Hot 100 – Week 10 (and 9) Update

My name is Karen and I am a challenge derelict.

Sooooo… my intentions were good.  But somehow, somewhere, somewhy, I seem to have forgotten that I even had goals.

Now, I do want to say in my own defense, that I while I have seemingly given up on the challenge I have NOT given up on the real goal:  a healthy lifestyle.  Full disclosure and true confessions and all that – last week was a complete and utter eating bust.  Yep, it was bad.  This week, not so bad.  Not great, not perfect, but not bad.  And right now, I am thinking that may be where I need to be for a little while.  Because maybe if this black and white thinker could find a happy middle, gray, ground, I could find a normalcy with my eating.  (And that is a whole long topic for another day.)

You may (or may not) remember that I was hesitant to try this latest group challenge, having failed so miserably in my last two.  But I got caught up in the camaraderie and was in such great company that before I knew it I was off and running.  Well, jogging.  And even that didn’t last.  I can hear my mother’s voice in the back of my head saying, “If your friends jumped off a cliff would you jump too?”  Apparently, if I thought that my goal weight was at the bottom, I would jump head first.

So where does this leave me relative to the Hot 100 Challenge?  I’m still here.  I don’t intend to quit.  I just need to rewrite the whole concept in my mind.  And buckle down.  Again.  Yes… again.

For Steve, I am sticking with official goals.  For me, I am changing them up again and giving myself some wiggle room in not making things too specific.  I know some of you won’t like that – but the other approach wasn’t working for me so I am going with something new.

  • Eat more vegetables.  (Pumpkin bread does not count.)
  • No junk food or sugary treats.
  • Water, water, water.
  • Curtail snacking.

Okay, that’s enough about me and my eating for one day.

41 Comments

Filed under goals, influence of others

41 responses to “Hot 100 – Week 10 (and 9) Update

  1. LOL, derelict… I used to call my sister that before I even knew what the word meant. I just new it was a put down and that was what brothers were for when I was 9…

    In my mind perfect does not exist, so attaining that is a non issue. Finishing ‘not bad’ is better than ‘bad’… important thing as i see it is that you do finish what you start, and you finish in a better place than where you started. But thats me, I tend to be a bit overly positive when lives are not in immediate danger of ending on the next heartbeat.

    Oh, what do you mean Pumpkin bread does not count? If Pumpkin pie counts then why not bread?! Pumpkin pie does count, no?

    • Karen

      I have been working hard for years to let go of my need for perfectionism. Sometimes it is a very conscious effort – like when I publish a blog post that just isn’t there yet. I think one of the best things I learned from others this year is that progress is what counts here. I love your idea about finishing in a better place.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Waisting Time , Archive » Hot 100 – Week 10 (and 9) Update -- Topsy.com

  3. Your plight sounds familiar. I’ve been a complete slacker myself and have just come up with a “new plan”. Let’s hope it works for both of us!!

  4. If only pumpkin bread counted as a veggie we would be so happy! LOL! You have to do what you have to do and what works for you Karen.

    Hope you have a great week this week!

    I thought I signed up for the comment luv thing but I must not have activated it properly as it doesn’t show up for me. Any ideas on what I did wrong?

  5. Ewa

    The only way I can put myself on track with eating goals is to remove all temptations from the house. After 2-3 weeks I am fine no matter what is on the table and that includes banana bread (pumpkin breads don’t tempt me too much).
    Good luck. This is not an easy time of year – I think we are programmed to eat more and store more for lean winter months.

    • Karen

      I wish I could remove all that stuff, but my husband and son are not on track with me. After we ate all the (homemade) pumpkin bread, my husband bought more at the store saying he didn’t get much! Sigh.

  6. Good heavens – again we are twin daughters of different mothers! I would categorize my week as not bad, not good, better than many but no where near even average good enough.

    I love your challenge derelict title. Right there with you – this week I haven’t written down more that breakfast and maybe my mid morning apple and cottage cheese! And I’m sorry, but this time of year makes it harder, esp when commitment is wavering. Good realistic goals for this coming week.

