart Products provided me with a bathroom scale to review.  I was not otherwise compensated for this review nor was my opinion in any way influenced. Yada, yada, yada.

Now, about the scale.

Loved it.  Let me tell you why.

It measures in tenths of pounds.  My trusty old (and I mean OLD) digital scale doesn’t do that.  It was a little thrill to step on and see those decimal places flashing up at me.  (More thrilling when the numbers were heading down, of course.)  And the display is bright and very easy to read with a blue back-light.  I also like that you just step on and, voila, it shows your weight.  With my old scale (did I tell you it’s old?), I had to push a button with my foot, then wait for the scale to be ready, then hop on. And this scale is “pretty”:  modern and sleek looking.  And it even came with its own batteries!

Actually, there is nothing I don’t like about it.  (Double negative, I know.)

Now what I found most interesting about this whole scale thing is that every morning (after I peed, before I ate or drank, and without my ratty old nightshirt) I stepped on both scales – first my old (yes, very old) one and then the new one.  And I compared the readings.  And for the first week, darned if they didn’t match up every single day!  Except, of course, for that little difference that my old (ancient) one rounded my weight to .5 or .0.  But then, they starting being off by a few ounces here and there, with the greatest difference being the day I weighed seven-tenths of a pound less on the new scale.  Coincidentally, later that same afternoon, my husband, who has been double-weighing along with me, shared that his weight was a pound higher on the new scale.  When I stepped on (shuddering at the added weight from clothes and food since it was afternoon), my weight on both scales was exactly the same.  Hmm.  You know that saying that if you have two clocks you’ll never know what time it is?  I have two scales and now I only sorta know what I weigh.  But close enough, in my opinion.  Hubby is ready to commit to the new one, loving the decimals and envisioning  how nice they’ll look when he makes his chart of our daily weigh ins.  (If you missed reading about how he tracks our daily weights, you can read about it here.)

So, lucky you – those very kind folks at Eat Smart Products are giving away (oh – almost a pun there) a scale to one of my readers.  And, just in case you already have a bathroom scale, you can choose a kitchen scale instead!  So, weigh what you want – you, or your food.

Check out both scales here:  bathroom scale and kitchen scale.

Giveaway rules:

  • Sorry, US postal addresses only:(
  • One winner will be randomly selected from all entries.
  • You can enter with any and/or all of the following methods – simply leave me a comment or send me an email telling me which you did.
  • The contest ends at midnight CST on January 11; the winner will be chosen on January 12.

Entry methods:

  • Post a comment here that you want to be entered in the giveaway.
  • Tweet this giveaway post with a link included.
  • Follow EatSmartScales on Twitter.
  • Like EatSmart Products on Facebook.

And there you have it – a tale of two scales.  It was the best of times…  a give-a-weigh:)  Good luck and happy weighing.

Note:  Cammy is giving away the same bathroom scale.  If you are super fast, since her drawing is sooner, you can still enter on her site too.  Here’s the link.

74 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

74 responses to ““Weigh What You Want” Giveaway

  1. And thank YOU for the mention! 🙂

    Do you have a dumbbell laying around? (No husband jokes from me!) I don’t weigh very often, but whenever I do and think (hope) my scale is off, I plop a 10 lb. dumbbell on it to verify. Unfortunately, with my EatSmart scale, it’s always been 10 lbs. exactly. (Except the one time when it was 10.2 and I got excited and yelled, A-HAH! only to find out a corner of the bathroom rug was on the scale. Removed that and it was 10 lbs. again. Bummer. Takes that ‘this scale must be off’ excuse right out of the picture.

    • Karen

      My husband sooo suggested we do that! But our old scale has these little places you need to put your heels and we figured the dumbbell would not work. You have inspired me to try it today. Since this is the first day I am now officially weighing what the new scale says:)

  2. I ehat it when I do that! I just typed a whole clever comment that got eaten because I pushed subscribe instead of submit comment. I’m in. Enter me and when I win, I would like the kitchen scale. Thanks so much.

    • Karen

      I hate that too! Most times I don’t try to recreate it, just leave one that it got eaten. Seems to me it happens most with blogger blogs.

  3. I really want that kitchen scale as I already have a decent other scale.. best check Cammy’s blog & see if that was an option too.. I did not notice that!

  4. Thanks for the review! i need a new scale. Mine keeps pooping out on me, not sure why. This does look pretty too! Thanks!

  5. Oh, I’m so glad you mentioned Cammy! I just cleared out my feed reader and forgot to add her back in. I desperately want a new person-sized scale, but I desperately *need* a kitchen scale. 🙂

  6. I’ve always wanted a scale that goes into decimals, mine doesn’t. Plus, it’s so pretty! Crossing my fingers.

  7. Already follow them on twitter.

  8. and…already like them on Facebook

  9. Nicole W.

    I want a scale with decimals. In fact my husband and I were just looking at different scales this morning.

  10. I’d love to be entered I could use a new scale 😀 Thank you

  11. I would love a new scale to weigh myself and this one is so nice a shiny!

  12. Who knew I could be laughing about weighing in! These scales sound great and it’s time for a new one – my older one isn’t that old but the readout is so light you have to bend over to read it…

  13. Ann

    Oh! Pick me pick me. I hate my scale.

  14. I’m in, Karen. Would love to have a fancy new scale to help me maintain!

  15. I’d love to be entered for a new scale. Mine is old and not sure how accurate.

    Thanks for the review!

  16. Tracy

    I’d like to be entered to win the kitchen scale!

  17. We have a scale that does a really great job – so I don’t really want another one. I just wanted to comment to let you know that I think it’s cool you had a giveaway.

