Spaaaaaaah

I am doing a little happy dance:)  In just under a month I am going to the spa.  Aah – the bliss:)

I have been before, not to this exact destination, but to a sister property.  And it is heaven on earth to me.

My first experience at the spa was just about 10 years ago:  Canyon Ranch in Tucson.  My mother, a travel agent at the time, took me.  It was a new experience for us both.  And amazing beyond words.  I don’t know what I expected but am very sure that every expectation was far exceeded.  Unfortunately, mid-trip my maternal grandmother passed away and my mother and I cut short our stay in paradise.  As we left, my mother promised to take me back.  I still remember her remarking about the look on my face the whole time I was there, filled with wonder and joy.

My second experience was shared with my two sisters-in-law who wanted to get in on the fun.  My mother was generous enough to take us all and it was amazing.  And somehow, over time, those spa get-aways seem to have become a bi-annual event.  We exercise all day, have luxurious pampering treatments at night, and look forward to every delicious, healthy meal.  Every moment is fabulous.

This would not have been a spa year.  But my mother surprised (just) me with the upcoming trip as a thank you for supporting her during a family crisis a few months back.  And decided since it was just the two of us this time we would try out the Canyon Ranch property in Lenox, Massachusetts, something we have wondered about for years.

Excitement is starting to build as she and I already start to plan our days.  What classes do we want to take?  Which massages or facials will we schedule?  I am feeling the adrenaline just sitting here writing about it!  Happy dance.

Last year, in the months before my spa trip, I was very motivated to lose weight.  I called it my naked-in-the-hot-tub-diet.  (You can read more about the nakedness and hot-tub story here.)  I ate well and increased my exercise.  Friends laughed that I was the only person they knew who tried to get in shape before going to the spa!  And when I got back, I kept at it, still motivated by my new, healthy lifestyle.  Then the yo-yo came back and hit me in the face and I started to put back on some of the weight that I thought was off for good.  But eventually I regained control and the yo-yo swung the other way and I got back on track and started my blog and realized that this really is a lifestyle and not a diet.  And thanks to that realization and a lot of hard work, I am ready to get naked and slide under the sheets for my massage.  This next month I will keep eating well and working out but my focus will be on recovering from my broken bone (physical therapy starts this week) so I have no limitations on vacation:  my gonna-take-five-exercise-classes-a-day-at-the-spa-with-no-darn-injury-to-hold-me-back-butt-kicking plan:)

39 Comments

Filed under family, vacation

39 responses to “Spaaaaaaah

  1. That sounds awesome! I need to find one of those places near me!

  2. OMG..how fortunate and what a great thing to look forward to. Would your mother like to adopt a nurse with a sense of humor to take along?

    I’ve seen pictures of the Lenox spa and it looks incredible. But Tuscon is right up my alley. I lived there many years ago in a neighborhood on the road that you drove up to go to the spa. Couldn’t afford the spa, but living in Tucscon was good enough for me at the time. I remember swimming at the pool on Christmas eve.
    .-= pjgeek´s last blog ..I canna believe it….. =-.

    • Karen

      Part of what I loved about the Tucson spa was the amazing vistas. It is so beautiful down there. I could not imagine living with that every day. How fantastic it would be:)

  3. You are going to have a wonderful time! I’ve heard that Lenox is supposed to be great. For the past three years, my friend Jenn has planned a huge girls trip with 15 of us to Canyon Ranch in Tucson. It’s my favorite place on the planet. I totally get losing weight before you go and one of my goals is to be in top shape prior to September (for year four) so I can get them to measure my body fat ratio and be comfortable with the score. Ironically, I gained two pounds the first year because we ate way too many of those rocking chocolate chip cookies. 🙂

    • Karen

      “It’s my favorite place on the planet.” I say that all the time!!! I am going to get my body fat measured this trip too. Last year’s numbers were okay but needed improvement. No idea what I will get this time. We seem to either hold steady with weight or gain a pound or two that comes right off. Ah… the muffins of the day:)

  4. Oh, that sounds mahhhhvelous, darling. Nice incentive to stay in shape.
    .-= Tish ´s last blog ..I did it! =-.

  5. Thanks for the birthday wishes! 🙂

    This spa trip sounds positively DIVINE! I’m very jealous. 🙂
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..A good day to turn 28 =-.

    • Karen

      You are welcome:) I hope it is a great day. And I am sure I will write all about my trip when I get back. I will try to edit and not be too over-the-top in my excitement.

  6. Your blog puts a smile on my face!!! I love your determination!!! You are one of the positive people that I talk about in my blog today!!! I love your attitude!!!!
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..My answers to Friday’s questions!!! =-.

    • Karen

      Thanks for saying that Corletta:) It is great coming from you… one of the most determined people out here! You kick some serious butt.

  7. I LOVE the spa. What a great time you’ll have.
    Mary
    .-= Mary ´s last blog ..I Fell On My Face =-.

  8. I totally appreciate your comment 🙂 I am glad that someone else really understands that “ugh” feeling after someone no longer blogs after, what I thought was, a motivating comment. Thanks again!!! 2 hugs back to you 🙂
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..Uh Oh…my honesty wasn’t received well 😦 =-.

    • Karen

      Ah yes… and I was very careful in what I said. Today I told one blogger that I was giving her a choice – I wrote both the supportive ata girl comment and also the kick in the butt comment. She could choose.

  9. That sounds simply fantastic. My mother and I are taking a “just the two of us” cruise in July, and I am SO excited about that! We discussed a spa but decided against it because of our funds…but maybe that’s in the cards for the future!

