My Mom Kicks “You Know What”

Some of my best exercise experiences are thanks to and shared with my mom.

Let’s start with my upcoming spa trip.  And the five that preceded it.  That all started with my mom.  She had the idea.  She treated.  She was my companion and exercise partner.  On our spa trips, we enjoy taking as many classes together as we can.  Sometimes we split up, but it is so much fun to workout together there.  We laughed when we tried a boxing workout and felt awkward together belly dancing and had a great time doing retro aerobics.

And then there are our weekly strength training sessions with a personal trainer.  It all started when I turned 40 and my mom offered to give me training as a special birthday gift.  I told her I would love having her join me for the workouts.  She did.  And here we are, seven years later, still going together.  Still having fun and laughing our way through squats and bicep curls.  With a little friendly competition thrown in the mix.  And the occasional critique of exercise outfits.

My mom is in her early 70s and kicks butt.  She is in great shape for her age.  For any age!  She proudly wears sleeveless tops while her contemporaries are covering up arm sag.  My mom is strong and fit and full of life and energy.  She is so busy – I don’t know how she finds time for all she does.  She is a perfect example of how living a full life keeps you young.  And an amazing role model.

I’m pretty sure she was not always this fit, but as children, our image of our parents is skewed, so I could be wrong.  I can tell you that when I was growing up my mom did go to exercise classes at a “salon” for women.  In my mind, I picture ladies in leotards doing very Jane Fonda-like leg lifts.  And years later I know my mom used to walk as she listened to books on tape.  Before her age caught up with her knees and arthritic feet.  But I don’t know when she started strength training.  Surely before I did.  I am pretty sure she could do a push up before I could.  Although now I give her a run for her money.

Never in my wildest teenage imagination could I have pictured my mom and me working out together.  I was a horrible teen.  (Thank goodness I outgrew that!)  And I never exercised.  Never.  Fast forward decades later and my mom is my consistent workout partner and best friend.  I hope I am in even half as good shape when I am her age!

Now I am off to the gym to meet my mom for our last workout together until we are at the spa next week!

53 Comments

Filed under exercise, family, influence of others

53 responses to “My Mom Kicks “You Know What”

  1. Wow! That is amazing that you are working out with your mom and have such a good relationship with her. I’m stopping over from the Lady Bloggers Society and you have a new follower in me!

  2. So cool!!! I wish my mom lived close enough. I think maybe I could treat her, but she would never come up with the idea herself. 🙂 Have so much fun!!!
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..So Terribly Wrong =-.

    • Karen

      I am so glad my mom thought of it. Both the trainer and the spa. They have been such nice additions to my life and a little bit of luxury that I wouldn’t otherwise have to enjoy.

  3. Your mom sounds like such a wonderful inspiration! I definitely want to be like that when I’m her age…while others are feeling their age, I’m feeling 10 years younger!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Being thin saves the day (again) =-.

  4. I am so happy that my mom is active too! She still has some weight to lose, but at least she is active. I want her to live forever!!!!
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Pack your bags, we’re going on a guilt trip =-.

    • Karen

      I remember reading your post about your parents and thinking how lucky you are. My grandmother lived into her 90s and I suspect my mom will be around for a very long time:)

  5. your lucky to have such a great fitness inspiration and partner in your mom. Mine is….well….not so good in that department at all….lol I will look at woman of age who are thin, beautiful and not afraid of who they are…and think, THAT is how I want to be when I grow older.
    .-= losingmore´s last blog ..Tuesday =-.

    • Karen

      She really is amazing and young for her age. I think being active is a huge part of that. And wanting it and working at it.

  6. That is a beautiful tribute to your mom. I hope she reads your blog!

    Your mom sounds a lot like my mom who is 71 and a daily walker, a little dynamo of energy. I wish we lived close as we would exercise together.

    You are one lucky daughter!

    • Karen

      I almost sent her the link today. I think she sometimes reads because of offhand comments she will make. But I am never sure.

  7. What an amazing tribute to your mom! Your spa trip is going to be so awesome!
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..What Are You Proud Of? =-.

    • Karen

      I know it will be! Unfortunately, I realized today, as I was planning my activities to figure out what clothes to pack, we will probably be splitting up a bit more than in the past since I still can’t lift weights with my upper body. She will have to take the conditioning classes without me:(

  8. My parents are mall walkers! And both are thin and active in their 80’s and 70’s. I’ve never seen either of them hit the gym or lift weight, but they definately get in the walk on a regular basis. I walk with my parents when I go home to visit and I’m always thinking how gateful I am to have parents that aren’t sick, unhealthy, or unable to walk. Thanks for reminding me!
    .-= Diet Buddy Daily´s last blog ..Spring Focus Week Four Results =-.

