Spa Food Primer

Food is abundant here.  And generally very healthy.  The menus, instead of prices, list the calorie, protein, carb and fiber counts.  One could be very mindful of their eating here.  Or not.

The main dining room serves three meals a day.  There is also a little cafe that serves breakfast, lunch and afternoon snacks.  Bowls of fruit are scattered around everywhere.

The dishes are usually delicious and beautifully presented, and while the portions are well-sized, they are an actual portion instead of what many of us have grown accustomed to putting on our plate.  I learned, however, on past trips to the spa, that you can ask for as many entrees or sides or desserts, or whatever, as you want.  Or half portions.  Or tastings.  Which is perfect for someone as indecisive as me.  Last night for dinner I had a half portion of the Chicken Garlic Marsala with Sun-Dried Tomato Couscous and a half portion of the Crabcake with Snap Pea Puree.  With lunch today, my mom and I shared just a small taste of the lavender ice cream and strawberry banana sorbet with our diet-sized key lime pie.

Over time I have discovered many other little tricks that make the eating experience so fun.  Like getting things “to go.”  Each morning there is a “muffin of the day” and rather than have it for breakfast, I take two with me for a mid-morning snack.  At lunch I do the same with the “cookie of the day.”  Yesterday, my mom, who had lunch later than I did because of our activities, discovered that the two restaurants had different desserts and went from one to the other to choose her favorite.  And she was sweet enough, or evil enough, to wrap up a lemon bar for me and put it in the mini-fridge in our room.  Yum.  And as my time to leave the spa draws closer and closer, my mom and I may “stockpile” a piece of banana bread or some granola for a snack on the plane ride home.  (In addition to the box lunch they will pack if we request it – which we surely will.)

I don’t know how many spa-goers really watch what they eat here or try to stick with diets they keep at home.  One could do that.  But for me, and my travel companions of spa vacations present and past, much of the experience has always been enjoying the food. Words cannot adequately describe not only we relish eating here but even enjoy just think about and talking about the food.  Each morning we gleefully stand in front of the day’s posted menus and start anticipating.

In years past, I have typically gained only a pound or two or none at all, with all my food over-indulgence.  I am sure it would be much worse if I did not spend most of my day burning calories in exercise classes!  I am curious to see what the scale says this time, since my dessert and baked-good monster has come for a visit.  But I am taking a vacation from my usual “good” carb lifestyle and not feeling any guilt.  (Okay… a little guilt.  Really, how many desserts does one need to taste!?)   When I get home I will be full steam ahead, back on my South Beach plan.  Hold me to it!

That’s all for now… as I head off for some sweet potato waffles for breakfast.  Just two more meals, then time to head for home:(

15 Comments

Filed under vacation

15 responses to “Spa Food Primer

  1. I’ve never been to a spa but I couldn’t imagine being too concerned about the food. It’s the same way with cruises. Some places I expect to eat whatever I want.

    It sounds like you’re having fun.

  2. I’ve never been to a spa, but that sounds lovely! 🙂

  3. I am so jealous! It sounds like you’re having a wonderful time! (And you’re making me hungry with all this yummy food talk!)

  4. ok, now I REALLY want to go to a spa!!

  5. I know you’re a little uncomfortable with the splurges (vacations do that to me, too), but it looks like you’re splurging within reason, with small portions and tastes here and there. I think you’ll find you’re able to move right back to your regular plan when you return. (And yes, I’m holding you to that. :))

  6. Sometimes the full experience involves tasting too. Go for it. If you denied yourself too much there, you’d feel like you were “due” and you wouldn’t be able to buckle down to it when you got home. Relax and enjoy. We’ll welcome you back and have our wet noodles ready to help you get back in the saddle.

  7. sunnydaze

    Sounds like you’re having a wonderful time! 😀

  8. I always pictured spa food as being spartan. Glad to hear it is as enjoyable as all the activities!

  9. Oh man I’m living vicariously though you. Your vacation sounds HEAVENLY!

  10. I have never done the Spa thing but I am loving hearing about your experience!

  11. So so so jealous. And again, so happy that you are there! Have fun, get the yummy box lunch, and I hope the travels go smoothly. 😀

  12. I am going to admit it…I am so jealous!

  13. What fun to be able to “play with your food” in a fun and instructive manner. The entire spa vacation sounds like a hoot, and hopefully you will be rested for entrance into life’s daily challenges.

    Looking forward to your daily posts again!

  14. I wouldn’t definitely be testing a lot. I’m sure the food is fabulous. My cruise is in a couple weeks and I don’t know how I’m going to handle the food yet. Unfortunately I know I won’t be exercising all day, but will try to get something physical in daily.

  15. Wow that sounds like a great way to eat, and it’s pretty much how I intend to live in maintenance – enjoying great food in reasonable portions most of the time. I think learning to enjoy a taste, a bite, and then moving on or stopping eating is a really important skill (and one that is hard in the over-sized portion world of today).

    My husband & I go to gourmet restaurants (2-3 Michelin star) a few times a year – and almost always have the ‘tasting’ menu which is usually 8-10 courses but in terms of VOLUME of food is less than you’d have with an appetizer & main dish at any chain restaurant in the US. And the tasting approach is great – flavorful explosions & novel approaches, some you like, some you don’t, no worries if you don’t eat it all (more is coming).

    Glad your trip has been so nice!

I love comments!

