Ode to My Birthday Boy

I couldn’t let today pass without taking the opportunity to publicly wish my dear husband a very happy birthday.  I am sure he is cringing as he reads, waiting to see if I will say it … maybe dreading seeing it in print… the number.  But it is a big one.  So deserves a big acknowledgment.  And what could be bigger than the world wide web?!  And what could be better than a birthday poem written just for you:)  Happy birthday DH!

I love you dearly,

Though you can’t see clearly,

When reading things up close.

Your knees are achy,

Your balance shaky,

When holding a yoga pose.

You run for hours,

And forgo showers,

To soak inside a tub.

Darn, getting older,

That achy shoulder,

Bring out the menthol rub.

Your days are filled,

Your credit cards billed,

Take time to read a book.

But stay awake,

For goodness sake,

Or you’ll marvel how long it took.

Pilates is new now,

As old muscles learn how,

To strengthen in new ways.

And sleep is disrupted,

By pee, interrupted,

Now nights as well as days.

Your hair may be thinning,

And wrinkles beginning,

But mostly you’re fit as a fiddle.

Let’s get in a bike ride,

You like to be outside,

And we both need to whittle our middle.

AARP came calling,

Which some’d find appalling,

But you are thinking discounts.

Your bruises are lighter,

Dear snowboarding fighter,

Your butt needed much more bounce.

So now you can wait,

For your presents are late,

And a trip is still in the plans.

Til basketball’s ended,

Your trading suspended,

A break from life’s demands.

Til then we’ll have cake,

Because, for goodness sake,

No calories count today.

And our Mexican meal,

Will happen for real,

When the relatives go away.

Oh aging is no fun,

But trust me on this, Hon,

The alternative is much worse.

I wish you a great one,

Since 49 is done,

And happily told you in verse.

10 Comments

Filed under aging, family

10 responses to “Ode to My Birthday Boy

  1. aaaw sweet, happy birthday t your husband!!
    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest

  2. Happy B-day to your hubby. Love the poem. As a high school English teacher, I give it an A+! SITS sent me by, and I’m glad they did…

    I ♥ the Beach

  3. Wish him happy half a century for me.
    .-= Daphne´s last blog ..Crazy Garden Lady =-.

  4. Happy Birthday to “Mr. Waisting Time” and welcome to the f-f-fifties! (It’s not so bad, really.)
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Re-entering the Work(out)force =-.

  5. Happy Birthday to your DH!!!! 🙂
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..Caskets for the obese & Jamie Oliver’s ‘Food Revolution’ =-.

  6. Happy Birthday!! I love your poem, it made me smile!
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..Wake up, wake up you sleepy head… =-.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Waisting Time , Archive » Ode to My Birthday Boy -- Topsy.com

  8. Happy birthday, Hubby!

    Gord’s b/d is Wednesday.
    .-= Teena in Toronto´s last blog ..How far I’ve come =-.

  9. Karen

    Funny how I suddenly feel older now that I am married to a fifty year old!

  10. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » I’m Leaaavving on a Jet Plane

I love comments!

