Hot 100 – Week 12 Update

The first thought that popped into my head as I wrote this was – “a dozen.”  Then it progressed from 12 to a Baker’s Dozen.  Which brought my mind to bagels.  And that’s how I roll.  (No pun intended.)

But getting down to business, this has been a fine week.  Much like last week, actually.  No big-ass binges to report:)  No perfection either.  I’m okay with that.  But I have started feeling like I am sort of just waiting to get through the holidays to really kick my rear back into high gear.

My goals were:

  • Eat more vegetables.
  • No junk food or sugary treats.
  • Water, water, water.
  • Curtail snacking.

Veggies – Six days out of seven, but who’s counting.  Okay, I sort of am… but just for you:)

Junk food and sugary treats.  – Not even a nibble at the bits of brownie left in the pan after packing up a batch for a grieving family.  Not even the chocolate that my husband apparently thinks he is hiding from me by keeping it on the highest pantry shelf well above my head.  (But, sweetie, I sure do appreciate the effort and not having to see it at eye level each time I go in there.  Thank you.)  But, keeping it honest, there was that one bag of baked chips.

Water – Tea and more tea.  Too cold for much water!

Snacking – So… those of you who know me well… can you guess?  Well, snacking continues to keep its evil grip on me, but it is slowly loosening.  Yes, I ate when I was not hungry.  But remember up above when I wrote about no binges?  No binges is good.  And the night that my husband baked cookies for the throng of teens in our basement… I ate crackers instead.  Sure, I could have eaten nothing.  But with that tantalizing aroma tickling my nose, I’m thinking crackers was a snacking win.

The coming week will be very challenging for me.  We have our family Christmas gathering which is an all day affair with food in abundance.  (I’m bringing the only salad!)  My goal is to just pay attention and not go hog wild.  Not end up with that uncomfortable stuffed feeling.  Then we have several days of house guests.  Which means there will be lots of food in my house that is not normally in my house and lots of obstacles to exercising.  Whenever possible, I’ll plan food to have around that is a healthy option.  I’m thinking bowls of Clementines and grapes on the table this year instead of cookies, for example.

And this morning as I was laying awake in bed, thinking about this post, I realized that despite (what I said above about) not really kicking ass until after the holidays, I had unintentionally avoided one of my biggest past downfalls – the pre-cheat.  Nope… the old Karen would have thought about all the landmines coming up and the accompanying likelihood of falling of the wagon, and she would have thrown up her hands as she threw in the towel and said, “Why not start cheating today if I’m just going to cheat this weekend.”  But, not this week.  This week, no pre-cheating:)  No thinking about pre-cheating.  Progress.

It will be a crazy week – my goal is to stay sane.

33 Comments

Filed under cheating/overeating, dieting, goals

33 responses to “Hot 100 – Week 12 Update

  1. Karen, are you emphasizing he water because you think you are not properly hydrated, or so it fills you up so you don’t eat? I had a goal this year to drink more water, but found that forcing myself to drink was something I really came to hate. Then I read Mark Sisson’s Primal Blueprint book and he says “Drink when you feel thirsty”, so I abandoned my drink more water goal and have been happier ever since. Spent less time in the smallest room in the house too!

    • Karen

      Good question. I would say I have three reasons: To drink instead of snacking. To drink for hydration… not that I feel dehydrated but I am one who would not pick up a glass at all if I did not make a conscious effort. To drink to help all the fiber I am also trying to increase, if you know what I mean.

      LOL at your last sentence:)

  2. Ewa

    Christmas is going to be a great challenge for me too. I am not making any firm resolutions but hope to keep aware of what and how much I am eating.

  3. The Fat Mom

    Snacking is such a hard thing to overcome and it will take one step at a time. Good for you for not giving in to the pre-cheat!

  4. Christmas at my house is not going to be the challenge rather the challenge will be when we go to visit my husband’s family after Christmas. His sister’s cook massive amounts of food – most of which I don’t really eat, but they also make tons of sweets, cookies and chocolates which I will eat. UGH. I have to make sure I fill up on good choices before I get there.

  5. Oh sure – then MY mind went to Panera, and then cream cheese and oh… I so need to stop there!

    I think the water emphasis is great. I think when you are “thirsty”, you’re body has already gotten dehydrated and you should have been drinking to avoid getting thirsty. Not a medical opinion, just mine. I have felt GREAT since I am taking in more fluids. I can really tell a difference, keep it up!

    • Karen

      I’ve read that same thing about being thirsty. I also have read that often when we feel hungry we are really thirsty and should try drinking first. I never think to do that.

