The Real Me

Today is my blogoversary.  I have thought a lot about this post and what I would say.  I am usually very loquacious but somehow this post has me tongue keyboard-tied.

When I started my blog last year, I had no expectation that anyone would read.  I had no inkling of the community out there that would embrace and support me.  I had no concept of what blogging would add to my life.  I had no intention of ever even using my name on here, let alone showing my face.  But a funny thing happened on the way to the blogosphere… I realized that the very best part of this whole experience is the connections.  And that sometimes connecting is easier with a name.  And that sometimes it is easier with a face.

Several readers asked me over the year when they would get to “see” me.  In my mind I kept thinking – when I am at my goal weight.  But then I realized, as I sit here a year later, still not at that goal weight that I should long ago have reached, that you have all given me so much, this was one small thing I could give you in return.  And then my mind went to all the negative thoughts associated with being photographed and how I look and what I would say to qualify the picture, and I cringed.  And realized I was being ridiculous.

At first, I intended to have no words here – just the photo.  I had nothing to say and at the same time I had a million things to say.  I was flummoxed.  I was indecisive.  I was hesitant.  I was feeling exposed.  I was irrationally nervous.  I was still being ridiculous.

So here I am.  Karen.  Waisting Time.

Thank you for being with me this past year.  Thank you for the friendship and support and wisdom and laughs and hugs and kicks in the pants and hand-holding and everything.  Thank you.

96 Comments

Filed under blogging

96 responses to “The Real Me

  1. You look just like I thought you’d look and it wouldn’t have mattered one way or the other – you are first and foremost, my friend!

    Congratulations on your Anniversary. I hope there are many more.

  2. It’s so lovely to put a name to a face! You look lovely.

    Happy blog-anniversary. I’m glad it’s made such a difference to you.

    xoxo

  3. Happy blogoversary! Agreed, the community rocks.

  4. Can I tell you how much I adore freckles? I have them, too! You are beautiful.

  5. Oh Karen.. what a lovely post & pic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thx for sharing you with us!

  6. Didn’t you post your photo on 3fc before? I swear I’ve seen you before! 🙂 Though you do look just like one of my coworkers 🙂

    You look great- happy blogoversary!

  7. You are just as beautiful as I thought!!! I’m glad that you’re my twin. By the way…this old girl is back to SBD!!!

  8. Ohmigod…I’m freckled as well! You look great, and btw – that vantage point does not show a weight problem. Thanks for coming out!

    I see another of us doing SB in Corletta above. I have a clean day under my belt (no pun or whatever intended) and my head feels miles clearer already. One day at a time.

    Congratulations on your anniversary. Celebrate with celery!

    • Karen

      Ah – I have learned that I photograph better not full face on. But this was just chance that my brother took this angle on Thanksgiving. The shot I had planned to use was not as flattering.

  9. AFG

    Wow! Gorgeous. Love the red hair. I’m glad you did this. Kind of freeing, isn’t it?

    • Karen

      Yes indeed – something freeing about it:) Maybe someday I’ll take it further and show me working out like a great fitness warrior I know:)

  10. You are so very lovely! Happy Anniversary…and yeah, the community is priceless!

    And even though I know you don’t agree, I have to say it anyway: “goal weight” is a myth 😉

    • Karen

      Oh I could go on and on about the idea of goal weight. I will tell you, briefly, that one big realization this year, thanks to many wise bloggers and readers, is that the number is not important. (Mostly. And not to say that I don’t have one in mind…) But it is a pretty universal concept for others to understand my mindset.

  11. Happy Anniversary! Your blog is well loved by so many (have your read the “shout outs” on Lady Blogger?) Congrats!

    • Karen

      Thanks for sharing that! I have to say I rarely go back and read the comments on there. So much online reading to do and so little time. But, I may just have to make time:)

  12. Oh what a lovely photo! You look much as I imagined, only I had you with darker hair, much like the color of mine. I tend to do that with people I feel a strong connection with–give them my attributes. 🙂 But you have lovely red hair. *tries to squash hair envy*

    Happy Blogiversary (I’m celebrating mine tomorrow!) I’m beyond glad you joined the community!

