Do your Pants Hang Low?

I read about this phenomenon.  I probably experienced it before myself without really paying attention as I worked my way through the various sized clothes in my closet.  But finally I woke up and realized my pants had gotten longer!

Every morning I get out of bed in my old nightshirt and throw on some ratty baby-blue flannel pants to wear around the house until I make my next clothing move, hopefully into workout attire.  Lately I have been pulling up those pants a lot.  Not thinking much of it.  I kept stepping on them.  Annoying really.

Then it dawned on me:)  They were longer because they hung lower because I am skinnier!

And not only are they longer, I also have to keep pulling up the waist in the back when I sit down at my computer or risk looking like a teen boy with my pants at mid-butt and my underwear showing.  I had gradually adjusted to the waist riding lower and lower, enjoying that the pants weren’t tight on my middle or hips, not really paying attention to what the droop meant.  It was just my ratty old morning outfit and I just wasn’t thinking about it.

Yesterday I was shopping for exercise clothes for my upcoming spa vacation and came across some pajama bottoms on sale.  Calf length.  A smaller size.  And here I sit in them now.  I am claiming this as a true non-scale victory:)

How about you?  What NSVs have you experienced?  And did it take you a while to recognize them as such?

28 Comments

Filed under clothing, dieting, weight issues

28 responses to “Do your Pants Hang Low?

  1. Those nsv’s are the best! I loved being able to fit in chairs without worrying that I would break them or get stuck. True!

    Congratulations to you!
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..Can You Diet and Eat Healthy on a Budget? =-.

  2. Yesterday, I had my ‘girls day out’ to see Sex and the City 2-dinner and books store and shopping afterward. I dressed up, and wore a black shirt that I’d only worn one other time. It was too big. When I wore it before, probably 4 years ago it was too small and wouldn’t even button up the front. A good reminder go the work I’ve done and success I’ve had.
    .-= Ms PJ Geek´s last blog ..It’s a 3 day Weekend, People.. …Whatcha doin? =-.

  3. Congratulations!

    For me, it was being able to wear a formal gown with Hubbend and feel confident. I NEVER would have before.
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Holding Back the Tide =-.

    • Karen

      I bet you looked amazing:) I admit to turning down invitations to formal events when I didn’t like my size.

  4. Congrats on the NSV! I use those to judge my progress more than the scale.Happy,happy,joy,joy!! 🙂

    I have been having lots of these little NSV’s lately. My wedding ring is getting too loose, my watch is sliding around my wrist. I am fitting into my skinny clothes again!

  5. Genie

    Good job, Girl! NSV all the way!

    I’m very familiar with that phenomenon. With my thigh-to-knee area being my largest and most frustrating storage of fat, that’s where the fabric in my pants tends to cling. My pants get longer when the cling slackens.

    On bad days, low heels. On good days, high highs. The hem goes up; the hem goes down, without ever touching a needle.

    Enjoy the new, smaller PJ bottoms!

  6. This, indeed, is a WONDERUFL non-scale victory!!!! Funny, you mention it… On my walk recently, I stopped to turn up the bottoms of my jeans because I was stepping on them in the back a bit and it was muddy from earlier rain. Ha! Never thought about why! Ha! LOL! Congrats on your new PJ bottoms!!!!
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..365.242199 Days?????? =-.

    • Karen

      That is exactly what I did when I went outside, barefoot, to get the morning paper in my pj bottoms. I cuffed them up so they wouldn’t get wet. Hellloooo!

  7. Good for you! Isn’t that incredible!
    I can not wait til my pants hang low again!
    Have a pretty night,
    Kristin
    .-= Bringing Pretty Back´s last blog ..Would you have an affair… Series! =-.

  8. The clothes I wore before I started losing weight wouldn’t stay up now…and it surprises me when I put on smaller sizes that are too big now too. It really is awesome. 🙂

    Good for you! 🙂
    .-= Kenz @ All The Weigh´s last blog ..What’s In My Bag? =-.

  9. Yaaay for new pants!

    Too many NSVs to count, at this point. 🙂
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Can’t Get More Random Than This =-.

  10. What a fun post! Isn’t it wonderful to have the realization just come over you and have it add up to something positive & motivational! Congratulations. My rings are starting to spin (I notice especially when I keyboard, like now) also, when I packed for my trip I hazarded a try at a formerly too-tight pair of capri’s and they fit!! I’ve got to go closet shopping sometime soon to see what else is in there.
    .-= Tish´s last blog ..Going the Distance =-.

  11. Yea for going shopping in your own closet! Even though my weight is pretty steady, with the recent nightmare of menopause, I’m in the bigger of my two sizes. I’ve done what I can and on June 9th will be going on bio-identical hormones so, smaller size, here I come!
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Planted =-.

    • Karen

      Oh menopause. I’m not there yet but my waist is already feeling the spread. I’ll be curious to see how you like those hormones.

  12. BIG CONGRATS
    I know a podcast which I always looking to announce blogger NSVs 🙂
    .-= MizFit´s last blog ..MizFit Memorial Day confession (video post) =-.

  13. THis has totally happened to me. Not lately, of course, but it will happen again!
    .-= Round´s last blog ..Weekly plan for the week of May 31st =-.

  14. I have my sewing machine out to deal with this issue. I have been taking in my pants at the waist and through the seat. I am putting off buying new clothes as long as possible!
    .-= Brightside-Susan´s last blog ..HEALTHY SHOPPING AT COSTCO =-.

    • Karen

      I wish I knew how to do that! We own a sewing machine and neither my hubby or I can figure out how to thread the bobbin. Sigh.

I love comments!

