Playing Games Leads to Something Fishy

Flashback to childhood – playing tag.  Fast-forward to blogger’s version – and “Tag, I’m it!”  For Real, This Time tagged me to answer four questions:

1. What are the top 5 things you are thankful for this year?  I am thankful for all the usual things:  my family and friends, good health, our home, the blog world.  And I am thankful for technology of all kinds, when it works:)

2. What is your favorite healthy meal that you cook?  This is a tough one; I am not known for my cooking skills:)  I guess I would have to go with my salmon recipe because everyone in my house likes it and even my teen will eat it as leftovers.   And you can’t get much healthier than salmon!  I’ve shared the recipe below; the original came from allrecipes.com years ago.

3. Are you a last minute Christmas shopper or did you start 6 months ago? Does Christmas shopping overwhelm you?  I am a big planner and have a bad memory so I rely on lots of lists for holiday shopping.  I have been known to buy gifts early and put them somewhere and  forget where or that I even got them!  So now I write them all down.  Yes, it all overwhelms me a bit; I feel a lot of pressure about gift giving.  And as I type this, I realize that in past years I would have gotten started already.  I guess I’m going shopping today!

4. How are you going to reward yourself when you hit your goal weight?  Heavy sigh here as I contemplate this question.  My plan had been to buy some kick-ass expensive jeans when I reached and maintained my goal weight.  I have actually been there several times in the last several years but regained each darn time.  So my reward has to wait until the yo-yo has stopped bouncing, once and for all.

And now I get to pass on a new set of questions to four other bloggers:)  I tried to pick people who had not yet been tagged:

Leslie

Teresa

Tish

Michele

And your questions are:

  1. What has been the hardest part for you about losing weight and/or adopting a healthy lifestyle?  What has been the easiest?
  2. If you could invite anyone, living or dead, to a dinner party (or a non-food social gathering if you prefer), who would you invite and why?  Feel free to invite more than one.
  3. What would you do if you won a million dollars?  What if you won 100 million?
  4. What role does blogging play in your life?  Do you see it changing over time?

Karen’s Family’s Favorite Salmon

1/4 cup bourbon
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup chopped green onions
3 Tablespoons chopped fresh chives
2 Tablespoons lemon juice (lime works too we accidentally discovered)
2 cloves garlic, chopped
approx. 24 ounces of salmon

Combine all the marinade ingredients.  Add salmon and marinate in fridge 1.5 hours.  I do it in a zipper baggie and turn occasionally.  We usually buy about 3 pounds from Costco so we double the recipe.

We’ve always grilled this but you could also broil it.

What would YOU do if you one a million dollars?  What role does blogging play in YOUR life?

38 Comments

Filed under blogging, food

38 responses to “Playing Games Leads to Something Fishy

  1. If I had a million dollars, I would start a non profit to help people to achieve their goals. Blogging plays the #1 role in my life for accountability AND finally having a voice!

  2. Like the salmon recipe! Grilling or broiling it is the way I like to do it also!

  3. Karen, loved reading more about you!!!

    If I won a million dollars, I would pay off all my bills along with my family member bills especially since all of us are hurting bad right now! From there, I would invest wisely so I would never have to worry again & the just start helping all the great causes I have always wanted to help along with starting my own non profit to help people get fit & healthy.. all ages.

    Blogging.. I love the blog world BUT it does take up too much of my life right now & I need to change that & find balance.

    PS: I so wished I liked salmon!

    • Karen

      You don’t like salmon!? Yep, I am working on finding that blogging balance too. I am especially wondering what I will do when I have guests for a while over the holidays.

  4. I love salmon– seafood is one of my favorite foods. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Hey Karen – Thanks for tagging me…I’ll respond in my post today. Getting tagged makes me feel the bloggy love. Nice to read a little more about you, too. The salmon sounds great! I’d substitute the bourbon with a non-alcoholic liquid, or maybe just a tsp. of sesame oil. The marinade sounds a lot like a teriyaki one I have and haven’t used for a long time.

    Boy – do I hear you on the difficulty even contemplating getting to goal. But together we can do what we can’t do alone! Each day is an invitation to do better. Let’s both have one good day today. For starters, and for brain clearage!

  6. If I had a million dollars, I’d first pay off my student loans. Then, I’d buy a new car and a relatively small but decent house. Then, I’d give money to my mother and brother to pay off their homes. Then, I’d make a cash gift to my law school library (the law school where I went to school, not the one I work in — not because I don’t love it too — but you get the point). Then, I’d save if anything was left.

    Blogging. The role it plays in my life is developing. My blog is just one month old at this point, but I want it to be an information source for people, an example of healthy living and healthy weight loss, and a creative outlet for me.

