Getting Serious

“If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.”

That is exactly what I plan to do.  So beginning today I am setting new goals and joining a summer challenge.  Because I do believe that there is strength in numbers and motivation to be found for myself in public accountability.

But I admit that I am just a wee bit hesitant.  Because for the last challenge I did not meet my goal for even one week!  As a matter of fact, I had my worst two months and really struggled during that time.  Two steps forward, one step back.  But enough is enough and I am looking for any extra inspiration wherever I can get it.  So… I didn’t succeed on my first group challenge, but I fully intend to do so this time:)

I think I need to take a new approach.  Because what I did last time obviously did not work.  And as Albert Einstein once said, “insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”.  I think this time around I need to set goals for myself each week.  Very specific goals.  Maybe they will be the same; maybe they will be different.  My guess is I will vary them depending on what events are going on in my life, because there are a lot coming up still this summer.  And I think that I need to report my results on my own blog this time as to how I did in meeting those weekly goals.  Not sure yet if it will be a post or a sidebar item.  But something.

Special thanks to Sarah,who started the challenge ball rolling in May, and to Diet Buddy, who is taking it over for the summer.  Everyone is invited to join in.  Just think of what you can accomplish between now and Labor Day if you set your mind to it!

For me, I plan to be in my goal weight range by then.  But my actual challenge goals will not be weight related, because as I have so painfully learned, I can (sometimes) control my actions but rarely can I control the number on the scale.

For week one, my goals are going to be a bit varied by day, which I know is rather odd but I have several events coming up and want to be realistic and flexible.

  • For all the days that I am in my own house, I will stay on plan.  In the evenings I will allow myself two snacks.  (Yes, two.)
  • On Wednesday, when my extended family gathers for BBQ take-out to satisfy the hankering of out-of-town guests, I will not eat any fries but, if I really want them, can have a couple of onion rings with dinner.  No dessert.
  • On Thursday through Saturday when I am back at the lake house with family, I will keep my goals that worked last time which means I will stay on plan except allow myself an off-plan treat in the evening if I really want it and if it is a group dessert.
  • All week:  no bread of any kind especially including bagels.  (If you saw the shopping list that my mom has made for bagels at the lake house, you would understand the special mention.)  The only exception will be if we take sandwiches in the car to eat on the way home from the lake.  Oh wait – if my mom makes popovers, as she plans, I am going to allow myself that once-every-few-years-home-baked-fabulousness treat.

So those goals feel pretty good to me for now.  Specific, actionable, realistic.  I am feeling optimistic about this.  Optimistic is good.  Getting serious is also good.

43 Comments

Filed under dieting, goals

43 responses to “Getting Serious

  1. Genie@dietof51

    Yes, I have not done well on my first week of the Freedom Challenge and I’m getting ready to go over to Deb’s to admit to this. I guess I’m not very competitive….

    With such specific, well-thought-out goals I think you have a really excellent chance of success. Go Girl! I know you’ll be honest about reporting your experience.

    • Karen

      It is interesting that you say that about being competitive. I had not thought about that at all for the challenge I am doing. But I did see another one online that clearly was set up as a competition with prizes for most percentage of weight lost. Some people are more motivated by competition. I don’t think I am. But you should see how competitive I can get playing board games!

      • You know what I’m doin on my site. I received an email asking about prizes. I was like umm..you lose weight? Nope not good enough, apparently. I was suppose to have sponsors and prizes and everything else that goes along with that.

        I think it’s okay to have prizes it just depends on how the contest is structured.

  2. I love the way you’ve structured your goals. What a recipe for success. I’d looked at this challenge, but opted not to participate because we’ll be traveling for 2 1/2 weeks in August. Sounds like I’m already looking for excuses to fail, doesn’t it?? May revisit the challenge. Thanks for the motivation.

    • Karen

      Check it out – you can drop in or drop out. This one is just about your personal goals, in my opinion, and so well suited if you need to take off for vacation.

  3. Goal setting & planning ahead are great tools for success! Looks to me like you have allowed some things that will keep you from feeling deprived! Good strategy!

    Cracked me up that we like so many of the same things.. onion rings, bagels & bread… too funny!

    PS: My post tomorrow, Tuesday, had nothing to do with your previous post. Once again, funny coincidence as I wrote this post last week! You will understand when you read it. 🙂

    • Karen

      Now I am intrigued! And I cannot tell you how often I have a post already drafted (but not published) and then something similar shows up on a blog I read!

  4. Goals are very helpful and when you put them out in the blogosphere, it creates more of an accountability than you’d ever know.

    Bagels are not a friend of mine. They taste too damn good. I have to avoid them at all costs. 🙂

  5. Ahhh bagels are a nemesis of mine. And they just make me hungrier when I eat them, so it’s a recipe for disaster. I think you’ve got a good, structured goal plan here that will ensure success!

  6. Realistic, achievable behavioral goals – the best kind. Go get ’em, or not, as the case might be. 😉

  7. Choosing wise goals is so important. If your goals are achievable, then success can flourish, momentum can be built, and more challenging goals can be put into place.

    I wish you well with your success this time around!

  8. That sounds like a breath of fresh air! I’m glad that you’re thinking about the stress ahead and that you have a plan for it. I hope it all works out in your favor, but especially that the challenge helps.

