It’s my party and I’ll cheat if I want to

For me, the dread of impending birthdays has rarely been about the number of candles on the cake.  But rather about the number of pounds on the scale.  Ridiculous, I know.  But thus is the mind of a yo-yo dieter.

This year I am actually okay with the scale:)  Last year I was too.  The months in between were a weight roller-coaster that I will not dwell on.  (Been there, gained that, dieted again.)  And actually, I’m not dwelling on the scale either.  Or my weight.

But I am still thinking about dieting.  Specifically, I am thinking about cheating.  And I have been thinking about this for months now.  It’s my birthday and I’ll have cake if I want to… I sing to myself.  But I don’t want cake.  Well… I do want cake, cake is yummy.  But I don’t want leftovers.  I want to enjoy my birthday cheat treat and then get back on track.  I can’t do that if the cake sits for days on my kitchen counter screaming at me to eat more and more and more…

So I wondered if I wanted a cupcake instead.  Not 24 cupcakes baked at home.  But one decadent cupcake from the new bakery in town that specializes in these little morsels of goodness.  With extravagantly flavored frosting.  One for me, one for each of my family members.  No muss, no fuss, no leftovers.

Or maybe I want something less birthday traditional.  Who says it has to be cake?  I can just about taste chocolate fondue as I write about it.  Warm and sweet and decadent.  I can dip strawberries, my favorite combination.  And bananas.  And pineapple.  And, yes, a few little cubes of pound cake.  And my boys can happily join in with their own dipping:  marshmallows and other sickeningly sweet things that don’t tempt me at all.  (Chocolate brownies in chocolate fondue is too much even for this chocoholic.)  Dessert on a stick.  Playing with my food.  Fun.

But then I read a review of a new gelato place.  Like ice cream, only healthier.  And they will put up to five flavors in one cup.  For an indecisive birthday splurger, the option to choose five flavors sounds very tempting.  And maybe it will be a nice warm day that just cries out for a frozen treat.

Decisions, decisions.  A splurge of my choosing… ah the pressure to make it a good one.  Worth the cheat.  Worthy of the day.

Now, what do I want for dinner?

26 Comments

Filed under aging, cheating/overeating, dieting, emotions/emotional issues, food

26 responses to “It’s my party and I’ll cheat if I want to

  1. So many choices. For birthdays , I pick something very special that is AWAY from my house. Really good cake at a restaurant or an icecream dessert. One year a flat bread pizza place for dinner that has chocolate fondue for dessert , yum. Sometimes the food can set me off in to wanting more, but usually it is the best way to handle. No cake at MY house.
    .-= pjgeek´s last blog ..So The Biggest Loser episode last night….hmmmmmm =-.

  2. Oh yes, so many possibilities! And I totally agree with having it elsewhere. I’ve convinced myself that it’s more “festive” that way (and it is, really), but the fact that there are no leftovers is the biggest advantage.

    Last year, my big bad birthday treat was *supposed* to be an eclair. I dreamed about it every time I passed the eclair shop. And then I forgot about it on the big day. (I have it programmed on my calendar for this year! 🙂 )

    No matter what you choose for a splurge-alicious birthday treat, I hope it’s the happiest birthday ever.
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Rescue Me, Rescue You =-.

  3. What a mercy that there aren’t calories in thinking about it! You’re definitely making the most of coming to a decision. Have fun!
    .-= Tish´s last blog ..Wordless Wednesday Redux =-.

  4. Happy Birthday! (If I remember correctly, it’s today, right?) I love gourmet cupcakes…well, you know that! lol. The gelato sounds delicious as well. Oh, the possibilities! Enjoy every bite! 🙂
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..A good day to turn 28 =-.

  5. Genie

    Yes, a very happy birthday to you!

    Wow, my vote is for the cupcake. Extravagantly flavored frosting is my favorite!

    So glad I don’t pass a bakery on the way to the office, or I might be “celebrating” your birthday, too!

    The anticipation is usually better than the reality, so enjoy every non-calorie moment of it.

  6. haha….happy birthday to US! It all sounds wonderful.
    .-= losingmore´s last blog ..MY Bday today =-.

  7. I think you wont go wrong with any of the choices. I like to give my neighbors the leftovers. That way they aren’t calling my name. Happy Birthday!
    .-= Lesia´s last blog ..Jiggling. =-.

  8. So, is it your birthday today, too? Just posted happy birthday to Renee. If so, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Hey, so please let me know what plug in you used for your google friend connect? I’m so overwhelmed with the new blog, I’m still posting on the old blog, too. Take care and have a great day! And I’d love to know the plug in that tells readers what my last post was underneath my comment!
    .-= Diet Buddy´s last blog ..Distracted week! =-.

  9. Having it somewhere else makes it festive and also makes it so that you don’t have leftovers to mull over at home!

    My husband bought ice cream and supplies to make banana splits for my mother’s day treat. Well, there were left over bananas, ice cream and supplies and I found myself having a banana split almost every night. YIKES! If we would have went out for ice cream, I could have had my treat and left it at that. 🙂 Ice cream is my kryptonite. LOL!

