Lessons from the Road

During my recent vacation I learned some things and confirmed some things I already knew:

  • Sitting inactive in the car makes me want to eat.
  • I can recognize the smell of pretzels even when I can’t see them.  And they smell good.
  • Candy is dandy but raw veggies make me feel better (physically and emotionally).  I can resist my husband’s Almond Joy Bites and Chocolate Reisens in favor of my cucumber and pepper slices.
  • Restaurants known for their pizza can have healthy menu options and I will stop drooling over the pizza by the time I am done with my own meal.
  • The Boys Scouts were right – “always be prepared.”
  • Writing down everything I eat while traveling is a good way to stay accountable to myself and a good deterrent to going off plan.
  • Lots of snacks generate lots of trash and it is best not to forget to bring a trash-bag.
  • Water tastes better when you are afraid to drink too much because of the subsequent need to find a restroom.
  • Restaurants will happily accommodate special requests like doubling veggies in lieu of mashed potatoes.  Sometimes the changes taste okay, sometimes not so much.  Sometimes the order brings funny looks and sometimes the order complicates getting the food to the table correctly.
  • Some people (not me) really can seemingly eat whatever they want and not gain weight, despite not exercising.  I can like them despite being envious.
  • Quiet moments alone are hard to find sharing a small hotel room or crowded condo.  But so good for my sanity.
  • Teenage boys will eat pizza two or three times a day, many days in a row.  But they will refuse to use sunscreen until the tips of their noses are bright red and painful.
  • No matter how much I exercise on a regular basis, some muscle will be sore from skiing.  And it is usually one that will then hurt just walking!
  • If I think that what I am ordering for dinner sounds too heavy, it probably is.  And will probably sit like a lead ball for hours.
  • Bringing my own pillow on vacation helps somewhat with the difficulty of sleeping in a bed other than my own.  Now if only I could pack my mattress and ceiling fan.
  • I actually can eat a small planned cheat for one meal and immediately get back on my program.
  • I am addicted to the blogosphere and can’t imagine going without a daily fix.  I feel better when I can get to all your blogs, even if I have no time to comment.
  • Wifi rocks my world.  Our new laptop is a great thing.  But the keyboard is a deterrent to typing much.
  • Crystal Lite To Go packets mask the taste of strange tap water.  As does flavored tea.
  • A ski lift on a sunny day can be a zen place to spend time.
  • Every pound lost before putting on old ski pants makes breathing easier.
  • I can use the restroom at a convenience store and walk past the food and just think about what the old-me would have bought, without the new-me buying anything.
  • Broken elevators + heavy luggage + higher altitudes = labored breathing.
  • You can teach an old dog new tricks.  But he may get sore and bruised learning them.  (AKA… DH learns to snowboard.)
  • Ski boots are instruments of torture.
  • Murphy’s Law says that spring snowstorms will dump several inches everywhere in the state except for the ski resort where I am staying.  Instead we will get high winds so the resort will shut down operations for the day.
  • March Madness is everywhere.  Choosing restaurants and maneuvering seating can be done to accommodate basketball fans with little impact on the rest of us:)
  • Long car rides are not the time to give up a gum addiction.  I can guiltless chew as many pieces as I want while on the road.
  • With a little (lot) of effort and planning, I can eat healthy on vacation.  Meals themselves are not exciting, but the conversation goes on despite what I’m eating… or NOT eating.
  • Dorothy was right – there’s no place like home.
19 Comments

Filed under blogging, cheating/overeating, dieting, emotions/emotional issues, restaurant/social eating, vacation

19 responses to “Lessons from the Road

  1. Welcome back! Looks like you had a lovely vacation, and I’m so happy for you!

    I love road trips, and I’m constantly amazed (and sometimes disappointed) by how many healthy options convenience stores actually have. Fruit! Cheese! Yogurt! Nuts! It’s all there, once I make it past the snack cakes. 🙂
    .-= Cammy@TippyToeDiet´s last blog ..Gym Evaluations are Underway! =-.

  2. Yay! Glad you’re home! It sounds like you had a wonderful time and managed to stay relatively on plan. Major success! Hope your drive home wasn’t too white knuckled.. lol!
    .-= Anna´s last blog ..On Maintenance =-.

