Back to the Real World

Home sweet home.  Hmm.  Maybe I should rephrase that because just seeing the word “sweet” makes me remember all the treats I ate on vacation and I am getting a stomachache thinking about it!  Home “healthy eating” home.  Yes – that’s better:)

I had a fabulous time at the spa with my mom.  Fabulous with a capital “F”.  That letter also stands for fitness (which I had lots of) and food (which I had too much of) and FUN.  And fast… since it seemed to pass in the blink of an eye and here I am back at my computer.  With my brain in a post-vacation fog of fuzziness.  (Loving alliteration today for some reason.)

I learned some things on this spa trip that I thought I’d share, if you don’t mind indulging me by hanging in there for just one more post about my vacation.

Let’s talk exercise first.  I did a lot.  Some days I took six 45-minute classes.  This tells me that I could be, maybe should be, working out longer and harder and more often at home.  I have the time.  Now I need to find the motivation.  The more I worked out, the more energized I felt.  Yes, at the end of the day I was tired.  But it was a great tired.  A feeling of accomplishment.  A sense of repleteness.  A knowledge that I had worked hard and hard enough.  I would love to have that feeling more often from exercise here at home.  Maybe the time has come to find some new options, some new classes, some new ways to push my body.

Food is a whole other story.  I confirmed something I already suspected – I am very sensitive to sweets and bready carbs.  Even when they are “diet” treats.  At the beginning of the trip, when I allowed just a few into my system, I could have just a taste of ice cream and put down the spoon.  I would choose protein for my afternoon snack.  I could be in my room in the evening and ignore the cookies sitting on the dresser that I had brought back from lunch.  But there was a quick snowball effect on my system.  A bagel for breakfast and muffins mid-morning quickly lead to a cupcake after lunch and pie after dinner and then in the evening my hands reached for the cookies still sitting on the dresser.  This was the feeling I used to get all the time:  the eating-because-I-was-thinking-of-the-food-and-wanting-the-food but in no way due to hunger.  The snowball grew.  And during my hours of travel home, the snowball became an avalanche.  I had made a mistake by stockpiling yummy spa treats for the plane ride.  I had too much food – several kinds of cookies, granola, a bagel – and I knew I was not going to bring it home with me.  So into my mouth it went.  And I was uncomfortably full.

Now the good news is that I absolutely know that I will be back on my healthy eating program today.  What I ate at Canyon Ranch stays at Canyon Ranch.  So to speak.  I am not even the least bit worried about willpower or cheating or losing the couple of pounds I gained.

But the bad news is… I saw how very close I skate to the edge.  And how very easy it is to start sliding, and slipping, and falling.

I’m not worried about today.  Or tomorrow.  I am however, already thinking about my next vacations.  I have several weekends away coming up this summer.  And hopefully many more spa trips in my future.  I need to remind myself that one spoonful of ice cream on vacation tastes good, but several dishes over several days leaves a bad aftertaste in my mind.

Vacation is over.  Back to reality.  And my reality, along with lots of laundry and many blogs to catch up on, includes exercise and healthy eating.

32 Comments

Filed under cheating/overeating, exercise, vacation

32 responses to “Back to the Real World

  1. Fantastic post! I can relate 100%. I love the line “several dishes over several days leaves a bad aftertaste in my mind”. I get it and have lived it far too often. Progress, not perfect. Carb sensitivity is a factor in my journey as well. Sometimes I can handle a bit, other times the carbs make me CRAZY!

    And I’ve wanted to go to a Canyon Ranch Spa forever! I’m insanely jealous…maybe someday. Glad you had a good time and are back to reality. Don’t give too much thought to upcoming summer weekend getaways…just stay in today, do the right thing today, and you’ll be able to meet those getaways when they arrive.

    • Karen

      When I read your post today I heard my own voice resonating. And I am going to take your advice and not worry too much. But I will probably post in the next couple of weeks about why the destination is a bit scarier for me than most.

  2. Welcome back! I’m so happy you had a great time!

    And honestly? I kind of like having vacations for random splurging. For whatever reason, it helps me stay on (or close to) the straight and narrow in everyday life. (I never said I wasn’t crazy.)

    I don’t think–okay, I *know* I couldn’t/wouldn’t work out that long every day. Heck, I wouldn’t have made it a week! LOL I do get that movement-breeds-movement thing, though, and I have to rein it in every now and then.

    • Karen

      My true test will be if I can splurge (which may not be the right word for the end of my trip) and then get right back on track. I honestly feel, today, like I can.

  3. I love the way you write! I also loved this post.
    Back to reality is hard isn’t it. I agree , I KNOW I don’t work out enough.. or hard enough. I also have the time and choose not to do it. You would think feeling fat and wanting to lose 50 pounds would be enough motivation , wouldn’t you? I am so happy you had such a good time with your mom! That is the best part.
    Have a pretty day!
    Kristin

    • Karen

      Thanks Kristen:) I thought of you on my trip and your blog’s theme. Like when I sat at the airport and looked at what people choose to wear when they travel. And how varied they dress at the spa. I think I will write about both someday. And when my mom put on earrings and lipstick at the end of a long day of exercise:)

  4. Great post! It sounds like you had a fantastic time. I’m really impressed with all your workouts. I think seeking new activities is a good idea. I have zumba flitting around in my brain and may, some time, try it out. About the food splurges. I think you learned your lesson. Yes, those sugar/bakery things are wonderful, but they are so enticing and will get their tentacles into you if they have a chance. I don’t know the answer to vacation splurges. I like your what happens in XXXX stays in XXXX philosophy. Welcome back!

