Longest Weekend Ever

I’m glad the weekend is finally over.  How often do you hear that!?  The three days that my husband was gone felt so much longer!  But that could just have been my self-fulfilling prophesy.

Knowing that I would sit here and report today was a great motivator for sticking to my weekend goals.  So for those of you wondering, I’ll tell you know how I did.

My weekend home alone goals were:

  1. No cheating or overeating.
  2. Write down everything I eat.
  3. A minimum of 45 minutes of cardio every day.

Let’s start with the biggest success first.  Exercise!  On Friday, after I got home from my weekly strength training workout with my mom and our trainer (lower body only until my injury heals) I got on the boring elliptical for 45 minutes.  I has set my goal for that many minutes so I grudgingly did them.  But not a minute more.  Then Saturday morning I decided that I was better than that.  I was going to put in the same time that I would have if my husband had been working out beside me.  And an hour and 15 minutes later I was proud of myself:)  That afternoon I walked outside with my neighbor for another 40 minutes.  And today I got back on that elliptical and did it again and my neighbor and I took another walk.  The reality is, I should have set a higher goal for myself and I knew it… but either way, I got it done.

Writing down what I ate was easy enough… when I remembered.  I decided that I would use fitday to keep track.  I had not done that in years but thought if I had to write things down I might as well satisfy my curiosity at the same time and see how things added up from a nutritional perspective.  It was very interesting.  So interesting, in fact, that I am going to keep it up a little longer and then write a post about what I learned.  I was a bit surprised.  Maybe a lot surprised.  Regardless, I met that goal too, but it was an easy one.

And now about the eating.  I thought about eating a lot this weekend.  Not every waking moment, but most.  It is crazy how fixated I was on it.  But no, I did not overeat or cheat:)  But I am going to be honest and share that YOU are the reason why.  I thought about it, more than once.  I struggled with it.  Struggled with the thinking about food.  Struggled with finding ways to pass the time other than eating.  Struggled to distract myself.  And again and again I thought about my commitment that I made on my blog and coming back here to report and I knew that I just did not want to admit failure.  Funny that I was more motivated by that emotion than by the idea of just not eating because I shouldn’t overeat or wasn’t hungry.  Sigh.

So I, for one, am glad it is finally Monday:)

P.S.  My husband gets home late afternoon today.  Easy peasy sticking to my plan until then:)

35 Comments

Filed under blogging, cheating/overeating, dieting, emotions/emotional issues, exercise, goals, influence of others

35 responses to “Longest Weekend Ever

  1. It’s funny that we both wrote about mindless eating today. I’ve had those days when food is on my mind constantly too. I like what you mentioned on my blog-that you did something productive and got some things accomplished. It is a great way to take your mind off eating, isn’t it?
    .-= karen@fitnessjourney´s last blog ..Boredom Busters Challenge =-.

  2. I’m not glad it’s Monday – but good for you that you met some goals! Welcome home to your hubby too!
    .-= Debora Dennis´s last blog ..The Dreamer In Me =-.

  3. Great job on meeting some weekend goals! Getting my mind off food is difficult at times as well. Great job.

    Allison
    .-= Allison´s last blog ..How Do You Recover??? =-.

    • Karen

      Yet for some people, they just don’t think about food all the time. That’s my goal, or one of them anyways – not to have food be such a focus of my life.

  4. Karen, you did great! I know exactly what you mean about having food on your mind constantly. It’s always there. Calling to us. That was me this weekend, only mine was about the exact opposite of your successful one!

    Good job again, Karen! You have much to be proud of. 🙂
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Confession Monday =-.

  5. Whew! I’m glad you made it through! (But to be honest, I didn’t doubt that you would.)

    The public accountability of blogging is highly underrated, IMO. It helps us make the right decisions until we’re able to make them simply because they’re the right thing to do. If you know what I mean. 🙂

    Have an awesome week!
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Starting the Day Out Right =-.

  6. Oh being home alone is a tough one. When my husband goes away on business trips….yikes!!

    Thanks for your comment about my WW thing. Ugh. I hate to have to turn to a plan, but I’m so sick of getting nowhere but UP.

    Congrats on doing so well this weekend 🙂

  7. Well now I know that there are at least 2 people in the world that are glad today is Monday! Good for you…sticking to all of your goals! You should be proud of yourself!
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..I never thought I would look forward to Mondays…82 days! =-.

  8. sunnydaze

    You’re doing great! Yay you for sticking to your goals! 😀

  9. I so understand about wanting to NOT be fixated on food! We want to live our lives, eat when we eat, and otherwise FORGET about food. However, I’m mighty proud of you for meeting all three of your goals, regarless of your motivation for not overeating. You made smart, doable, measureable goals and you kept them. BRAVO!!!!
    .-= Peacefulbird´s last blog ..Help Along the Way =-.

  10. Genie

    You did a lot better than I did this weekend and I wasn’t alone! I wish that the fear of admitting failure would motivate me not to fail….

    Good job!

    • Karen

      Well it only worked because I put it out here. I guess I need to put more goals on my blog instead of just thinking them in my head.

  11. Great job- it’s an amazing accomplishment- don’t sell yourself short! 🙂
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..Crisis Averted =-.

  12. So awesome that you were able to stick to your goals!!!! I know what it’s like when hubby is out of town! It’s so much better to be able to post that you did well on the weekend then to have to come and post that you didn’t! It’s such a great motivator. It kept me going this weekend too!
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Boston trip, Weekend Warriors, and my favorite month of the year! =-.

  13. Thanks for posting your successes! I just wrote a blog entry about how we all too often do not post our victories, and then I read this. No matter how you get to a success…fake it till you make it, girl! Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen

      Ironically, I struggle as a blogger with the balance between writing the positive stuff and writing the true confessions, so to speak.

  14. ephemere

    Great job, girl! Keep at it!!

    ephemere@ Uncoffining

  15. When did I enter an alternate universe where people look forward to Mondays? lol. I don’t think I’ve looked forward to it.

    It’s always an adjustment for me the first night the husband is gone. I never realize how much I like his noise until it’s gone.

    I’m proud of you that you stayed on track. I know it can be hard when your routine changes.
    .-= Adrienne´s last blog ..Mini Spinach Quiches =-.

    • I forgot to tell you that I can now read your blog in my Blogger reader. I’m glad you were able to solve the problem.
      .-= Adrienne´s last blog ..Mini Spinach Quiches =-.

      • Karen

        I’m glad:) I was assuming things worked since hiring someone to fix the feeds that I had indeed screwed up all on my own! But didn’t know, of course, for sure.

        Not me – love my husband but not the noise:(

  16. Karen, I can relate to not doing one extra second of exercise on machines! When we’re on vacation (away from my beloved Jazzercise!) I have to use the exercise bike in whatever godforsaken place we’re at. How I hate it. I ride and ride and ride and don’t get anywhere. It’s just a calorie burner instead of pure joy. (Okay, I’m a little fanatical about Jazzercise!)
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..The Inedible: Five Jewish Foods To Avoid =-.

    • Karen

      You know – that is what I think of the elliptical but never realized it. Just a calorie burner. Boring. Now as for any exercise being pure joy for me… hmmm. But most beat the elliptical hands down.

  17. WOW!!! congrats to you! you did everything you set out to do and then some. you must feel wonderfully accomplished and proud, as you should.

    look what you are totally capable of!

    • Karen

      I was. BUT… why is there always a “but.” After my husband got home and the healthy dinner I went to town snacking again. Sigh.

I love comments!

