Hot 100 – Week 4 Update

Finally, a “goals met and on track again with my eating” week!

I started drafting this post early, before my book club on Wednesday night.  (I was a little worried when the reminder email said “Fall Food Frenzy.)  I thought I could make it a self-fulfilling prophecy.  If I write it, it will happen.  And it worked:)  Either that or my great eating streak has finally built enough momentum back for me to have the self-control that had been missing for so long.  I snacked on cheese, a small number of cashews, caprese salad (yummy) and a few Triscuits.  I did NOT eat any of the candy (3 different bowls with lots of enticing options) or the hot cherry cobbler with vanilla ice cream.  Social eating success.  Finally.

Here’s a reminder of my of my goals:

  • No bread or white flour/grains.
  • No junk food.
  • A continued effort to to drink more water or water-equivalent beverages.
  • Stay on plan (including no overeating).

This coming weekend will be challenging for me.

On Saturday night we are going out to dinner with friends.  When the Hot 100 started and I set my goals, I gave myself an “out” for these dinners that happen less than once a month.  Now I am torn.  Part of me wants to stay on track and find something at the restaurant that will be on my plan.  The other part of me wants to allow a little bit of moderation.  I’ve already scoped out the menu online and there is pretty much nothing that totally fits my eating plan.  They serve Cajun food with lots of white rice and breaded stuff.  There is one fish dish that looks like the best thing for me:  pan roasted trout with pecans, balsamic brown butter, and southern style green beans.  I’ll do my best.

On Sunday we are celebrating my mom’s birthday with dinner at my house.  The good news is that I can control the menu, since hubby and I will be making the meal; I will be sure to serve plenty of things that meet my own needs while being company-and-birthday-worthy.  The bad news is that my sister-in-law is bringing dessert.  This is not the SIL that planned a meal just for me:)  This is the other one – the one who does not know about my blog (I hope) or my “dieting” – the one who I lovingly refer to as our family’s Martha Stewart.  I am inclined to say that I will just commit now to not eating any of whatever she brings.  Not one bite.  That would be the best approach.  But, oh, I am struggling just thinking about what amazing thing she might make for my mom!  What if it is one of my all time favorites?  Then do I still abstain or do I allow myself one little serving?  I keep hearing Tami‘s voice in my head – she says she never regrets something she doesn’t eat.  Sigh.

I am on a roll, cruising along.  I want to get through the weekend with no regrets, regardless of the food choices I make.  I can and I will.  Yep – that’s my plan and I’m sticking to it.  (Fingers crossed behind my back.)

How was your week?  Any foreseeable obstacles ahead?  Weekend plans?

42 Comments

Filed under dieting, goals, restaurant/social eating

42 responses to “Hot 100 – Week 4 Update

  1. Glad you had a better week! We’re out for tea tomorrow night with friends too, and we went out last night, and we had take-out tonight. Oh well, not a perfect eating week for me either.

  2. Great report, Karen! Hope you navigate the weekend and come out on the other side feeling good about yourself. I think the trout option sounds yummy.

  3. Ewa

    Congrats on reaching your goals. Fall is a difficult time not to overeat.

  4. sunnydaze

    You are doing great and I can feel your determination to stay on track despite all the temptations you’ll be facing. You can do it! Imagine how great you will feel to come through the other side and being able to say that you stayed on plan. You will feel amazing! Have a great weekend and let’s hear a good report on Monday morning! 😉

  5. Great week, Karen – congratulations. I’ve thought of you a lot as I navigate the minefields you spoke of sometime last week. I think we’re both starting to get some traction with this improved eating and moving. Here’s to another great week for both of us. Just go with your gut (interesting unplanned metaphor!) about the dessert provided by your SIL. No explanations are needed if you decide to abstain. Nor are they if you decide to have a small amount. But like you, I love Tami saying she’s never regretted something she didn’t eat.

    • Karen

      Here’s the odd thing… when I asked her to make the dessert she made a comment about “well HE doesn’t eat desserts and you don’t eat desserts…” And I thought that was odd because as often as I don’t eat them, I also overindulge. And it seemed to me that around family it has always been more of the latter. Hmmm.

  6. Vee

    You did really great, especially when you ate out. I have several eating-out situations coming up and I’m really nervous. Feelings will be hurt if I don’t eat like I always have. Argh! Vee at http://veegettinghealthy.blogspot.com

    • Karen

      We shouldn’t worry about hurting feelings. We shouldn’t worry about what anyone else thinks. Easier said than done sometimes.

