Just What I Needed

Yesterday I was kicking myself for sounding so full of gloom and dieting doom.  Too many negative thoughts.  Too many posts that did not live up to my goal of seeing the glass half full.  I told myself I needed to lighten up, brighten up, and find something to blog about with a smile on my face and a zing in my fingers.

And lo and behold… love2eatinpa gave me a blog award and brought a smile to my face and a topic to my keyboard.  Thank you:)

And thank you to all of you, my amazing readers, for your kind, thoughtful, supportive comments.  You are awesome:)

The rules of the award are that I have to tell you 7 things that you don’t know about me yet.  But since already I told you 100 things on my 100th post, this is quite a challenge!

  1. I like to be even.  When I work out, if my instructor or trainer does more reps on one side, I will always try to balance it out.  My mother and trainer get a good laugh out of this.
  2. I even (no pun intended) like to eat that way!  One grape on the left side of my mouth, the next grape on the right.  Works the same for M&Ms and Cheese-its and most snack foods.
  3. I can wiggle my eyebrows, each one on its own.  My brothers can do it too.
  4. One summer during college I traveled across Europe on an organized, group student tour.  I would not have been brave enough or tough enough to backpack.  My best friend went with me and years later was kind enough to help me label my photos since she had been a much better trip historian than I.
  5. I can still remember Shakespearean soliloquies that I had to memorize in high school but can’t remember my son’s cell phone numbers.
  6. I would love to take an Alaskan cruise and an African safari.  We will be empty nesters in just over a year and I see travel in our future.  (No backpacks I hope.)
  7. I have bad feet and for the past seven years have only worn very expensive, supportive shoes.  Luckily for hubby, I am not a shoe shopper.

The second rule is that I have to pass the award on to seven other Beautiful Bloggers.  There are so many who are so worthy of this award in my eyes – I hate to choose.  But I am a rule follower.  (One more thing you might not have known about me.)  So I am going to pick seven amazing bloggers who (I think) have not already gotten this award and to whom I have not given another award in the past.  (I lied… I sometimes break rules.  There are 8.)  In alphabetical order, because I am very sequential in my thinking and not so good with randomness…

Carla at The Right Fit

Jan at Writing to Wellness

Journey Beyond Survival

Leslie at Something Brilliant is Brewing

Melissa at Invisible Girl

Peacefulbird at Words Paint

Tami at Nutmeg Notebook

Tish at Incremental Improvements

If you are not already acquainted with these fabulous bloggers, check them out.  Not only do I enjoy reading their blogs, but I have had many a comment from them that inspired, motivated, or otherwise made me smile.  Thanks ladies:)  You are indeed beautiful.

19 Comments

Filed under awards, blogging

19 responses to “Just What I Needed

  1. Congrats on your award! I have always wanted to take an Alaskan Cruise too. Totally on my list! I hope you get to go!!
    .-= The Mommyologist´s last blog ..The Butt-Sniff: A True Sign of Friendship =-.

  2. you *are* awesome
    and well traveled
    and gutsy
    and the SHAKESPEARE? I was an english lit major and Ive repressed it all.

    I shall blame the mamabrain.

  3. Congrats on the award! You deserve it! You have such an interesting blog… I look forward to reading it every day. 🙂
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Three things Thursday =-.

  4. Congratulations!

    I don’t see you as being full of gloom and doom AT ALL. Maybe I’m biased, though, because some of your thought explorations are what I’ve gone through myself. 🙂

    Thanks for the links to some new-to-me blogs!
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Oops! for Dinner =-.

  5. I am so happy you got the award. Well deserved. I laughed at the eating on the opposite sides of the mouth. That’s funny. have not been on a cruise but I did do a vacation to Alaska where my dad lives. I loved being there but would not want to live there.
    .-= Lesia´s last blog ..Who knew….? =-.

