Oil Spill Hits my Kitchen

I noticed something interesting the other day.  My very healthy newish habit of eating more vegetables is adding a lot of extra calories to my diet.  And fat.

Because I have learned that vegetables taste so much better roasted.  And I roast them in olive oil.  And I never measure; just pour it on, toss them around, coat them well.  In my mind I know that olive oil is considered a healthy, “good” fat.  And my eating plan is not one that counts calories.  But I had not realized just how many calories I was adding.  And it is a lot.

So it comes down to a cost/benefit decision.  Is it better that I am eating so many more vegetables regardless of the fat and calories I am ingesting while doing so?  For now, I am going to say “yes.”  Because I am not normally a veggie eater so the fact that I am having so many more and actually enjoying them is quite an accomplishment for me, not to be easily dismissed because of some oil.

But I do wonder about it.  And think maybe I should see what I can do to be a little less liberal with the oil next time.  Maybe it is time to bring out a measuring spoon.  Or try lining my pan with parchment paper.  Or use a spritzer.  Any other suggestions?

Meanwhile, just in case you want to join me on my new, delicious veggie eating adventure, here are a few of my favorites that I have been eating for afternoon snacks lately:

Green Bean Fries

Preheat oven and sheet pan to 450 degrees.  Coat clean, trimmed green beans with olive oil.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Spread on hot pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, tossing and turning every ten minutes.  These are best when starting to brown and getting just a bit crispy.

Sweet Carrots

Preheat oven and sheet pan to 450 degrees.  Peel and thinly slice carrots.  (I found that a food processor makes this faster and easier.)  Coat with olive oil.  Roast in a single layer for 10 minutes.  Drizzle with sugar free maple syrup; stir.  Roast for 10-20 more minutes, stirring once, until the carrots start to brown.

Jenn’s Best Ever Broccoli

3-4 bunches of fresh broccoli
2-3 cloves of garlic, cut into thin slivers
olive oil
1/2 lemon (juice)
2 tablespoons of fresh Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Combine broccoli (cut into florets) with the garlic, S&P and olive oil.  Roast for 20 minutes but do not open oven door.  The broccoli will start to brown.  Remove from oven and toss with lemon juice (to taste) and 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese.

40 Comments

Filed under dieting, food

40 responses to “Oil Spill Hits my Kitchen

  1. Thanks for those great recipes! Here is my tip for reducing the oil on roasted veggies. I hold my clean hand over the top of the oil and turn it over. Then I do it again. My hand is coated with some oil and then I just rub my hands all over the vegetables. I measured one time and it was about half a tablespoon. Granted sometimes I could use more but I try to limit the oil too.
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..They Were Free =-.

  2. I gotta try those green beans…my combo for roasting: red onion, a few red potatoes or a sweet potatoe, mushrooms, roma tomatoe, garlic, red pepper, broccoli. It’s a good combination.
    To decrease oil here is a suggestion. Measure 1 tablespoon in to a bowl and hand toss with veggies before putting in roasting pan. Then they have olivo oil misters–i bought mine at kroger..it’s like a can of Pam but you have this pump that you pump and it mists on olive oil. good way to reduce the fat content.
    .-= pjgeek´s last blog ..Breaking Boundaries: "If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got" =-.

  3. I also am VERY fond of roasted veggies…but I recently bought a spritzer at BBand Beyond and I think I paid $10 for it and it was worth every penny. You fill it up with your own EEVO, and then pump it to give it the aerosol it needs to spray…you end up using very little oil on your veggies and it disperses it nicely to coat things better than the pour and mix method. I think I commented on it in one of my back posts….if you look back, you can probably find mention of it. Misto is what its called.

    • Karen

      I actually think we have one of those, or similar, buried on the top of a shelf. I don’t remember it being easy to pump and that is probably why it fell by the wayside. Time to dig it out. Or buy a new one so I don’t have to clean the very old oil out!

  4. So true! I really do progress by incremental improvements. When I lost 50 pounds, a couple of yr ago, I discovered roasted veggies and made them all the time. I never even thought about the “cost” of olive oil and went through several bottles during that year. Now, losing many of those pounds again, I finally tuned into the fact that my daily allotment of EVOO should be 2 tsp. I use a bit more, but limit it on the roast veggies by 1. Using a mister, and 2. Lining the bottom of the pan with foil (easy clean up if veggies stick a bit) . Thanks for the recipes.
    .-= Tish´s last blog ..Wordless Wednesday, WI =-.

    • Karen

      Okay, call me crazy, but I tried the foil once and it seemed like my veggies didn’t brown the same. I should try again. I am all about not cleaning if I can avoid it:) And that is part of why I use so much oil – I like to put the veggies in a baggie and shake the oil on. No bowl to clean.

  5. Great title to this post, I also use too much olive oil , and justify it because it’s “healthy fat”. oh boy… healthy or not I need to spritz not drizzle. good post , bring me into reality. Thanks
    .-= Bringing Pretty Back´s last blog ..What a difference a month and a blog makes! =-.

  6. I have wondered about this as well – I switched to olive oil spray which I think uses less than drizzling olive oil as I used to. Thanks for the recipes..they look yummy!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Maintenance rules to live by =-.

    • Karen

      They are surprisingly good. Especially the carrots since I have always hated cooked carrots. I tried this after eating yummy carrots in a restaurant and then finding out they were loaded with brown sugar.