    • Karen

      It will be interesting to see how your blog evolves over time. I sometimes think about how mine will change in the future when I either run out of things to say related to my current narrow focus. I guess I’ll have to write about other stuff:)

  7. I actually have a list of people to give money to WHEN I win the lottery. All I really want out of the deal is to pay off my mortgage, buy a van, and hit the road. My family and friends can have the rest of it. 🙂

  8. I cannot get enough of the outlet that blogging provides for me. I LOVE it!!!!

    If I had a million dollars? I would first donate 10% to our church, then travel some, and put some towards a nicer home. Nothing outrageous, but enough to get out of where we’re at now. I like our home, its just old and has a poor layout.

    I always love posts with little questions like this!

  9. Hi Karen! This salmon recipe sounds great and I can’t wait to check it out. If I won a million dollars, I would transition out of my day job and into a full time role as a healthy lifestyle advocate. But since I don’t hold a winning lottery ticket, guess I’ll have to keep doing both for a while. 🙂

  10. If I won 1 million I would pay off my kids student loans and our bills and buy health insurance and stop trying to find a job!!!

    I buy a lottery ticket every week so I can dream of that and more…

    The recipe looks great.

    • Karen

      My husband and I buy them every now and then and like to dream too. Especially when there is a huge jackpot. And don’t get me started on health insurance!!

  11. Oooh I’m already done with my XMAS shopping (thank goodness) and it’s so cold this week no walking outside- at least not today.

    If you have On Demand (we have cox cable but I think a few other providers have something like On Demand) you can look up on the Freezone episodes of current TV shows. Right now the first three episodes of the walking dead are on Freezone, under cable networks and then under AMC 🙂

    It’s a decent show.

    • Karen

      I don’t even have ideas for what to buy!! Fortunately, I don’t need much for hubby since he and I agreed our new Tivo would be our holiday gifts.

  12. The salmon recipe looks yummy … I just need some bourbon. 🙂

    • Karen

      The only thing we use the bourbon for is cooking:) My husband has a running joke with his brother who drinks bourbon and could not believe the cheap brand we kept on hand. Hubby told him you can’t tell the difference in a recipe.

  13. If I had any prizes I would give you one. But I don’t so here, have this smiley 🙂

    ‘Orange Juice’, that is what you said to earn it. OJ is a great ingredient in many fish recipes and so many people don’t know it, disbelieve it, or both if that is possible.

  14. I’ve always wanted to be one of those philanthropists who leaves $100 tips at restaurants, in Salvation Army buckets, and starts scholarships for underprivileged kids.
    Even though I’m a newbie blogger (only a couple of months) I am finding that there is a whole world of beautiful people out there who are more than willing to be my support, my rock, and my shoulder when I need it.

    • Karen

      Wouldn’t it be fun to do all that?! I found the same thing about the blog world. And never expected it. I think the community is the best part:)

  15. I do love salmon and I also love allrecipes. I turn to that site almost daily!

  16. I have your salmon recipe in my to try pile! So many recipes, so little time!

    If I won a million dollars I would pay off the house,school loans, make a one lump donation to our church and this really awesome program in our community that helps the homeless get back on their feet. If I had some money left after that I would invest it for our retirement.

  17. Your questions and those you answered gave me pause. At first I thought I might try to answer the same questions you did in a post… but then I got to thinking about the questions themselves, the act of asking important questions. So I wrote a post about that instead. Thanks for the inspiration.

    And BTW, I struggle with everything imaginable when it comes to Christmas shopping.

  18. if I had a million dollars Id start a foundation in Guatemala and work to get the children off the streets.

  19. I love these tagged questions (thanks for tagging me) because they always provide some more insight into a person I am following.

    One thing we have done as a family for Christmas shopping (now that our children are all adults) is we pool all our money that we would have spent on gifts for each other and give this money to a charity or an individual who is in need. On Christmas day, we each bring gifts or other items that we have received or bought for a sort of white elephant game. Loads of fun. Of course, we still buy for the grandbabies, but overall these two decisions have made our Christmas shopping a breeze.

    • Karen

      I love the donation idea. My husbands very large family decided to do that a few years back. It was a controversial decision and I won’t bore you with the long story. I could go on and on…

  20. Hi Karen,

    Now that I found your blog, I will be following and checking in regularly. The salmon recipe sounds wonderful, and I enjoyed your responses to the questions. I identified with each of them. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  21. If I won a million bucks, I’d invest it and live off of the interest ever year. And then I would retire at the ripe age of 28. 🙂

  22. i want some of that salmon! what time is dinner? 🙂

  23. Am passing on that recipe to the B/F, who does all the salmon cooking in the house! Sounds delicious. Liked your question — or the answers to the questions, I mean. Thanks for sharing.

  24. I think it’s a great reward you have when you reach your goal weight.

    I just *know* that you will get there! 🙂

    ~Kellie

  25. Thanks for thinking of me! I’ll work on those questions soon.
    I really appreciate the Salmon recipe too! I want to make it more, but I’m not a good fish cook. I think we’d like this.

I love comments!