  9. What I love about your goals is that they allow (embrace, in the case of the potential popovers) for living fully. I predict success! Hmm, I should probably get a new outfit to celebrate when the challenge is over, shouldn’t I? 🙂

    • Karen

      So how weird is it that I don’t even think about how I would reward myself? But a new outfit sounds great to me too.

  10. Love your goals! This time, I just plan on keeping the same goals each week. In the spring, I changed it up a lot. I feel like it’s keeping the same lottery numbers!!!

  11. Goals are great. I think it is super effective to reflect back to another situation that is similar to figure out what worked really well and what things didn’t work so well. And make a plan from there.

    Often I set intentions for the day so I don’t get overwhelmed by the week. What can I do today to support my healthier lifestyle.

    Have fun!

  12. I think it’s a great idea to set goals! I have been doing this again lately, but I realized after reading your post that I forgot to post them today, so maybe I’ll put them up tomorrow!!! Good luck! 😀

  13. Yup….once again, our posts have a very similar flare to them. I tell ya; I am convinced that if I had someone like you next door, we would BOTH have reached our goals!!! Keep up the good work!! I’m proud of you 🙂

  14. When you find out the answer to ‘why we often lose motivation’…you let me know 🙂

  15. Jessie

    I am your newest follower. Please follow me back at http://www.jessielynnsmith.com

    Thanks!

    ❤ Jess

  16. Your goals are great! I enjoy the flexibility element they have to them. I also really love the”espcially bagels” part. 🙂 Bagels truly are the devil.

    • Karen

      I am normally a pretty inflexible person. (No laughing from my family who may read this please.) So this is a departure for me.

  17. While I think goals and challenges can be very helpful,I’m curious, do you ever find that making challenges and goals sometimes works against you? I’ve had times when I made a pact to not eat a certain type of food or to exercise “X” times per week and ended up that I was obsessing. Just wondering if you’ve ever had that experience yourself.

    • Karen

      Hmmm. I have to think about that. For my last challenge my goal was very vague about not overeating at night. I should have known that was not a good way to set a goal! But last time I went to the lake when I set goals I found it really helped me. And interestingly, allowing myself the freedom to eat dessert down there at night worked well because I didn’t feel like I was depriving myself and so more easily actually went without eating it! Go figure.

  18. sunnydaze

    I need focus challenge. I’m going to check this out. 😉

  19. Awesome goal setting and so realistic with your week of family gatherings.

    It is all about choices and deciding which foods you would get the most joy from eating and then passing on the things that don’t rate as high on your desired list.

    These are a good skill set to carry you through weight loss and maintenance.

    You go girl!

  20. Great post and some great specific goals. It’s brilliant to plan and set goals relevant to what is going on each week, rather than blanket goals for the summer. This is really a good idea that I am going to incorporate myself. I know you can do it, Karen.

  21. Looks good to me- you guys have takeout bbq every week? Oh man I’m drooling here thinking about BBQ!

    • Karen

      Heck no Bee! The last time I had it was also when we had an out-of-town guest. I live outside Kansas City… a BBQ town. Actually, when my brother and his wife come, the guests this week into next, we have BBQ for one of them and Mexican food for the other:)

  22. I have no doubt you’ll suceed. It is a lot more fun to blog the ups than the downs. After telling all your friends your plans, you now just gotta do it! Thank you for all the feedback on my blog lately. Somedays you have seriously been my saving grace!

  23. Good looking goals!

    I have been good about the bagels since my big 2 bagel nosh down in May. Now my daughter is complaining that she is eating too many of them. I have advised her to pull out the middles before toasting them or only eat half. Also to have some protein when she eats one to offset the carb reaction. So far I have not seen her follow my advice…live and learn.

    • Karen

      I so forgot that trick about pulling out the middle! I learned it from my own mom. We’d toast them then fill them with cottage cheese. Protein too, what do ya know:)

  24. I have definitely found that having very specific weekly goals makes the larger, overall goal more attainable!

  25. Sounds great and we are all rooting for you!! Keep us posted so you’ve got good support for this summer challenge. 🙂

  26. Excellent way of approaching this challenge and setting forth week one’s goals. It does seem that you have some challenging situations ahead and I hope this accounting will help you. Personally, I’d love to see your weekly challenge goas and results as posts rather than in a sidebar. The challenge is a significant event and your goal for the summer is very important. Therefore, it deserves detailed posts, IMO… But, if it’s in a sidebar, I’ll look for and follow it there.

    • Karen

      Thanks for giving my your opinion. Last night I added a “page” for tracking, maybe on a daily basis even. I thought that would be good for me and accountability. Maybe I will add a post or two or three as well.

  27. I have learned that the ONLY way goals work for me is to adapt to the reality of my week. I travel a lot but even without that, my energy & commitment level aren’t always the same. Sometimes I can make ENORMOUS efforts and sometimes not eating the box the cake came in is a big success…

    Glad you’re adapting to your current reality!

  28. I’m doing the same thing. I kept telling myself I was going to start working out, start eating better and everything else – but I wouldn’t make any specific goals or timelines and, not surprisingly, I wouldn’t stick with it.

    I recently started blogging in an attempt, like you said, to have some sort of accountability. Every time I see something I shouldn’t eat or think about taking the car instead of walking to work, I think about writing about it on the blog and that helps me stick with it. Having small, attainable goals – especially if they aren’t actually weight-related – is really helpful, too.

  29. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » Today’s Lucky Number

I love comments!

