Hot 100 – Week 13 Update

“Aha,” she thought to herself, as she typed the title of this post.  Unlucky 13.

And therein lies the clue to how my week went.  Week = weak.  Yep, temptation overload led to food overload.  Luck (or lack thereof) had nothing to do with it; I accept full responsibility.

I started off my week of celebrations and food pretty well.  But slowly, momentum built.  First a little fudge.  Oh, my mother-in-law’s fudge.  I can’t even tell you what all I ate because my mind is a blur.  But, it was not good.  Not good at all.  (And speaking of “not good,” have you ever noticed how the more crap you eat the less tasty it is over time?)  So, there were several days of “no goals met.”

I could have done better.  Much better.  Or even a little better would have been nice.  I could have done things differently.  Shoulda, woulda, coulda is the story of my dieting life.  But I am drafting a new story for myself:)

And that, my friends, as the saying goes, is all she wrote.

My goals:

  • Eat more vegetables.
  • No junk food or sugary treats.
  • Water, water, water.
  • Curtail snacking.

For those of you who celebrate Christmas – merry, merry, happy, happy:)

39 Comments

Filed under cheating/overeating, goals

39 responses to “Hot 100 – Week 13 Update

  1. Oh, Karen~
    What will we do with ourselves? ‘One More Day’ is all I keep thinking. And you are right, it doesn’t taste as good when it’s plentiful, does it? I certainly know that I appreciate things more when I earn them. Maybe I should look at the next day and a half that way….’did I EARN this?’ Happy Holidays to you 🙂

  2. Well you know where you screwed up and there’s another week left to Steve’s challenge so do your best. What else can you do? You can’t take back what’s in and out already so just smile, enjoy Christmas and work hard.
    I hope that you and yours have the most awesome and blessed Christmas ever. Take care and God Bless!!!

  3. We all knew this would be tough! Go with the flow and don’t beat yourself up at this point! It’s almost over.

    Merry Christmas to you, my friend! I am so grateful to have found you this year.

  4. Hey Lady! You’ll be aright! People think I’m doing so great because I haven’t “cheated” but when I am confronted with anaphylactic shock as the consequence of cheating, it’s super easy! Try to remember to ask yourself if you REALLY want something before you eat it.

  5. I’ve overdone a little, but I knew I would. It’s part of what gets me through the rest of the year on target. 🙂 So far, I’ve only had one “I wish I hadn’t…” moment, which is pretty good for me. It would probably be worse if I’d been confronted with homemade fudge.

  6. I agree. The more sweet or tempting foods you eat the less tasty they taste.

    I am trying to practice mindful eating this week. I have a TON of wonderful Christmas treats in my house right now. As I ttste each cookie or whatever, I am trying to chew slow and really , really taste it. Today, so far I am holding out until the fam gets here (plus hubby put them all up high so I need a ladder to get them (I am a shorty).

    I am also thinking of an incredible dinner that awaits us and being hungry for it. That little trick worked for me with Thanksgiving. Maybe it will work for you.

    Have a great and merry Christmas, Karen. Thanks, so very much for all your support and encouragement. I feel the arms of my blogger friends (like YOU!) around me each and every day on this journey. Michele

    • Karen

      Oh my husband does the up high trick too! Your mindful eating sounds like a great approach. Thank you, Michele, for your support and inspiration.

  7. Gosh, do I know what you mean, Karen. It is REALLY hard this time of year to stay on plan. And I agree…the more junk you eat, the less tasty it is!

  8. Man, you are NOT alone. I bought a Schwan’s chocolate decadance cake for tomorrow (why why why??) and HAD to taste it. Blech humbug – that first bight was yummy but eeww, this morning my stomach is talking to me – “what are you, nuts? What were you thinking? Sugar overload anyone?” BUT I will say your post has inspired me to do better the rest of this weekend. We aren’t having some of our faves (fudge) this year so that we can keep on track with my eating healthier – and I’m OK with that. Like you said, “the more crap you eat the less tasty it is over time” – so I’m not putting it in my mouth. Really! I promise! For sure!!!!

  9. Quit with the coulda, shoulda, woulda. It’s not going to help. Make a decision what you are or aren’t going eat. Make a plan and stick with it and you’ll have success! No more treats! 🙂

  10. Sugar is evil! LOL! Hope the rest of the holiday goes better in the food department for you.

    Happy Holidays!

