And You Can Quote Me on That

Have you ever run across a quote that made you really think?  Or that inspired you?  Or that seemed to fit your life in that moment and resonate in your brain?  Or that struck you for some reason but you just could not figure out why, you just knew you liked it?  Maybe it was something said once by someone famous.  Maybe it was words written by a fellow blogger.  Or uttered by your wise-beyond-his-years child.  Or something you saw in a magazine or on a sign or in your dreams or heard in a song.

Today’s post is about just that.  Words to live by, words to ponder, words of wisdom, words that make us laugh, words that inspire, words that take us away from it all for just a moment.

I have a few to get us started but am putting the pressure on you to keep the ball rolling.  So please share some of you favorites.  (Apologies to the three bloggers below for stealing their thunder quotes.)

“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”. – Albert Einstein

Nothing tastes as good as thin feels.

Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.
-Unknown

Tomorrow is another day. – Scarlett O’Hara

“If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got.PJ Geek

“Indecision may or may not be my problem.” – Jimmy Buffet (in Jody’s blog)

“You get what you give.”Kristen

Now it’s your turn:)  Step up to the mike and share a quote (or two or three or more).

45 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

45 responses to “And You Can Quote Me on That

  1. Oh, I like this one. My favorite quote of all time is from poet, Maya Angelou:

    “When you know better, you do better.”

    That says it all to me. It applies to every one of lives challenges from parenting to leading a moral life.

  2. I love this topic!! Having gone to AA for years, I can definitely come up with some good ones. I will think about it and link to your post today when I do my own. I love “nuggets of truth”, as an old substitute 7th grade teacher used to call them. Great idea here!

  3. “Leap and the net will appear” Novelist, Mark Cohen.

    No quote has influenced my life more directly, and more often. I am who I am, at this current time, due to those words. Also, he’s my brother 🙂

  4. “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” (Confucius)

    “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” (Thoreau)

    “If a man loses pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured, or far away.” (Thoreau)

    “Here is a simple, rule-of-thumb guide for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you, then grab the initiative and do it for them. Add up God’s Law and Prophets and this is what you get. (Jesus Christ in Matthew 7:12, The Message translation)

  5. “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” ~ Dr. Seuss

    “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

    “One may have a blazing hearth in one’s soul and yet no one ever came to sit by it. Passers-by see only a wisp of smoke from the chimney and continue on their way. ” ~ Van Gogh

    There’s also a line from a Straylight run Song that always hits me – “Still, I’m convinced that wondeirng what if is the worst thing there is.”

  6. I am loving the words to the new Shakira song! The song is called Waka Waka and the lyrics are very inspiring. It’s basically about picking yourself up after you’ve fallen!

  7. “Believe that you can run farther or faster. Believe that you’re young enough, old enough, strong enough, and so on to accomplish everything you want to do. Don’t let worn out beliefs stop you from moving beyond yourself.” — John Bingham

    “Recognize your victories.” — Joan Benoit Samuelson

    Two of my favorites. 🙂

  8. Those were great!

    The only difference between fit and fat is I.

  9. Genie@dietof51

    “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

    “I want to go out to lunch….. I want to wear my sandals……” – Goldie Hawn in Private Benjamin, marching around in circles in the mud wearing her combat boots.

  10. Great post idea, Karen!

    I would say right now one that I work with a lot is

    Fall down seven times, stand up eight – Chinese proverb

    A Habit is first cobwebs, then cables – North American (or Spanish) Proverb (I have two attributions for the same quote)

    No matter how far you have gone down the wrong road, turn back – Turkish proverb

    and my favorite :

    “Not all who wander are lost” JRR Tolkien

    …I could keep going but I’ll stop here

  11. I love it. I don’t have one. But I’m loving the ones you provided.

  12. I have heard a lot of those and I too love them but this one gets through my day: “The Lord only allows you the trials that He knows you can handle.” Sometimes I think He has me confessed with someone stronger though. smile.

  13. “The definition of success–To laugh much; to win respect of intelligent persons and the affections of children; to earn the approbation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to give one’s self; to leave the world a little better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition.; to have played and laughed with enthusiasm, and sung with exultation; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived–this is to have succeeded.”
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Added you to the blogroll for the Summer Focus Group today!

  14. O! I forgot: “Happiness is good health and a bad memory.” ~ Ingrid Bergman

  15. “I am not anti-gun. I’m pro-knife. Consider the merits of the knife. In the first place, you have to catch up with someone in order to stab him. A general substitution of knives for guns would promote physical fitness. We’d turn into a whole nation of great runners. Plus, knives don’t ricochet. And people are seldom killed while cleaning their knives.” — Molly Ivins

  16. I’ve always loved that Einstein quote. Another of my favorites is this one from Ralph Waldo Emerson:
    “Always do what you are afraid to do.”

  17. I did a post on my favorite quotes a few years ago. Here are a few of the ones I listed:

    Have you ever thought you’d screw everything up, and then you went out and did it?
    “If you don’t have confidence, you’ll always find a way not to win.” – Carl Lewis

    When you feel like taking a day (or a week or a month) off your plan…
    “Continuous effort — not strength or intelligence — is the key to unlocking our potential.” – Liane Cardes

    I get this now…
    “The difference between the impossible and the possible lies in a person’s determination.” – Tommy Lasorda

    For when you find yourself trying to ’splain your actions…
    “Bad excuses are worse than none.” – Thomas Fuller

    Day after day after day…
    “Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.” – Jim Ryun

    Most of us want to BE fit; how many of us want to GET fit?
    “What you have to do and the way you have to do it is incredibly simple. Whether you are willing to do it, that’s another matter.” – Peter F. Drucker

    I’d have been in the gym YEARS ago if only I’d listened to the Babe
    “Never let the fear of striking out get in your way. “ – George Herman “Babe” Ruth

    For the chronic over-thinker (and I know it’s not just me)…
    “You cannot plow a field by turning it over in your mind. ” Unknown

    To remind us it’s all about growth
    “Success is never final and failure never fatal.” – George F. Tilton

    I use this one almost every day.
    “Fall seven times, stand up eight.” – Japanese proverb

    • Good ones, Cammy! My fave here is “You cannot plow a field by turning it over in your mind.” Never heard it before.