  7. Good job! I find it’s hardest to control myself in exactly those situations–the “social eating” ones. There’s something about eating with friends in a place that’s not your own home that just entices you to eat more than you normally would. I’m glad you had a success!

  8. Biz

    Can you send me a link to the restaurant you are going to?? Maybe I can help you out. 😀

    On situations where you can’t control what you eat, just do the best you can – and I would budget in a small piece of cake – just walk an extra 15 minutes a day for a week and its a wash! 😀

  9. When you are eyeing that dessert that your Martha Stewart SIL brings, remind yourself of how you want to get through the weekend without regrets. Even if it’s your all time favorite, will this be the last time EVER you’ll have a chance to indulge? Probably not…if you feel momentum rising up inside of you, I say go with that!

  10. I wouldn’t eat any of the junk food. One bite can turn into an interminable eating fest!!! Plus you are doing so well right now…don’t let anything screw you up!

    Have a great weekend!

  11. Grats on your week, Karen. Like others have noted this is starting the tough time of year for food, especially as family member start gathering. I am beginning to understand that one should never regret anything eaten – that means I have to be savor every bite and choose carefully.

    Right now I am in maintenance mode (with 55 pounds yet to go!) because of my father’s visit. I decided to enjoy every second with him and that includes tasting the “secret” fudge recipe he lovingly brought scrawled in his father’s hand more than 50 years ago. That means cooking with him – rather cleaning up after him – but gently suggesting alternatives to his sweetened side dishes and rich entrees. That also includes driving through a fast food restaurant to get his favorite hamburger and just ordering iced tea. He won’t be in the house but for a few more weeks, then I can start back on 1200 calories. I don’t know how many more chances I will have to create memories with him. And no, they aren’t all food related 😉

    • Karen

      You paint a beautiful picture:) Enjoy every moment and savor every bite. Sometimes there are great memories with foods and I’d hate to have to totally give that up. I have many associated with my grandmother.

      Now the fact that the fudge is a guy thing is intriguing:)

  12. Karen, CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!! Keep moving forward like that!

    Why do I say this, if we celebrated every dinner out or every get together or every celebration, well, it would always be one step forward & 2 steps back. We could find a reason or “excuse” every time we did anything to eat what we wanted…

    You say above that social eating is an issue for you so work hard to change that behavior. Also be aware that some restaurants put butter on all meat, chicken, beef, all of it before cooking to make it taste better. You can ask them to make things without all that & add on as you prefer so you are controlling it. Also, see if the nutritionals are available online. Many times the calories & fat are much higher than we think… hidden fat…

    As for your home thing, I always take a bite or two off my hubby’s treat… he is used to it. 🙂 If it is my “treat” time, I may have a small piece of whatever I really want & stop there.

    Karen, you can do this!!!!!! Set yourself up for success mentally & say you can do this!!! We all have these mental battles but the truth is that we just can’t always eat what we want… it sucks but that is the way it is & the older I get, the more my bod tells me that….

    • Karen

      I have to smile reading this. Not only for what you say and how you say it, but because as much as I was hearing Tami when I wrote that post, I was also hearing you:) I was actually not 100% sure of what you would say, though, amazingly.

  13. Vickie Regier

    Hey Karen– love your blog. It’s so interesting how your thoughts are my thoughts, your troubles are my troubles etc., etc.

    I kind of have to disagree with Tami– sometimes I do regret what I haven’t eaten and then I try to fill that with other things (usually that means a binge). So if you can not eat your SIL’s dessert that would be fabulous, but I would not think less of you if you had one or two bites 🙂

    Thanks again for a fun read.

    • Karen

      Thanks Vickie. And you make great sense. Last summer I made cookies for my son’s return from college and didn’t eat one. But I thought so much about not eating them that I ate a whole lot of other stuff instead!

  14. Congratulations on a great week!

    I feel your pain for the dessert dilemma. I know how hard it is to resist the delicious, I only get it this time, desserts (and it’s not like you’ll have left-overs, right?) If you think you can limit how much you eat AND that it won’t trigger cravings (and end with you having to start all over again), then it might be worth it. And who knows, maybe she’ll bring something you totally despise and it won’t be a problem. 🙂

    • Karen

      I have told my husband that I imagine a future when I eat on plan almost all of the time. BUT my exceptions would be social eating only. And then in moderation. I think if the rest of the time I ate well, the social eating splurges would be fine.

      • Karen — that’s how my friends who have never had a weight problem eat, but it needs to be a REALLY special occasion (or a REALLY worthy dish) for them to partake. And even then they very seldom eat the whole piece.

