My Century Mark

This is my 100th post!  How time flew:)

There seems to be a blogging tradition of listing 100 things about yourself on this occasion.  I cannot imagine coming up with that many things to share that anyone would find remotely interesting.  But I would love to know more about YOU!  So here is the game if you want to play along:  I will share 100 things and if you want, you can share anything about yourself that fits into one of the categories.  Or all the categories.  Or anything else you’d like to add.  So here goes…

10 things I have changed since beginning my last-ever-diet-healthy-lifestyle-makeover:

  1. Eating homemade “refried” beans (almost) every day for breakfast.
  2. Avoiding grains and fruits until late in the day.
  3. Drinking lots and lots and lots of flavored tea.
  4. Increasing my exercise (which, before my shoulder injury, included more time doing cardio and the addition of yoga and pilates).
  5. Incorporating more vegetables in my diet and discovering I really, really like Green Bean Fries.
  6. Limiting activities that trigger eating:  TV watching and reading.
  7. Joined the world’s greatest online diet forum and visit often for motivation and support and friendship:)
  8. Cut out junk food and refined grains; snack a whole lot less.
  9. Pre-planned most of my meals.
  10. Committed to the idea that this is not a diet that ends, but a lifestyle change that lasts forever.

10 things I love about blogging:

  1. My readers!
  2. Comments!
  3. All the other great blogs I have discovered.
  4. The amazing support and sense of community.
  5. My new blogging friends who make me smile and inspire me.
  6. The creative outlet and catharsis.
  7. That it provides a great distraction from eating.
  8. The motivation and accountability I have found.
  9. That every day I am reminded that I am not alone on this journey and that even though our stories are different, we have so much in common.
  10. That I can be more optimistic in print than I ever would be in my non-blogging persona.

10 things about my life you might find interesting to know:

  1. My husband and I have been married for 22 years and met in grad school.
  2. Neither of us works outside the house.
  3. I have two sons (20 and a college sophomore; 17 and a high school junior).
  4. I consider being their mom to be my greatest accomplishment.
  5. I live in Kansas.  (I have never met Dorothy or personally experienced a tornado but I have sat out a warning in my basement.)
  6. I grew up outside Boston and attended college on the East Coast.
  7. I am 5 foot 2.5 inches tall; I have shrunk a quarter inch already.
  8. I am 46 years old (for just over another month).
  9. I am a morning person.  I won’t admit to how early I go to bed:)
  10. I used to work in Human Resources, a lifetime ago.

10 things about my life you probably don’t care to know but I will tell you anyways:

  1. I am a natural redhead (although now nature is getting some assistance from a bottle) with lots of freckles to go with it.
  2. I can touch my tongue to my nose but not my palms to the floor.
  3. I am over organized, an uber-planner, and a bit of a control freak.
  4. I cannot stand clutter but live with 3 men who are the opposite.
  5. I hate camping.  (Sorry hubby.)
  6. I was in a sorority in college despite being very unlike your stereotypical sorority girl.
  7. I am a bit of a germophobe.
  8. I have had three skin cancer surgeries and will preach to you about sunscreen some day soon.
  9. I am the poster child for health care reform since no company wants to give me medical insurance.  Thank goodness for my state’s “high risk pool.”
  10. My dream house has a screened-in porch and overlooks water.

10 things I like to do in my spare time:

  1. Spend it in the blogosphere.
  2. Read a good novel.
  3. Scrapbook.
  4. Ride my bike outside with my husband.
  5. Jigsaw puzzles and crossword puzzles but nothing too mentally challenging.
  6. Spend time with my boys if they’ll have me.
  7. Exercise.  Well, I don’t really enjoy it while I am doing it, but I love that I DID it.  So I think it counts.
  8. Watch my favorite TV shows.
  9. Catch up with friends and family on facebook.
  10. Nothing.

10 facts about me and exercise:

  1. I never exercised growing up.
  2. I am uncoordinated.
  3. I don’t like kickboxing or tai chi.
  4. I tore my calf muscle, twice.
  5. I usually exercise every day.
  6. I am more motivated to work out with someone else.
  7. Many of my favorite exercise experiences have been shared with my mom.  More on this another day.
  8. I used to love step aerobics but quit after the high impact caused damage to my feet.
  9. I really only started working out after being diagnosed with high cholesterol and think exercise has directly raised my HDL (good cholesterol).
  10. Much as I like that I exercise, most days it is a motivational challenge to get started.

10 things I wish:

  1. To win the lottery.
  2. That my blog had no glitches.
  3. That I could eat anything I wanted without gaining weight.  And that I only “wanted” healthy food.
  4. Health and happiness for my family and friends.
  5. That my shoulder would heal quickly and fully.
  6. To not sweat the small stuff.
  7. That I was more patient and tolerant and laid-back.
  8. To travel to every continent.
  9. To go to bed every night with no regrets and wake up every day looking forward to what comes.
  10. To go to the Oprah show.

10 other things:

  1. I am not a good cook and I don’t like to cook.  I could happily never cook.
  2. I love dark chocolate covered strawberries and apple pie a la mode.
  3. My memory is getting worse and it drives me crazy.
  4. Canyon Ranch spa is one of my favorite places on earth.  Some time I will tell you about it.
  5. I never wear shoes around the house.
  6. I like quiet.  I don’t even listen to the radio in the car if I am alone.
  7. I am shy.
  8. I like purple and dislike pink, orange, burgundy…
  9. Sometimes something very funny will make me snort when I laugh.
  10. Murphy’s Law is alive and well and taken up residence with me.

