Mamma Mia

Here is just some of what I learned from my mother:

  • Family is important.  As is spending time together.  And not taking each other for granted.
  • Traditions are powerful, but they can change over time.
  • You are as young as you feel, act, dress, want to be.  Getting older can be redefined.
  • Be generous.  With your time, your self, your money.
  • Injuries will only slow you down as much as you let them.  Fix what you can, work with/around the rest.
  • Applesauce is best hot off the stove with big chunks of fruit and no added sugar but lots of love stirred in.
  • Great minds really do think alike:)
  • There’s nothing like a good book.
  • Do the borders of a jigsaw puzzle first.
  • Grandkids are one of parenting’s greatest rewards.
  • If you eat only half the cookie or brownie, don’t be surprised if the rest is missing when you go back for it.
  • Musicals are great entertainment for a few hours and some of the songs linger on and on and on.
  • Her hand-me-downs can give new life to my closet.
  • It can be a good thing not to clean your plate.
  • It’s better to marry a man with potential and build a life together than to marry a rich man who has already gotten there alone.
  • Wear beige undergarments under white clothes.
  • The true value of family heirlooms.
  • Gray hair is not flattering on everyone.  Thinning hair is indeed hereditary.
  • I will make parenting mistakes but they will be different than the ones she made.
  • Working out with a trainer is lots of fun when you do it with a partner.
  • A spa vacation is true bliss.
  • Mother’s should not try to talk in teenager-speak.
  • Always write a thank you note.
  • If momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.
  • Use good manners, help clear the table, RSVP when asked.
  • Wear sunscreen.
  • You don’t have to do what all the other kids are doing or have what all the other kids are having.  If they jump off a cliff you don’t have to jump too.
  • If a food or household supply is running low or you use it up, put it on the shopping list or replace it.
  • Whatever it is… this too shall pass.
  • Not everyone passes their driver’s license exam on the first try.
  • Avoid booking the last flight of the day if possible.
  • Sometimes mother knows best.

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers, and most especially to mine:)  I love you Mom!

15 Comments

Filed under family

15 responses to “Mamma Mia

  1. Awesome list! My mother taught me some of the same lessons, along with: Never arrive at someone’s home empty-handed. 🙂

    Happy Mother’s Day!
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..WYSIWYG Weekend =-.

  2. What an awesome post! Your list is great…and I especially like the “If Mamma ain’t happy, nobody’s happy!” That one is all too true!!

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

  3. This is a great list! Mom wisdom is truly universal 🙂 I’m a former yo-yo dieter myself…can’t wait to read more of your blog!
    .-= Gig Girl´s last blog ..Bock, bock ba-gock! =-.

  4. Happy Mother’s Day to you too! Have a great weekend! 🙂
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..Hello gym, my old friend =-.

  5. Fab list Karen! Happy Mother’s Day right back at ya.
    .-= Rita @ The Giggly Bits´s last blog ..Couch to Triathlon: Where’s that Program? =-.

  6. Great list, it sounds like you AND your mother are wise. She for teaching and you for learning. Happy Mother’s day. I hope you feel loved and appreciated. The whole day through.
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Take it easy… =-.

  7. Happy mother’s day! Your mom sounds wonderful! 🙂
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Weigh-in week 18! =-.

  8. What a fabulous idea… to write a list like this… and to post it is a blessing, especially for me. My mother is 93 and in hospice care in a nursing home (a good one) across the country from where I live. She sometimes recognizes us, sometimes not. I am not myself a mother, except perhaps to our cat. So Mother’s day in our family just doesn’t happen. It’s a blessing to read your list and remember when it did.
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..Out of the Depths… =-.

  9. Your Mom sounds like a grand woman!

    Have a happy Mother’s Day, Karen.

    Jan
    .-= Ssar´s last blog ..Movin’ Through Manhattan =-.

  10. Such a great list, Karen. It’s a great idea to make one of these up just to see what messages you got from your mom. I might just do that!
    Happy Mother’s Day!
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Human Garbage Can =-.

  11. I saw lots of things on that list that my mom also shared with me…made me smile.Have a great day!!!
    .-= Melissa Fast´s last blog ..Happy Mothers’ Day =-.

  12. Genie

    Great list, packed with wisdom. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  13. Chelly

    Happy Mothers Day, Karen!

    That’s such a great list you have there and it couldn’t be more true. Personally, I especially love the part about a good book. You can find me in the bookstore for over 4 hours sometimes jsut devouring them away!

    Haha, mother really does know best.

    Anyway… I look forward to you posting about your goals. I found your blog through AFG and I’m really impressed with what you have here. The focus just isn’t on health, but you talk about things that really matter to me.

    Here’s something else that really touched me the other day. The following is a story I stumbled upon that is causing all sorts of controvesy in our little weight loss community we have here.

    …and while it’s really hard to get past the “in your face” title of the site, the story really is moving. Especially the girl’s story on page 15, I was balling my eyes out!!

    Anyway, you’ll share this with your readers, I hope, because it really hits home for me and I’m sure it’ll help you too. But be warned, read this with an open mind.

    You can see it for yourself here: http://petahatefatpeople.com

    Have a great day!

    xoxo
    Chelly

  14. I lvoe all these- specially the jigsaw one.

    And “this too shall pass” I needed to hear that today 🙂
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..It comes in the most different ways =-.

  15. sunnydaze

    What a beautiful post. Thanks for the reminders and the smiles it gave me as I read. 🙂

I love comments!