  7. Yum! Those all sounded so good. I think just a measuring device would do the trick. A couple of tablespoons and then toss. And also, it doesn’t all stay stuck to the veggies, right? There’s quite a bit on your cooking pan/sheet? I say, don’t sweat it until the veggies are dripping when you eat them! You’ve inspired me to roast some veggies. Of course, I like the CARB ones like butternut squash and yams!!
    .-= Diet Buddy´s last blog ..Committing Carbicide… =-.

  8. I’m with you on loving roasted veggies and make a huge pan every week to take to work for lunch. My tip for reducing oil is to use exactly 2 TBSP no matter how many veggies (I usually do a huge mixing bowl full), a lot of fresh garlic, S&P, and toss it over and over in the bowl before roasting. With the temp of 400 in the over, they kind of seal/seer fast and don’t get dried out.

    All your recipes sound great! Love the broccoli with parm…I do that a lot!
    .-= Leslie´s last blog ..Proceed with caution =-.

    • Karen

      That broccoli is even good reheated the next day. Much better than just steamed, which is how I used to make it. I need to convince my hubby to try it this way.

  9. Sounds great. I’m sorry I don’t have more to contribute tipwise. But you should know that this post is awesome. I’m considering printing it off right now.
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Fat to Fit iii =-.

  10. I just do a set amount- toss it in, then mix it up- usually 1-2 TBSP and toss and toss till it’s all coated 🙂 I love covering it with garlic salt 🙂
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..195.5 =-.

    • Karen

      I haven’t tried garlic salt. I have that. You seem very skilled in the kitchen so I think I should give it a try.

  11. Thanks for the recipes. 🙂 I would tend to agree with Diane’s method, seems like a great way to use oil and not too much of it.
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..A trip down fat pregnancy memory lane + my OB/GYN =-.

  12. I also use an oil mister (Misto) and it works very, very well. The only time I don’t measure my oil is when I use the Misto because I know I’m not using much. Aside from that, I always, always measure.
    .-= Weightlessly´s last blog ..Finally! =-.

    • Karen

      I only measure when it is going into a sauce or marinade, never on veggies or in a skillet. I really should. If I only had it once a day it would not be so bad.

  13. I spritz…if not if gushes out. Although my SKINNY husband always says (after he slathers our chicken in olive oil) that MOST of it cooks off when he grills it. Ummm…sure ok… Mr. Skinny…

  14. I agree on the Misto. I use it for oven “fried” recipes of all sorts. I actually have 3 of them with different oils in each!
    .-= Brightside-Susan´s last blog ..SPRING THING UPDATE =-.

  15. Genie

    I do the olive oil thing with asparagus. I pour a dot of oil in my hands and rub it on the stalks. Little bit of salt, and into the oven until they turn bright green. I’m guessing 375ish? They are crisp when bright green, and it’s the best way to eat asparagus (not normally one of my favorites) I’ve found. Also, can do on the grill.

    I don’t mind eating steamed veggies, so I usually don’t do the oil-roasting method.

  16. What a fun read… comments and all!!! I’m with you Karen… I do it in a bag, don’t measure, don’t like oil on my hands or bowls or measuring spoons. LOL… Well, your bean recipe sounds totally delicious. Y’know what? I’m just not going to worry about how much olive oil I use….
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..Little Temptations =-.

    • Karen

      I think you are working on enough other things:) I only noticed when I started tracking what I eat in fitday about a month back. And then started struggling a bit with the scale. I was surprised at how many calories I ate some days and looked for a reason and easy cuts. …oil!

  17. Well, Karen, that all sounds delicious, but over here where I live, no olive oil is allowed on my food! I’m the one who sits there fighting with the Benihana chefs saying, “No added oil to my dish!” Pam only for me. I do eat fat, of course, just normally low-fat.

    Here’s what I think when I think about stuff like that. I might not be counting the calories or points or whatever but my body has the most amazing counter on the planet. Nothing gets past my body. If I eat too much of anything, even healthy olive oil, my body will always react the same way, one message loud and clear: a weight gain!
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Spitting Image =-.

    • Karen

      Oh the chop-chop chefs just pour that stuff on! And the butter. Shudder. And the salt.

      You have been doing this a long time and I am always impressed with what you have to share about your eating lifestyle. Someday I am going to have it all figured out for myself:)

  18. I don’t have any ideas. You know I drink my veggies. lol. I never known someone to roast broccoli. So it’s eaten the same way as a carrot or do you put it in a dish like rice?
    .-= Adrienne´s last blog ..I’m Going To Be $50 Richer =-.

    • Karen

      I eat all my veggies without any added grains. No grains at meals for me right now and I don’t miss them at all. Actually, I eat a bowl of any of those for an afternoon snack! The broccoli I cut into large bite-sized pieces before I roast it. Larger would also take longer to cook. Snacking on these has been one of my biggest lifestyle changes.

  19. Hi Karen. I’m with Leslie’s suggestion above to keep it to 2 tbsp of olive oil no matter what the quantity is and of course I use Pam spray on the dish and on top of the veggie mix to make it get a little crisper. A few days ago, I roasted a mix of sweet potato, carrots, butternut squash and red onion, all cut into 2 inch chunks of smaller, and tossed it with the measured olive oil and a pinch of sea salt. Baked it for 45 minutes on 375 degrees and it was awesome. Enjoy your spa trip!!
    .-= Shira Miller´s last blog ..Dieting for Dollars =-.

    • Karen

      Well, I always used to hate cooked carrots… so maybe I need to try the squash now too. See if I like it roasted. I could use some variety.

  20. There is something so good about roasted veggies…they are by far the BEST! I haven’t tried the green beans but now I will! Yummy!
    .-= sian-girlgetstrong´s last blog ..Working Out on the Go: Fitness in Tahoe =-.

I love comments!