  3. Sounds like you had so much fun. And I think you’re right about every single thing you’ve learned or proven. I like the gum chewing addiction. I totally do that on the road too.
    .-= JourneyBeyondSurvival´s last blog ..Sugar Award and your Questions =-.

  4. “A ski lift on a sunny day can be a zen place to spend time”….I just love that sentence!! It made me close my eyes and remember those days. I’m glad you had a good time, welcome back!

  5. Karen

    Cammy – I didn’t even think about healthy stuff there! Those stores make me think about Tootsie Rolls and powdered donuts that always look better than they taste!

    Anna – That crazy Colorado weather! We got nothing at the resort while Denver got socked! Fortunately only the beginning and end of the drive were bad.

    JBS – Gotta chew something it seems. Can’t wait to hear about your conference.

    Mary – Thanks. And it was nice to not be shivering up there.

  6. Look at you!! All big time with the new site. Lol. I’ve solved the comment luv problem and will email you.
    .-= adrienne´s last blog ..Berries and Walnut Crusted Salmon =-.

  7. It sounds like you had a great vacation and learned a lot about yourself too :). Congrats on sticking with healthy eating and enjoying yourself too!
    .-= Shannon´s last blog ..Generation Limbo =-.

  8. I found a really good diet plan this spring. Buy your new house and get the old one fixed up to sell. I’m stressed so my mind is always on the houses and not food. I’m so busy I keep forgetting to eat. I just sat down to read my blogs and figured out how hungry I was since I forgot to eat breakfast. I don’t have time before the next contractor shows up for an estimate to make anything to eat so I’ll have to wait until he leaves.
    .-= Daphne´s last blog ..Harvest Monday – 22 March 2010 =-.

  9. Welcome back. I missed you 🙂

    So funny about the teenage boys with pizza and sunscreen. Yep…universal problem. My blond haired blue eyed easy to burn 17 year old ignores my rants about skin cancer and turns his face an ugly shade of red too often.

    Again…so glad you’re back…

  10. Welcome back! Apparently a pretty successful (diet-wise) trip, which is awesome! 🙂
    .-= Sunny´s last blog ..Hellooooooooooooooooo Spring! =-.

  11. It’s great to have you back! That’s really great how you stayed on track during your vacation, and learned a few things about yourself at the same time!

    Love the new blog too!

  12. Lots to learn on vacation. The important thing is that it sounds like you had a really good time. Glad you made it back safe.
    .-= karen@fitnessjourney´s last blog ..Condiments Have Calories Too =-.

  13. What would a vacay be without a cheat meal? Sounds like a wonderful time!

  14. Sounds like you had a great time! Welcome back 🙂 Love the new blog too!
    .-= Anonymous Fat Girl´s last blog ..It keeps ME running + Forrest Gump & Runner’s World =-.

  15. Good tips. I am planning a college visit trip with my daughter and I will keep these tips in mind!
    .-= Brightside-Susan´s last blog ..BIKE RIDE – NO DRAMA =-.

  16. Welcome back! Love all your lessons from the road.
    .-= Siobhan´s last blog ..it’s all about me =-.

  17. Karen

    Thanks for your comments ladies. Glad to be back:)

  18. Lexxiss

    Lessons from the road….great subject. Sorry I’ve been late responding…I’ve been on vacation! Fortunately for me, I don’t have to travel with a teenager and my DH will eat whatever I pack. He did pack his Giant Doritos from Costco, and I stayed out of them-they’re the worst!

    I didn’t really have much temptation this trip because we had such a nice room setup. It made it super pleasant just to have simple meals here. Besides, I was really budgeting since this was spur of the moment and eating out is so expensive.

    My worst decision-going to the lunch buffet at the generic resort restaurant.(our one meal out) OP, but DH called it the feed trough. Next time we’ll try one of the local healthy restaurants.
    My best decision-bringing a double batch of bean brownies. It made evening dessert healthy and pleasurable.

    Thanks for taking the time to log this, and welcome home!

  19. Karen

    Debbie – Doritos smell even stronger than pretzels! And the noise when they crunch would drive me crazy:(

    Your trip sounded so great. I hope DH and I can head out there someday too.

I love comments!

