Waist Not, Want Not

Everyone knows that yogurt is supposed to be good for us.  (And I’m not talking about the frozen ice cream substitute.)  So every once in a while I buy a container and stick in a spoon and try to convince myself I like it.  Yeah… no… not so much.

Then this week I read two articles about the benefits of yogurt.  One hailed it as the number one supersnack!  But what really caught my eye was the same study cited in both articles that said YOGURT HAS BELLY-FLATTENING ABILITIES.  Sign me up!  Buy me tons!  Tell me more:)

According to the study, people on a low-cal diet who ate fat-free yogurt lost 81% more ab fat than those on a similar diet who did not eat yogurt.  Eighteen ounces a day was all it took.  And they lost 22% more weight!  They also retained 1/3 more calorie-burning lean muscle mass.

Wow did that get my attention.  Because it seems that no matter what I do for exercise or eating, my belly just wants to stick around and hang out.  If I could shrink my middle just by eating yogurt, it might be worth another taste.  Or two.

And the articles told of many other benefits as well.  Remember, this is now the number one supersnack:)  But there were guidelines, including limiting the calories and sugar in the yogurt eaten.  More labels to read in the grocery store.

So I got a few cups, some fruity flavors that sounded potentially palatable.  And I got a box of Uncle Sam’s cereal to mix in my yogurt.  Because I know myself well enough from past attempts to realize that I need some crunch in my cup.  Day one:  strawberry banana.  It was okay, not horrible, not great.  Day two:  pomegranate acai.  Much stronger flavored; not sure if that is good or bad.  Still not passing judgment.  So back to the store for more.  So far I have had three flavors, two brands, and am thinking I can do this.  It would not be my snack of choice.  But I don’t hate it.  And if eating yogurt instead of some other afternoon nosh can slim my middle… I am reaching for it again and again!

How about you?  Yogurt lover?  Favorite healthy brands?  Top flavor picks?  Seen any impact on your belly?

NOTE – My feeds are fixed thanks to professional assistance!  Sorry for any inconvenience in this whole process.  If you are a subscriber and did not get notice of this post, you may be lost with my old feed.  Please let me know of any ongoing problems with this or Google Friends or anything blog related.  Thank you!

36 Comments

Filed under body and/or body image, food

36 responses to “Waist Not, Want Not

  1. I love yogurt! It’s my favourite snack. I recommend Liberte plain greek yogurt, with berries of your choice, and muesli. Sometimes I flavour the yogurt with a bit of vanilla extract or cinnamon. 🙂

    • Karen

      Thank you for that recommendation. I wanted to try greek yogurt; I have read a lot about it. But I worried about what to add in since there was noooo way I would eat it plain!

  2. I’ve tried to like yogurt, but I just can’t get into it. I think it’s something about the texture/taste that I don’t like. It’s good for you but sometimes, there’s so much sugar added to it (yoplait)! My guess is, it could be the calcium that causes people to lose extra weight? Calcium has been shown to aid in burning fat!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Mixed bag =-.

    • Karen

      Oh the texture gets me too! Exactly why I need to add cereal. I would not even attempt to try it without. Yuck. You could be right about the calcium.

  3. I am a yogurt fan, but alas, (how dramatic) most flavored yogurt brands are sweetened with high fructose corn syrup, which I find to be amazingly triggering for my sweet cravings. Brown Cow is my fave (low fat because I can’t find no fat version here) http://www.browncowfarm.com/ It still clocks in at 150 kcal for fruit flavors and has a heft carb/protein ratio. They do make a “Greek” version with higher protein/carb ratio and fruit flavors.

    Also, I’m not convinced that yogurt does anything for the fat burning process. Is this a WAG? Gotta look at those studies. 🙂
    .-= Sskar´s last blog ..Plateau Obsession =-.

    • Karen

      It was a University of Tennessee study. I need to read the ingredients more closely… I just focused on low sugar grams. I got the kind with artificial sweeteners but I know lots of people avoid those.

      • The study was sponsored by Yoplait (cough) and had only 34 participants. Interestingly, no one has replicated the study – or at least no one has had a study published since the original was in 2005. The proposed mechanism is dietary calcium (the control group took a smaller amount of supplemental calcium) and dairy protein. The molecular and genetic basis for this action on obesity seems to be a hot topic – not well studied in humans.
        .-= Sskar´s last blog ..Plateau Obsession =-.

  4. NOT a yogurt fan at all….I try, but just don’t dig it. Recently, I tried the fiber one yogurt, because I learned at WW that it is zero pts for one cup. The cups are small ( which is good for me, because again, I don’t like yogurt so much) but hell, zero pts AND filling AND NOT a vegetable?? lol I tried the key lime flavor, and liked it fine. lately, if I am waiting to go to dinner or something were I know I might get overly hungry, I have one of those yogurts, and it seems to really curb my appetite, so I can make good choices later.

    I DO use the fat free greek yogurt in recipes and to cook with, but it is very tart and I don’t eat it straight up.

  5. Oh I LOVE yogurt but don’t eat it much anymore since it’s not really a low carb item. I will probably wait till it’s on sale next time to get it.

    I usually get the yoplait yogurts and my favorites are the strawberry mango and the raspberry cheesecake 🙂 Peach is good too!

    Oh now I want some lol.
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..*YAWN* =-.

    • Karen

      My husband really likes it too. He ate yoplait for years but now seems to go with whatever lower-cal version is at Costco.

