My Shoulder – The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

I got my MRI results and diagnosis on my shoulder injury.

The good:  I do not need surgery.  I do not have a torn rotator cuff.  I should “heal without incident.”

The bad:  I have a non-displaced fracture of the proximal humerus.  Which in simple terms means I broke the bone on the top of my shoulder but it is not out of place.  It still hurts and I still have very limited mobility.

The ugly:  I cannot return yet to my usual exercise routine.  It took a lot of time and mental energy to build that habit.  And while I may not like exercising while I am doing it, I fully appreciate the benefits I derive and am afraid it will be hard to get back to where I was after a long break.  So I am a bit frustrated.  And I am sad that I cannot ride my bike outside now that the weather is finally cooperating.  I have waited months for that!  I have no idea when I can lift weights again, or even bear any weight at all for that matter.  And I don’t see yoga in my future any time soon.  Fingers crossed that less exercise does not result in more pounds.  Heavy sighing.

But I am trying to be a glass-half-full person so I will focus on what I can do.  I can walk outside or on the treadmill.  I can burn a few calories on my oh-so-boring elliptical.  I can do crunches for my abs.  I can do lunges and squats, much as I don’t want to.  And I will keep up with the little itty bitty arm exercises that the doctor prescribed last week for physical therapy.  (And I will not think about my muscles atrophying just as we get into the season when my body is going to be its most exposed.  My arms were never going to look like Michelle’s anyways.)

I go back to see the doctor in two weeks.  Supposedly he wants to do another xray but since this fracture didn’t show up on the first one, I don’t think that makes any sense.  I’ll cross that bridge if the doctor tries to drag me over it.  Until then, I will take each day as it comes and remember that this could indeed have been so much worse and that one day soon I will again be able to sleep on my side.  I will not curse my horrible medical insurance that will turn my almost free ski vacation into the most expensive vacation I have taken in years thanks to my own clumsiness and stupidity.  I will remain optimistic.  I will be patient.  I will.  I will.  I will.

And maybe I will ask my primary care doctor this summer if I need to get my bone density checked.

21 Comments

Filed under body and/or body image, exercise

21 responses to “My Shoulder – The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

  1. At least you don’t need surgery. If you can’t exercise try to eat as healthy as possible. And keep drinking water and doctors like to take a lot of xrays so be ready.
    .-= adrienne´s last blog ..New Month, New Food Series =-.

    • Karen

      Unfortunately I am not doing very well with the eating part right now. I just wrote about it and will post on Monday. I am guessing no one will be reading blogs tomorrow.

  2. “non-displaced fracture of the proximal humerus” = yow! No wonder you have been in such pain. Getting mobility back will be important as soon as your doc says you can. I’m sure he wants repeat x-rays to make certain the fracture is remaining in good alignment. Trust me, fractures in this area can be bad with damage to vascular and neurological structures. If you had to fracture your humerus (nope, I’m not a determinist) at least you had a relatively “minor” one and should recover completely and get back to your regular exercise regimen – but what a bummer!

    Healing thoughts to you and your arm!
    Jan
    .-= Sskar´s last blog ..Easter’s On Its Way ♪♫ =-.

    • Karen

      Thanks Jan:) The pain is not really that bad, just a constant ache. But the lack of mobility is very frustrating as is not being able to exercise, as I am sure you can identify with right now. We make a fine pair.

  3. Aww, you can’t even bike? That stinks! I would think that would keep your shoulder more stable than walking, but I’m guessing it’s the pressure you’d put on it.

    I hope you heal quickly and as pain-free as possible!
    .-= Weightlessly´s last blog ..A loss =-.

    • Karen

      I can’t raise my arm enough to go to a handle bar! And I fall off even when I am not injured! I think I may try cycling class on Monday since I can always just sit upright, no hands, and pedal slowly.

  4. Oh, I’m sorry to hear about this. I know under the circumstances the news could be worse, but it’s still hard to hear I’m sure.

    I love your positive attitude. You motivate me to keep going!!!!
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..A black toe nail loss & I’m leaving for D.C. tomorrow! =-.

    • Karen

      Bobbie – You are right. And thanks for thinking I am being positive… I am trying. Right now I just got back from an hour long walk outside and my shoulder really ached the whole time and still. But I would rather it hurt than not exercise. Who is this woman?

  5. Tina

    Karen – How about the pool???? Can’t do laps but possibly deep water aerobics? It will work the legs and no soreness afterwards?

    Just a thought…

    Hang in there on the eating… I am! 🙂
    .-= Tina´s last blog ..17 Days to go & I am stuck in a rut! =-.

    • Karen

      Great idea Tina except I don’t belong to an indoor pool and the outdoor neighborhood one isn’t open yet. I did discover that it hurts less to work out if I don’t wear a sports bra! A lot less, actually

  6. Hello fellow Lady Blogger! Thank you for the kind comment (I saw that you loved my design). I worked a lot on that with a fab designer who just made every wish I had come to life. I had the ideas, and he did an incredible job of listening and even came up with more of his own and it was too, too fun! 🙂

    I’m so sorry to hear about your arm! Hang in there. I think that blogging about your journey and your goals will help your success.

    Great site! I’ll be back for more inspiration. 🙂

    By the way, if you have an iPod Touch or iPhone check out the free app. they have called Lose It. It is a way to keep track of food and exercise that is so very simple (and you can even track nutrients if you want to get crazy! I’m not so dedicated…) but it really helps me to visualize what I’m putting in my body over the long term and how it affects my goals – good and bad.

    Happy Easter!
    ~ Alyna
    .-= Alyna´s last blog ..Happy Easter! =-.

    • Karen

      Thanks for visiting:) No iPod or phone. I am pretty low tech.

      • LOL! Low tech…with a nice blog! Not too low tech it seems. Well, keep that app. in mind because you never know when things will change. I was given the iPod Touch as a gift…never dreamed I would own one (and now I use it all the time!)
        .-= Alyna´s last blog ..Happy Easter! =-.

        • Karen

          Well a lot of that was a designer:) But I did figure out this nifty feature that lets me reply to comments! I tried to contact the guy who made that ‘subscribe to comments’ plug in… so will see if he can solve the problem. If not, I will try another version and make my husband subscribe to test it for me.

          My mom got an ipod because somehow it works with her new car. She has had my teen help her figure it out more than once. Kids just get that stuff!

  7. Meant to sign up for the comment subscription…so one more!
    .-= Alyna´s last blog ..Happy Easter! =-.

  8. Gord’s right shoulder is messed up … so he’d got to be careful.
    .-= Teena in Toronto´s last blog ..Healthy Weight Action Plan =-.

    • Karen

      My husband has one that bothers him from time to time because of playing sports in high school. I hear a lot of shoulder horror stories so will hope my doctor knows what he is talking about that mine will heal fine.

  9. Oh, I’m so sorry! You’re trying soooo hard to be a big girl about it, but I know you’re disappointed. (Not to mention, sore.) I hope your healing is speedy and that you’re able to keep your spirits high.
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..A Life Worth Breathing (Book Rec) =-.

    • Karen

      Thanks Cammy. Me too. Trying to be optimistic. Trying not to gain weight. Trying not to worry yet about what I will not be able to do on my next vacation in less than 3 weeks.

  10. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » I Need an Intervention

  11. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » When Good News Might be Bad News

I love comments!