  9. I’m pretty sure your Mom is my hero! I have recently gotten into a great exercise routine, and I want to keep it up forever! There are women in their 70s at my Zumba classes…and I want to be them someday!

    Have fun on your spa trip!!
    .-= The Mommyologist´s last blog ..The Butt-Sniff: A True Sign of Friendship =-.

    • Karen

      Oh we are planning to try Zumba together at the spa! It sounds like it takes coordination and I am never good at that so it will probably be good for a laugh:)

  10. Just think you have her genes so you have a great future too. lucky. gotta love moms!
    .-= Lesia´s last blog ..ooh la la…. =-.

  11. So neat that you and your mom are so close! Though my mom lives about 2 hours away, we are, also, very close!!! By the way, DO NOT tell me where your suitcase is. I may just hop in a go to the spa too!!!
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..I wish I had good stuff to post….. 😦 =-.

    • Karen

      LOL. You so would not fit with all the exercise outfits going in there! Multiple classes each day means sweat and that means more than one outfit. I suspect you can relate Corletta:)

  12. sunnydaze

    What a nice post! It make me smile more than once :)I wish I’d’ve had a relationship like that with my mom. Thankfully my relationship with my DD is very much like yours with your mother. I only hope she will think of me in the same way one day. ::hug::

    • Karen

      Whenever I read your blog I think about how lucky you are to be so close to your daughter. You are getting a much earlier start than my mom and I.

  13. Hmmm I dont see the comment after my browser froze so trying again –

    She does kick butt & is very inspring (and her daughter’s not half bad herself…)

    • Karen

      Thanks Sarah. Yesterday I had such trouble leaving comments (on blogger blogs) and found out that on one I had left four!

  14. Hi Karen. Isn’t it cool that in the same way your mom has inspired you, you now serve as a role model inspiring others to become healthier through your blog? My little 72 year old mom is at the gym several times a week working out with a trainer and I look forward to sharing this great blog post with her!
    .-= Shira Miller´s last blog ..Running on Empty? =-.

  15. Wow that’s amazing- good for your mom. Heck I still get embarassed by my arms!
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..22 days and counting… =-.

  16. That is so awesome!! How fun 🙂

    Having a workout partner makes all the difference….

    • Karen

      It really makes a huge difference for me. When my workout partner moved away several years ago I hardly did anything on my own. Now my hubby is my partner when my mom is not.

  17. You seem to know how rare and special this bond with your mom is… Give her a kudo from me!
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..Surrender =-.

  18. I love hearing about your mom. She sounds like she knows just how a mom should be: #1 cheerleader, and teammate. She’s lucky she has you to do the same for her! I look forward to hearing more about your times together. I miss my mom. P.S. [Your comments to my post yesterday came, all at once, at about 7:30 pm EST–thanks for the comment inflation, I love it!]

    • Karen

      Yes, we are lucky to have each other and I think we both appreciate the other. I was wayyy embarrassed about all those comments. Darn blogger!

  19. what a sweet post! I hope my DD will say this one day when she is older and I am 70 in great shape…makes me want to call my ma right now!
    .-= sian-girlgetstrong´s last blog ..Playgrounds: Not just for Kids! =-.

    • Karen

      You are lucky… you can start with your daughter when she is young and have something great to share in those years when moms and daughters tend to butt heads.

  20. What a sweet post!! Sounds like your momois wonderful!
    .-= Denise@TogetherWeSave´s last blog ..Kohl’s $10 off $20 =-.

  21. What a great story. As great a relationship as I have with my mom, we will never bond at the gym, at a spa or on a hiking trail. Kudos to your mom for staying in shape and taking good care of herself.
    .-= Melinda Neely´s last blog ..Five MUST-DOs if You are Considering a Marathon =-.

  22. Karen, That is AWESOME! What great memories with your momma!
    Kristin
    .-= Bringing Pretty Back´s last blog ..A hot dryer and a box of bounce keeps a marriage strong =-.

  23. Genie

    A mom like that is such a gift from God. You are very blessed!

  24. Lucky you, Karen! My mom is almost 80 (this month!) and I added her onto my membership at the JCC, so unless I want to take “Seniorcize” classes with her, we can’t exercise together. And, honestly, I would take that class with her but she’s assured me that it’s all people her age. Who would think at 50 I could be the baby of the bunch? 🙂
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Tween Sophisticate =-.

  25. Warm lovely post!!! What a wonderful relationship you two have. Made me miss my mum. Wish I could see here regularly and we could do things together but we live thousands of miles apart.
    .-= Nona´s last blog .. =-.

  26. I wanna be like your mom 🙂
    .-= Erin´s last blog ..To be perfectly honest =-.

  27. Oh, incredible and so good for her!

  28. Very cool that you have such a fun mom that is willing to exercise and hit the spa with you! 🙂
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..Corn is NOT a vegetable & The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson =-.

I love comments!

