The Sighs of my Thighs

I went swimsuit shopping recently (because of a vacation fast approaching).  I cannot get the image of my thighs out of my head.  It is not a pretty picture.

Usually when I think about my least favorite body part, I focus on my belly.  But my middle was covered by fat-sucking-in lycra and a hide-your-sins print that distracted the eye.  Not so for the thighs.  There they stood.  Pasty white and glaringly bright.  Saddlebags.  Inner thigh fat.  Cellulite.  The focus of my attention in the mirror as my eyes were drawn down to that horrible area of flesh just below the swimsuit bottom.  Jiggly and bulging.  Ugh.

I hadn’t seen those thighs in that way in a long time.  My former swimsuits were the skirted variety, the better to hide things best kept hidden.  But I discovered that in the water the skirt floats up and is very annoying!   So it was time to come out from behind the skirt and get back into a typical bottom.  Nothing too high cut, although I understand that is more flattering.  Just a modest but not too matronly bottom.

I don’t pay much attention to my thighs in my usual daily attire.  Sure, there are the occasional bulging moments in a particularly clingy or snug pair of pants.  But mostly I avoid buying anything that highlights that area.  Most of the time I think that my thighs are actually standing me in good stead – with strong quads from cycling and strength training.  Muscles!  But that’s just the area in front.  Clearly no exercise in my repertoire is doing a thing for the inner, outer, and back of my thighs.  Thus my sighs about the size.  Oh my thighs.  In my eyes.  Materialize.  And stick in my brain.  And make me wonder how self-conscious I will be in my new suit that has no skirt.

So now my next purchase… a cover-up sarong!

23 Comments

Filed under body and/or body image, shopping

23 responses to “The Sighs of my Thighs

  1. Yup I know that feeling all too well. My thighs are the same… pretty decent on the outside and front, but definitely jiggly and cellulite-lined on the inside and back. I usually go for the tankini-boy shorts combo because of my butt and thighs. Argh!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Hump day =-.

  2. Genie

    Oh, Karen, I was never told that I had a younger sister given up for adoption!

    My thighs are the same, sans the muscles. We have Grandma’s thighs!

    I have a sarong wardrobe, although with my son’s summer baseball schedule, we seldom get to the water. Not entirely a bad thing.

    Good luck in your search for the best suit possible! I also understand the “cut of the leghole” dilemma.

    Thanks a lot, Grandma….

    • Karen

      “Oh, Karen, I was never told that I had a younger sister given up for adoption!” Funny! I have avoided sarongs in the past because they don’t look great on my bubble butt. But I am now prioritizing flaw coverage:)

  3. Thanks for your sweet comment. Hey…don’t you do it! Don’t you go by anything to cover up your thighs. You work hard for the next few months and you will see a difference. Wait…when is your vacation? Anyways…I always think…though I can hide them…they are still there. I, too, hate my thighs. Mine…unfortunately, have little stretch marks on them. 😦
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..No Sir Mr. Scale…I don’t like you….ANYMORE….you are the suckiest friend "alive" =-.

  4. sunnydaze

    Cute post! You crack me up with the part, “There they stood”. LOL 😀

    • Karen

      I actually reached down and jiggled my outer thigh with my hands in front of the salesgirl! I am sure she thought I was a crazy woman.

  5. My thighs recognize your thighs and sympathize. I bought swim shorts last year to wear on top of the thigh-baring regular swimsuit bottom. It really worked out well. The one day I wore the suit. 🙂
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Duped, But Wiser For It =-.

    • Karen

      “My thighs recognize your thighs and sympathize.” LOL. I actually tried on swim shorts this year too. I even ordered a bunch from a catalog. But I didn’t think about wearing them on top… they all seemed to be bottom replacements. Hmmm.

  6. Several years ago I went to South Beach in Miami a few months after my oldest son was born. Not a good place to go if you are not in top shape! I remember all the beautiful, tanned and firm bodies everywhere. Me – pasty white and jiggly. That experience alone should have been enough to whip my butt into shape, but unfortunately it didn’t!
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Re-evaluating my goal weight =-.

    • Karen

      Years ago my husband and I walked along Waikiki beach in Hawaii and could not believe the bodies that were parading around in skimpy thongs. Power to them, I guess, for having such comfort in their own skin. But it was not pretty.

  7. I have no words of wisdom. But Mizfit would or perhaps SugarWand. Anyone participating in the exposed movement.

    My pasty whiteness I can pretend is like Nicole Kidman’s porcelain skin. The stretch marks and cellulite, I got nothin.
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Mental Health Day =-.

    • Karen

      The exposed movement!? I wonder how much is genetics and how much I could really change with different exercise?

      My freshman year roommate would get outside and start working on her tan the first not-cold day each spring. She said, “tan fat looks thinner than white fat.” And I think she is right! But this fair-skinned girl doesn’t tan and self-tanners make me streaky. Sigh.

  8. Karen, what a title! I, too, have spent time sighing over my thighs! I’ve worked out six days a week and still they jiggle, they ripple. These thighs can’t wear shorts. Well, they can wear really long ones!

    But here’s what I thought when I bought a bathing suit. I go to the beach and EVERYONE is wearing one, old people, young people, fat, skinny, it doesn’t matter! So, guess what? I wear one too. Then I plant myself on a lawn chair with a book and don’t stand up!
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Past Tense, Present Tense =-.

    • Karen

      I am glad I am not the only one working out and still having the jiggles. I love the longer shorts that are in style, although they are not great for my petite frame. And I actually now wear more dresses and capri pants as I age. But I did buy new shorts for my trip too. A smaller size! Yahoo.

  9. I turn around when I see the bathing suit section. I get depressed trying on clothes that cover me. I have no desire to try on clothes that are meant to show everything. Lol
    .-= adrienne´s last blog ..Gaining Weight Would Have Changed Everything =-.

    • Karen

      Having an upcoming vacation was a big motivator to look for a more flattering suit. The old one I wore in the hot tub on my ski trip would not stay covering my butt!

  10. i don’t think there are any women who would look at their thighs and sigh in happiness. especially the back view!

    i am slowly coming to realize that we have to love our bodies no matter what they look like. you may not love how your thighs look, but wow, don’t they do a lot for you?
    .-= love2eatinpa´s last blog ..Intuitive Eating Update =-.

    • Karen

      You are right! And usually I appreciate that I have made them strong through exercise. But in a swimsuit all sorts of insecurities come out with the flesh.

  11. Girl…I didn’t know we were thight twins…lol. Too white….bumpy…ugh. Thighs without the lovely skirt…makes me shudder just thinking about it. Bathing suits are such a torturous experience for me.
    .-= Lisa´s last blog ..One day down… =-.

    • Karen

      Confession: One summer I was in an “up” phase of my yo-yo and didn’t fit into my suits and refused to buy a bigger one, so at a trip to the lake I wore exercise clothes in the water. Sigh.

I love comments!