    Happy soon-to-be birthday!! 🙂

    ~Kellie
    .-= The Chubby Girl Diaries´s last blog ..You can be a Biggest Loser too! =-.

  10. sunnydaze

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! 😀 I can’t wait to hear what you chose. I think you are definitely right on with a little splurge and then right back on track with no leftovers. Enjoy your day!

  11. Hope your choice and your b-day are both delish!
    .-= Brightside Susan´s last blog ..OUR NEW GRADUATE =-.

  12. My recommendation is to work out twice as long as usual, then eat your heart out, whichever dessert you chose. Then of course, give the leftovers to a friend or neighbor.
    .-= Melinda Neely´s last blog ..How to Read Food Labels =-.

  13. I love the cupcake idea! The fondue though… how fun would that be?!
    Haha! Love your comment on my blog, Thanks!
    .-= Bringing Pretty Back´s last blog ..Would you have an affair in those panties? =-.

  14. Oh I’d either do the cupcakes or gelato. Now they have those gourmet cupcakes- they are HEAVEN! They have mini ones so you can choose a few and not break the bank! 🙂

    Gelato would be my second choice.
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..Git’er done! =-.

  15. I think it ISN’T a cheat. This is just life, and you should choose the one that sounds like the most fun and enables you to continue on your journey. you can always save the next one for the next LIFE day. 😉
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..#LongHardDay =-.

  16. I think that a cheat treat is DEFINITELY in order for you!! Now, it’s just time to decide which treat. ALL of the above sound great to me. OOOO…I just tried gelato for the first time this past weekend!! YUMMMY~~ Let me know what you decide. Better yet, let me know what you have LEFTOVER!!!!!
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..What do you all think? =-.

  17. Is today your birthday? Happy birthday! It’s my Dad’s birthday today too!!! I just got off the phone with him.

    I say if you’re going to cheat, make it a good one! And I agree that it’s a good idea to go out for dessert, that way you won’t have any leftovers. Anyway, if your son is still home, he probably won’t leave you any leftovers at all! Lol!
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..A beautiful weekend in Ottawa =-.

  18. Happy Birthday! I typically choose something homemade, BUT I’ve got a lot of people around to help it magically go away. And when I do choose it’s not always a traditional birthday cake, but rather a dessert I love.

    Love what you choose and enjoy it guilt free!
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..One Of The Big Three In My Journey =-.

  19. Happy Happy Birthday! I think if it is a controlled planned out treat it isn’t a cheat! What ever you choose I hope you eat it slow, savor every bite and enjoy it! I like the cup cake idea too, but soft serve is so much fun,cup cakes are good too, but…. Oh my look what you have started.
    .-= Tami´s last blog ..Marathon Shopping =-.

  20. I totally understand what you mean about counting birthday’s by the number on the scale – I do the same thing. Yep, I think it’s definitely good to splurge on your birthday, and definitely a very good idea to get a single-serving thing so there’s no extra around your house. If I have something like cake or brownies in the house, I shave off a little piece here and there until I’ve eaten way more than I would have if I had just eaten a piece. I think the cupcake from the bakery sounds delicious! Can’t wait to hear what you choose!
    .-= Laura Jane´s last blog ..Munchies, Munchies, Go Away and Come Again Another Day… =-.

  21. Happy birthday!!! That gelato sounds fantastic! The place near us only lets me try two at a time. Hope your day is spectacular!
    .-= Weightlessly´s last blog ..Je m’appelle =-.

  22. I used to be the queen of birthday cakes. The last few years though, since it’s just been Mac and me, it hasn’t seemed worth the effort. Especially since I knew I had lots of other occasions (the weddings, graduations and other celebrations) coming up immediately after my birthday. I still love cake, just don’t have it very often. 🙂
    .-= Siobhan´s last blog ..the lite version =-.

  23. Happy birthday, Karen! I hope you had a lovely day with family and friends and me all very glad you were born! Isn’t it funny how we start right out as a 1 year old child with cake, ice cream, cupcake… whatever fancy sweet thing our mothers could make to celebrate our birthday. And this went on, every year. So to not have a special sweet thing seems worse than a non-celebration. Yet for me, many a time the yo-yo has begun its horrible upward climb on my birthday. One is around the corner for me… maybe this time, I’ll try to think of something else. That would be a first.
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..Dear Grandma =-.

  24. Well, if I could eat some cake (and I’m just fantasizing here because I haven’t for ten years…) I’d have a piece of German chocolate cake. Or just the frosting anyway. Then I’d write those stupid points down (even if it was 50) in my little log book and continue on my merry way the next day! Hopefully.
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..The Second Summer of Yes =-.

  25. Personally I say it’s OKAY to have cake. As long as you are in control, that is the key. Just plan it out and you’ll be fine!

    I know if I am left with a full cake with no plan and nothing to do I will devour it. I have to always have a plan and no my limitations. But I am to the point where I do not deprive myself because that’s just as bad for me. Just a small slice works fine.
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..It’s NOT all about the pounds lost!!! =-.

  26. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » Here a Cupcake, There a Cupcake

I love comments!