    I’m always so self-conscious when it comes to getting massages, though! I always worry what they must be thinking about my cellulite…maybe I just need to get over it!
    .-= Weightlessly´s last blog ..Giving myself credit =-.

    • Karen

      My mom and I travel really well together:) You will have to post about your cruise. I am self-conscious about getting massages too. And the realistic part of my brain tells me that is so crazy. The see bodies of all sizes and shapes all day long and don’t care about mine. But I get over it enough to enjoy the experience:)

  10. sunnydaze

    I’ve never been to a spa but it sure sounds like great fun!

  11. Karen, there is a man there named Michael Murray. His degree was in sports medicine, but I think he may do massages now. He is a super nice guy. I have known him since he was a very little boy!
    I have never been to Canyon Ranch but live very close to it. It has a great reputation….have fun!
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..Decisions, decisions =-.

    • Karen

      I will try to remember that name. I always request a woman for my massages, but may still run into him. I have heard it is beautiful out there. I grew up outside Boston but have never spend time in western MA before.

  12. never been to a spa….sounds wonderful, though…except the nude in the hot tub thing…lol Not sure if I would ever be up for that! lol
    .-= losingmore´s last blog ..Another rainy, gloomy day =-.

    • Karen

      It was quite a shock the first time. But every once in a while someone gets in with a suit on. So you could do that or just do everything else at the spa.

  13. That sounds really great! I have gone for beauty treatments here and there, but never for a full week of a spa!!! I can imagine it would be a lot of fun. I think I would be like you, that I would want to be in shape before going! Lol!
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..A beautiful weekend in Ottawa =-.

    • Karen

      I wish it was a week! Just 4 days. But we will pack lots in. From all I have read, I think you would indeed do the same:)

  14. Oh, this sounds heavenly! (Please advise Mom that I *would* have helped her during family crisis if she’d called me.)

    I’ve only been to a true spa once, and that was more therapeutic massage than anything else. I think if I went to somewhere like Canyon Ranch in Tuscon, I’d take a break from gym-type workouts and go for hikes and long bike rides. Maybe spend some time reading and meditating and relaxing.

    It’s official: I’m jealous! 🙂 Can’t wait to live the spa life through your report!
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Shaper Shoes: Remarkable…or a Rip-off? =-.

    • Karen

      And the destination this time also has kayaking and canoeing. One of my sister-in-laws does hikes most of the time. I have done one in Tucson and one bike ride in a canyon there one year. My problem is those take up a lot of the day and I miss the other stuff too. I always try to take classes that I can’t get at home and that are new to me. My other SIL loves the relaxing time and enjoys hanging out by the pool. That is what is so great about this for a girlfriend getaway – we can all find different things and meet up later to share great meals.

  15. It sounds dreamy! I hope you have a fabulous time. Thanks for the kick in the pants by the way!

    I liked the whole thing about needing to get in shape for the naked hot tubs. I went to Japan a couple years ago, and they have public hot tubs where people are completely naked. Men and women are generally in separate pools. I wanted to go, not because I love being naked – especially in front of others. I didn’t get the chance on that visit, but someday…

    Of course, I also want to moon someone just once in my life. I know it sounds like I must be an exhibitionist, but it is really more about embracing it all – all of me, the good, the bad and the ugly.
    .-= Melissa Fast´s last blog ..Say No To Rolls =-.

    • Karen

      Oh you crack me up. When I was a teen we would drive around and dare each other to moon someone from the car. I never had the nerve. Not then, not now. Nor would I get into a co-ed hot tub. It is strange enough being in one with my mom and sisters-in-law.

  16. I am so so excited for you! You are going to have fun. And bliss. Sorry I missed your cookie baking yesterday! I would’ve loved a little love like that! 😉
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Can’t Bring it All =-.

  17. Oh – I’m a little bit jealous! I’ve never been to a spa. What a wonderful thing for you to do – have a wonderful time!
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..One Of The Big Three In My Journey =-.

    • Karen

      There is one that looks interesting out your way somewhere. Lots of hiking. Maybe someday I will try it out with my husband.

  18. I thought these were all feel-good. I had no idea there was exercise besides yoga and meditative-type classes. Sounds great!
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Departure =-.

    • Karen

      Linda you can get your butt seriously kicked if you want to! One year I was so sore it hurt to roll over in bed. I learned from that not to overdo it with the strength classes. But I want a lot of cardio to burn calories because I eat a lot there!

  19. I’m enjoying your blog so very much. Really glad I found you.

    The first spa I went to was with one of my best friends in California about 20 years ago. I was visiting her and it was my surprise treat for the day. I was at my highest weight, very young and very body ashamed. I almost died when I realised that I had to surrender my clothes at the door but somehow I managed it. I really enjoyed all treatments but a part of me never really relaxed because I was so self-conscious. Since then I have gone for special treatments in day spas but have never done a week long spa visit. Reading you talk about them though I think I’ll make that one of my rewards when I reach goal weight. I’d definitely need my body to be spa ready before I reveal it to the world.

    Good luck with your pre-spa prep. 🙂
    .-= Nona´s last blog .. =-.

    • Karen

      I have been several times now and my weight has varied on my trips. Fortunately never one of my higher yo-yo phases. But I will say that when I am thinner at the spa, I am less self-conscious… in classes working out, having treatments done. I had forgotten until now about the year I did a full body scrub. Naked except for two tiny strategically places towels!

  20. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » My Mom Kicks “You Know What”

I love comments!