  6. You are so deserving of this award! I love your honesty and your ability to really zero in on the issues!!
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..Being Gentle With Yourself =-.

  7. Aww, congrats on the award! You are really awesome and have done a lot of cool things! You totally deserve more awards. 🙂
    .-= Mary (A Merry Life)´s last blog ..A Quick Guide To Healthy Skin =-.

  8. Doom and gloom is only bad if you post it everyday. But everyone needs a good “I’m venting” post or a good whiny post. Congrats on your blog award!!1 I can also wiggle my eyebrow (just one) but I look teh shexy when I do it and my hubby loves it! 🙂

  9. Wow, Karen… Thanks for passing the award to me! I feel greatly honored, especially since it comes from you (who I admire greatly in so many ways)!!!

    While it makes me happy to have received the award, I hope you will understand why I can’t accept it right now.

    First, I’m so new at this that I only know a total of 4 weight-topic bloggers and thus would have to return it to you, Genie, PJ and Cammy.

    Secondly, I’m trying to keep Words Paint as a journal… to write it for me rather than any readers who happen upon it. In 4 years of posting on my art blog, I have a lot of experience with writing to attract followers… with teaching, inspiring and entertaining my readers. It’s good and fun.

    Although I already enjoy the mutual inspiration and support of our weight-topic blogging community, I primarily want Words Paint to serve my personal needs, at least for now. Thanks, though, for thinking of me!
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..I’m Proud of Myself ~ 10 Things List =-.

  10. Duh! I forgot to say Congratulations to you… Well deserved! And I totally enjoyed reading your 7 things list, especially about the “selective memory”… ha… me too.
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..I’m Proud of Myself ~ 10 Things List =-.

  11. Hi Karen,

    Congratulations on your well deserved award and thank you for passing it on. I’m delighted!

    It was fun to read your list and get to know you a little better. Also, I have to say I don’t think you are doomy and gloomy in your posts. We all have stuff that comes up to undermine our happy little selves, and it really helps to put it out there somewhere! I call them my toxic brain dumps, and believe me, there have been a number of them!

    We’ve been empty nesters for awhile now – the baby will be a senior in college. It’s weird, but you get used to it pretty fast! About travelling, our goal as well, only the #$%&*#college tuitions are getting in the way of my dreams of travel grandeur! Someday!

    Thanks again. Your blog is great, and you can put anything in it you want cuz you’re the boss of your blog. I’ll do my award thing tomorrow! Give me an excuse for a Saturday post!

  12. Ooooh, blog links, thank you!

  13. I’ve been so busy checking out all the other blogs I nearly didn’t say congrats! Have a great weekend!

  14. Number 1 & 2 are funny. I’d always give you an odd number. lol.

    I thought about an Alaskan cruise but I’d only want to go when it snows because I love it so but I don’t want to pay money to be cold and stuck on a boat.

  15. Genie

    Applause, applause for your well-deserved award. You are an awesome writer and I should take inspiration from you about staying on-topic, as well as the inspiration I get from all of your weight loss wisdom.

    Really, alternating sides of your mouth? I’ve never heard of anything like that!

    Phone numbers are hard.

  16. Thank you, thank you! You made my day. (as well as giving me a topic for today!) I laughed at your retroactively labeling your pictures. I tried to do that with my siblings last summer and we all disagreed about the who, where, and what of the pictures.

  17. Karen –

    I hope you have a wonderful time at the spa with your mom.

    Conrats on the award and thanks for passing it on my way! Now someone has to tell me how to incorporate this on my blog page – yikes. I’m in the dark ages I guess.

  18. *damn* I missed it! I’m so sorry. I’ve really had to adjust to this new summer schedule. Thank you thank you. You are SO kind.

    I hope you do travel. Exotically. Also, I hope you go shoe shopping for something awesome and supportive. Finally, I hope that your sons’ numbers pop into your head with more ease than your soliloquy. Pin number? Password? dunno?

I love comments!

