It's a Blog Eat Blog World

I am having blogging woes.  Here I sit, with my pretty new design, at my new location that was supposed to cure all my old blogging issues.  But no.  Now I have more darn blogging problems than I left behind.  My blog is supposed to bring joy to my life – not endless frustration:(

Here is what I want you to know:

  • There seems to be some problem with subscribing to this new location.
  • What appears to be working are the three subscription options on the top right side of the blog.  (Subscribe in a reader with the orange icon, subscribing via email, and feedburner with the blue button.)
  • What appears not to be working:  the email subscriptions are a day behind, typing my URL into a google reader directly brings up my first blog, even though I just deleted it!   But you CAN use google reader if you use the RSS feed or feedburner buttons!  (I think.)

What else does work:  If you type my URL in your address bar, you should get here just fine:)  Yahoo for small miracles.

What else may not work:   Trying to add my new URL to your blogroll.  I have no clues on this glitch.  And when I leave comments on some blogs I see that my link shows one of my previous locations, no matter how I type in my URL.  Why?  I have no idea.  Maybe it has been directing back to my first blog all along and I just didn’t know it.  But that blog is now gone, which just makes this even more crazy.

Other things going wrong because of this new blog:  Somehow now I am unable to comment on lots of blogspot blogs.  My openID is not accepted and other such stuff.  I hate when I want to comment and can’t!  Heavy sigh.

Thank you to everyone who has reported problems to me; otherwise I would not have known what was going on.  If you encounter any, any at all, it may help me resolve them to know details.  You can comment here or send me an email at waistingtimeblog@gmail.com.

I am not technologically savvy so have no idea how to fix what is happening.  If anyone has suggestions, they would be most welcome.

And I am still working on the other kinks.  And I admit that I am having daily regret that I made this leap, wondering if I should have stayed where I had to do less of the behind the scenes stuff myself.  I do NOT want to move again.  I do not want to be frustrated by my blog.  This is supposed to be where I go to get AWAY from stress!  I want to get back to my blogging happy place:)

11 Comments

Filed under blogging, emotions/emotional issues

11 responses to “It's a Blog Eat Blog World

  1. I know it’s been a frustrating move for you! But I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the new design. It makes you stand out!!!

    And I wanted to tell you that I can now click your post title in Google Reader and it WORKS now! Also, I was having issues with your Blog link in my Blogroll, but I realized I had the URL wrong. I fixed that last night and it works great.

    I’m not sure what’s going on with Blogspot blogs, but I did see another post (can’t remember where) that someone else was having the same issue.

    I can tell you my Google Friend Connect has been wacko and my Feedburner # of subscribers widget has been disappearing a lot lately. I think there are some issues that Google is having – remember they own Feedburner. 🙂
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..Five (almost) short months & changing your life =-.

  2. Oh yay! I finally got it to work on my blog list. I had to add you to my google reader and then imported it from that into my blog roll. so yay! it works now! Woohoo!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Gas… and not of the methane persuasion =-.

  3. Hmmm, that does sound like a whole lot of frustration at work. Hope you get things straightened out soon. Don’t worry, I’ll find you no matter what. 🙂
    .-= karen@fitnessjourney´s last blog ..Eggs: They Aren’t Just For Easter Anymore =-.

  4. Karen

    Okay… I feel a little better knowing things are now working for some of you!

    Bobbie – Thanks:) I still have not figured out what to do with google friends and feedburner – surely I should be doing something other than just having them there!

    Anna – I am glad you figured it out. Maybe that will work for someone else too.

    Karen – Thank you for saying that:)

  5. You have a great blog design and i hope you are able to work out the issues so you can get back to loving blogging. Found you on Lady Bloggers Society
    .-= Devan @ Accustomed Chaos´s last blog ..Coming Out of Winter Hibernation! =-.

  6. It appears that I am still able to comment on yours!! So…no problem here 🙂
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..OH YEA….Today is Monday…Phase 1 Day 11 =-.

  7. I’ve never been able to comment on blogspot blogs with the OpenID thing – never! So I just use url and/or the google thing. I think they do that on purpose.

    One thing I enjoyed about having my own url is that I can learn a lot. It’s frustrating at times, but there are lots of people who really know this stuff and are willing to help.

    I love the new site!
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..Giving Up or Gaining? =-.

  8. I wish I could help, but I’m woefully behind on blogging technology.

    But if you ever need help with financial software, I’m your girl! 🙂

    Hang in there!
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Exericse: It Doesn’t Have to Hurt! =-.

  9. Karen

    Corletta – That comment glitch on my last blog was part of what drove me here! Glad to know it has not followed.

    Diane – They don’t like my URL either:( But the google thing is now working for me. Glad to know it is not just me. I know it is some option in how the blogger chooses to set up comments because one great blogger (thanks Lisa) changed hers after I told her what was happening.

    Cammy – We were on each other’s blogs commenting at the same time! I did not peg you for a financial guru.

  10. I have to echo what everyone else is saying, your new blog is great….the colors and design just makes me smile. I hope all the kinks get worked out for you.
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..Bubble wrap? =-.

  11. It was e-mailing your posts a day late to me at first, but I think they are coming on time now.

    Blogs are fun except when they don’t work. I’m not a techie at all. My kids normally have to help me if I get really stumped.

    I hope your blog starts cooperating with you asap!!

I love comments!