  15. Way to go! You have much to be proud of! 🙂

    And as for your plans this weekend – of going through the weekend with no regrets, I think that’s fabulous – a great goal for sure.

    🙂

    My weekend, I just have a few – to relax, rejuvinate, and get stuff ready for the surgery on Thursday. The countdown continues! 🙂

  16. First, kudos for eating well at book club. I know you were worried-sounds like it was great.

    About that dessert: do you ever think that this dessert is one of many that you will have that she made?? That is how I think. Desserts and sweets in general are my downfall. But, besides putting a napkin over them, I keep reminding myself that there will be other occasions to taste these delicacies.

    Stay strong, Karen.

  17. Thanks so much for your support on my post!
    Now.. Good for you!!!! I’m so glad you had a good week.
    I have to tell you that I’m perplexed about why you wouldn’t want anyone and everyone to read your blog… None of my business and I do understand “family” stuff…
    But still, you’re just a great writer and you’re interesting and uplifting and who could possibly not get that from your blog?
    Well… glad you have all of us!!
    I appreciate you more than I can say.
    Seriously, many of your posts are better than most magazines I read.

    • Karen

      Oh you are so sweet:) Thanks for the kind words.

      Welllll, first I will say that I do sometimes censor myself as it is, with a few people I know reading. There are things I would have said that I don’t or won’t. Second, there are also just some people who I would so not share things about myself that I consider “faults” or “failings” or whatever. If that makes sense. This SIL is one of them. Family drama, you know.

  18. sounds like you had a great week!! Good job!

    I’m sure you’ll do fine during your dinner out. Going over the menu ahead of time and making a decision is a good idea.

    I’m going to be away this weekend visiting my mom for her birthday on Sunday too! I’m worried because my brother is an amazing gourmet chef and I know it’ll just be a foodfest down there. I have another day or so to resolve how I’m going to handle this.

    Good luck..you’re going to do great!

  19. I am so happy to hear your good report! Yay for Karen! I should have no obstacles for myself this week and no excuses so I should have a good report next week as long as I don’t have another eating frenzy. Doing good so far!

  20. Obsticles – yes, I’ll be writing about that sometime this weekend.

    Good job this week! It feels good to be on top of the world, doesn’ it?

  21. Good job, friend! Hope the dinner goes well tomorrow night. I’ll be thinking of you and sending positive vibes your way.

  22. You are doing so great. Don’t fret about the weekend, I know that you’ll have it all handled.
    Thank you for stopping by.
    Take care and do have a great weekend. God Bless!!!

  23. Whoo-hooo! Congrats Karen you did it! Don’t you have a great sense of accomplishment after having a good week! Now just build on it and have another good week.

    I am not sure it is a good thing that you are hearing my voice in your head!!

    I second what Jodi said! Two or three bites off hubbies plate of dessert is plenty for me, but it has to be something I really like.

    You have to figure out how to stay on plan because almost every week there is something going on that can be a challenge for you, book club, mom’s birthday, dinner out with friends, a holiday, oh another birthday, anniversary, another holiday, it goes on and on. That is life and if you are going to get to goal and stay there – you have to learn to get through these things with out food being the focus.

    The pleasure of the food lasts for just a few moments and then it is over! If you stick to your healthy eating plan you carry that happiness of having been successful and in control forever. The pride and self satisfaction never go away, it totally beats a few moments of flavor.

    • Karen

      LOL. Remember that saying “A moment on the lips, eternity on the hips?” Actually I have read information that after the first few bites of something the taste actually lessens. Hmmm.

  24. Ron

    Congrats on a good week!!!!

  25. Congratulations on your great week 🙂 I’m glad you’re back in the groove!

    xo

  26. AFG

    I wished I belonged to a book club. How does one go about finding one? I love to read. 🙂

    • Karen

      I have no idea! I’d say ask around to see if any friends or neighbors are in one. Mine was formed years ago. It was a bunch of moms with kids about to “graduate” from the same preschool. We had stood casually chatting waiting to pick up our kids for years, and one mom mentioned we should do something to stay connected. Ta da!

  27. I am equally happy and proud of you! Great job Karen!

  28. Last week was okay. I survived the fair and the weekend was successful. I slept all weekend. lol.

  29. you’re doing awesome, Karen!!!

    maybe when you visit this Cajun restaurant they can modify a dish for you? if they can’t, oh well. enjoy yourself – you’re worth it! coincidently, i just wrote a post on how occassional indulgences are perfectly fine. what matters is your overall eating habits (and it sounds like you’re doing great!)

I love comments!