  13. LOVELY! What do I see? A wise, warm, sassy woman. No surprise here Karen – thank you for sharing!

  14. Very nice!

    All the best for the coming year, Karen!

  15. Jo

    Happy blogoversary!

  16. How can I possibly add to all these sweet and thoughtful comments that you already have? But to add my own twist to this post I will say; Karen, out of all the blogs that I started to read when I became addicted to the blog world I enjoyed reading yours the most! After I removed tons of them to spare up some of my time I always read and kept yours close to my heart. There is a reason I did that and I know I am not alone when I say you make my day enjoyable and what great writing skills you are blessed with. Wouldn’t have mattered to me 1 way or another if you were blond, red or purple haired; freckled or not; heavy or thin; short or tall;etc…. You are a very beautiful person inside and out! Happy anniversary and you rock! smile.

  17. Karen, now it’s MY turn to be flummoxed! You look EXACTLY like my best friend, except she has black hair (the dye box says so LOL)…to your red. And with your red hair, I feel even more of a kindred spirit with you!

    Thank you SO much for sharing your photo, and bringing you closer to us. All through the ups and downs of this past year for me, you have remained loyal and true blue when most others in the blog world gave up on me. I have always felt a strong connection to you. I’ll quit now before I get weird/creepy. LOL

    GREAT to know your face now. 2011 we are gonna rock, woman! 🙂

    • Karen

      Ah yes, we red heads have to stick together. There are quite a lot of us out here. I have to tell you that you are one of the bloggers who most influenced me. You were one of my earliest commenters and supporters and always so wise. And when I had technology questions you never hesitated to help out. You gave me my first blog award and it was a thrilling moment. Thank you for it all, Sunny.

      • awwwww! I have felt so guilty this past year, not living up to my own ideals and continuing to set a good example in ‘maintenance’ (that was a resounding failure.) It makes me feel like all the really good advice I gave for almost a full year…not only failed me, but failed everyone else because I couldn’t set the right example. But…c’est la vie. I guess we’ve always had that connection, and when we finally DO figure out this ‘lose it and KEEP it off permanently’ thing, it will be that much sweeter (no pun intended LOL) and bring us even closer together for having fought the good battle together a couple of times. 😉

        • Karen

          We are so alike with this. I thought I had it all figured out too. More than once. And I wrote such “profound” things on my blog. Why did I not heed my own wisdom?! I used to think that my previous years of yo-yo were necessary to bring me to blogging. But this year!?

        • guess we’ll start 2011 digging even deeper internally. 2010 wasn’t for naught. If nothing else, it taught us dieting humility. and for me, that all the platitudes I can cough up on a blog doesn’t mean crap if I don’t walk my walk and live the talk I’m serving up. 🙂

  18. Oh thank you! First of all, you don’t look like you need to watch calories etc. You look great!

    Happy anniversary! I miss your 5 posts a week. 😉

  19. So you do look like your avitar! Your picture is so nice – I envy your jawline and hope mine will return! I am glad that you started blogging and that you have found friends and support equal to the friendship and support you offer!

    • Karen

      Glad I found you too, Susan. At our family photos today the photographer was helping us position our chins to minimize that extra stuff hanging below. I most hate how my jowls look from the front. Ugh.

  20. Thank you, Karen!! You are lovely!!:) I enjoy your blog even though I don’t always comment:) You are also in my blogroll on my NEW Skinny Me blog!!

    Leslie

  21. Happy Anny! Love the ginger ‘doo!

    Polar’s Mom
    http://www.polarspage.blogspot.com

  22. How exciting to see you! Congrats on one year. The connections certainly are the best. 🙂

  23. Amy

    Happy blogoversary. Love the hair.

    You look exactly like you are – wise and thoughtful.

  24. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Real Me -- Topsy.com

  25. Hurray for your beautiful face!!
    How did you get your cartoon graphic to look so much like you?
    Thank you for sharing this.
    hugs,

    • Karen

      I hired someone to design my blog who is an artist and could do that custom caricature. I described myself, she drew, I suggested tweaks, voila! (And, yes, I told her to make the boobs small!)

  26. Congratulations on your Anniversary. I hope there are many more. I always enjoy reading your blog!! Now I can put a beautiful face to the blog!