  6. I do enjoy yogurt; however, it’s not pudding…for sure! I can def. stand it though. You know, I have been wanting to try Greek Yogurt. I wonder what the heck that tastes like. My guess is….GROSS 🙂
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..Excuse me…..do you know where______ is? =-.

    • Karen

      I love my pudding cups! I have one carton of Boston Creme Pie yogurt to see if I can go for a sweet non-fruity flavor. So far it sits untouched.

  7. sunnydaze

    I have tried several times to like yogurt and can’t. To me those cute little cups are cozy and lure me in but I just cannot like the taste of it. It reminds me of eating a big spoonful of sour cream. Ugh! The only ones that I can kinda sorta stand are the Yoplait Whips b/c they have a different texture. Right now in my fridge I have a pack of 60 calorie each yogurts (Breyers) and I keep looking at them thinking I will try them yet again and I just can’t bring myself to try them – so there they sit…

    • Karen

      I will have to try those. I saw some yummy looking Breyers with chocolate chips but sadly those were not the healthy option. Sigh.

  8. I like yogurt. For some reason though… I can’t bring myself to eat it all of the time. I will buy tons of it and then it sits in the fridge.

    Is it better to buy full-fat, full-calorie yogurt or lowfat yogurt? What have you noticed in the taste difference?

    ~Kellie

    PS Thank you so much for your words of encouragement on my blog! It means so much!! 🙂
    .-= The Chubby Girl Diaries´s last blog ..Phase II comes in like a lamb and a self-challenge =-.

    • Karen

      I have only tried the low-cal low-fat version. I suspect the other tastes better, as with most things. I’m trying to train my taste buds!

  9. I lovelovelove the yogurt! My favorite is Oikos vanilla (or plain, if I must), but I have to wait for sales to buy it. I sometimes buy Dannon Light n’Fit vanilla. For yogurt mixers, I sometimes add some granola and/or strawberries to it. It is possible that some sugar-free chocolate syrup might occasionally make it’s way on there, too. 🙂 I’ve heard that a few tablespoons of pure pumpkin stirred in is really good, but I haven’t tried it yet.
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Rambling about Designing Women =-.

    • Karen

      See… here you are, a successful dieter and maintainer and you eat yogurt! Now that pumpkin sounds like a good idea.

  10. I refuse to go fat free. Sorry. I also go plain because I too have a sweet tooth that drives me wild with high fructose corn syrup.

    So, I get just plain yogurt with live active cultures. (you could also get a probiotic supplement in the OTC pharmacy section)

    But, we love it with granola and berries. YUM! Sometimes I will make dip with it, and we use it in place of sour cream. But usually it’s the berries and granola. Sooooo good.
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Scale Smackdown =-.

    • Karen

      I will not share my probiotic supplement story on the blog. Impossible to do so without venturing into TMI territory. Suffice to say “been there, done that, not doing it again!” Maybe everything is better with granola:)

  11. It took me a long time to warm up to yogurt. Like 20 years long time. Now I eat Greek yogurt regularly and feel so healthy!! I do buy the fruit flavor though.
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..Owning Your Plan =-.

  12. Kat

    I love greek yogurt. The fat free is so creamy and thick. Chobani, Fage, and Oikos are my favorites.
    .-= Kat´s last blog ..Runapalooza Day 1. Beginning Runners =-.

    • Karen

      Ok, I guess I will have to give Greek a try. When (if) I eat all the cartons I already got. Let’s see how long this new kick lasts.

  13. I eat yogurt sometimes but not too often because it either has sugar or a yucky fake sugar in it! I don’t know if I could eat it plain, I’m scared to try! 🙂
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Re-evaluating my goal weight =-.

  14. I ate so much yogurt when I was a teen I got tired of it.

    But 18 oz a day for the benefits? That’s about 300 plus calories for plain greek yogurt, which pretty much needs to be doctored up with more calories to be eaten. For me that is a big chunk of my calories.
    .-= Brightside Susan´s last blog ..MORE ROAD TRIP HIGHLIGHTS =-.

  15. Popped in from Lady Bloggers to say hi! I used to love eating yogart–now my husband eats it all!
    .-= Blond Duck´s last blog ..The Perilious Tales of the Pemberely Pet Shop 15 =-.

    • Karen

      My husband buys his own, Costco portions, and eats it a lot for a snack. He has for years. But I am impressed that he once ate the full fat kind and now eats the healthy version.

  16. i love yogurt! so good for you in so many ways! as far as doing anything for my belly, that’s hard to say because i try to do a lot of healthy eating and exercising.

    i eat dannon light & fit because it’s low in calories and doesn’t contain aspartame. i will often put them in the freezer for about 30-45 minutes before eating it so it feels like a little frozen treat and it takes me longer to eat it too.
    .-= love2eatinpa´s last blog ..Favorite Protein Bar – Genisoy =-.

  17. I LOVE yogurt! right now I’m eating Activia Light and taste pretty good. My favorite flavor is Vanilla and I eat it with almonds. My second best flavor is Peach.

    A few days ago I tried the Dannon Greek Yogurt and test ok. I believe Greek yogurt its better for your body, but a little to thick for my taste.

    Another benifit that yogurt has is that it regulates your body.

    • Karen

      My husband eats it for that regulating factor. Probiotics. Live cultures. I wonder how that works on your system if you don’t eat it every day though.

I love comments!

