The Great Blog Post that Almost Was

I had a great idea for this post.  But my notes are scrawled on a piece of paper that I left behind at the lake house.  I don’t know if it bothers me more that I can’t remember anything about what I thought was such a perfect topic or that I am worried someone else will someday find my notes and I will feel exposed by whatever I might have written that I sooooo cannot remember!

This post could have been about how I felt to be off the grid with no cell phone access or internet.  (Fine until I got home and sat at my computer, overwhelmed.)   But I am very confident that was not what I intended to write about.

This post could have been about what I ate at the lake because there is a lot to say about that.  A LOT!  And that wording is indeed an intended pun.  But this was likely not the topic because I decided that I have talked about overeating and cheating enough lately and this “binge” was very situational and I was going to be back on track the moment I hit my front door so I just was not going to beat my own dead horse today.

This post could have been about how I did not feel fat in my swimsuit:)  Or it could have been about the slight hesitation that came with having to wear that swimsuit sans cover-up in front of  my friends.  Or it could have been about the myriad of thoughts that ran through my head in the five minutes when I stood, feeling exposed, as a boat full (and I mean full) of teenagers briefly docked to say “hi” to my son.  (Is anything as humbling as beautiful teenage girls in bikinis?)

This post surely would have been about some topic that was utterly inspired.  I know that because I seem to do some of my most creative thinking when I am nowhere near a keyboard and often when I have no access to even pen and paper.  Oh the posts I have written in my mind!  I remember writing on the tiny piece of paper.  Both sides.  Scrawled down and up and around.  I wish I could remember my idea!  I don’t even have a glimmer of the topic.  Nothing at the edge of my memory teasing me with partial recall.  Frustrating.  And I wish I knew for sure where that little piece of paper now resides.  And if I ever find it, I hope that the idea is as amazing in reality as it is in my very faulty memory.  Wait for it!

Until then… I missed you.  I missed keeping caught up online.  I missed the sense of accountability I have about my eating when my blog and readers are so close.  I didn’t miss my scale but I wish I could miss seeing the number on it replayed in my mind as I type this.  I missed my healthy eating and missed the person who was staying on track, committed.  I missed my bike.  I had fun – but I am sooo glad to be back.

36 Comments

Filed under appearance, blogging, body and/or body image, cheating/overeating, emotions/emotional issues, vacation

36 responses to “The Great Blog Post that Almost Was

  1. Love this post! Brilliant and inspired. Probably better than the one you would have written if you had your notes, smile, smile. A couple of weeks ago I’d written a pretty long heart felt post that felt INSPIRED, and somehow a molecule grazed the keyboard in a way that the post was gone. Obliterated. I sat here and was just devastated. Tried to make it a cosmic occurrance…”is the universe telling me I’m full of shit?”…which it turns out I probably was. Nevertheless, it was AWFUL. 2nd time that happened to me in a year of blogging.

    How great to not feel bad in the bathing suit, and to recognize your thoughts and feelings about going sans cover up! Really – this was excellent reading 🙂

    • Karen

      Just today I lost my internet connection halfway through the draft of a new post. I am sure that the words that I lost were just amazing! Perfectly penned. Sigh.

      Well, the only reason the boat-load saw me without a cover-up is that they pulled up to the dock when I had just gotten into my suit and still applying sunscreen. But I sure did decide “what the heck” and went down to say “hi.”

  2. I have to chuckle a little -my best ideas come at night while I’m laying in bed trying to fall asleep, and can never remember what they were about the following morning when I sit down to blog!

    I’m so thrilled that you were able to feel great in a bathing suit… that’s an accomplishment by itself!

    • Karen

      I have a pad by my bed that has a light in it! At your age, I used to remember those ideas come morning; but not now. I find lots of notes by my bedside when I wake up.

  3. Oh the teenagers in their bathing suits…. Since I live 15-20 minutes from the ocean in FL….I see it A LOT. What kills me is the girls I overhear talking about how they look fat. I want to say…girls…enjoy that body..you will miss it someday….

    Thanks for you comment by the way 🙂

  4. I bet those teenage girls were probably hoping that they will look as good as you when they are your age!

    I know what you mean about being overwhelmed when you got back. I am going to Bermuda this summer for two weeks and I don’t know how I am going to keep up!!!! 🙂

    • Karen

      I wondered what they thought since those who have come to my home have seen me sloppy in my usual “what not to wear” attire, usually baggy and shapeless.