  27. Aw, Karen! Happy Blogoversary, and thank you so much for giving us the gift of you on your day. As soon as I scrolled down and saw it, a huge smile came to my face. You probably do not want to hear this but you’re gonna: you are lovely and exactly as I imagined. You’re bravely beautiful 🙂

    • Karen

      Thanks, Ellen. Now there is a smile on MY face. I have enjoyed getting to know you and think it all started with you commenting here. So thank you.

  28. Happy blog anniversary! You are beautiful! I’m so happy that you decided to start blogging 🙂

  29. Vee

    Just beautiful! Thank you for sharing the wonderful YOU! Vee at http://veegettinghealthy.blogspot.com

  30. Karen, I know I am just repeating what many others have said by now. You are beautiful, but we didn’t need a photo to know that. Congratulations on your blog anniversary. You are such a great writer and I always enjoy reading it. Best wishes for a great 2011!

  31. You have Wii envy? I have hair envy!

  32. That is such a lovely photo of you. Has anyone ever told you you look just a bit like Patti LuPone?

    I’m relatively new to your blog and am so grateful I found it… and look forward to the next year. Happy Blogoversary!!

    • Karen

      Never heard that and had to google her to see. When I was much younger I was once told I looked like Bonnie Franklin in “One Day at a Time” and I was a bit insulted since her character was probably old enough to be my mother!

  33. Love the real you. Looks just like your yo-yo lady. I’ve been reading your blog for ages and I love it. Just back to blogging myself and looking forward to reconnecting with you.

  34. Happy Anniversary. Thanks for “Revealing” yourself to us! See, that was not so bad.

    Now, what about your goals?? How are they coming??

  35. Happy Anniversary! Love the picture … although now I’m feeling the pressure to post my picture also. I think I get to wait until I’m as close to goal as you are though. 🙂

    PS: you are beautiful inside and out.

  36. I love red-heads! My wife is one too! You look just as lovely as you write! Happy anniversary!

  37. Beautiful! That is what you are Karen.

    I had no preconceived notion of what you might look like but I am so happy to now have a face to go with your name!

    Happy Blog Anniversary! Wishing you a year filled with hope, goals achieved and joy in your heart.

  38. Karen you look fabulous!!! Happy Blogging Anniversary!

  39. It’s sooooo good to see the real you! Happy anniversary and you’re right the community out here is great! Here is to a wonderful 2011 and we can both reach our goals in the new year! I’m ready – how about you?!

  40. I’m glad I stopped by today (on a laptop that doesn’t work any better than my desktop). A very, very happy anniversary to you, Karen. I doubt that I will ever be brave enough to show my face, but then my face is not as lovely as yours. And you’re slim!!! Slim!!! And thanks for your recent kind comments to me. Can’t wait till the new computer arrives and I am back up again. I’m revving up for the New Year. Now that you’ve broken the ice, post more photos! Love ya. Marsial

  41. Happy anniversary! You are as lovely as I imagined!
    Jan

  42. Shannon @ BetterNextTime

    It’s you! And you’re lovely! Happy blogiversary! 🙂

  43. Elaine

    Congrats on your blogiversary, and may you have many more! And, nice pic.

  44. Karen, seeing your beautiful face made my heart squeeze! I have been desperately wanting to see the real you and I’m so glad that you shared this, despite your aversions to pictures of yourself. You may not be able to see it, but you are so gorgeous! You seem elegant, svelte, and have a great haircut and gorgeous profile. You are so much prettier than I could have imagined!

  45. I’m so proud of you! And happy to see you! So excited, happy anniversary and wow, you’re one awesome lady.

    Thank you for sharing a little bit more of you than you already have.

  46. Karen, great to see your lovely face! In honor of you revealing yourself at last maybe I’ll update my stupid blog picture, since it’s now 2years old! It’s just that with the wrinkles and aging, I never can seem to find a picture of myself I like! I will say that your darling haircut has inspired me (I’ve admired the avatar’s for some time as well!) and maybe it’s time for me to get a darling ‘do like that!

