Exhausted in a Good Way

It seems that when I over-stuffed my luggage for my spa vacation, I forgot to pack my coordination.  Today my mom and I lost our Zumba virginity.  It was not a pretty site.  I am just not very coordinated when it comes to non-traditional exercise.  But I am telling myself that no one was looking and since I could not see myself in the mirror, I just had fun and laughed when I couldn’t master the moves or get both the bottom and the top to work together.  I can usually do the feet, and sometimes I can add the arms, but rarely could they all happen at once.

Fortunately, little coordination was called for the rest of the day and I got to exert muscles without exerting my brain.  My next class was Stride:  intervals on the treadmill.  It was fun.  Hard.  But fun.  With a great view out the window of the beautiful forest.  My last stop before lunch was a class called Rock N Bosu.  The brochure describes it as “a workout that will sculpt the lower body and chisel your abdominals…”  Think lunges – forward, backwards, sideways, on the Bosu, off the Bosu.  Then squats and more squats.  Some with pylometrics, some without, some with one leg, some with two.  OUCH!  I will not be surprised if I am sore tomorrow.

In the afternoon I took an indoor pool class, that was supposed to be core work but turned out to be cardio and strength, and indoor cycling which I think more than burned off the chocolate ganache cupcake I ate at lunch.  Then I spent a few minutes in the hot tub relaxing before my massage.  After which I was so relaxed you could have stuck a fork in me and called me “done.”

As for the food on my first day at the spa – gotta say it was a bit disappointing so far.  My past experiences of gastronomical delight were not met – yet.  The best things I ate today were an interesting side salad of couscous with oranges, pineapple, and cranberries and the coconut macaroons I had after dinner.  Yummy.

I am happily worn out but already plotting tomorrow’s activities and thinking about breakfast:)  But first… bingo.  And sleep.

31 Comments

Filed under vacation

31 responses to “Exhausted in a Good Way

  1. What a good sport you are to try so many new things today! I can relate to not being coordinated and you had me laughing at the thought of the Zumba class!

    What a pity the food wasn’t better today but hold out hope for tomorrow!

  2. Excellent stuff on the classes … they sound like a lot of fun. Enjoy. 🙂

  3. I was worried about all that tough working out until I got to the part about the hot tub and the massage–that’s what I imagine when I think spa. I’ve never been to a spa. As to Zumba, I guess that makes me the last person in the world who hasn’t tried it. LOL Enjoy your stay and your mom.

  4. Jealous out here in UT. Have fun and be safe!smile.

  5. I am so jealous of being able to go to so many exciting classes and spend the whole day pampering your body in every way possible!!

  6. I’m so glad you are having a fun time! The stride and strength class is my favorite, while all of my girlfriends have really gravitated to World Beat and Buff Booty. Coordination isn’t my strong suit either and if I tried either of those two, would definitely end up flat on my butt on the floor. Hope the food will be better throughout the week! Do they still serve those yummy little chocolate chip cookies that caused me to GAIN two pounds during my first trip to Tucson in 2007?

    • Karen

      They have fewer classes here. No stride and strength – only stride. Yes… I had the cookies tonight in your honor. They actually seem better than I remember: less “diet” like. Yum.

  7. Hey! I teach Zumba and LOVE newbies!! Doing the feet is a great start! Visiting from the Tuesday follows! Already your follower!

    • Karen

      I actually tried it again today and this time with new choreography felt even LESS coordinated! Both classes did one Bollywood section and those were my favorites.

  8. Sounds like you’re having fun on the exercise front. I really need to try that Zumba. Sounds cool. 🙂

  9. You crack me up. I watched Zumba from my treadmill once. The Latin instructor moved like a rubber band. She was awesome. I thought it looked like fun, but I don’t think my body moves like a rubber band. Someday I’ll have to try it. Maybe I could wear a disguise while I do it, so if I look too silly no one will know it’s me 🙂

    • Karen

      My body sooooo did not move like the instructor! Today I tried again and there were less people so I saw myself in the mirror and it was not a pretty sight.

  10. See! I told you Zumba was fun! I’m not very good at the moves either, but I shake my jelly all over place, and have FUN while I burn my calories. Seriously, it’s such a fun workout! (If you like to dance that is!)

    Glad your back! 🙂

    Hope

  11. Thanks for posting an update. Living vicariously through you!

  12. Sounds fun- glad you are having a good time 🙂

    Mmmmm chocolate ganache….

  13. You had me at the chocolate ganache.

    There’s a zumba class going on at the gym during my Friday workout and there are women of all shapes and sizes in there. And they’re ALL having the time of their lives, it appears.

    Me? Not coordinated enough and really haven’t ever enjoyed dancing.

    Glad you’re having a great time!

  14. sunnydaze

    You sure are keeping busy and it sounds like you’re having a great time! Savor every moment! 🙂

  15. I’ve never tried Zumba, but I’m sure I would be awful at it. I just have no coordination. And arms and legs at once – not happening for me! Even TurboJam was too dancy for me. Sounds like you are having a great time at the spa. I’ve never been to a spa but this post makes me want to.

  16. Sounds like a grand time and hope the food starts living up to your expectations.

    I live right above Canyon Ranch in Tucson and enviously watch the spa-ers who stroll through our neighborhood, knowing they are experiencing such wonderful body (and hopefully mind and soul) delights.

  17. Wow, when you said “spa” I was thinking pedicures & massages, not “Biggest Loser” style nonstop workouts!

    But it sounds like you’re enjoying it & taking full advantage which is great! I’d actually love a trip like that!

  18. I love that you and your mom lost your “virginity” together! Not many people can say that, hardy har. Great work outs! After my first knee surgery when I was sure I was all mended, I got on a bosu for the first time and did some stuff. Within a week, I’d torn my medial meniscus in the other knee! I don’t think it was just the bosu, but my overall stupidity. Nonetheless, the word bosu now makes me quake! Enjoy the spa!

    • Karen

      Oh no! They use the BOSU a lot here. I like it and used to take a weekly strength class on one at home before my schedule changed. But my mom avoids certain moves on it because of her knees.

  19. Just remember in those classes that people are all watching the people that do it well. I remember that from dance classes. Oh and don’t stand next to someone good if you don’t want to think people are staring at you ;>

  20. What fun! I need to run away! 🙂

  21. I’ve never done anything like that in my life… not even close! Sounds like so much fun, especially the massage after all that physical workout! Can’t wait for the next installment!

  22. sounds like a great time…well…except for the indoor cycling….lol

  23. zumba virginity. snort. at least i’ve got one cherry left! 🙂

  24. I really don’t know what party of this post I thought was the funniest! You and mo losing your zumba virginity I think topped it! Glad you are having fun!
    Have a pretty day!
    Kristin

  25. Sounds like you’re having a great time!!! I am totally uncoordinated for those types of classes too! But they look fun!

  26. Oh my GOD!!! This sounds absolutely FANTASTIC!!!

    I’ve wanted to try Zumba. I mean get the DVDs and try at home but am a little wary because I’m not the most coordinated either when it comes to fast dance moves.

    Anyway, have a wonderful time … like you need me to tell you that. 🙂

I love comments!