    Look at you – all professional and stuff! 🙂

  18. I need a new scale. Mine changes its mind depending on where it is in tge bathroom. Lol

  19. I’m in!
    I think I can get into those decimals too.

  20. I just did the 2 twitter and facebook entries too.
    I’m going for it.

  21. I got one to do a giveaway also, and haven’t yet taken it out of the box. So don’t enter me. I’ll wait a few weeks and do another giveaway. Glad to hear all the positive comments. I’ll get mine going this weekend, when I have the nerve to step on!

  22. A new scale would be fabulous!

  23. Ack – didn’t see about the kitchen scale…sign me on for THAT!

  24. Count me in, I would love a new bathroom scale! I just purchased the new WW kitchen scale and I love it!

  25. Deb

    I would love to be entered int the contest. I need another food scale. 🙂 And the contest end date is on my birthday! I’m sure that’s a good sign. 😀

    Deb

  26. I am excited about this scale and would love to enter the drawing!

  27. Lisa T

    Please to enter me for possibility of winning scale. Thanks Karen!

  28. Lisa T

    I “like” Eat Smart products on Facebook.

  29. Hey, I could use a new scale! Count me in! 🙂

  30. How fun! Just entered and fingers are crossed. My current scale is bi-polar, so I haven’t used it in months. At least that’s what I tell myself 🙂

  31. That would be an awesome thing to win. Please enter me! And thanks for hosting this giveaway.

  32. I’m in…just hoping I don’t revert to scale hopping if I win…I probably could have competed on an Olympic level at one point in my life. 🙂

  33. OK, I just left a comment but then didn’t see it. I wonder how long my comments haven’t been showing up? OMgoats, you must think I don’t love you any more!! Did the one about your beautiful picture show up? I went on and on about how much I loved it. Phooey–I should make sure my comments are there b4 I leave. Anyway, heck yes I want in on this giveaway! This scale sounds so cool.

    • Karen

      I got it! I think I have been getting them. I used to try to respond to all the comments I got but had to give up on that to spend more time on OTHER people’s blogs:)

      I know that I have left a comment before somewhere and never seen it show up. I suspect, for me, I get a bit too fast as I close the many tabs I have open and miss clicking a button or responding to a darn captcha code. Sigh.

  34. Truth is woth household scales all you ever will get is , “sorta know what I weigh”… they are not preceision pieces of equipment. AS long as you see a trending downward, or if maintaining no measureable trending up or down; then we can feel good about these scales. And when in doubt buy 8 of them and the one that shows the lowest number on any given day is the one you use that day 🙂

    • Karen

      LOL! My theory always was that it didn’t matter what I weighed (if the number was off) but how my weight was changing over time. I do know of one blogger who took her scale with her to the doctor’s office to see how it compared for accuracy:)

  35. Looks like a great scale and great deal for you that it was free.

    Speaking of scales: for me it is a scale victory of no small order that I can let my weight number go. Sure I track how much I lose, but I am not obsessed with weighing all the time. About once a week or even less. I can FEEL the difference in so many more weighs now, that I do not need to see that number. I just know I am doing what I need to do and feel again, weigh, I mean, “way” better.

    • Karen

      There is so much that I admire about you as you are making this change, whatever you call it. Here is just one more thing:) I think the scale and number obsession is a problem for many people but very hard to get over. Kudos to you for putting your focus on other thing. Feeling and living is so much better than a number:)

  36. Definitely enter me- I’d LOVE a new scale that’s more precise than my old one 🙂

  37. Sounds like this scale is great – I’m looking for an upgrade – please let me win! *fingers crossed* Thanks for such a great blog!

  38. I love Eat Smart! I have their kitchen scale and it’s great. I’d love the bathroom one too! Hope I win! 🙂

  39. I am in need of updating my old scale and this one looks so sleek!

  40. I follow Eat Smart Scales on twitter (@migasnat)

  41. I already weigh what I want. That’s because I believe in the math!

  42. Don’t enter me for the scale. Just wanted to tell you congrats on your new scale — it’s a beauty! Now, when they offer you one with software so weight can be uploaded to the computer, save that one for me!!

  43. Hi! I’d LOVE to have the new scale. (not kitchen) 🙂
    I’ll get on twitter, too! 🙂

  44. Kaitlin

    Please enter me in the giveaway! I’d love a kitchen scale because measuring ounces by comparing them to a deck of cards is not working well. I also followed EatSmartScales and posted the link on Twitter (@kikalique)

  45. I would love to have a digital scale! Thanks for sharing this opportunity to win one!

  46. follow eatSmart on twitter.
    @searching4

  47. follow eatsmart on FB.
    oursafehaven

  48. Oooh, I’d love to win a scale! Great giveaway. 🙂

  49. I have been eyeing a kitchen scale, so I’d love to win this giveaway!

  50. I am following them on Twitter

  51. And I like them on facebook!

  52. Give Michele a second change to win, she sent me here. I just bought a new scale, it makes me 5 lbs heavier then the Wii but I hate having to plug in, set up and all the Wii so I’m sucking it up and just going with the new weight though I have to say I’m not impressed at all. I was out of the 190’s and now with this scale I’m back into it by 4.4 lbs. That really bites, you know!!!
    Anyways, please include me in your drawing. Take care and have a blessed evening.

  53. I want to win the kitchen scale

  54. I follow EatSmartScales on Twitter.

  55. I’d love to win a kitchen scale for my mom!

  56. Laura

    I’d love to be entered

  57. Sandy Jordan

    Always need a new scale!

I love comments!