    • Karen

      I thought my crow’s feet (or are they laugh lines) really showed in this photo but funny how that doesn’t really bother me. And my nose is my nose, sigh. Actually, I’m pretty bored with my hair. But I’m scared to go short again and it is just not good long hair hair.

  47. anne h

    Happy Blogger-versary!
    ♪♪♫♬♫♪♫
    A song for you!

  48. Gorgeous, my dear. Just gorgeous.

  49. Amazing how you overcame your fear and posted your pic. And you’re gorgeous! Thanks for sharing and happy blogoversary!

  50. Love your pic! You look much like I expected, much like the adorable character in the header. Thanks for being brave and sharing. Happy Blogoversary!

  51. Hi Karen! Congrats on your blogoversary:). I recently put pics up too, and I know how exposed and weird it made me feel, so congrats on that too. I’m enjoying your blog, and may you have another great year ahead of you!

  52. Yay! ((hugs)) to you Karen. And I think you’re beautiful. 🙂

  53. Karen, I was so excited to see your PRETTY photo! Happy blogoversary! Your blog has given me motivation and support in 2010, and I can not wait to get more of it in 2011!!!
    Have a pretty day!
    Kristin

  54. Is this the most comments you’ve ever received for one post? Amazing! Take it in, accept it… we love you, admire your wordsmanship, enjoy your humor, understand your ups and downs, and appreciate the opportunity to know you. I’ve never previously considered the value of knowing a name or seeing a face; nor did I ever wonder what you look like. Yet how you look in this picture, your impish grin wanting to blossom and your youthfulness, is no surprise to me. If somebody showed me pictures of 6 different women, I bet I would have picked your picture correctly. It’s because you are so authentic. You are who you are. Blessings! PB

    • Karen

      Yes. My second highest commented on post, I think, was my one about quotes.

      Thank you for your kind words, and your kindNESS. Interesting that as much as you use words, you don’t find that power in the real names. But then again, I think you have chosen a blog name for yourself that is maybe more powerful than your real one:)

  55. Happy blogiversary, Karen! And WOW on the comments! Go, girl! And a very pretty girl at that 🙂

  56. Miz

    PLUNGES HANDS THRU SCREEN AND BEAR HUGS YOU.

  57. sunnydaze

    Happy blogoversary! I can so relate with this post and thank you right back for the very same. You are beautiful! 🙂

  58. I love seeing the “real you,” but this is sort of how I pictured you, too. And I’ve always liked your header. Happy Blogiversary. Keep on inspiring me, ‘kay?

    • Karen

      You were a big part of this photo showing up. I have so much appreciated “seeing” you as I have gotten to know you, being able to picture the real you in my mind.

  59. Kaaaaaareeen!!! It’s so nice to meet you!!! What a nice surprise!!!

    I am so happy that you have put a picture of yourself. You are a beautiful person inside and out and I am so thankful to have you as my blogging friend.

    Happy blogging anniversary! 😀 Here’s to another year for us – with lots of successes and new friendships and pounds lost along the way!!!

    Carla

  60. Well done. Congrats. Happy anniversary.
    J

  61. Hi Karen! Glad to be on this journey with you! Love the blog.

  62. Genie@dietof51

    WOW! Happy New Year, blogoversary and reveal!

    I so admire you for all that you have revealed prior to posting your photo. Now this!

    You look just as I pictured you: fantastic!

    HUGS!

    Genie

  63. Happy Blogoversary and Happy New Year Karen 🙂 I’m glad to have met you this last year!!

  64. I’m behind on my blog reading, so am catching up. Great picture – yews is be-u-ta-ful! And you know what? I spent the past year working toward a goal that I didn’t meet weight-wise, either. I didn’t gain anymore so that is a good thing but blah humbug – so I dust myself off and start again.

    • Karen

      Aw thanks:) And I’m behind too! Going to play catch up on yours now while I am thinking of it! Yep, let’s dust off. BTW – loving some new tea thanks to you! Will be mentioning that in an upcoming post.

  65. How did I miss this post??

    Well, however I missed it, you are BEAUTIFUL. I always knew you were on the inside – now I can see that the outside matches.

  66. Kim

    Happy Blogoversary!!! And as everyone has said…you are beautiful!!! Congrats!!!

I love comments!