    • Karen

      So here is my thought if you try Zumba – the instructor makes a huge difference! I took it twice and much preferred one over the other. The instructors were both energetic and motivating but the routines from one were just much harder for me to follow. Still, it was a good workout.

  5. I’m so glad you had a great time with your mom! 🙂 And don’t even get me started on slip sliding. All you gotta do is say “Chinese Buffet” and I know what ya mean.

  6. Ah, the slippery slope that is made of carbs (for some of us). Glad you had a wonderful time with your Mom at Canyon Ranch. It certainly better have been in Massachusetts and not just around the corner from my house here in Tucson!

    • Karen

      But I love the beauty where you are. It was also lovely in Lenox, but since I grew up near Boston, the desert is much more exotic and vacation-like feeling to me. But I am so not coming that way in the summer!

  7. Following you from the Lady Bloggers Tea Party and looking forward to getting to know your blog!

  8. Thanks for the beautiful “cup of tea” stopping by from the Tea Party!

  9. I know what you mean. I have a rebound effect from carbs too. Keep up the healthy eating!

  10. Wow you did great with the exercise while at the Spa! I am super impressed with that.

    I am the same as you when it comes to carbs, the more I have the more I want.

    You learned a lot about yourself and how much of a slippery slope carbs are for you. That information will serve you well in the future.

    So glad you are back home safely and back on track with your food/

  11. ooooh…I want to go to Canyon Ranch sooo bad! I’m glad you loved it!

    That’s a LOT of exercise! Wow! I want to try Zumba so bad but I just am not sure I’m ready to humiliate myself. LOL I keep hearing great things about it though!!

    • Karen

      The thing with Zumba, I decided after several days of exercise, is that it is much more complicated for me (since I am uncoordinated and awkward) than just basic low impact aerobics. But I think many would find it more fun.

  12. I’m glad you’re back and that you had a great time, Karen! You are lucky that you and your mother are able to do things like this together. I think time out of our regular life can teach us some amazing stuff. Sounds like you learned some.

  13. We have so much in common. The Canyon Ranch must have been awesome. I’d like to do that someday. But the slipping and sliding – it sure isn’t easy. Once I start on those carbs it’s difficult to stop. It’s been a roller coaster of a weekend but tomorrow it’s back to tracking points and the gym! I imagine you will be doing something similar.

  14. I think the really great point is you are AWARE of your weaknesses & know what it is all about.. and even better that you know you can get back to it & lose the 2 pounds. The key is that.. not to say I runined it & then give up. Good for you!

    • Karen

      This has certainly been a year of learning for me. After all my yo-yo years, I am still figuring things out. But very committed to finally take that knowledge and stop the roller-coaster ride.

  15. I too am just back from the world of temptations to home, where the meal plan is much easier to maintain. I love what you said about staking close to the edge and how you describe the growing-snowball-phenomenon. I’ve really enjoyed catching up with your spa reports and am intrigued by your realization that you can do more daily fitness work and have the time to do it. Me too. It’s so easy to make a program, stick to it and not even give thought to increases. Thanks!

    • Karen

      But, and I am not just making excuses here, at the spa there are classes offered all day. At home, there are not. So now my challenge is to figure out what I can do and WILL do on my own or seek out the classes somewhere. Food for thought – pun intended:)

  16. Welcome back to bloggerland!

  17. Great post, Karen

    I too have found that carbs lead to more carbs & more control issues. I find my eating is easiest to control when I cut carbs way back. But that doesent work for everyone.

    I travel a lot and take a lot of vacations & “special” meals out when I eat (and enjoy) good food & find that as long as I get RIGHT back on track it has minimal impact on my weight (and is good for staying motivated, as Cammy says above). But some people really struggle, and this Spring when I went through IVF (and had a medically-excused period off my diet) I let a few slip ups lead to full-on backsliding & sat wallowing in the mud (pies) and gained a lot of weight in several weeks and had a really hard time getting going again. I’ve always done much better when I have your attitude (eat it all on the plane) and walk in my house back on track.

    I find your exercise inspiring – 6 x 45 minutes is a LOT of exercise – fun, tiring, and full of accomplishment. I’d love to find a way to do some of that kind of intensity at home, even just a little bit. I’ll be watching to see what you come up with on that.

    • Karen

      Yes, I am the same with cutting back the grains I am discovering. I do best when I just don’t eat them. Now the question for myself is if I can eat them on vacation or at dinner out and get back on track or if I should just say “bye bye” to them. Controversial, but I may miss them less if I just don’t eat them period.

      I don’t know what to do for the exercise and am embarrassed to say that one excuse I will use is that I don’t want to take two showers a day! At the spa I worked out and changed exercise outfits but did not shower until dinner time. Not sure that would fly at home.

  18. Just loved reading about your spa experience. Thanks for sharing them with us.

I love comments!