  7. Sometimes we need to just pick ourselves up, dust off, and move forward.

    And you mean pumpkin bread isn’t a veggie? Damn.

  8. Had to laugh at the thought of pumpkin bread counting as a veggie. For a second I thought, ‘hmm…how can I MAKE that work?’ If I figure anything out, I’ll let you know! lol
    One day at a time, Karen. Remember, they don’t call this season the ‘dieter’s nightmare’ for nothing. Just one day at a time.

    • Karen

      Well it was pretty apparent to me Thanksgiving week that when I eat more crap I also eat less veggies. No coincidence. And my veggie habit was something I had to really work at this year, new to me.

  9. I’m glad you’re listening to your body and adjusting your goals as needed- I think that’s more important than sticking to goals that aren’t benefitting you! Keep it up!

  10. Biz

    Ha – love the first line! Hang in their Karen – hope you have a great weekend!

  11. Pumpkin bread SHOULD count dammit lol. I’ve had two slices this season and both times it’s been HEAVEN!!

    I haven’t joined anymore challenges cuz I’m just tired of “failing” them. I’m just concentrating on me right now- it’s great people are making challenges but it’s not motivating me anymore apparently! lol.

  12. Karen, you are too funny… challenge derelict! 🙂

    Look, we have to keep trying to find what works for us. That is the key. I like that you are not giving up & that you try to evaluate what is wrong, how to change it to better meet a lifestyle vs. a diet & that you keep moving forward.

    BUT, can I just say, at some point, we all have to admit to ourselves that that losing weight is hard work.. even it is is slower…. it still takes work & yes, some sacrifice. But saying that, we can make it work fir us.

    Karen, I hope you find that happy medium!

    PS: I don’t like to let people know my challenges like the Hot 100. Yes, it does make one accountable & many people really need that & I do suggest it to people because it can work for many. For me, it creates pressure & all the people watching me so I may do it but not tell people… & actually the pressure I put on myself is enough to keep me going! 😉

    • Karen

      Oh, sneaky, I like that:) You have my permission to knock me upside the head if I suggest joining another challenge down the road.

  13. Shannon @ BetterNextTime

    I go hot and cold on this thing too – I think it’s natural. Sometimes a mental break is all you need.

    And for what it’s worth, if pumpkin bread were a quality vegetable, I would have been the healthiest kid in all the land. 😉

  14. The middle ground isn’t gray so much as a soft blue-lavender and very peaceful. It’s a happy place, and my greatest wish for you is that you’ll find it. I could use the company. 🙂

  15. Ron

    Karen, we have all been there we all have done this a thousand times…. I used to say it was easier to quit smoking then to lose weight, but I must tell you it took me many many attempts at that before I quit to…..6 years smoke free now. Not sure what your approach has been to losing weight, and I guess I am too lazy to search thru your blogs to find out more, but just wanted to say the thing that seems to be working for me is to eat 5-6 times a day and I have posted and do post quite often the kinds of foods I am eating… I will say that I don’t think I am ever find myself hungry, however I still tend to make bad choices and overeat when I go out to eat.. however I did really well the last two time out this week with friends
    Hang in there and keep trying… you can and will succeed!

    • Karen

      Truth be told that I am really questioning my approach. As a yo-yo dieter, I have lost many times, but never maintained. So it makes me think that what I am doing to lose is not really what I should be doing. My problem is usually snacking. Sigh. Kudos on quitting smoking:)

  16. I’m really glad you’re sticking with the challenge, Karen. I too have had a rough time of it and now that there are only four weeks left, I’m starting to panic! LOL! Let’s try to end this with a bang!

  17. As soon as TPTB find out I dislike Pumpkin bread I’m sure it will be considered a vegetable.

    I am SO with you on the challenges … I know I signed up for a couple that I’ve just let slide. OTOH, I am still plugging along, not setting the weight loss world on fire, but not setting myself on fire either.