  11. Lisa T

    I am right there with you! I have been way over the top on the sugary, sweet treat snacking/overload. And I have been noticing EXACTLY the same thing, that the treats aren’t tasting as good as they were a week ago. If I listen to it my body really does tell me when enough is enough!

    Wishing you and yours a very happy holiday.

  12. Karen, just don’t wait it out till the new year. Even if you get fewer “good days” in than the not so good, it is still better. Me, I always get back to it right away.. the next meal or the next day. Give it a try!

    Have a good one no matter what you do… be good to yourself!

  13. My goal is to not stuff my face and yet enjoy myself. What a quandary….

    Happy holidays!

  14. Amy

    Happy Holidays to you my friend.

  15. Deb

    It’s Christmas weekend, but MONDAY is coming! 😀

    Deb

  16. I had the exact thought about an hour ago that you said about how the more junk you eat, the less tastier it gets…YES. This will never be a linear process – it’s circuitous and treacherous at times. But as long as we stay on the road, we’ll get there. And I’ve never been looking more forward to a Monday!

  17. You’ve got one week left. I know you can finish it out strong!

    Merry Christmas!

  18. Here on Christmas Eve to wish you a merry and a week 14 that you can blog about with pride. You and your posts are a blessing to me, Karen. May we continue our cyber friendship through out the year ahead and may we have more days on the wagon, fewer draging along behind. Hugs, PB

  19. Karen, I too overdid it yesterday on my first day at my Mom’s. What is it about being home?? Luckily, everything was low fat and no sugar added treats. Thank goodness Mom and step dad are on their own weight journey.

    I ate too much regardless of how “good” it was for me and I hate that feeling of being “out of control”.

    Today is a new day, so we can start over!

  20. There’s no other way to state it — I’ve gone completely overboard this week with the sugary foods. With regular food, I’ve done fairly well.

    Although I’ve eaten WAY MORE sugar this week than I’ve had in the past three months or more combined, I’m praising my progress. In years past, I ate much more than I have this year. So in that respect, it’s a success.

    The BEST part about this year is truly believing and KNOWING that come tomorrow, I’ll be back on track with my healthy eating habits. And that is perhaps the best gift I could receive this year.

  21. Miz

    okay
    there are no words for how much I NEEEED MORE WATER.

    ok there are.

    lotsandlotsandlots.

    and lots.

    xo

  22. I’m with ya, sista. I was just sitting here today thinking about how sugar and the lack of exercise affect my mood. My promise to myself is to treat myself as I would treat others – giving them a little more room to be human…back on the saddle again. Hang in there!

  23. anne h

    I did pretty well….. but I was sick in bed…… so there’s not alot of room for messing up! Happy New Year, Karen!

  24. Mon

    Ah well – we are probably all a little guilty of a little mindless eating at present, I guess. Time to forgive and forget though, I reckon!! I am about to make myself a large pot of vegie soup to subsitute for one meal a day for the next few days. I love vegie soup, so won’t be depriving myself at all.
    I agree that the more junk you eat, the less tasty it becomes, so bring on the chilly-flavoured vegie soup!
    Happy holidays to you and stay positive!!

    • Karen

      I remember doing a lot of veggie soup years ago when I was on Weight Watchers and the soup was zero points. I should go see if I can dig up that recipe. I’m not as big a fan as you but it is a good way to get more veggies in.

  25. I totally know what you mean by the more crap you eat the more terrible it tastes. Like when you go away for a holiday and when you get home a chicken breast, baked potato and steamed veggies taste heavenly. That’s what always keeps us going back.

  26. The holidays are just one big temptation followed by another. I hope you are doing well!

  27. Dang – fudge? What’s a girl to do?
    One day at a time sunshine – together we will eat vegetables 😉

  28. The fudge I could have let go by – but I did eat the peanut brittle and some of the cookies I didn’t manage to give away. The rest I tossed out last night because as much as I don’t like how I feel with all that sugar in my system, I am hearing them “calling me” all the time! So – lesson learned. Still can’t do moderation with those goodies.

  29. Well hello!!!
    Yes, I have been a stranger. Can I just say…I am going to be the poster child for how well South Beach works. Why? I’m at it again…that’s why!!! I hope that you have been doing well!! I’ve missed my twin!

  30. Biz

    Hope you had a wonderful holiday – even if you did eat more than you wanted – its one holiday, get back in the saddle 😀

  31. good luck with your goals!

I love comments!

