You Can Never Be Too Rich or Have Too Many Blog Awards

I love the little thrill and warm fuzzies that come with a blog award:)  Thank you, Leslie, for bestowing this upon me.  And for giving me something to look forward to, other than dirty laundry and piles of mail, when I returned from vacation.

The rules of this award are:

1. Get really excited that you got the coolest award ever!

2. Choose one of the following options of accepting the Oh My Blog! award:
(a) Get really drunk and blog for 15 minutes straight,or for as long as you can focus.
(b) Write about your most embarrassing moment.
(c) Write a “soundtrack of your childhood” post.
(d) Make your next blog a ‘vlog’/video blog.
(e) Take a picture of yourself first thing in the morning,before you do anything else (hair, make up, etc) and post it.

3. Pass the award onto at least three, but preferably more, awesome bloggers and let them know.

The thing I am learning about awards is some bloggers love them (like me) and some bloggers don’t.  And sometimes, finding a blogger who hasn’t yet gotten a particular award is like… hmmm… like finding a healthy treat in the snack food aisle!

So here goes… I pass this award on to:

Linda (even though she got this award between the time I drafted this and the time I posted it) because she is the first person I thought of when it came to passing it along, and, because she is a wonderful writer; hers is one of the few non-diet/weight loss blogs I faithfully follow.

Julie because she just started The South Beach Diet and, if she is at all like I was during the first couple of weeks, might need a little distraction from thoughts of food:)

Sarah in appreciation of the group challenge she started even though I have not yet managed to meet my challenge goal even one of the weeks.

Now for the part where I meet the award’s requirements by picking an option from the list above.  I am not much of a drinker.  And I have no idea how to vlog.  And I have blocked my most embarrassing moments out of my memory.  As for a picture, I hate to have the first image of me on the blog be so unflattering.  So… I am going with the soundtrack of my childhood.

Music I listened to in the privacy of my room:  Tony DeFranco – “Heartbeat, It’s a Love Beat.”

Music I borrowed from my parent’s record collection:  The Fifth Dimension – “Up, Up and Away.”

Music I sang (poorly) in the car with my brother in harmony:  “All for the Best” from the soundtrack of Godspell.  I can still remember all the words to both parts.

Music that energized me as I jumped with my cousin on her bed:  The Jackson Five – “ABC.”

Music that entertained my whole family as we watched TV:  Tony Orlando and Dawn – “Tie a Yellow Ribbon.”

Music that was imprinted on my brain at a very young age:  From Sesame Street – “Rubber Ducky” and “C is for Cookie” and, sing it with me now, “Can You Tell Me How to Get…”

What about you?  Any songs stand out from your own childhood?  Or that you still listen to today?  Anyone besides me still know all the words to the Gilligan’s Island and Brady Bunch theme songs?

P.S.  If you are like me and love getting blog awards, send me an email sometime (you can use my cool new contact form, thanks to Cammy) to let me know and I will happily pass one on the next time I get one:)

24 Comments

Filed under awards, blogging

24 responses to “You Can Never Be Too Rich or Have Too Many Blog Awards

  1. Thanks! I’m going to have to wait a little bit to make my post to accept this award – maybe at the end of the week…
    Very sweet of you to think of me, Karen!

  2. Love the soundtrack from your childhood!

  3. I’m doing a soundrack too but off course haven’t gotten to it yet. Interesting that The Fifth Dimension song was from your parent’s collection! Now it comes out that I’m obviously old enough to be your parent because the Fifth Dimension were HUGE when I was a ‘tween and teen! Loved their stuff. Jackson 5 and Tony Orlando were also part of my younger days…older younger days we’ll say!

    Hope your re-entry to reality after the spa getaway is smooth!

  4. I know the words to ALL those songs. How about the Mr. Ed song, it’s a classic.

  5. Glad you are back and had a good time on your vacation- I agree it’s SO EASY to get off track- but thank goodness you can restart phase 1 at any time! 🙂

  6. Congrats on another blog award! You deserve it. Your blog is a pleasure to read every morning!!! 🙂

  7. Cool post! Favorite songs from my post-tween life: theme songs from Scooby Do (scooby scooby do, where are you?) and the Hawaii Five O instrumental theme, which just seemed like the coolest thing ever. Plus I loved anything by KC & the Sunshine Band right before puberty hit. Got to see them in concert a few times here in Atlanta at an outdoor venue and even 30 years later, nothing beat Shake your Booty!

    • Karen

      Scooby Do has a new life for a new generation! My little nephews love it. And Hawaii Five O is coming back… I wonder if they will use the same theme.

  8. Congrats on the award! Very much deserved! I love your blog!!

  9. Oh, I loved listening to your life soundtrack!

    My first memories are of country music, since that’s what my parents listened to. I swore if I ever had my own radio, I’d never listen to country again. But I do, every now and then, because I listen to a little bit of everything now.

    • Karen

      I NEVER heard country music until I moved to the Midwest in my 20s! Really. And when I found out my sister-in-law (in Boston) listens to it in the car, I was in disbelief. I just did not think New Englanders did country music. But boy is it ever big now!

  10. awwww karen thanks so much! No idea what I’m going to write about yet..probably a soundtrack. This is so cool! My very first blog award! thanks for thinking of me!

    Day 4 completed and I lived! yahhooooooo!

  11. Genie@dietof51

    Gilligan’s Island and the Brady Bunch??? OH, give me something hard!

    I can sing (most of) the soundtrack to Jesus Christ Superstar. (Also some Godspell – Preeepare thee the way of the Lord!) Learned most of the songs in 7th grade. Had an ultra groovy teacher. He taught us to tie-dye in art class!

    That’s the way we all became the Brady Bunch….

    • Karen

      I can do almost every Godspell song. Our high school put on the play about a year or so ago and I just sat and sang along in my head. Love that music. Which is interesting because I am a very non-religious person. I very much remember that one big song from Jesus Christ Superstar from my childhood but always had the words wrong.

  12. Very fun to read! Congrats on the award! This is even funnier based on a post I have ready to go this Wednesday if you remember to stop by.. it is about music & based on what you wrote here, I bet you can add to the discussion! 🙂

  13. Karen, Congrats on your award! Love the soundtrack!
    Thanks for your commenttonight! I know,it’s scary to ask what drives them crazy!haha!
    Have a pretty night,
    Kristin

  14. Well, Karen, it will be all your fault if you pull up my blog one of these days and see my horrifying no-makeup morning picture staring back at you!

    But really, thank you for the award! You are so sweet. I consider myself very lucky to have come across you on here! And the Jackson 5 brings back a lot of memories…

I love comments!