      Two weeks!!!

  5. Your idea will come back to you when you lest expect it. And when it does you can write about it then. I write my blogs in my dreams over and over. The good thing is for the most part I remember my dreams but the bad part is I don’t sleep very well with all the chattering in my head. I thought I looked better in my swim suit this year too, not quite there yet but getting better. I missed the computer/internet and my bloggers and face booker too.

    • Karen

      Funny thing is that I spend so much less time on fb now that I blog. How did we ever live without the internet?

  6. Genie@dietof51

    Oh, I do the same thing! I have a fleeting moment of brillance and think, “Oh, I’ll remember THIS!”.

    Then, I don’t….. I’ve failed at that enough to know to write stuff down, but….. where DID I put that scrap of paper?

    It’s hard to be old. That’s all I can remember.

    That reminds me, I think there’s a note in my purse. Where did I put my purse?

    Welcome back!

    • Karen

      LOL. When I first started my blog I had ideas coming into my head left and right and had notes in the car, at the desk, by my bed, on my phone. I still stop now and then to jot something down.

  7. I’ve written down great ideas for later reference. Usually when I’m up in the middle of the night, or just as I’m called into the doctor’s office. Too often, I can’t read my hurried scrawl if and when I find the scrap of paper later. Not even a glimmer of a clue–with the words right in front of my face. Hope your idea comes back to you. Great about the bathing suit victory–and I totally agree about teenage girls.

  8. I am so glad that you are back!!! I do hope that you had a blast. Now…if we can keep me on track until the beach, I will be a happy camper. That’s right twin, you and I are going to make sure that I eat well. Anyways…HOORAY for not feeling fat in a bathing suit!!! Though there are some areas that I wish were firmer and void of stretch marks, I know the feeling 🙂

    • Karen

      Yes – it felt better. Part of it was the cut of the suit, part the weight loss, part was that I am getting old enough to realize I just can’t do anything about my darn thighs. But stay away from me with a camera!

  9. sunnydaze

    What a nice post. I’m glad that you had a great time and congrats on wearing a bathing suit with no cover up! YAY you! 😀

  10. I love getting off the grid for a weekend! But, yes, those great ideas can come and go… and I upgraded to 3.0 without a hitch! Glad to see you back. I got out my Canyon Ranch cookbook and I’m going to try something new this week. Your spa trip inspired me!

    • Karen

      I guess I will try the upgrade one of these days. Just one more thing on my list. If you try a great recipe you should post it!

  11. I miss my readers’ comments too. It is such a helpful supplement to any healthy eating. I’m glad you’re home, and I’m sure that your brilliant post will come back to you. I’ve had a few experiences.

  12. sunnydaze

    Thanks for your message. I’m glad I’m not the only one that was getting those virus messages – I thought it was me!

  13. Ug this happens to me ALL.THE.TIME. It’s so frustrating! lol. I try to remember them or just go to my blog and write a click blurb and save it as a draft.

    I’m sure you looked great btw 🙂

  14. Welcome back. I’m sure the post was amazing, as amazing as every other post that you write. I’m always inspired by your thoughts.

  15. I am glad you lost your paper cause I so loved this post!!!!!! And, yes, the bathing suit.. how it brings out all the worst fears in us… especially around friends & YIKES, young girls in bikinis!!!!

    Well, we have them on other stuff! 🙂

  16. I’ve got scribblings all over the place. I keep saying I’m going to start transferring them to a google doc, but somehow I never do.

    Glad you had a good unplugged weekend!

    • Karen

      Ah google docs. That would require me to go downstairs to my computer. I guess I will keep my notes low tech for now.

  17. This happens to me too! I have a notebook upstairs and downstairs so if I remember, I can write it down. This post was great – fabulous! Great job on the bathing suit – I love that!

  18. If it makes you feel any better – i forgot which locker I put my purse in at the gym and thought it had been stolen! The locker room manager had to open a bunch of lockers and finally found it in a locker I swore I didn’t go near! Very scary when the mind begins to go…

    • Karen

      That’s funny! At my old gym where we had lockers I always chose one with a number that I would not forget. Like my age. I had to buy a lock with a combo I set myself so I didn’t forget that either!

  19. Well, forgetting your paper didn’t seem to hurt this post at all! I write so very many posts in my head, but I almost never jot down my ideas. Although I think I really should start doing that.

I love comments!

