Coming Unplugged

I am suffering from a severe case of mixed emotions.

This weekend I will be going off the grid.  No internet.  Zip, zero, no dial-up, no wifi, nothing.  Since discovering the blogosphere almost six months ago, I have not been totally internet deprived for more than a day.

The little obsessive voice in the back of my head is wondering how I will feel not being able to read your blogs and not being able to respond to any comments on mine.  The action-oriented, clutter-hating voice is whispering that when I return home, my reader will be overflowing and I will feel stressed to catch up.  But on the other hand, I wonder if I will enjoy a sense of calm and peace that comes from knowing there are no high tech demands on my time.  No posts can be written.  No comments can be left.  No email can be answered.

I expect one of two things will happen:  I will not think about being unplugged at all while I am gone, or, I will be writing blog posts in my mind and jotting notes on scraps of paper for when I get home to my computer.

Regardless, I will have no blog community to distract me from snacking.  No blogs to visit instead of the pantry.  No posts to draft while staving off the cravings.  Instead I will be with friends who are not dieting.  So maybe my best plan is to wear my swimsuit all day because, really, is there any greater motivator not to overeat than wearing a swimsuit in front of other people?!

This is only the first of several short internet-less trips coming in the next month.  This weekend I will dip my toe in the water and see how it feels.  Not that it matters.  The internet connection will not miraculously materialize where I am going and my plans will not be changing.   Time will tell how stressed I feel when I return home to play catch up and how long it will take me to get back in the groove.

So don’t worry if you don’t see me around in the blogosphere for the next few days.  I’ll be back:)

What about you?  Does coming unplugged leave you feeling unglued?  Or unstressed?

P.S.  As with much of life, timing is everything.  And in this case… my timing is once again off as I leave my computer behind on the same day I am featured on Holly’s Tickled Pink post.   Next week I will take advantage of her reminder and write about some things that make me smile:)  Until then, I am not sure I would add “going internet-less” to my list!

25 Comments

Filed under blogging, vacation

25 responses to “Coming Unplugged

  1. I have really been thing about the concept of unplugging lately. The computer, blogs, google have become an instant gratification replacement that food once held. This is not always a good thing.

    If I see an actor and can’t remember his name, but know he was in movie X..I can just immediately search to see who he is , has been , what he’s filming currently. I’ve been hearing about how this instant gratification computer usage is affecting our dopamine levels in our brains (that juicy little feel good neurochemical) that gets released whe we take drugs, drink, eat , have sex..etc.

    I hope you can see it as a challenge and as a deserved break. Have fun.

  2. Genie@dietof51

    Yeah, what PJ said. She’s a wise woman, too.

    I went unplugged last weekend. When it wasn’t an option, I really didn’t think about it that much. Knew I wouldn’t be able to completely “catch up”, so I went back a day and moved forward. Of course, you are more active and chattier than I am (darn old work cuts into my play time).

    Anyway, the point is that I survived, and you will too! There is hope for those who are too blog-dependant. Baby steps away from the box.

    BTW, we are leaving for another baseball weekend, but we’re taking a laptop this time, just in case of a rain delay:)

    Enjoy your freedom!

  3. I just re-read my post. Full of typos. First cuppa coffee coming up now!

    I forgot to say I went out of town last weekend to my sisters , thinking it would be an unplugged weekend.
    We were on her laptop (didn’t know she had one) a good bit of the time looking at her facebook friends and talking about old times.

  4. I just went through this myself. I got back last Sunday and I have to say, I didn’t miss cyberspace once. I did think about some of the wonderful friends I have made along the way though and how they may or may not enjoy the situation I was in.

    My muse decided to show up while I was away and I had plenty of ideas for my WIP. So that worked out well.

    When I returned home I was able to tell all about my adventures and it was nice to be back. But as far as being cut off, I realized it was a very much needed rejuvenation for my soul. So have fun wherever you’re going and enjoy the physical interaction.

  5. Personally, I think unplugging is a good thing! There’s too much LIFE out there to be enjoyed for us to spend so many hours glued to the computer. I love reading blog posts and receiving comments on my posts, but it thrills me even more to read that someone has been away from the computer and creating memories.

    And if all that pleasure requires an eventual “Mark All as Read” on the reader, that’s okay. (Except for my posts. You should read all those. 🙂 )

    Have a magnificent unplugged weekend!

  6. I think time off technology is a good thing too. There is a growing movement of “tech diets” where people learn to turn off the gadgets & connections for an hour, day, weekend, week… Helps keep “real life” more in focus.

    I do this several times a year. And I do what cammy says, just “mark all as read” and start again. It’s okay.

    For post ideas, you could always use paper!

  7. Have no worries about being unplugged. I do this often and it is good for me. I don’t think about my blog very often while gone maybe a passing thought if I am taking a photo that I think I might post.

    I think it is too easy to become dependent on always being plugged in with twitter, face book, blogs, cell phones. It takes your attention off where you are at the moment, who you are with, even your own thoughts and ideas are put on hold while you explore and read about someone else’s life.