10 things I’ve gained on this journey thanks to my new and improved lifestyle:

  1. I am happier.
  2. I like myself more.
  3. I wake up in the morning ready for another day rather than feeling guilt over what I ate the day before or dread over facing the scale.
  4. I don’t nap as much as I used to or feel tired all the time.  I guess that means I have more energy:)
  5. I feel physically fitter and stronger (shoulder injury aside)
  6. I discovered that exercise really does help with my stress.
  7. I am thinner.  It sounds basic, but there it is.
  8. Optimism.
  9. I am eating healthier and not eating things that are not healthy and I am sure my body is appreciative.
  10. That some days I cruise along and some days I still struggle, but that through it all I really think I can do this.

10 things I need to work on:

  1. Incorporating moderation into my way of eating.  And understanding what that will mean for me long-term.
  2. Eating fewer Triscuits.  Or no Triscuits.
  3. Chewing less gum.
  4. Working out harder and longer.  Pushing myself.
  5. Getting in my full South Beach 4.5 cups of veggies every day.
  6. Drinking more water.
  7. Being able to watch TV and read without wanting to snack.  Or at least without giving in to the urge.  Or even the whole concept of not wanting to snack when I am not actually physically hungry.  Hmm.
  8. Measuring my peanut butter.
  9. Being comfortable in my own skin.
  10. Not letting the number on the scale impact my mood.
21 Comments

Filed under blogging, body and/or body image, dieting, emotions/emotional issues, exercise, food, goals, lifestyle, making a change, optimism

21 responses to “My Century Mark

  1. Hmmm green bean fries.. what are those? They sound delicious! Congrats on your blogging milestone! 🙂
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Oh, the places we could go =-.

    • Karen

      Here is how I like them (two options, fresh and frozen):

      I use the skinny green beans. Lately I have been buying fresh at Costco. Or frozen, still the skinny ones.

      For fresh: I preheat a pan in the over at 450 degrees for 5 or ten minutes. I coat the washed green beans in olive oil (I like to shake them in a plastic bag) and add some salt and pepper. Spread on the hot sheet and cook for 20-25 minutes, stirring a couple times. I like them when they are starting to brown but not yet burnt.

      For frozen: I also toss in olive oil, salt, pepper. I do not preheat pan and cook at a lower temp, 400 degrees, but for longer, maybe 25-30 minutes.

      These are honestly so much tastier, almost sweet. I will happily eat a couple of cups for an afternoon snack. And the are “husband approved.”

  2. Ooh girl now I feel I really know you lol!

    I think I’ll do a few tomorrow- maybe one set of ten a day? 🙂
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..198.0 =-.

  3. 100 posts…WOWZER! Well, I don’t know how many I have read, but I have enjoyed everyone! Thanks for blogging!
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..I must confess… =-.

  4. Diet Buddy

    That was so cool! Thanks for sharing. One thing that stood out for me — freckles… I have them, too. 🙂

  5. A great accomplishment and even greater post! Thanks for sharing so much of yourself with us.
    I’m married to a short red-head, but you seem much nicer. LOL
    .-= Sskar´s last blog ..Plateau Obsession =-.

  6. It’s always nice to get the inside scoop on someone. Congrats on your 100th post. That is quite an accomplishment. I love that so many great experiences that you’ve had have been with your mom. I hope my daughter can say the same thing about me someday. Finally, I’ll cross my fingers that you hit the lottery!
    .-= karen@fitnessjourney´s last blog ..Why Do We Put Ourselves Down? =-.

    • Karen

      Oh thanks for the finger crossing! When it gets up there we play and like to talk about how we would spend our winnings.

  7. Congratulations on your 100th post – and thanks for sharing about yourself.
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..Owning Your Plan =-.

    • Karen

      Thanks Diane. And thank you for sharing all you do on your blog. It is great to have a success story to give me hope. And ideas.

  8. Congrats on the 100-post milestone! I’m not the only one who’s absolutely delighted that you jumped into the pool with us!

    Thanks for sharing about yourself. I wish I’d thought about it at 100 posts. I’m just passing 500, and I don’t dare try that. 🙂
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Rambling about Designing Women =-.

  9. Genie

    We have quite a few things in common! Cool!

    Congrats on #100; that’s a big accomplishment!

    “My dream house has a screened-in porch and overlooks water.” ME TOO! Preferably the ocean. And it has a big money tree in the side yard.

    • Karen

      Oh I need that tree too. Then I don’t need to wait for the lottery! I used to think I wanted fresh water, but I could settle for the ocean. The sound of waves is so relaxing.

  10. What a great post….I love learning more about one of my favorite bloggers 🙂

    Oh my goodness….I too can’t stand clutter either. My 17 year old is a neat freak like me. My husband and 13 years….they drive me crazy with their messiness.

    I don’t think I’ve ever known anyone who lives in Kansas. I don’t get out much though…lol.
    .-= Lisa´s last blog ..It’s about time…. =-.

  11. wow, that so cool! what a clever way to do your 100!

    i sometimes snort when i laugh too. 🙂
    .-= love2eatinpa´s last blog ..Q & A – How Did I Stop Bingeing? =-.

  12. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » Just What I Needed

I love comments!