  18. Challenge derelict! Ha! Funny lady. You are on the right track, methinks, in changing your goals to what works for you. In fact, I’ve come to believe that is the most important thing a person can learn to do on this journey. A goal is only good if it is realistic and attainable, right? Shine on, you crazy diamond.

  19. Deb

    Awww, I lost my comment, I think.

    I can’t repeat except to Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such kind comments. I appreciate it very much.

    I hope my original comment appears. If it does, erase this one, please. 🙂

    Deb

  20. I hereby make a comitment to join you in
    — no snacking
    — water, water, water
    for the next week, tomorrow through Saturday, Dec. 11.

    You are a wise woman, Karen… did you know that, credit yourself for it? A good plan is only a good plan if it works for you. If not, change it up, just as you have done!

    • Karen

      Funny thing, you committing to joining me. As I read your great post today I thought about the foods on your list and wondered if I should be joining YOU!

  21. Keep going, Karen, keep going! Finding out what works for you takes trial and error, and that’s OK – as long as you don’t give up! Good luck for the week.

  22. Kat

    You have a good plan in place! Here’s to a good week ahead!

  23. Oh I am so with you on being a challenge derelict. I finally decided to stop doing them altogether and I feel so much better as a result!! I think it must be that I am just not wired for challenges. But I will definitely cheer you on in yours!! GO KAREN!! 🙂

  24. You poor thing..”derelict”. LOL I get you though. I seem to always “fail” at the challenges I enter.

    I think I’m going to stop doing them all together..and just create my OWN personal goals. I was thinking of this last night.

    I have to really agree with Jody’s comment.

  25. Lisa T

    Karen,

    I too am a recovering perfectionist, and I think that sticking to the long term goal of losing the weight, keeping it off and living a healthy lifestyle is truly more important than a particular challenge or week of eating or episode of pumpkin bread snacking. If you don’t already read her, I suggest checking out Lyn’s blog at “Escape from Obesity” and her most recent post on tenacity. I have never had the amount of weight to lose that Lyn had, but her tenacity does inspire me. You have that too. Despite your ups and downs you keep going. I think that is a key thing.

    I have been half on half off my own healthy lifestyle journey for about 6 weeks now. My weight has been fluctuating by only 2 pounds up and down in that period, but I know that I need to make better food choices more often and I need to be more consistent with my exercise too. I think if we stick to it we can both find what works for us to lose and then maintain.

    • Karen

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment, Lisa. I will go check out that post now. Consistency is key for me… and that is what I have been sorely lacking of late:(

  26. Karen, I have a whole different take on this. You have stuck with this far longer than you thought you would deep down inside. You did come in hesitantly, fearing you would blow it coming out of the gates, but guess what? You are still in this thing and we are coming down the home stretch. This is a tremendous victory. Also, remember I encourage you to change the goals if you need to. It isn’t about the original goals. It is about doing something that is pushing and stretching you, all the while offering you the support of the community. In return, all I hope for is that you will support others. I think you have aced this so far on all counts. Karen, you may not think so, but I think you rock!

  27. I think that you just need to take some time to evaluate where you are and whether these goals are appropriate for you. You are doing great – I love how you stick with it and do not give up!

  28. Diane read my mind… LOL

    I have been where you are, and I agree that you just need to see what will work for you right now.

    You haven’t quit striving towards healthiness and that is HUGE. It’s what makes this journey different from the others – we don’t quit, even if we aren’t meeting challenge goals, eating on plan, etc.

    You can do this!! Have a great day!

  29. I think your new goals are great and perfect. That’s really enough to change your life right there. Why make it more complicated than it needs to be.
    And I’ve proven (to myself) to be a terrible challenge participant as well.
    Still… I may try again. And I haven’t given up on this one yet either.
    Plenty of time…

  30. sunnydaze

    Same things been happening to me for the past week. I’m starting to feel yucky and I don’t like it.

I love comments!

