April's Alphabet

A is for another.  Another month over.  Another day closer to my goal.  Another few minutes on the elliptical.  Another new recipe to try.  Another fresh vegetable or seasonal fruit showing up in the grocery store.  Another new blog to follow and another online friend to make.  Another pound, another quarter-inch.

P is for public accountability.  I have found that the greatest deterrent to cheating on my diet is knowing I will admit to it here and on my diet forum.  P should be for personal accountability, but I’m not sure I would have the same self-control and willpower if I only answered to myself.

R is for remembering.  Remembering why I am on this journey.  Remembering that I am not alone.  Remembering how I felt when I weighed more, when I ate crap until my stomach swelled and I felt as crappy as what I was eating.  Remembering how much more fun it is to shop for smaller sizes.

I is for “I can” and ” I will” and sometimes for “I will not.”  I can live a healthier life.  I can learn to incorporate moderation into my diet.  I can make good food choices at a restaurant and around others.  I will eat more vegetables and exercise more and practice optimism.  I will not fall back into old habits.  I will not eat too many Triscuits.  (Fingers crossed behind my back for that last one.)

L is for lifestyle.  Because I now finally understand and accept that this is not about being on a diet that ends when I reach my goal weight.  This is about changing the way I live and eat forever.  As daunting as that may sound, I can actually see a future that incorporates my new way of eating and it doesn’t scare me.  L is for liking myself more when I live this lifestyle.  Live is another great L word:)

19 Comments

Filed under dieting, emotions/emotional issues, exercise, goals, lifestyle, making a change, optimism, weight issues

19 responses to “April's Alphabet

  1. A=Awesome (and adorable!)
    P=Profound
    R=Real
    I=Inspiring
    L=Lucky, as in “I’m lucky to have found this awesome, profound, real, and inspiring blogger/success story.”

    And remember: You are stronger than the Triscuits! 🙂
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Help for the Fashionably Clueless? =-.

  2. Happy April! Great things in this post. It’s full of good of wonderful reminders that anyone can use on their journey. Lifestyle is my favorite. All to many times people just think of this as a “diet” and once they get to goal it’s all over and okay. Not so… 🙂
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..Running: a dreamland full of shit & my ideal utopia =-.

  3. heh! I love this post! So much truth in it!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Thin for life (and other thoughts) =-.

  4. Jen

    You are so awesome Karen–always full of encouragement and positive energy! Love it! I’m certain EVERYONE will find their way over to your new place. Who would want to miss your great posts? Not Me!
    .-= Jen´s last blog ..My Five Things #3 and Random Thoughts =-.

  5. Just came upon your blog.. Looking forward to reading more…
    .-= Weight Watcher Wannabe´s last blog ..The Eat’s =-.

  6. Everything about your blog puts a smile on my face!! Thank you for the constant accountability! By the way…I couldn’t find that thread to save my life. Help?!?!? As for what I plan to add back….girl…I don’t know. Just the thought of being able to eat any kind of carb is SUPER EXCITING!!!! I will be good though…I promise!
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..OOOOOOOO YEAAAAA……Phase 1 Day 14…. : ) =-.

  7. sunnydaze

    I LOVE this post so much that I printed it off and I’m going to hang it on my bathroom mirror where I can read it every morning for inspiration while I am getting ready. Thanks for the inspiration! 😀

  8. Sooo much more uplifting than the many April Fool’s jokes I have come across on blogs today.

    Thanks as always for the inspiration.
    .-= Sskar´s last blog ..Easter’s On Its Way ♪♫ =-.

  9. As a member of the P I salute you!
    .-= Brightside Susan´s last blog ..WHERE DO THESE MEAN GIRLS COME FROM? =-.

  10. Great post…

    Confession…I eat too many wheat thins…my husband is the triscuit lover.

  11. What a cheerful blog! You have a great attitude – I need to carry that over to my stuggles… I like your public accountability comment – defenately something that would help me.
    .-= Rene W.´s last blog ..Blogging on Queue =-.

  12. Karen

    Oh – you guys are so sweet. Thank you. Some days I worry that I am coming across as TOO positive and optimistic. But I am trying to change and that is part of it. So there you have it – the optimistic me that used to not exist:)

    So for any of you wp.org bloggers: Are you using a plug in that lets you thread comments? Or go back and reply to each comment? I am thinking of adding one. Makes me nervous though.

  13. I am going to really embrace your “R” this month!
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..Bathing in the Wild =-.

  14. Awesome post, as usual. 🙂 You can’t be too upbeat for me. Reading your blog always reminds me of how much I love being part of this community. And I can’t help you with the Triscuits … they taste like cardboard to me.
    .-= Siobhan´s last blog ..another awesome trip =-.

  15. Lifestyle is the biggest for me. In addition to being skinner I also want to be happy.

    I don’t use wp but i think threading comments is a good idea.
    .-= adrienne´s last blog ..New Month, New Food Series =-.

  16. Love this!! Great motivating words!! April sounds great when you put it that way!! Every letter is perfect I think. The “I can” attitude is extremely important!
    .-= Jen-JensFitnessTips.com´s last blog ..Tip #69: Reach For The Sun Yoga =-.

  17. Just came from SITS to say hope you’re having a great day
    .-= Miss Ardeth Blood´s last blog ..A blogger’s blog =-.

  18. Love it!
    .-= Alyna´s last blog ..Happy Easter! =-.

I love comments!

