Bad Days in Dietville

Yesterday I stepped on the scale and saw a number I had not seen in months.  It was not a pretty site.  I expected a gain, but not that much.  I deserved a high number, but still, I hated seeing it there, staring me in the face.  Quite the birthday present:(

The good news is… it didn’t freak me out.  Yes, I admit I was less than happy in the moment.  But the old me would have been very emotionally impacted by the darn scale and that might have led to eating those emotions away which would likely have led to a worse number on the scale and then led to the viscous cycle that so many of us know too well.

But the new and improved me understands exactly what behaviors this week led to that horrible little number and knows what I need to do to make it go away and realizes that it is just a temporary blip on the radar.  I am different now.  I really think that.  I know in my heart that the number will not just grow exponentially like it has so many times in the past.  It won’t, because I won’t let it.  I am stronger.

I had not planned to write about this yet.  I had intended to keep this dirty little secret to myself until I had indeed turned things around and could write about how I had succeeded.  But sometimes when I sit at the keyboard my fingers go where they want to go and my brain follows along, racing to catch up.  So, here I am, having to tell you about the number itself rather than reporting it as ancient history of another battle won.

But make no mistake, I am not worried.  Disappointed, yes.  Worried, no.

I learned some things this week.  I am going to chalk this little uptick up to lessons I still needed.  And move on.  There were some bad days in Dietville.  But today (and tomorrow) is up to me and I am moving on.

P.S.  Last night I had a medium size cup of gelato with four flavors inside.  Of course I had to sample ten to narrow it down the the ones I chose:)  Very yummy.  Thanks for all the birthday wishes.

33 Comments

Filed under dieting, emotions/emotional issues, weight issues

33 responses to “Bad Days in Dietville

  1. I’m glad you had a nice birthday! I love gelato… yum…
    Okay so you had a bad day in dietville – we all have bad days. But the measure of a woman is not determined by one bad day – your measure and your worth are determined by what’s inside and how you rise to the challenge and never give up! You’re doing great and don’t stop believing in yourself. 🙂
    .-= Debora Dennis´s last blog ..Finally…Spring! =-.

  2. Belated birthday greetings, Karen. I was pulling for the gelato choice. Sorry about the scale number. It sounds like you’re doing all the right things. I wish I had, when I first started noticing scale creep. You are strong though, and you’re a proven success. You can turn this right around. Do it!
    .-= Tish´s last blog ..Wordless Wednesday Redux =-.

    • Karen

      Thanks Tish. I finally learned this. After letting the scale creep become a landslide too many times in the past. I would rather it had not crept up at all, but I am going to do what I need to do now.

  3. Happy late birthday!! I’m glad the scale didn’t freak you out- that’s such a tough thing and you’re taking such a good approach! Your blog is beautiful by the way!

  4. Happy Birthday, Karen! (And, what’s this with “Dietville?” LOL) Glad to see you are going with the flow and let yourself have a feast day. Sounds like you stayed present and enjoyed your birthday taste treats. Nothing wrong with that. The scale is just, eh, the scale, and no way you could have eaten that much to put on real fat. Thanks for sharing this, even though it was difficult.
    .-= Sskar´s last blog ..Vacation Mode /Off =-.

    • Karen

      Well the straw that broke the scale’s back was dinner at a barbecue joint for our out-of-town guest. So I am hoping it is a lot of water retention from all that salt and will come off fast. Or come off fast whatever the cause!

  5. Happy birthday Karen!! 🙂

    It’s good that you didn’t let the scale get you down… even though i’m sure it was a little disheartening.

    You will get back on track! 🙂

    ~Kellie
    .-= The Chubby Girl Diaries´s last blog ..Inspirational quote of the day… =-.

  6. I have had pretty much the same experience… when we had my birthday/mother’s day celebration I found myself up 4-5 pounds..ugh! But you’re right, no freaking out! You know what you need to do, and you chalk it up to a lesson learned, and get back to it. Besides, probably at least half is water weight, and that tends to come off quickly (thankfully!)
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Three Things Thursday =-.

  7. I am glad that it sounds like you enjoyed your gelatto. I think you’ve learned exactly what your body is doing. You’re doing it!

    • Karen

      It was tasty. Made me wonder if I deserve a treat like that every now and again or if that would be a bad thing. Hmm.

  8. It’s not the destination, it’s the journey! Good for you!
    .-= Diet Buddy´s last blog ..What I ate: Thurs, May 20th =-.

  9. I’m sure it’ll go right back down in a few days.

    I agree it’s a conspiracy! All the men in the world must have conspired WITH Little Caesar’s pizza to bring pizza home to their wives. I could kill my husband- and the worst part? There is STILL one pizza left! *cry* lol. My husband better eat it!
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..Git’er done! =-.

  10. sunnydaze

    I love your positive attitude! Onward and upward! 😀 Glad you had a nice birthday. 🙂

  11. I’m so proud of you for not letting that hunk of metal ruin your day. It took me a long time to get to that point as well. Have a great weekend!
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..It’s NOT all about the pounds lost!!! =-.

  12. Genie

    You’d think we’d get a “free pass” on our birthday, but no.

    Your honesty and calm attitude will beat that scale down. Gelato, Smelato, it will be gone….

  13. First, happy belated birthday! I’m going to have to disagree with Genie. I think there are a few times a year when it’s okay to have an indulgence. You birthday is one of those days. However, there are exceptions to every rule and I realize for some people, that one day could turn into a week. I suppose we need to know our personal limits when making decisions.
    .-= karen@fitnessjourney´s last blog ..The Blame Game =-.

    • Karen

      I am still learning my limits. Slowly. I hope that I will someday be able to eat well most of the time and then be able to enjoy rare indulgences without going crazy. Time will tell.

  14. yes, one day at a time…so you enjoyed yourself with indulgences for a few days…now back to the business of getting healthy and staying that way…
    .-= losingmore´s last blog ..THANKS!! =-.

  15. I don’t know if it’s possible to ever get over that sense of disappointment when the numbers aren’t good. But you’re on the right track in not letting those numbers have real power. That belongs to you and you alone.

    I’m glad you enjoyed your gelato! That might be a nice monthly (or so) splurge. 🙂
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Math and Chocolate =-.

  16. Happy Belated Birthday Karen.

    I know it’s been rough lately – for the both of us, but I’m trying to focus on what what I’m doing right instead of punishing myself for the “wrong” things.

    When I’m most successful at this gig, I plan for occasional – sometimes even weekly – treats. I eat them out – and it is decadent. If it is something homemade (I used to be a pretty damn good baker) I try to invite people over to share it so it’s not calling to me at 2 a.m.

    Hang in there!
    .-= Melissa Fast´s last blog ..It Takes Work =-.

  17. Keeping upticks and Bad Diet Days a secret, in my opinion, is the first step to more of the same. So bless your fingers for posting despite your intentions! And good for you that you recognize this as a lesson you needed. I’m so proud of you right now. Genie said it well… “Gelato, Smelato, it will be gone…”

    BTW, I responded in a comment on your comment on my post about Prom Date and the 5 love languages. Hope you’ll have a moment to read it.
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..Blogger’s Confession =-.

  18. Happy Birthday, Karen!
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..The Second Summer of Yes =-.

I love comments!

