Adjusting my Glasses

When did my rose-colored dieter’s glasses turn into glasses half full?  Sometime since my shoulder injury and my recent bouts with overeating, I have found my writing starting to sound like the old me, not the new optimistic-against-my-nature me.

Time to adjust my glasses and my attitude.  Optimism, here I come again.

I have been trying to write positively about my journey.  In hopes that will motivate me.  In hopes that writing that way will lead my attitude to follow.  If I write it … it will happen.

So today I will focus on some happy thoughts.  I started to list them here, but then I read what I had written and decided not to bore you with the minutia of my life.  Suffice to say:  all in all, life is pretty good.  And I need to remember that.

And just the act of thinking about what makes me happy has brightened my mood.  And made me thankful and appreciative.  Rose colored glasses are back on.

“Optimist: someone who figures that taking a step backward after taking a step forward is not a disaster, it’s a cha-cha.”  – Robert Brault

16 Comments

Filed under blogging, optimism

16 responses to “Adjusting my Glasses

  1. Genie

    That’s a cool quote.

    By nature, I’m not an optimist. That’s another thing I’m working on…..

    I did not pick up negative vibes in your writing, if that makes you feel more optimistic.

    • Karen

      Ah… but I did not publish every post I drafted! Maybe someday, or maybe they will just get scrapped. But it is good to know that I don’t sound as discouraged as I sometimes feel.

  2. Here’s to positive thinking!!

    Just wanted to say Welcome to SITS! Glad you’ve joined!
    .-= Sarah Ruth´s last blog ..Kidcation Part Two =-.

  3. I love that quote. It’s new to me.

    You’re doing great. It’s a process to get used to. Any new habit takes months to refine. You’re doing so well!
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Precipice =-.

    • Karen

      I actually had a whole list of great quotes. But then I decided less is more and this seemed to best fit my diet optimism and set backs of late.

  4. Well, eating well and exercising is bound to get boring sooner or later! But we’ll just keep doing it anyway. As you read on my blog, I have been feeling tired and hungrier than usual lately. I have noticed in A LOT of the blogs I read, that this has been happening to many other people lately too!
    You never sound like a downer on your blog. And it is most helpful to you and your readers to just be realistic, and tell it like it is!
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Contemplating the next decade =-.

  5. I have been in the same place. I keep fighting off the negative – and by nature (and blog name) I am an optimist! So cha cha cha!
    .-= Brightside Susan´s last blog ..JUNIOR PROM =-.

  6. Remember that just because you’re having “stinking thinking” it doesn’t mean that your body can gain from that. Every right-sized meal you eat has a purpose – to get you where you want to be. The amazing thing about waking up, even after an error, is that all you have to do is continue what you were doing before. It’s the mental gymnastics that hurt so shut those thoughts off. There’s no reason (and no evidence) that you can’t live a different life, free of excess food.
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Roommates of Doom =-.

  7. Life does have its dips, doesn’t it? When I catch myself dipping, I do just what you did and make myself a list of reasons I have to not feel so…dippy. 🙂 Works every time!

    Wishing you a cheery week!
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Savor: Mindful Eating, Mindful Life (Book Review) =-.

  8. i love the quote!

    the power of positive thinking really is pretty amazing. putting negative energy out there can often bring negative energy back to you.

    way to recognize what you had been doing and make some adjustments!
    .-= love2eatinpa´s last blog ..Dumb Question of the Day =-.

    • Karen

      I think so too. When I stop to think about it. I feel much more likely to succeed what I think, know, that I can and will! No more saying “if” I lose the weight!

I love comments!