  6. I think we’re all in the same boat on this one. This is going to be the hardest week to get through. I’ve got dinners to attend, Christmas Eve gathering and Christmas Day. One meal at a time *Big Sigh*

  7. I pushed the water and now it comes as natural as anything else. I drink a min. of a gallon a day and most days 2. It seems to make me feel better but I also don’t drink anything else except a glass of milk before I work out.
    You are doing awesome. This time of year is hard, very hard but you’ve got a handle on it. You’ll do fine. Keep up the great work.
    Take care and have a blessed day.

  8. You had a great week. I’ve fallen off quite a bit in the last 2 days…siiigh. At this point for all of us – staying sane sounds like the best possible goal.

  9. Congrats on your great week, and most of all for avoiding the pre-cheat!!! You have such a great attitude and I know your holiday celebrations will go exactly as planned. It’s been a pleasure getting to know you through your blog this year, Karen. Happy holidays!!

  10. I have the same problem drinking water when it is cold. Generally, I guzzle it, but lately it has been so cold outside, I can’t get it down.

    I love the term pre-cheat. I used to do that to, I just never had a word for it.
    Lori

  11. You so cracked me up with the bagel thing!!!!!!! I have a couple gingerbread ones in the freezer but with the back injury & not doing quite as much as my normal workout, I am being very careful with my food to make up for that!

    Karen, you have done so great this past week! Keep that in mind as you move into this guest & party time. JUST BECAUSE IT IS THERE, YOU DON’T HAVE TO EAT IT!” Be mindful with your eating. Pick a couple things you want & stop there. Just because the house guests are eating one way, you can still eat your way & maybe your healthy eating will rub off on others!

    THIS: But I have started feeling like I am sort of just waiting to get through the holidays to really kick my rear back into high gear.

    Why not just start now & be ahead! 🙂

    HUGS!

    • Karen

      I’ve never seen gingerbread ones… yum. And, yes, there will be bagels here for our guests breakfasts. I will feel a bit odd eating my beans instead, but that’s my plan.

  12. I predict success! (on control, anyway. With that many people in the house, I can’t predict future sanity.:))

  13. Karen,

    I like how you used the term precheat. This is something I am usually totally guilty of. This time last year, I was already writing off the last two weeks of the year (probably more like the whole time between Thanksgiving and the New year) and planning to do better as soon as the new year rolls around. Not this year. I’ve back peddled too much this year already and I don’t want to do it again. I can’t say that I am confident that I won’t gain weight, but I am sure going to try my hardest to not let that happen.
    Good luck to you.

    • Karen

      That pre-cheat thing was one of my eye-opening epiphanies this year. When I realized that was what I was doing over and over again before social events. Sigh. I love your attitude:)

  14. I have been concentrating on avoidence of the pre-cheat, too. Very important this time of year to have an agreement about the feast days and stick to them and not ADD to them!!

  15. Sounds like EXCELLENT progress to me, especially the no pre-cheating and the snack crackers rather than cookies… Bravo!

    I really love the idea of Clementines and grapes being on the counter rather than chips or cookies. I bet many will love that. I’ve never heard a single person say that they enjoy all the over-abundance of food. A slim, trim, never-been-on-a-diet friend once said she hates the holiday season because of the over-kill on non-healthy stuff to eat.

    There y’go… Merry Christmas!

    • Karen

      Hmm. Interesting. My house guests (the one I know, that is, there are two I have not met yet… niece’s boyfriend and his dad) are all very thin. I suspect they just eat “normally.” Not like me, always thinking about food. Always snacking.

  16. Genie@dietof51

    Hi!

    I’ve missed you! Sounds like you’ve been doing well.

    Congrats on your victory over the pre-cheat!

    Genie

  17. Wow Karen your doing wonderful! What its truly about is just what you said at the end of your post..progress. The old Karen and Sheri are truly gone, the new us just have to live one day at a time and make the good choices.

    Have a lovely Holiday with your family!

  18. Hi Karen! Following you from SITS

    You’re doing a fantastic job!
    I have been working on losing weight for a long time – I’ve lost about 30 lbs over the last year – and have about 100 more to go until I’m at my goal. I’m glad to have found your blog!

  19. Christmas is a challenge for everyone I think! But, you’re doing a bang up job regardless! Keep up the great work! 🙂

  20. Good for you for avoiding it! I also think the crackers were a win. 🙂

  21. One thing that comes to mind is it doesn’t matter how long you’ve been dieting or trying to eat healthy, this time of year is always a challenge. For me, it means I have to be super diligent because anyone can gain weight. Sad, but true!

    It sounds like you are doing great Karen. Thinking it through is so important!

  22. Loving how your husband is trying to help you. It’s help when you have support. I think your game plan for the parties is a good one. There’s nothing wrong with indulging if you can control it. Good job with bringing the salad. At least you know you’ll have at least one healthy option.

I love comments!