      Thanks, Karen… See what a fun thing you started?

  18. Great post! Here is my favorite quote, copied and pasted from my Facebook profile…”The most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.” – uttered by Carrie Bradshaw at the conclusion of the last episode of the Sex & The City series. Have a great weekend!

  19. Well since I’m a gardener I have to have a gardening quote:
    “Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap, but by the seeds you plant”. Robert Stevenson

    And my favorite quote of all time:
    “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” – Gandhi Oh how many times I’ve quoted that to my son when he rants about the world but does nothing. Complaining get you nowhere, but action is everything.

    And since my son and I have been trying to learn the Dr. Horrible songs:
    “Even in the darkness every color can be found, And every day of rain being water flowing to things growing in the ground.”

    And maybe a good Gandhi quote for you:
    “If I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.”

  20. Thanks, Karen! I needed these today… especially this one:

    Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.

    Good topic and comments!

  21. I love quotes! Here are a few favorites:

    “Our remedies oft in ourselves do lie.”(Shakespeare)

    “I need a Noah, all I have is a no one.”(friend in reference to the Notebook)

    “Just dance, gonna be okay, just dance” (Lady Gaga)–the motto for my life, definitely not the whole song, just that line. 🙂

  22. I keep this one on my blog to remind myself that it’s OK to be out of hand sometimes.

    “Well behaved women rarely make history”

    – Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

  23. “Give a girl the right shoes and she can conquer the world.” by Marilyn Monroe.

    Visiting from the tea party. Have a great Saturday.
    Tracy

  24. “God controls circumstances. Stop trying to control your circumstances and instead control your thoughts”. Jared Herd

    Loved this post

  25. “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”
    -Maya Angelou

    I love a good quote! Found you at the tea party.

  26. As a mom with small children. Tomorrow is another day is my mantra.
    Also sometimes I just don’t give a damn. That can help too.

  27. Thanks for sending me over here for this post. I try to catch up on Saturdays with my reading! I LOVE quotes!

    As my post says today…one of my life altering quotes Wisdom begins in WONDER…

    My other favorite: Shoot for the Moon, even if you miss you will land among the stars!

  28. My husband and I did long distance for a few months and I made him a book with quotes for each day, so trust me…I’ll ALL about quotes! : )

    “absence makes the heart grow fonder”

    “We come to love not by finding a perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly.”

  29. My favorite is from Eleanor Roosevelt: “A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.” It speaks to me just as you said. You have to be tested to know what you can take. I just love it.

    I am visiting from the Lady Blogger’s Tea Party. Thank you for having me!
    Alison

  30. The only thing I can think of is from Princess Bride. I shall be thinking of these all week long! 😉

    Visiting with a cup of tea from LBS

  31. Thx for the shoutout! I have used that Einstein one in posts more than I can count & just recently! 🙂

    I have been collecting quotes since 2003 & I have more than I can count on my blog posts & my weekly quote of the week.. hard for me to pick one as I love them all! I love each & every one of them as I use them & more coming up this week!

    Here is a recent one I used & from Einstein again:

    “In the middle of every difficulty lies opportunity” – Albert Einstein

  32. “If you resist change, or hold on to the past…you are postponing all future blesings awaiting you on the next level.”

    -Author unknown

    Stopping by LBS

  33. Hi! New follower from the Tea Party … 🙂

    foodfloozie.blogspot.com

  34. My favorite quotes:

    “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

    “Separate we come, separate we go, this be it known is all that we know” ~ Conrad Aiken

  35. Stopping by from the tea party. I love the Being happy quote. It is so what I needed to read right now.
    The indecision quote made me laugh because that is so me. I have such a hard time making decisions.
    Happy weekend,
    Lisa

  36. Stopping by from the LBS Tea Party. I love you included a quote from Scarlett O’Hara

  37. Im still chanting:

    Dont dig up in doubt what you planted in FAITH.
    Dont dig up in doubt what you planted in FAITH.
    Dont dig up in doubt what you planted in FAITH.
    Dont dig up in doubt what you planted in FAITH.
    Dont dig up in doubt what you planted in FAITH.
    Dont dig up in doubt what you planted in FAITH.

  38. I’m from the Lady Blogger Tea Party. Love this post! There’s something my grandma always used to say. It’s not profound or anything, but it did always make me think when she said it. I always thought my sister was pretty–as in, way prettier than me. So if I ever said that in front of my Nana, she’d say:

    “Pretty is as pretty does.”

    Never really understood it then, but it did finally click later on in my teens.

  39. I love the Einstein quote, I use it a lot and apply it to my life often.

    Another one I like is:

    Every breath is a choice.
    Every minute is a choice.
    To be or not to be.
    -Chuck Palahniuk

  40. Just because you put a dent in the car doesn’t mean you have to total it.

  41. Never, never, never, never give up. –Winston Churchill

  42. “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”. – Albert Einstein

    I love this one – my hubby says this all the time, I think he learned it in NA.

  43. I just drew a blank after reading all of these great quotes. Thanks for a wonderfully, inspiring post.

  44. I needed this today – I have been struggling with finding motivation to get back on track and drop these pounds…. I love any sort of motivating words but when I find a handful I love it!

I love comments!

