Which Weigh Did She Go?

So the big question about my vacation… Did I gain weight?

I wondered about that along the way.  I had no scale with me and no fitted clothes by which to judge.  (I thought about bringing my scale.  But that seemed a bit obsessive even to me.)  My emotions about being scale-less were mixed.  It was actually sort of liberating not to let a number potentially dictate my day.  But it was also a bit scary.  What if those big restaurant portions and sauces with mystery ingredients (probably sugar) were adding up?

Would I have eaten differently if I had a scale with me?  Maybe.  It probably would have depended on what the number said each morning.  But maybe not.  Although I suspect I would NOT have had the extra two chicken wings!

I can tell you this for certain – past vacations have always been about food and eating whatever I wanted and splurging.  And the last day of vacation was always about that last chance to indulge before the diet would restart the next day.  And the trip home from wherever was filled with treats that I intended to eat or toss when I walked through my door.  Getting it in while I had an excuse.  Reality was suspended.  But this time I kept thinking that I was going to weigh in at home on Sunday morning and I sooo did not want to have gained while away.  It kept me from any last minute indulgences on the long drive back.  And let me tell you it is a challenge to eat a burger in the car without eating the bun!

So, are you tired of waiting?   I was.  Anxious to get my feet on the scale and see the damage.  Was there damage?  I stepped on.  The numbers fluttered and I had a freak out moment when I transposed them in my head.  Surely I had not gained that much!  But then I looked again.  And I got off and back on and looked again.  OMG!  I had actually lost weight!  A first for me on vacation.  Not a lot.  But actually more in that week than I had been losing in my slow turtle-like pace at home.  I know it’s because I really watched myself and chose to not eat those things that were calling out to me.  And probably because I was too busy to snack; I don’t think I had more than one post-dinner nibble the whole trip.  Very atypical for me.  And darned if it didn’t pay off:)  Maybe I need to go on vacation more often!

16 Comments

Filed under dieting, emotions/emotional issues, vacation, weight issues

16 responses to “Which Weigh Did She Go?

  1. Congrats on the loss! 🙂
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..Jogging with my husband & bike riding to work =-.

  2. That is amazing!! We have a cruise planned for July this summer…a whole week of cruise food. Luckily…it’s months away and I have some time before then to get in a groove.
    .-= Lisa´s last blog ..Bailing out one bucket at a time… =-.

  3. Woo-Hoo! That’s a huge NSV, even if it involves the scale! Great job.
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Late Night Disruptions =-.

  4. That is amazing, good for you!
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..Camera Shy for a Good Reason =-.

  5. Wooohooo!!! So glad you were able to lose! Sometimes I think relaxing a bit on our diet is good for the scale and for the mind. It lets our body know that hey, we’re still going to feed you, and it refreshes the spirit to get right back on track once the vacation is over. Congratulations!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..Snowpocalypse 2010 =-.

  6. Well ma’am…I am so proud of you!! We all know that my vacation was the way that you reported yours were in the PAST! YIKES! Your post reminds me that I can eat well while out with friends and on vacation!
    .-= Corletta Brown´s last blog ..Uh Oh….I’m on my sopabox again…..Phase 1 Day 6 🙂 =-.

  7. Congrats! That’s FANTASTIC news! Now I gotta try to live up to your good example. hehe
    .-= Sunny´s last blog ..Owning My Evil (again) =-.

  8. Yes…I changed the settings just for you 🙂
    .-= Lisa´s last blog ..Bailing out one bucket at a time… =-.

  9. Now that is a ringing endorsement for vacationing! Congrats.
    .-= karen@fitnessjourney´s last blog ..Jillian Michael’s New Show to Premiere in June =-.

  10. Yaaay! I tend to lose on vacations, too. I think it’s all the extra activity, not to mention less stress. 🙂
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Where Feeling "Blue" is a Good Thing =-.

  11. Karen

    Thanks for the support gals. Next short vacation coming soon. Big meals already in the works for that one, though.

    Lisa – I’m feeling the love. Thank you.

  12. Great job girl! I knew you could do it 😀
    .-= beerab´s last blog ..Hope at last =-.

  13. That’s awesome. Congratulations on the loss. And I definitely think you should go on vacation more often. 🙂
    .-= Siobhan´s last blog ..off again =-.

  14. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you. That says a lot about your lifestyle change.
    .-= Diane Fit to the Finish´s last blog ..Junky Family Member or Friend? =-.

  15. Karen, I also used to binge from the minute I drove away from my house (forget about arriving at the airport) till I got back home, and then was filled with remorse afterwards. I just try to be prepared now, bringing along whatever I can to avoid eating out three meals a day!
    .-= Linda at Bar Mitzvahzilla´s last blog ..Head Laundress =-.

  16. I absolutely love the cartoon! How true – that scale can reduce us to tears sometimes. Lucky you though, you did an amazing job on vacation!

I love comments!