    I agree with PJ that the instant gratification part of the electronics age is not always healthy.

    I will be taking my lap on our road trip but I won’t be on it very often as we won’t have internet access and I am happy about that. I have no pressure on myself about posting or commenting on other blogs. I want to be very present with my husband and our family that we are visiting.

    Go and have a fantastic time!

  8. have a good time…enjoy your time off the grid. I think we all need to take a break from it from time to time. 🙂

  9. sunnydaze

    I totally agree with Cammy. There is too much life to be lived to stay glued to a computer. I posted on my blog today about enjoying the simple things in life – the things that really matter – the things that are the true essence of life. The computer is not one of them. 😉

  10. For sure – I too have a little problem when I have to unplug for the weekend because we’re going to be out of internet zone. But it’s good for me, and I bet you’ll find it advantageous to you, too. Since I am on a computer all day at work, I try to make it a point not to check email/facebook at home, but sometimes I fail at it. I notice though that I enjoy my evenings a lot more when I “unplug.” 🙂

  11. Enjoy the mental break and writing by hand as you stroll around in your swimsuit.

    If you find “unconnected-ness” to be too stressful, invest in a 3G iPad. I find being able to post from anywhere, if I feel the need, and staying in touch by e-mail to be important at certain times, but so is being able to step away completely if I choose to do so.

  12. Being unplugged is nice at times but other times it DOES stress me out! 😦

    I just wanted to tell you that I just realized in my Google Reader your blog is all the way at the bottom of the list due to the alphabetically listed blog titles. Every time I open up reader I start at the top and never make it down. Talk about stress! Anyway, hope to catch up on the rest of your posts soon. 🙂

  13. You’re probably already on your way to your unplugged weekend. I remember advocates of raising children with less TV started “unplugged” movements for that distraction. Life was so much simpler way back then! (70s & 80s). I too have an unplugged vacay coming up, but mine is 10 days and I predict serious withdrawal symptoms. LOL Go and have a good time, we’ll be here when you get back.

  14. It is strange to “unplug” when you’ve been so used to blogging daily. I write posts in my head all the time, but half of them never actually make it to the blog. Have fun!

  15. I hope you really enjoy your time offline! I think we all should unplug more often. 🙂

  16. Congrats on the feature. I’ve never had a problem unplugging. I’m easily distracted. Sometimes I forgot to get online.

    I bet you’ll keep track of potential post topics over the weekend. 🙂

    It can be hard not too. Enjoy your weekend!

  17. congratulations! I can unplug pretty easily during the day, but at night is when I get antsy if I can’t check on my blog and visit other people’s. You can do it!

  18. Since I love to read I never worry about being unplugged. I always have a stack of book waiting for me!! Plus I always have mosaic projects to keep my hands busy in the daylight hours, too.

  19. Made my way over to your blog from Diane’s and have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts. Now that I’m saying “hello,” you’re leaving…….but I bet you’ll be back! I’m in agreement with others about enjoying time away from the internet. I get that while hiking in the mountains close to my home. Believe me, you are connected to NOTHING but nature there. It’s wonderful! My blog is only a few weeks old, but like you, I’ve become pretty attached to this community and would hate to get more than a few days behind. However, we travel a lot and I have no trouble putting the laptop away to go in search of adventure. There’s always late nights and early mornings for reading. Have fun and hurry back. I look forward to reading more from you.

  20. I hear ya… being unplugged is more about being stressed about not reading other posts & commenting on them & yes, getting my own stuff done… BUT on the flip, it is stressful as well to be thinking about it all the time & honestly, not getting other stuff done due to wanting to read those blogs…. things like making money that I need! 🙂

    I might be writing about this Monday but you will be unplugged! 🙂

    Maybe being forced into unplugged is a good thing!

    Oh and yes, nothing like being in a bathing suit or tight pants to keep you checked in about eating too much! 😉

  21. Enjoy being unplugged! We’ll still be here when you return. 😉

  22. I too get quite anxious at the thought of being unplugged… mostly it’s because I know how long it will take me to get caught up. I don’t understand exactly why I feel the need to catch up on reading blogs (back read and comment on all the blogs I follow). Isn’t life kinda like a soap opera? Can’t we just turn it on and pick up the new chapter without missing a beat? I guess not, cuz I just gotta read ’em all.

    I will be unplugged for a week starting tomorrow…. but, I’ll be baaaaaack…

    Bathing suit all day? Yikes! But, y’know? It might just work. I have faith in you, no matter how skimpy your clothes.

  23. Maybe try to think of it as a challenge to see how far you’ve come. Also, try to relax and just have fun too. An weekend lying around in a swimsuit sounds pretty good!

  24. I have an award for you on my blog when you get plugged back in .

  25. As long as I stay busy, I do not “miss” the internet. But if I want information fast (regardless of whether or not it is factual) I have a dependency. I am out in the country where I can’t run to the library or ask a next door neighbor. I have my cell phone but need the internet to look up who to call and ask my question.

I love comments!

